DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-15, 18-21 and 23-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Buttner et al. (US20230275475, “Buttner”) .
The applied reference has a common inventors (Buttner, Kirchner & Warmuth-but not Grillenberger) with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Re claim 14, Buttner discloses a housing-free dynamoelectric rotary machine, comprising:
a stator 2 comprising a substantially hollow cylindrical magnetically conductive body which includes a plurality of jaws 10 which are distributed on an outer circumference of the magnetically conductive body (figs 1-4, [0072]) and arranged in a shape of pincers such that two of the jaws in opposite relation to one another form an axially extending channel structure 5 (figs 1-4, [0072]);
a mounting element 12 receivable in the channel structure 5 and moveable axially and/or about its own axis in the channel structure 5 (figs 1-4, [0081]);
an add-on element 13 (figs 1-2, [0073-0074]);
a connecting element designed to connect the mounting element 5 to the add-on element 13 (figs 1 & 6, [0073-0074] & [0081], 12 has bores for screws as show in figures) in such a way that a complementary contact region of an outer section of the jaws 10 and a corresponding surface of the add-on element 13 result in at least one section to realize a wedge effect on the complementary contact region (figs 1-4 & 6, [0009] & [0013], the outer surfaces of 10 are wedged between the corresponding surface of 13 and mounting element 12); and
a rotor 3 mounted for rotation about an axis and spaced apart from the stator by an air gap (fig 1, [0072]).
Re claim 15, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses the connecting element is a screw (fig 6).
Re claim 18, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses an end element 14 arranged on an axial end of the stator and mechanically connected to the stator by another connecting element 16 (figs 1, 5 & 7, [0083]).
Re claim 19, Buttner disclose claim 18 as discussed above and further disclose the end element 14 is a bearing shield (figs 1 & 7, [0083]).
Re claim 20, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further and further discloses two or three of said mounting element 12 received in the channel structure 5 ([0081]).
Re claim 21, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses the add-on element 13 is embodied as a foot, converter holder, holder for terminal boxes or as a holder of a monitoring apparatus (figs 1 & 6).
Re claim 23, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses the magnetically conductive body comprises cooling ribs 9 which are oriented radially or in parallel at least in one section on an outer circumference of the stator (figs 1-4, [0080]).
Re claim 24, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses the magnetically conductive body is constructed from laminations 6 (fig 3, [0079]), each said lamination being designed in one piece and having the jaws 3, 9 and grooves for receiving a winding system (figs 1-3, [0019]), said laminations forming a laminated core of the stator in an axially layered manner, with the axially extending channel structure 10 being formed on the laminated core (figs 1-3).
Re claim 25, Buttner disclose claim 19 as discussed above and further disclose the bearing shield 14 axially covers the axially extending channel structure 5 at least in one section (figs 1 & 5).
Re claim 26, Buttner disclose claim 18 as discussed above and further disclose the end element 14 comprises part of a terminal box 21 which supplies the dynamoelectric rotary machine with electrical energy (figs 1 & 7, [0074]).
Re claims 27 and 28, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses:
the stator comprises at least one section with a coating ([0020]); and
the coating is a metallic coating [0020]).
Re claim 29, Buttner discloses claim 14 as discussed above and further discloses the housing-free dynamoelectric rotary machine of claim 14 for use as a drive for a compactor, pump, compressor, or fan in an industrial environment, in food industry or in a traction application (figs 1-3, [0059]).
Claims 14-17, 21, 23-24 and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Siemens (DE7104414, “Siemens”, using machine translation).
Re claim 14, Siemens discloses a housing-free dynamoelectric rotary machine, comprising:
a stator 1 comprising a substantially hollow cylindrical magnetically conductive body which includes a plurality of jaws 3, 9 which are distributed on an outer circumference of the magnetically conductive body (figs 1-3, [0009] & [0012-0013]) and arranged in a shape of pincers such that two of the jaws 3, 9 in opposite relation to one another form an axially extending channel structure 4 (figs 1-3, [0009]);
a mounting element 5 receivable in the channel structure 4 and moveable axially and/or about its own axis in the channel structure 4 (figs 1-2, [0009]);
an add-on element 7, 8 (figs 1-2, [000]);
a connecting element 6 designed to connect the mounting element 5 to the add-on element 7, 8 (figs 1-2, [0009]) in such a way that a complementary contact region of an outer section of the jaws 3, 9 and a corresponding surface of the add-on element 7, 8 result in at least one section to realize a wedge effect on the complementary contact region (figs 1-2 & below, [0009] & [0013], the outer surfaces of 3, 9 are wedged between the corresponding surface of 7, 8 and mounting element 5); and
a rotor mounted for rotation about an axis and spaced apart from the stator by an air gap (figs 1-3, [0009], rotor inherent for an electric machine with a stator & gap inherent so rotor doesn’t collide w/ stator during rotation; rotor inside stator as indicated by hole in stator in figures).
Re claim 15, Siemens discloses claim 14 and further discloses the connecting element 6 is a screw (figs 1-2).
Re claim 16, Siemens discloses claim 14 and further discloses the mounting element 5 has a round cross-section and includes a hole or a plurality of holes arranged in pairs (figs 1-2, has a generally round cross section; has one hole).
Re claim 17, Siemens discloses claim 16 and further discloses the mounting element 5 has a circular cross-section (figs 1-2, has circular cross section at opening for 6).
Re claim 21, Siemens discloses claim 14 and further discloses the add-on element 7, 8 is embodied as a foot, converter holder, holder for terminal boxes or as a holder of a monitoring apparatus (figs 1-2, [0009] & [0012-0013]).
Re claim 23, Siemens discloses claim 14 and further discloses the magnetically conductive body comprises cooling ribs 2 which are oriented radially or in parallel at least in one section on an outer circumference of the stator (figs 1-3, [0009]).
Re claim 24, Siemens discloses claim 14 and further discloses the magnetically conductive body is constructed from laminations ([0009]), each said lamination being designed in one piece and having the jaws 3, 9 and grooves for receiving a winding system (figs 1-3 & below, as indicated by slots indicated below), said laminations forming a laminated core of the stator in an axially layered manner, with the axially extending channel structure 4 being formed on the laminated core (figs 1-3, [0009]).
Re claim 29, Siemens discloses claim 14 and further discloses the housing-free dynamoelectric rotary machine of claim 14 for use as a drive for a compactor, pump, compressor, or fan in an industrial environment, in food industry or in a traction application (figs 1-3, [0009], Siemens discloses an electric machine with all the claimed structure of claim 14 therefore the machine would be capable to be used in one of the above configurations).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-19 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens in view of Evon et al. (US20060284511, “Evon”).
Re claim 18, Siemens discloses claim 14 but is silent with respect to an end element arranged on an axial end of the stator and mechanically connected to the stator by another connecting element.
Evon discloses an end element 14, 16 arranged on an axial end of the stator 12 and mechanically connected to the stator 12 by another connecting element 17 (fig 2, [0015]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator of Siemens with an end element arranged on an axial end of the stator and mechanically connected to the stator by another connecting element, as disclosed by Evon, in order to provide structure for support of rotation of the rotor and heat dissipation features, as demonstrated and taught by Evon (fig 2, [0015] & [0021]).
Re claim 19, Siemens in view of Evon disclose claim 18 as discussed above and further disclose the end element is a bearing shield (Evon, fig 2, [0015] & [0021]).
Re claim 26, Siemens in view of Evon disclose claim 18 as discussed above and further disclose the end element 14 comprises part of a terminal box 40 which supplies the dynamoelectric rotary machine with electrical energy (Evon, figs 1-2, [0019]).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens in view of Zhou (CN106253561, “Zhou”).
Re claim 20, Siemens discloses claim 14 and further but is silent with respect to two or three of said mounting element received in the channel structure.
Zhou discloses providing two feet 6 in the axial direction of the electric machine (figs 1-4 & 6, [0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the machine of Siemens to have two feet provided in the axial direction, as disclosed by Zhou, in order to provide additional support for the machine, as demonstrated by Zhou.
It is pointed out that the combination of Siemens in view of Zhou discloses two or three of said mounting element received in the channel structure since: Siemens discloses one mounting element 5 is providing in the channel structure 4 for each foot 7, 8 (figs 1-2); and Zhou discloses providing two feet 6 (figs 1-4), resulting in two mounting elements in each channel structure.
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens in view of Ruan et al. (CN106411033, “Ruan”, using machine translation).
Re claim 22, Siemens disclose claim 14 as discussed above but is silent with respect to the add-on element comprises at least one ribbed section.
Ruan discloses the add-on element 30 comprises at least one ribbed section 36 (figs 1, 8 & 13, [0038]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the add-on element of to include the add-on element comprises at least one ribbed section., as disclosed by Ruan, in order to strengthen the add-on element, as taught by Ruan ([0038]).
Claim 25 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens in view of Evon and in further view of Bauknecht (DE7813179, “Bauknecht”, using translation from IDS).
Re claim 25, Siemens in view of Evon disclose claim 19 as discussed above but are silent with respect to the bearing shield axially covers the axially extending channel structure at least in one section.
Bauknecht discloses the bearing shield 14, 15 axially covers the axially extending channel structure 19 at least in one section (figs 1-2, [0013], [0039] & [0049]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the bearing shield of Siemens in view of Evon so the bearing shield axially covers the axially extending channel structure at least in one section, as disclosed by Bauknecht, in order to prevent the mounting element from leaving the channel structure, as taught by Bauknecht ([0013], [0039] & [0049]).
Claim 27-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Siemens in view of Seufert et al. (WO2021151560, “Seufert”, using machine translation).
Siemens disclose claim 14 as discussed above but is silent with respect to:
the stator comprises at least one section with a coating; and
the coating is a metallic coating.
Seufert discloses the stator 8 comprises at least one section with a coating 26 (figs 1-2, [0037-0039]); and
the coating 26 is a metallic coating ([0039]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure the stator of Siemens so the stator comprises at least one section with a coating; and the coating is a metallic coating, as disclosed by Seufert, in order to provide better heat transference, as taught by Seufert ([0039]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Cooper (US4891540, figs 1-2) reads on at least claim 14.
Campbell (US5752688) disclose a housing with channels for bars 52 that hold foot 64.
/ERIC JOHNSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834