Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 12/18/24, including preliminary amendments filed on 12/23/24, has been entered.
Claims 1-2, 6-8, 13, 17-18, 23, 26-27, 31-33, 38, 42-43, 48, and 53-54 are pending.
Claims 3-5, 9-12, 14-16, 19-22, 24-25, 28-30, 34-37, 39-41, 44-47, 49-52, and 55 have been canceled.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 13, 17-18 and 32, 38, 42-43 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the cited references fail to anticipate or render the claimed subject matter (combined with other limitations claimed in the claimed subject matter) obvious over any of the prior art of record, either alone or in combination. Therefore, when taken as a whole application, and incorporating all the respective limitations, none of the prior art discloses the features as claimed. For instance, although Muruganathan and Liu generally disclose TCI states, including as related to PUSCH, they do not disclose the detailed limitations and specific relationships as recited in claims. For instance, regarding claims 7/32, TCI as related to FDM and TDM, DMRS and CDM, and SFN. Additionally, regarding claims 13/38, first/second indication info wrt second DCI including particular formats and/or other than particular formats. Consequently, these claims are allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6, 26-27, 31 and 53, 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Muruganathan (US 20230216626 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Muruganathan discloses a method for indicating a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state, performed by a terminal, comprising:
receiving first indication information, wherein the first indication information is configured to indicate a first TCI state, the first TCI state comprises N TCI states, and each of the N TCI states comprises at least one of a joint TCI state or an uplink TCI state, wherein N is an integer greater than 1 (UE is configured with TCI states for UL PUSCH by a network thru DCI signaling, where 2 states (i.e., > 1) are indicated in the UL DCI [par. 0112-117]); and
receiving second indication information, wherein the second indication information is configured to indicate a second TCI state used in a case that a first physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) is transmitted, and the second TCI state comprises M TCI states (UE is configured with TCI states for UL PUSCH by a network thru DCI signaling, where 2 states (i.e., > 1) are indicated in the UL DCI and where a subset (i.e., M) are activated by the network thru a MAC CE [par. 0112-117]),
wherein the M TCI states are a subset of the N TCI states, and M is a positive integer not greater than N (UE is configured with TCI states for UL PUSCH by a network thru DCI signaling, where 2 states (i.e., > 1) are indicated in the UL DCI and where a subset (i.e., M <= N) are activated by the network thru a MAC CE [par. 0112-117]).
Regarding claim 26, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is from the perspective of the network, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 53, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Muruganathan further discloses a terminal [fig. 15], comprising: a processor [fig. 15 no. 1502]; and a transceiver [fig. 15 no. 1506] connected to the processor.
Regarding claim 54, it is substantially similar to claim 26, except is in apparatus claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Muruganathan further discloses an access network device [fig. 12], comprising: a processor [fig. 12 no. 1204]; and a transceiver [fig. 12 no. 1210] connected to the processor.
Regarding claims 2 and 27, Muruganathan discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Muruganathan further discloses wherein the first PUSCH is configured with at least one of:
a transmission scheme based on a frequency division multiplexing (FDM) [fig. 2, 9-11, par. 0021];
a transmission scheme based on a time division multiplexing (TDM) [fig. 1-2, 9-11, par. 0067];
demodulation reference signal (DMRS) ports of at least two code division multiplexing (CDM) groups [fig. 2, 9-11]; or
a transmission scheme based on a single-frequency network (SFN).
Regarding claims 6 and 31, Muruganathan discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Muruganathan further discloses wherein the first PUSCH is configured with at least one of following configuration parameters:
at least one sounding reference signal (SRS) resource set indicator [par. 0024];
at least one SRS resource indicator [par. 0022-024];
at least one field layer;
at least one precoding information and number of layers [par. 0025];
at least one transmitted precoding matrix indicator (TPMI) [par. 0025];
at least one SRS resource set [par. 0022-024];
at least one pathloss reference signal; or
at least one power control parameter set.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 8 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan as applied to claims 1 and 26 respectively, and further in view of Zhu (US 20230319846 A1).
Regarding claims 8 and 33, Muruganathan discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Muruganathan discloses wherein the method comprises at least one of: the first indication information is carried in a first medium access control control element (MAC CE), and the first MAC CE is configured to indicate the N TCI states, as discussed above, Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose or the first indication information is carried in a second MAC CE and first downlink control information (DCI), the second MAC CE is configured to indicate N TCI states corresponding to each of at least two code points, and the first DCI is configured to indicate one code point of the at least two code points, wherein the first indication information comprises the N TCI states, and each of the N TCI states has a default mapping relationship with identification information. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Zhu.
In the same field of endeavor, Zhu discloses:
or the first indication information is carried in a second MAC CE and first downlink control information (DCI), the second MAC CE is configured to indicate N TCI states corresponding to each of at least two code points, and the first DCI is configured to indicate one code point of the at least two code points,
wherein the first indication information comprises the N TCI states, and each of the N TCI states has a default mapping relationship with identification information [par. 0365].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muruganathan with Zhu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of supporting increased capacity [Zhu par. 0008].
Claims 23 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Muruganathan as applied to claims 1 and 26 respectively, and further in view of Liu (US 20230397193 A1).
Regarding claims 23 and 48, Muruganathan discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Muruganathan discloses wherein the second indication information, as discussed above, Muruganathan does not explicitly disclose comprises at least one of at least one bandwidth part identity (BWP ID) or at least one component carrier identity (CC ID). However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Liu.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
comprises at least one of at least one bandwidth part identity (BWP ID) or at least one component carrier identity (CC ID) [par. 0066, 75].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Muruganathan with Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of transmitting and receiving PUSCH with joint TCI states [Liu par. 0001].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465