DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction
REQUIREMENT FOR UNITY OF INVENTION
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475(a), a national stage application shall relate to one invention only or to a group of inventions so linked as to form a single general inventive concept (“requirement of unity of invention”). Where a group of inventions is claimed in a national stage application, the requirement of unity of invention shall be fulfilled only when there is a technical relationship among those inventions involving one or more of the same or corresponding special technical features. The expression “special technical features” shall mean those technical features that define a contribution which each of the claimed inventions, considered as a whole, makes over the prior art.
The determination whether a group of inventions is so linked as to form a single general inventive concept shall be made without regard to whether the inventions are claimed in separate claims or as alternatives within a single claim. See 37 CFR 1.475(e).
When Claims Are Directed to Multiple Categories of Inventions:
As provided in 37 CFR 1.475 (b), a national stage application containing claims to different categories of invention will be considered to have unity of invention if the claims are drawn only to one of the following combinations of categories:
(1) A product and a process specially adapted for the manufacture of said product; or
(2) A product and a process of use of said product; or
(3) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and a use of the said product; or
(4) A process and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process; or
(5) A product, a process specially adapted for the manufacture of the said product, and an apparatus or means specifically designed for carrying out the said process.
Otherwise, unity of invention might not be present. See 37 CFR 1.475 (c).
Restriction is required under 35 U.S.C. 121 and 372.
This application contains the following inventions or groups of inventions which are not so linked as to form a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1.
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.499, applicant is required, in reply to this action, to elect a single invention to which the claims must be restricted.
Group I, claim(s) 1-16, drawn to CSI reports.
Group II, claim(s) 17-30, drawn to spatial multiplexing.
The groups of inventions listed above do not relate to a single general inventive concept under PCT Rule 13.1 because, under PCT Rule 13.2, they lack the same or corresponding special technical features for the following reasons:
Groups I and II lack unity of invention because even though the inventions of these groups require the technical feature of coherent joint transmission for transmission-reception points, this technical feature is not a special technical feature as it does not make a contribution over the prior art in view of Sun (US 20240056140). Sun discloses using coherent joint transmission (Fig.4 ref. 408 multi-TRP CJT).
Restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper because of the reasons given above and there would be a serious search and examination burden if restriction were not required because one or more of the following reasons apply:
(a) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification;
(b) the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art due to their recognized divergent subject matter;
(c) the inventions require a different field of search (for example, searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries);
(d) the prior art applicable to one invention would not likely be applicable to another invention;
(e) the inventions are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph.
During a telephone conversation with Brian Sullivan on 9/21/2026 a provisional election was made without traverse to prosecute the invention of Group I, claims 1-16. Affirmation of this election must be made by applicant in replying to this Office action. Claims 17-30 are withdrawn from further consideration by the examiner, 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is advised that the reply to this requirement to be complete must include (i) an election of a species or invention to be examined even though the requirement may be traversed (37 CFR 1.143) and (ii) identification of the claims encompassing the elected invention.
The election of an invention or species may be made with or without traverse. To preserve a right to petition, the election must be made with traverse. If the reply does not distinctly and specifically point out supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election shall be treated as an election without traverse. Traversal must be presented at the time of election in order to be considered timely. Failure to timely traverse the requirement will result in the loss of right to petition under 37 CFR 1.144. If claims are added after the election, applicant must indicate which of these claims are readable on the elected invention or species.
Should applicant traverse on the ground that the inventions have unity of invention (37 CFR 1.475(a)), applicant must provide reasons in support thereof. Applicant may submit evidence or identify such evidence now of record showing the inventions to be obvious variants or clearly admit on the record that this is the case. Where such evidence or admission is provided by applicant, if the examiner finds one of the inventions unpatentable over the prior art, the evidence or admission may be used in a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) of the other invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancellation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4,6,9-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20240056140) in view of Kim (US 20250096986).
Re claim 1:
Sun discloses an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: a processor; memory coupled with the processor; and instructions stored in the memory and executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to (Fig. 6):
receive control signaling indicating a plurality of transmission- reception points and a set of measurement resources (Fig.4 ref. 404 The method 400 further includes configuring 404 the UE to generate multi-TRP CJT CSI report information for a codebook W.sub.l given by W.sub.l=W.sub.1.sup.t.Math.W.sub.2.sup.t.Math.W.sub.f.sup.t for a spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t, a combination coefficient matrix W2t, and a frequency basis selection matrix W.sub.f.sup.t, wherein t=1, 2 , . . . , T is a Type II codebook reported for a TRP t of the plurality of TRPs, T is a number of TRPs, l=0, 1, . . . , RI-1 is a layer index, and RI is a rank indicator, and wherein the spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t is layer common, polarization common, and TRP independent);
perform measurements for a plurality of reference signals received from the plurality of transmission-reception points within the set of measurement resources (Para.[0022] The UE measures CSI-RS and provides feedback to the base station and Fig.3 ref. 304 and Para.[0057] The method 300 further includes determining 304, at the UE, based on the signals, multi-TRP CJT CSI report information for a codebook W.sub.l given by W.sub.l=W.sub.1.sup.t.Math.W.sub.2.sup.t.Math.W.sub.f.sup.t for a spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t, a combination coefficient matrix W.sub.2.sup.t, and a frequency basis selection matrix W.sub.f.sup.t, wherein t=1, 2, . . . , T is a Type II codebook reported for a TRP t of the plurality of TRPs, T is a number of the plurality of TRPs, l=0, 1, . . . , RI-1 is a layer index, and RI is a rank indicator and wherein the spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t is layer common, polarization common, and TRP independent);
transmit a channel state information (CSI) report including a first CSI part and a second CSI part, at least one of the first CSI part or the second CSI part indicating a first mapping between a first set of transmission-reception points of the plurality of transmission-reception points and a first set of spatial multiplexing layers, and indicating a second mapping between a second set of transmission-reception points of the plurality of transmission-reception points and a second set of spatial multiplexing layers based at least in part on the measurements (Fig.3 ref. 306 and Para.[0057] The method 300 further includes reporting 306 from the UE to one or more of the plurality of TRPs, the multi-TRP CJT CSI report information.); and
receive a phase-coherent joint transmission of a downlink message from the first set of transmission-reception points in accordance with the first mapping, or from the second set of transmission-reception points in accordance with the second mapping (Fg.4 ref. 408 and Para.[0069] The method 400 further includes sending 408, to the UE, from at least one or more of the plurality of TRPs, a PDSCH and its DMRS transmission based on the multi-TRP CJT CSI report information).
As discussed above, Sun discloses spatial multiplexing, CSI report with TRP, spatial basis, and rank indicator – parameters which are well known for spatial multiplexing layers. Sun does not explicitly disclose TRP with spatial multiplexing layers.
Kim discloses TRP with spatial multiplexing layers (Para. [0223] According to the method illustrated in FIGS. 7(a) and 7(b) above, as the same TB is repeatedly transmitted through different layer groups and each layer group is transmitted by different TRP/panel, the data reception probability of the UE may be increased. This is referred to as a Spatial Division Multiplexing (SDM)-based M-TRP URLLC transmission scheme. Layers belonging to different layer groups are respectively transmitted through DMRS ports belonging to different DMRS CDM groups and Para. [0224] In addition, the above-described contents related to multiple TRPs are described based on an SDM (spatial division multiplexing) method using different layers, but it may be naturally extended and applied to a FDM (frequency division multiplexing) method based on a different frequency domain resource (e.g., RB/PRB (set), etc.) and/or a TDM (time division multiplexing) method based on a different time domain resource (e.g., a slot, a symbol, a sub-symbol, etc.)).
Sun and Kim are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun to include TRP with spatial multiplexing layers as taught by Kim in order to improve reliability of a received signal (Kim Para.[0221]).
Re claim 2:
Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first CSI part comprises a joint indication of a quantity of transmission-reception points within each of the first set of transmission-reception points and the second set of transmission-reception points, and comprises a corresponding joint rank indicator associated with each of the first set of transmission-reception points and the second set of transmission-reception points (Para.[0057] The method 300 further includes determining 304, at the UE, based on the signals, multi-TRP CJT CSI report information for a codebook W.sub.l given by W.sub.l=W.sub.1.sup.t.Math.W.sub.2.sup.t.Math.W.sub.f.sup.t for a spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t, a combination coefficient matrix W.sub.2.sup.t, and a frequency basis selection matrix W.sub.f.sup.t, wherein t=1, 2, . . . , T is a Type II codebook reported for a TRP t of the plurality of TRPs, T is a number of the plurality of TRPs, l=0, 1, . . . , RI-1 is a layer index, and RI is a rank indicator and wherein the spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t is layer common, polarization common, and TRP independent).
Re claim 3:
Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the joint rank indicator comprises a first rank indicator associated with the first set of transmission-reception points and a second rank indicator associated with the second set of transmission- reception points (Para.[0057] The method 300 further includes determining 304, at the UE, based on the signals, multi-TRP CJT CSI report information for a codebook W.sub.l given by W.sub.l=W.sub.1.sup.t.Math.W.sub.2.sup.t.Math.W.sub.f.sup.t for a spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t, a combination coefficient matrix W.sub.2.sup.t, and a frequency basis selection matrix W.sub.f.sup.t, wherein t=1, 2, . . . , T is a Type II codebook reported for a TRP t of the plurality of TRPs, T is a number of the plurality of TRPs, l=0, 1, . . . , RI-1 is a layer index, and RI is a rank indicator and wherein the spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t is layer common, polarization common, and TRP independent).
Re claim 4:
Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second CSI part comprises an indication of transmission-reception points included within the first set of transmission-reception points, the second set of transmission-reception points, or both (Para.[0057] The method 300 further includes determining 304, at the UE, based on the signals, multi-TRP CJT CSI report information for a codebook W.sub.l given by W.sub.l=W.sub.1.sup.t.Math.W.sub.2.sup.t.Math.W.sub.f.sup.t for a spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t, a combination coefficient matrix W.sub.2.sup.t, and a frequency basis selection matrix W.sub.f.sup.t, wherein t=1, 2, . . . , T is a Type II codebook reported for a TRP t of the plurality of TRPs, T is a number of the plurality of TRPs, l=0, 1, . . . , RI-1 is a layer index, and RI is a rank indicator and wherein the spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t is layer common, polarization common, and TRP independent and Para.[0057] The method 300 further includes reporting 306 from the UE to one or more of the plurality of TRPs, the multi-TRP CJT CSI report information.).
Re claim 6:
As discussed above, Sun in view of Kim meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the instructions are further executable by the processor to cause the apparatus to: receive, via the control signaling, an indication of the first set of transmission-reception points and the second set of transmission-reception points, wherein an indication of the first mapping and the second mapping is included in the first CSI part (Fig.4 ref. 404 The method 400 further includes configuring 404 the UE to generate multi-TRP CJT CSI report information for a codebook W.sub.l given by W.sub.l=W.sub.1.sup.t.Math.W.sub.2.sup.t.Math.W.sub.f.sup.t for a spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t, a combination coefficient matrix W2t, and a frequency basis selection matrix W.sub.f.sup.t, wherein t=1, 2 , . . . , T is a Type II codebook reported for a TRP t of the plurality of TRPs, T is a number of TRPs, l=0, 1, . . . , RI-1 is a layer index, and RI is a rank indicator, and wherein the spatial basis selection matrix W.sub.1.sup.t is layer common, polarization common, and TRP independent).
As discussed above, Sun discloses spatial multiplexing, CSI report with TRP, spatial basis, and rank indicator – parameters which are well known for spatial multiplexing layers. Sun does not explicitly disclose TRP with spatial multiplexing layers.
Kim discloses TRP with spatial multiplexing layers (Para. [0223] According to the method illustrated in FIGS. 7(a) and 7(b) above, as the same TB is repeatedly transmitted through different layer groups and each layer group is transmitted by different TRP/panel, the data reception probability of the UE may be increased. This is referred to as a Spatial Division Multiplexing (SDM)-based M-TRP URLLC transmission scheme. Layers belonging to different layer groups are respectively transmitted through DMRS ports belonging to different DMRS CDM groups and Para. [0224] In addition, the above-described contents related to multiple TRPs are described based on an SDM (spatial division multiplexing) method using different layers, but it may be naturally extended and applied to a FDM (frequency division multiplexing) method based on a different frequency domain resource (e.g., RB/PRB (set), etc.) and/or a TDM (time division multiplexing) method based on a different time domain resource (e.g., a slot, a symbol, a sub-symbol, etc.)).
Sun and Kim are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun to include TRP with spatial multiplexing layers as taught by Kim in order to improve reliability of a received signal (Kim Para.[0221]).
Re claim 9: Claim 9 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 1 from the perspective of the network.
Re claim 10: Claim 10 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 2.
Re claim 11: Claim 11 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 3.
Re claim 12: Claim 12 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 4.
Re claim 14: Claim 14 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 6 from the perspective of the network.
Claim(s) 5,7,8,13,15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun (US 20240056140) in view of Kim (US 20250096986) as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Rahman (US 20220376760).
Re claim 5:
As discussed above, Sun in view of Kim meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Sun does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the indication of the transmission-reception points comprises a bitmap, a combination index, or both.
Rahman discloses the apparatus of claim 4, wherein the indication of the transmission-reception points comprises a bitmap, a combination index, or both (Para.[0192] [0192] In another example, UCI part 1 carries the CSI for the primary TRP (i.e. TRP #1), and also includes the information (e.g. a bitmap) about the indices of the TRPs whose CSIs are reported using UCI part 2. The UCI part 2 carries CSIs of the N.sub.2 of the remaining TRPs (e.g. TRP #i, where i>1). Note that UCI part 2 payload varies (since N.sub.2 varies), in particular, UCI part 2 is not reported if N.sub.2=0.).
Sun and Rahman are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun to include a bitmap for TRP as taught by Rahman in order to improve reliability (Rahman Para.[0127]).
Re claim 7:
As discussed above, Sun in view of Kim meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first set of transmission- reception points is mutually exclusive with respect to the second set of transmission- reception points, (Para.[0036] For the first codebook structure and the second codebook structure, in terms of the spatial basis reporting for different TRP, a CSI-RS group (i.e., either CSI-RS port group or CSI-RS resource group) may be configured by the network. For the TRPs associated with the same CSI-RS group, spatial basis reporting may be common. For the TRPs associated with different CSI-RS groups, spatial basis reporting may be independent. In another embodiment, the spatial basis reporting may be TRP common. In another embodiment, the spatial basis reporting may be TRP independent.).
Sun does not explicitly disclose wherein the second set of transmission-reception points includes fewer transmission-reception points than the first set of transmission-reception points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the second set to have fewer, the same, or more TRPs than the first set as obvious variants of each.
Sun does not explicitly disclose wherein the CSI report indicates a bitmap, a combination index, or both, which indicates transmission-reception points included within the second set of transmission-reception points.
Rahman discloses wherein the CSI report indicates a bitmap, a combination index, or both, which indicates transmission-reception points included within the second set of transmission-reception points (Para.[0192] [0192] In another example, UCI part 1 carries the CSI for the primary TRP (i.e. TRP #1), and also includes the information (e.g. a bitmap) about the indices of the TRPs whose CSIs are reported using UCI part 2. The UCI part 2 carries CSIs of the N.sub.2 of the remaining TRPs (e.g. TRP #i, where i>1). Note that UCI part 2 payload varies (since N.sub.2 varies), in particular, UCI part 2 is not reported if N.sub.2=0.).
Sun and Rahman are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun to include a bitmap for TRP as taught by Rahman in order to improve reliability (Rahman Para.[0127]).
Re claim 8:
As discussed above, Sun in view of Kim meets all the limitations of the parent claims.
Sun discloses the apparatus of claim 1, (Para.[0036] [0036] For the first codebook structure and the second codebook structure, in terms of the spatial basis reporting for different TRP, a CSI-RS group (i.e., either CSI-RS port group or CSI-RS resource group) may be configured by the network. For the TRPs associated with the same CSI-RS group, spatial basis reporting may be common. For the TRPs associated with different CSI-RS groups, spatial basis reporting may be independent. In another embodiment, the spatial basis reporting may be TRP common. In another embodiment, the spatial basis reporting may be TRP independent.). – Examiner Note: Sun discloses both variants of sharing and not sharing TRPs across sets).
Sun does not explicitly disclose wherein the second set of transmission- reception points includes fewer transmission-reception points than the first set of transmission-reception points. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the second set to have fewer, the same, or more TRPs than the first set as obvious variants of each.
Sun does not explicitly disclose comprises an indication of at least one additional transmission-reception point that is included in the second set of transmission-reception points and which is not shared across the first set of transmission-reception points and the second set of transmission-reception points.
Rahman discloses comprises an indication of at least one additional transmission-reception point that is included in the second set of transmission-reception points and which is not shared across the first set of transmission-reception points and the second set of transmission-reception points (Para.[0192] [0192] In another example, UCI part 1 carries the CSI for the primary TRP (i.e. TRP #1), and also includes the information (e.g. a bitmap) about the indices of the TRPs whose CSIs are reported using UCI part 2. The UCI part 2 carries CSIs of the N.sub.2 of the remaining TRPs (e.g. TRP #i, where i>1). Note that UCI part 2 payload varies (since N.sub.2 varies), in particular, UCI part 2 is not reported if N.sub.2=0. – Examiner Note: Sun addresses ).
Sun and Rahman are analogous because they both pertain to data communications.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sun to include a bitmap for TRP as taught by Rahman in order to improve reliability (Rahman Para.[0127]).
Re claim 13: Claim 13 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 5.
Re claim 15: Claim 15 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 7.
Re claim 16: Claim 16 is rejected on the same grounds of rejection set forth in claim 8.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Matsumura (US 20230155654) discloses CSI measurement configuration for TRPs and spatial layers.
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471