DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/5/25 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
A title such as the following is suggested: AC/DC Power Conversion with Cuk Rectifier.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10, 12, 14, 16-18, 20-22 and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “at least one first conductor” in claim 9 (line 6) and the term “at least one second conductor” (last two lines) is used by the claim to mean “at least one first inductor” and “at least one second inductor”, while the accepted meaning is “a medium with low electrical resistance.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Additionally, the following Claim limitations:
“means for determining a DC voltage” in claim 1,
“means for determining at least one AC voltage signal” in claim 1,
“means for determining AC current” in claim 1,
“means for causing said reference AC current signal to be in phase” in claim 16,
“means for combining” in claim 17,
“means for determining line voltages”, as in claim 22,
“means for determining a respective AC voltage” in claim 22,
invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The specification provides no details or examples of the claimed means plus function and is devoid of any structure that performs the function in the claim. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-10, 12, 14, 16-18, 20-21 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Kumar (Experimental Validation of Single-Stage Three-Phase Non-Isolated Cuk Rectifier).
With respect to claim 1, Kumar discloses an AC to DC power conversion system for converting AC power from an AC power supply to DC power, the conversion system comprising: a plurality of switched-mode DC to DC converters (Fig. 1 Module A,B,C), each DC to DC converter comprising: an input comprising a first input terminal (Fig. 1 terminal Vn-Cn) for receiving current (Fig. 1 Ia,Ib,Ic) from said AC power supply, and a second input terminal (Fig. 1 ground terminal Cn); an output comprising a first output terminal (Fig. 1 terminal to Load +) and a second output terminal (Fig. 1 terminal to Load -); at least one energy storage component (Fig. 1 L1n); and at least one controllable switch (Fig. 1 S1n) for controlling operation of the converter, wherein the respective second input terminal of each converter are connected together (Fig. 1 ground), and the respective output terminals of each converter are connected in parallel to provide a DC output (Fig. 1 voltage Load); a controller (Fig. 6 control architecture) for controlling (Fig. 1 S1n) operation of said at least one controllable switch of each DC to DC converter; means (voltage sensing means) for determining a DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) at said DC output; means (voltage sensing means) for determining at least one AC voltage signal (Fig. 6 Vn) received from said AC power supply, said at least one AC voltage signal comprising a single-phase voltage signal or a multi-phase voltage signal (Fig. 1 Va,Vb,Vc); and means (current sensing means) for determining AC current (Fig. 6 In) at the first input terminal of at least one of said converters, wherein for each of said converters said controller is configured to generate a reference AC current signal (Fig. 6 Irefn) depending on the determined DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) and a reference DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vref), said reference AC current signal being in phase (Fig. 6 PLL) with said single-phase voltage signal or a respective phase of said multi-phase voltage signal, and control (Fig. 6 S1n) the operation of said at least one controllable switch to cause the AC current at the first input terminal to match (Fig. 6 PI drives In to Iref) the reference AC current signal.
With respect to claim 2, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each DC to DC converter (Fig. 1 L1n,S1n,C1n,S2n,L2n) comprises a current source (Fig. 1 L2n behaves as current source) DC to DC converter.
With respect to claim 3, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one energy storage component (Fig. 1 C1n,L1n) comprises at least one inductor (Fig. 1 L1n) connected in series with said first input terminal, and at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C1n) connected in series with said at least one inductor.
With respect to claim 4, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one energy storage component comprises at least one inductor (Fig. 1 L1n,L2n,C1n) connected in series with said first output terminal (Fig. 1 L2n) or said second output terminal, and at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C1n) in series with said at least one inductor.
With respect to claim 5, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one energy storage component comprises at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C1n) connected in series with said first input terminal, and with said first output terminal or said second output terminal, or at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C2n) connected in parallel with the converter output.
With respect to claim 7, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each DC to DC converter comprises at least one first inductor (Fig. 1 L1n) connected in series with said first input terminal, at least one second inductor (Fig. 1 L2n) connected in series with said first output terminal or said second output terminal, and at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C1n) connected in series between said at least one first inductor and said at least one second inductor.
With respect to claim 8, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one controllable switch comprises a first controllable switch (Fig. 1 S1a) and a second controllable switch (Fig. 1 S2a), or a first controllable switch and a diode, and wherein, said first controllable switch and or second controllable switch, or said first controllable switch and said diode, are connected in parallel (Fig. 1 S1a in parallel) with said input and said output, and wherein, said first controllable switch is connected to an input side (Fig. 1 Vn side) of said converter, and said second controllable switch, or said diode, is connected to an output side (Fig. 1 Load side) of said converter.
With respect to claim 9, Kumar discloses the system of claim 8, wherein each DC to DC converter comprises at least one first inductor (Fig. 1 L1n) connected in series with said first input terminal, at least on second inductor (Fig. 1 L2n) connected in series with said first output terminal or said second output terminal, and at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C1n) connected in series between said at least one first inductor and said at least one second inductor, and wherein said first controllable switch (Fig. 1 S1n) is connected in parallel with said input between said at least one first inductor (Fig. 1 L1n) and said at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C1n), and wherein said second controllable switch (Fig. 1 S2n), or said diode, is connected in parallel with said output between said at least one capacitor (Fig. 1 C1n) and said at least one second inductor (Fig. 1 L2n).
With respect to claim 10, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein each DC to DC converter has a Cuk converter topology (Fig. 1 Module) and/or wherein each DC to DC converter is a bidirectional DC to DC converter.
With respect to claim 12, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said controller is configured to generate said reference AC current signal (Fig. 6 Iref) depending on the difference between said determined DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) and said reference DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vref), and wherein said controller is configured to generate said reference AC current signal by implementing a closed feedback control loop configured to cause said determined DC voltage to match (Fig. 6 PI Compensator drives Vout Feedback to Vref) said reference DC voltage, and by using the output of said feedback control loop to generate said reference AC current signal, and wherein said closed feedback control loop is implemented using proportional-integral (PI) control (Fig. 6 PI Controller).
With respect to claim 14, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1 wherein said controller is configured to determine a reference current value (Fig. 6 output of summer Vref – Vout Feedback) depending on the determined DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) and the reference DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vref), and to generate said reference AC current signal (Fig. 6 Iref) from said reference current value, and wherein said controller is configured to determine said reference current value (Fig. 6 Vref – Vout Feedback) depending on the difference (Fig. 6 Vref – Vout Feedback) between said determined DC voltage and said reference DC voltage, or wherein said controller is configured to generate said reference AC current signal depending on the difference between said determined DC voltage and said reference DC voltage, and wherein said controller is configured to generate said reference AC current signal by implementing a closed feedback control loop configured to cause said determined DC voltage to match (Fig. 6 PI drives Vout Feedback to Vref) said reference DC voltage, and by using the output of said feedback control loop to generate said reference AC current signal, and wherein said closed feedback control loop is implemented using proportional-integral (PI) control (Fig. 6 PI Compensator), wherein said controller is configured to determine said reference current value from the output of said feedback control loop.
With respect to claim 16, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said system further includes means (Fig. 6 PLL and multiplier) for causing said reference AC current signal to be in phase with the single-phase AC voltage signal or with a respective phase of the multi-phase AC voltage signal (Fig. 6 Vn).
With respect to claim 17, Kumar discloses the system of claim 16,
wherein said controller is configured to determine a reference current value (Fig. 6 Vref – Vout Feedback) depending on the determined DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) and the reference DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vref), and to generate said reference AC current signal (Fig. 6 output of PI Compensator) from said reference current value, and
wherein said means for causing said reference AC current signal to be in phase with the single-phase AC voltage signal or with a respective phase of the multi-phase AC voltage signal comprises means for combining (Fig. 6 multiplier) said reference current value with a respective per unit version (Fig. 6 Sin(wt)) of said single-phase AC voltage signal or with said respective phase of the multi-phase AC voltage signal, or other respective reference signal derived from said single-phase AC voltage signal or from said respective phase of the multi-phase AC voltage signal, and having a waveform (Fig. 9(b) input current) that matches the waveform of the single-phase AC voltage signal (Fig. 9(b) input voltage) or of the respective phase of the multi-phase AC voltage signal.
` With respect to claim 18, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said controller is configured to control the operation of said at least one controllable switch (Fig. 1 S1n) to cause said AC current (Fig. 1 In) at the first input terminal to match said reference AC current signal depending on the difference (Fig. 6 Iref - In) between said determined AC current and the respective reference AC current signal, wherein said controller is configured to implement a closed feedback control loop configured to cause said determined AC current to match the reference AC current signal (Fig. 6 current feedback to summer with Iref), and to use the output of said feedback control loop to control said at least one controllable switch, and wherein said closed feedback control loop is optionally implemented using proportional-integral (PI) control or proportional-resonant (PR) control (Fig. 6 PR Compensator).
With respect to claim 20, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one controllable switch comprises first and second controllable switches, and wherein said controller is configured to control said first and second controllable switches such that when either one of said first and second controllable switches is on, the other of said first and second controllable switches is off.
With respect to claim 21, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said at least one controllable switch comprises one controllable switch (Fig. 1 S1n), the converter further including a diode (Fig. 1 body diode S2n) connected in parallel with the controllable switch, the configuration being such that when said controllable switch is on the diode is reverse biased (Fig. 3(a) S1a on S2a off), and when the controllable switch is off (Fig. 3(d) S1a off, S2a on) the diode is forward biased.
With respect to claim 25, Kumar discloses a method of converting AC power from an AC power supply to DC power in a power conversion system as set forth above. See claim 1 for additional details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cuk (US 2012/0120697) in view of Kumar (Experimental Validation of Single-Stage Three-Phase Non-Isolated Cuk Rectifier).
With respect to claim 1, Cuk discloses an AC to DC power conversion system for converting AC power from an AC power supply to DC power, the conversion system comprising: a plurality of switched-mode DC to DC converters (Fig. 2a Single-Stage Isolated Bridgeless PFC), each DC to DC converter comprising: an input comprising a first input terminal (Fig. 2a terminal receiving i1) for receiving current (Fig. 2a i1,i2,i3) from said AC power supply, and a second input terminal (Fig. 2b terminal to return to Vi); an output comprising a first output terminal (Fig. 2a terminal to +V) and a second output terminal (Fig. 2a terminal to ground); at least one energy storage component (Fig. 2b L); and at least one controllable switch (Fig. 2b S) for controlling operation of the converter, wherein the respective second input terminal of each converter are connected together (Fig. 2a return terminals connected to n), and the respective output terminals of each converter are connected in parallel to provide a DC output (Fig. 2a +V); a controller (Fig. 2b Isolated Bridgeless PFC IC) for controlling (Fig. 2b control to S) operation of said at least one controllable switch of each DC to DC converter; means (Fig. 2b voltage sensing means of V) for determining a DC voltage (Fig. 2b V) at said DC output; means (Fig. 2b voltage sensing means for Vi) for determining at least one AC voltage signal (Fig. 2a Vn) received from said AC power supply, said at least one AC voltage signal comprising a single-phase voltage signal or a multi-phase voltage signal (Fig. 2a V1,V2,V3); and means (Fig. 2b current sensing means of ii) for determining AC current (Fig. 2a in) at the first input terminal of at least one of said converters. Cuk remains silent as to the control details of the controller.
Kumar discloses wherein for each of said converters said controller is configured to generate a reference AC current signal (Fig. 6 Irefn) depending on the determined DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) and a reference DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vref), said reference AC current signal being in phase (Fig. 6 PLL) with said single-phase voltage signal or a respective phase of said multi-phase voltage signal, and control (Fig. 6 S1n) the operation of said at least one controllable switch to cause the AC current at the first input terminal to match (Fig. 6 PI drives In to Iref) the reference AC current signal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein for each of said converters said controller is configured to generate a reference AC current signal depending on the determined DC voltage and a reference DC voltage, said reference AC current signal being in phase with said single-phase voltage signal or a respective phase of said multi-phase voltage signal, and control the operation of said at least one controllable switch to cause the AC current at the first input terminal to match the reference AC current signal, in order to control the output voltage and input current to the required power factor.
With respect to claim 6, Cuk in view of Kumar make obvious the system of claim 1, wherein each converter includes a transformer (Fig. 2b Np,Ns) connected between the input and the output to galvanically isolate the input and the output, and wherein, a respective capacitor (Fig. 2b Cr1,Crs) is connected to each side of the transformer, in series with the transformer.
Claim(s) 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar (Experimental Validation of Single-Stage Three-Phase Non-Isolated Cuk Rectifier) in view of Mazumdar (US 2022/0060102).
With respect to claim 22, Kumar discloses the system of claim 1, wherein said AC power supply comprises a multi-phase power supply (Fig. 1 three phase Va,Bv,Vc) and said at least one AC voltage signal comprises multiple AC voltage phases (Fig. 1 Va,Vb,Vc), wherein said plurality of DC to DC converters comprises at least one respective DC to DC converter (Fig. 1 Cuk converter) for each phase of the power supply, wherein the respective first input terminal of said at least one respective converter is arranged to receive AC current (Fig. 1 In) from the respective phase of the power supply, wherein said means for determining AC current comprises means for determining AC current at the first input terminal (Fig. 1 In sensed for In in Figure 6) of each of said at least one respective converters, said means for determining at least one AC voltage signal comprises means for determining a respective AC voltage signal (Fig. 1 Vn) for each phase, and wherein the controller is configured to generate a respective reference AC current signal for each phase of the power supply, wherein said means for determining at least one AC voltage signal comprises means for determining line voltages (Fig. 1 Va,Vb,Vc determined for Figure 6) for said multi-phase supply, and means for determining a respective phase voltage (Fig. 6 phase determined by PLL) comprises a respective per-unit phase voltage (Fig. 6 sin(wt)), for each phase from the line voltages. Kumar remains silent as to wherein said at least one respective converter comprises a plurality of said converters connected in parallel with each other.
Mazumdar discloses an AC to DC conversion system (Fig. 5A 110) wherein said at least one respective converter (Fig. 3 140) comprises a plurality (Fig. 3 N) of said converters (Fig. 3 150) connected in parallel with each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein said at least one respective converter comprises a plurality of said converters connected in parallel with each other, in order to increase the output current and output power capability.
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kathigayini (A Bridgeless Power Factor Correction Using Cuk Converter) in view of Kumar (Experimental Validation of Single-Stage Three-Phase Non-Isolated Cuk Rectifier).
With respect to claim 1, Kathigayini discloses an AC to DC power conversion system for converting AC power from an AC power supply to DC power, the conversion system comprising: a plurality of switched-mode DC to DC converters (Fig. 2(b) plural Cuk converters), each DC to DC converter comprising: an input comprising a first input terminal (Fig. 2b terminal receiving iac) for receiving current (Fig. 2b iL1,iL2) from said AC power supply (Fig. 2b Vac), and a second input terminal (Fig. 2b terminal at anodes of Dp,Dn); an output comprising a first output terminal (Fig. 2b terminal to Vo -) and a second output terminal (Fig. 2b terminal to Vo +); at least one energy storage component (Fig. 2b L1,L2); and at least one controllable switch (Fig. 2b Q1,Q2) for controlling operation of the converter, wherein the respective second input terminal of each converter are connected together (Fig. 2b terminals connected to Vo +), and the respective output terminals of each converter are connected in parallel to provide a DC output (Fig. 2b Vo). Kathigayini remains silent as to the control details of the controller.
Kumar discloses a controller (Fig. 6 control architecture) for controlling (Fig. 1 S1n) operation of said at least one controllable switch of each DC to DC converter; means (voltage sensing means) for determining a DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) at said DC output; means (voltage sensing means) for determining at least one AC voltage signal (Fig. 6 Vn) received from said AC power supply, said at least one AC voltage signal comprising a single-phase voltage signal or a multi-phase voltage signal (Fig. 1 Va,Vb,Vc); and means (current sensing means) for determining AC current (Fig. 6 In) at the first input terminal of at least one of said converters, wherein for each of said converters said controller is configured to generate a reference AC current signal (Fig. 6 Irefn) depending on the determined DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vout Feedback) and a reference DC voltage (Fig. 6 Vref), said reference AC current signal being in phase (Fig. 6 PLL) with said single-phase voltage signal or a respective phase of said multi-phase voltage signal, and control (Fig. 6 S1n) the operation of said at least one controllable switch to cause the AC current at the first input terminal to match (Fig. 6 PI drives In to Iref) the reference AC current signal. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein a controller for controlling operation of said at least one controllable switch of each DC to DC converter; means for determining a DC voltage at said DC output; means for determining at least one AC voltage signal received from said AC power supply, said at least one AC voltage signal comprising a single-phase voltage signal or a multi-phase voltage signal; and means for determining AC current at the first input terminal of at least one of said converters, wherein for each of said converters said controller is configured to generate a reference AC current signal depending on the determined DC voltage and a reference DC voltage, said reference AC current signal being in phase with said single-phase voltage signal or a respective phase of said multi-phase voltage signal, and control the operation of said at least one controllable switch to cause the AC current at the first input terminal to match the reference AC current signal, in order to control the output voltage and input current to the required power factor.
Claim(s) 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kathigayini (A Bridgeless Power Factor Correction Using Cuk Converter) in view of Kumar (Experimental Validation of Single-Stage Three-Phase Non-Isolated Cuk Rectifier) and further in view of Mazumdar (US 2022/0060102).
With respect to claim 24, Kathigayini in view of Kumar make obvious the system of claim 1, wherein said AC power supply comprises a single phase power supply (Fig. 2(b) Type 2 from single phase Vac) and said at least one AC voltage comprises a single phase AC voltage (Fig. 2b Vac), wherein said plurality of DC to DC converters comprises at least one first DC to DC converter (Fig. 2b L1,C1,Q1,Do1,Lo1) and at least one second DC to DC converter (Fig. 2b L2,C2,Q2,Do2,Lo2), the first input terminal of said at least one first DC to DC converter being connected to or connectable to a positive terminal (Fig. 2b terminal Vac +) of said AC power supply, and the first input terminal of said at least one second DC to DC converter being connected to or connectable to the negative terminal (Fig. 2b terminal Vac -) of said AC power supply. Kathigayini does not disclose wherein said at least one first DC to DC converter comprises a plurality of first DC to DC converters connected in parallel with each other, and said at least one second DC to DC converter comprises a plurality of second DC to DC converters connected in parallel with each other.
Mazumdar discloses an AC to DC conversion system (Fig. 5A 110) wherein said at least one first DC to DC converter (Fig. 3 140) comprises a plurality of first DC to DC converters (Fig. 3 150 has N in parallel) connected in parallel with each other, and said at least one second DC to DC converter comprises a plurality of second DC to DC converters connected in parallel with each other. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement wherein said at least one first DC to DC converter comprises a plurality of first DC to DC converters connected in parallel with each other, and said at least one second DC to DC converter comprises a plurality of second DC to DC converters connected in parallel with each other, in order to increase the output current and output power capability.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Cuk (US 2011/0292703) discloses AC-DC conversion with isolation.
/HARRY R BEHM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2838