Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (CN 110320687).
With regard to claim 1.
Li et al. disclose a method for state switching of a switchable glass, comprising: a transparency stage, in which no voltage (0V, example 1) is applied to the switchable glass and the switchable glass is in a transparent state; an operation stage, in which an alternating current is applied to the switchable glass, with an amplitude of the alternating current maintained at a first voltage (V1), and the switchable glass is in a scattering state (see fig. 5); and a state switching stage, in which the amplitude of the alternating current is raised to a second voltage (V2) after the operation stage, with the second voltage greater than the first voltage (see fig. 4), and the switchable glass maintains in the scattering state, and wherein an application of the alternating current is stopped after the state switching stage is maintained for a duration to return to the transparency stage, and the switchable glass is restored to the transparent state (see paragraph 24).
With regard to claim 2,
Li et al. disclose the method for state switching of the switchable glass as claimed in claim 1, wherein the first voltage is a lowest voltage value at which the alternating current causes a haze value of the switchable glass to reach 80% or more (see fig. 5).
With regard to claim 3,
Li et al. disclose the method for state switching of the switchable glass as claimed in claim 1, wherein the second voltage is a voltage value at which a shortest response time is required for the switchable glass to be restored to the transparent state when the application of the alternating current to the switchable glass is stopped (see paragraph 6, not greater than 0.1s).
With regard to claim 4,
Li et al. disclose the method for state switching of the switchable glass as claimed in
claim 1, wherein the duration is a shortest time during which the alternating current of the second voltage is required to be applied when a response time required for the switchable glass to be restored to the transparent state is less than 0.5 seconds (see paragraph 6, not greater than 0.1s).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (as above), in view of Li et al. (USPN 2018/0163460).
With regard to claim 5,
Li et al. disclose the method for state switching of the switchable glass as claimed claim 1, wherein the switchable glass comprises two substrates (101/103,102/104) and a liquid crystal material (105) located between the two substrates, wherein the two substrates are transparent (see example 1) and conductive (ITO, see example 1). While Li et al. do not explicitly disclose combining negative liquid crystals and salt ions in the liquid crystal material, Lin et al. do disclose such a combination (see paragraph 25), it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate this concept of Lin et al. into the method of Li et al. in order to try to improve liquid crystal performance.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 2021/0116736, 5631665.
/CHRISTOPHER M RAABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875