DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/18/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 3, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the at least one first hose" and “the at least one second hose” in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Thus, the claim will read on depending upon claim 2.
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 9, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 10 recites the limitation “the removal axis” in line 8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Thus, it will read as “a removal axis”.
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "in particular" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "such as for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 11, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Due to their dependency from claim 1, claims 2, 4, 6-8, and 12 are also rejected under 112 paragraph b.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hukuyama (WO 2018/097164 A1; See English Machine Translation).
Regarding claim 1, Hukuyama teaches a device for cleaning a press device (abstract and fig 1A), wherein the cleaning device has a movable cleaning head (11) which has, inside a housing (12), being a suction enclosure, at least one brush (17) as well as at least one nozzle (14) for dispensing a fluid and at least one suction device (abstract and page 6, para 4).
The recitation of “a powder press device, in particular a metal powder and/or ceramic powder press device” has not been given significant patentable weight because the recitation occurs in the preamble. A preamble is generally not accorded any patentable weight where it merely recites the purpose of a process or the intended use of a structure, and where the body of the claim does not depend on the preamble for completeness but, instead, the process steps or structural limitations are able to stand alone. See MPEP 2111.02. Therefore, Hukuyama meets the claimed limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Hukuyama teaches wherein the cleaning device has at least one first hose (191) for supplying the at least one nozzle with fluid, as well as at least one second hose (19) for applying negative pressure to the at least one suction device and for disposing of material that has been sucked off (page 8, para 3).
Regarding claim 4, Hukuyama teaches wherein the cleaning device further has at least one ultrasonic emitter (28) (page 17, para 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Hukuyama teaches wherein the at least one first hose and the at least one second hose are guided in a collecting hose, in a hose package (19) (page 8, para 3).
Regarding claim 7, Hukuyama teaches wherein the ultrasonic emitter (28) is integrated into a brush head and is suitable for exciting the at least one brush (page 17, para 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hukuyama (WO 2018/097164 A1; See English Machine Translation) and further in view of Motowaki (PG Pub U.S 2019/0151929).
Regarding claim 3, Hukuyama fails to teach at least one compressed air hose for introducing compressed air into the cleaning head, to at least one compressed air nozzle. However, Motowaki also teaches a press cleaning device wherein it is known to have at least one compressed air hose for introducing compressed air into the cleaning head (para 0021) in order to remove particles from the head. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hukuyama such that it includes at least one compressed air hose for introducing compressed air into the cleaning head as taught by Motowaki in order to remove particles from the head.
Claims 6 and 10-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hukuyama (WO 2018/097164 A1; See English Machine Translation) and further in view of Coscia (U.S Patent 3,801,251).
Regarding claim 6, Hukuyama fails to teach wherein the at least one brush can be set in rotation by means of a rotary drive and a respective drive shaft. However, Coscia also teaches a press cleaning device wherein it is known for the at least one brush to be set in rotation by means of a rotary drive and a respective drive shaft (abstract, claim 1, and col 2 lines 5-35) in order to move the brush in a synchronized manner with the pressing device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hukuyama such that the at least one brush can be set in rotation by means of a rotary drive and a respective drive shaft as taught by Coscia in order to move the brush in synchronized manner with the pressing device.
Regarding claim 10, Hukuyama teaches the press cleaning device as detailed in claim 1 above. Hukuyama fails to teach a combination of wherein the powder press device having a gripping device with which pressed moulded parts can be removed from a press of the powder press device and the cleaning device is stored, close to the powder press device, in a parking station accessible for the removal axis of the gripping device until a cleaning process. However, Coscia also teaches a combination of a powder press device and cleaning device (abstract) wherein the powder press device has a gripping device with which pressed moulded parts can be removed from a press of the powder press device and the cleaning device is stored close to the powder press device, in a parking station accessible for the removal axis of the gripping device until a cleaning process (col 2 lines 5-30 and claim 1; opening and closing of mould part by gripping device to allow cleaning device to clean mould) in order to effectively and easily clean the moulded part. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hukuyama such that it is a combination of wherein the powder press device having a gripping device with which pressed moulded parts can be removed from a press of the powder press device and the cleaning device is stored, close to the powder press device, in a parking station accessible for the removal axis of the gripping device until a cleaning process as taught by Coscia in order to effectively and easily clean the moulded part.
Regarding claim 11, Hukuyama teaches device of claim 1 and corresponding method including tool parts of the press device are cleaned by means of at least one brush (abstract and page 6, para 4), wherein a fluid, being a cleaning fluid, as a solvent-containing cleaning fluid, that is supplied to the brush (page 7, para 5); and a suction of detached dirt particles and, possibly, of introduced fluid is carried out (abstract and page 6, para 4), but fails to teach a movable cleaning head of the cleaning device is removed, by means of a gripping device of the powder press device, from a parking station close to the powder press device and within reach of the gripping device to initiate a cleaning process, and is introduced into a pressing chamber of the powder press device by means of the gripping device. Coscia also teaches a combination of a powder press device and cleaning device (abstract) wherein a movable cleaning head of the cleaning device is removed, by means of a gripping device of the powder press device, from a parking station close to the powder press device and within reach of the gripping device to initiate a cleaning process, and is introduced into a pressing chamber of the powder press device by means of the gripping device (col 2 lines 5-30 and claim 1; opening and closing of mould part by gripping device to allow cleaning device to clean mould) in order to effectively and easily clean the moulded part. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hukuyama wherein a movable cleaning head of the cleaning device is removed, by means of a gripping device of the powder press device, from a parking station close to the powder press device and within reach of the gripping device to initiate a cleaning process, and is introduced into a pressing chamber of the powder press device by means of the gripping device as suggested by Coscia in order to effectively and easily clean the moulded part.
Regarding claim 12, the present combination of Hukuyama, and Coscia teaches wherein a cleaning process with the aid of fluid is supported by means of ultrasound (para 0052 of Hukuyama).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hukuyama (WO 2018/097164 A1; See English Machine Translation) and further in view of Premananda (PG Pub U.S 2020/0128948).
Regarding claim 8, Hukuyama fails to teach wherein the ultrasonic emitter is supplied with energy by means of an induction coil. However, Premananda also teaches a cleaning device wherein it is known that ultrasonic emitter is supplied with energy by means of an induction coil (para 0052) in order to enhance the cleaning efficiency. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hukuyama such that the ultrasonic emitter is supplied with energy by means of an induction coil as taught by Premananda in order to enhance the cleaning efficiency.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hukuyama (WO 2018/097164 A1; See English Machine Translation) and further in view of Tsuda et al. (PG Pub U.S 2019/0157117).
Regarding claim 9, Hukuyama fails to teach wherein respective cleaning units, being brushes and nozzles are controllable individually that is pivotable. However, Tsuda teaches a cleaning system wherein it is known for a controller to individually move/pivot cleaning units of the brush and nozzle (para 0018) in order to increase cleaning coverage. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hukuyama such that respective cleaning units, the brush and nozzles are controllable individually to move/pivot by a controller in order to increase cleaning coverage.
Conclusion
/P.P/Examiner, Art Unit 1714
/KAJ K OLSEN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1714