DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: figure 4 discloses four different types of labels, 42, 43, 47, and 48, however, based on the specifications, such labels are classified as A42, B43, C47, and D48. The specifications should disclose the same labeling as shown on Figure 4. Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: figure 4 discloses four different types of labels, 42, 43, 47, and 48, however, based on the specifications, such labels are classified as A42, B43, C47, and D48. The specifications should disclose the same labeling as shown on Figure 4. Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: figure 6 discloses a different label as mention in the specifications. “second material 65” should be “First Material”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the material cache list" and "the first display order" in the claim. Claim 4 does not introduce an article within the claim or its dependencies. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 7, 11, 13-14, 17-18, and 21-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180131878) in view of Luo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210200390).
Regarding claim 1, Charlton discloses a material display method, wherein the method comprises (para 2, “the present disclosure addresses systems and methods for identifying image modifiers based on image analysis of images within a field of view of an image capture device and interaction analysis of selections within a user interface”): displaying a material display page in response to an acquisition operation of a user for the material display page, wherein the material display page is used for displaying at least one first material (para 52, “Upon selection, each target, area selected, or pixel position may display a context-specific mesh at activation. After activation, the presentation component 270 loads at least one set of modifiers, described in more detail below. In some instances, the modifiers are presented in a formatted presentation referred to as a modifier carousel.”; also, para 52, “identify modifier (e.g., lenses, filters, or sets of add-on graphical elements) and populate the modifier carousel”; also, para 70, “the presentation component 270 causes presentation of the modifier icons for the set of modifiers within the user interface”); switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, wherein the preset switching condition comprises one or more items selected from a group consisting of system time being matched with preset switching time, an existence of an updated first material, a material update request triggered by the user being acquired, and a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses performing a switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, wherein the preset switching condition comprises one or more items selected from a group consisting of system time being matched with preset switching time, an existence of an updated first material, a material update request triggered by the user being acquired, and a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying a material display page that presents a set of selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of switching the displayed material in response to a user navigation gesture made within the page. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that "a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that a page navigation operation triggers switching of the materials displayed on Charlton's modifier carousel. Second, Luo teaches that the gesture "enables scrolling through" the selectable graphical items, so that the user can move through more materials than fit on the screen at once. Third, tying the switch to an in-page navigation operation lets the user advance through Charlton's materials without leaving the material display page, improving the responsiveness of the page.
Regarding claim 2, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied, performing the switching operation on at least one first material displayed on the material display page comprises: pre-stored material cache list, wherein the material cache list comprises a plurality of first materials and association information corresponding to each of the first materials; determining a first display order of each of the first materials according to the association information corresponding to each of the first materials; and performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the first display order in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses acquiring a pre-stored material cache list, wherein the material cache list comprises a plurality of first materials and association information corresponding to each of the first materials (para 186, “a determination that the client device 102 and/or the messaging client application 104 has accessed media content for modifying during a post-capture time period, which in turn initiates the process for populating the record of media overlays that is then utilized for selecting media overlays for presenting in the carousel”; also, para 189, “a score can be generated and assigned to each media overlay, and based at least in part on the respective scores, a subset of the media overlays are selected for inclusion on the carousel arrangement of the user interface in an example”); determining a first display order of each of the first materials according to the association information corresponding to each of the first materials (para 189, “a score can be generated and assigned to each media overlay, and based at least in part on the respective scores, a subset of the media overlays are selected for inclusion on the carousel arrangement of the user interface in an example”); and performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the first display order in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied (para 188, “selectable graphical items 1650 may be presented in a carousel arrangement in which a portion or subset of the selectable graphical items 1650 are visible on a display screen”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying a set of selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of maintaining a record of materials and ordering the materials for inclusion according to a score. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches "populating the record of media overlays that is then utilized for selecting media overlays for presenting in the carousel," so that maintaining a stored list of Charlton's materials makes them available for display. Second, Luo teaches that "a score can be generated and assigned to each media overlay, and based at least in part on the respective scores, a subset of the media overlays are selected for inclusion," so that the score associated with each material determines the order in which the materials are placed for display. Third, ordering by the associated score presents the more relevant materials in a position the user reaches first, reducing the effort needed to find a desired material.
Regarding claim 5, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the preset switching condition comprises the material update request triggered by the user being acquired; performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: . Charlton does not disclose acquiring the material update request triggered by the user through a preset operation on the material display page; and performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the material update request.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses acquiring the material update request triggered by the user through a preset operation on the material display page; and performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the material update request (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of switching the displayed material in response to a user swipe or drag gesture. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that "a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that a user gesture on the page serves as the request that triggers an update of the displayed materials. Second, Luo teaches that the user input is a "swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through" the selectable graphical items, so that the user can deliberately request different materials. Third, providing a direct gesture-based update gives the user control over when Charlton's displayed materials change.
Regarding claim 7, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the material display page comprises at least one fixed display region and at least one display region that displays in turn, the fixed display region is used to fixedly display the first material that satisfies a preset display condition (Charlton: para 96, “In some instances, the user interface is divided among differing display areas. The display areas may correspond to specified interaction operations suitable for the display area. For example, a portion of the user interface may be limited to interaction with lenses, modifiers, or filters, after a set of modifiers or a portion of a set of modifiers has been displayed.”), switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: display region that displays in turn is used to display the first material in a manner of displaying in turn and performing the switching operation on the first material displayed in the at least one display region that displays in turn in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses and the display region that displays in turn is used to display the first material in a manner of displaying in turn (para 188, “the user can utilize various inputs to rotate the selectable graphical items onto and off of the display screen in manner corresponding to a carousel providing a cyclic view of the graphical items”) and performing the switching operation on the first material displayed in the at least one display region that displays in turn in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of dividing the user interface into display areas with the features of Luo's invention of a carousel region that cycles materials in turn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Charlton teaches that "a portion of the user interface may be limited to interaction with lenses, modifiers, or filters," so that one region can fixedly hold a material satisfying a condition. Second, Luo teaches that the user can "rotate the selectable graphical items onto and off of the display screen in manner corresponding to a carousel providing a cyclic view," so that another region can present materials in turn. Third, combining a fixed region with a region that cycles materials lets the user keep a key material in view while browsing the remaining materials.
Regarding claim 11, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein displaying the material display page in response to the acquisition operation of a user for the material display page comprises: material display page in response to a triggering operation of the user on a preset target application or, displaying the material display page in response to an image editing instruction triggered by the user in an image editing application, wherein the material is used for an image editing operation.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses displaying the material display page in response to a triggering operation of the user on a preset target application (para 186, “a determination that the client device 102 and/or the messaging client application 104 has accessed media content for modifying during a post-capture time period, which in turn initiates the process for populating the record of media overlays that is then utilized for selecting media overlays for presenting in the carousel.”); or, displaying the material display page in response to an image editing instruction triggered by the user in an image editing application, wherein the material is used for an image editing operation (para 187, “FIG. 16 illustrates examples of user interfaces comprising a carousel for selecting and stacking multiple media overlays for applying post-processing to media content (e.g., an image or video) in the messaging client application 104”; also, para 193, “the user provides a subsequent input (e.g., a tap or press) in order to apply the media overlay corresponding to the third selectable graphical item 1654”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of presenting the material display page within a messaging client application in response to the user accessing media content and using the materials for an image editing operation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that the messaging client application 104 having "accessed media content for modifying" initiates "populating the record of media overlays that is then utilized for selecting media overlays for presenting in the carousel," so that a user operation on a target application triggers display of the material display page. Second, Luo teaches a "carousel for selecting and stacking multiple media overlays for applying post-processing to media content (e.g., an image or video) in the messaging client application 104," so that the material display page is presented within an image editing application. Third, Luo teaches that the user provides input "in order to apply the media overlay," so that the material is used for an image editing operation, making the materials available exactly when the user is editing media.
Regarding claim 13, Charlton discloses an electronic device, wherein the device comprises: a processor and a memory; the memory stores a computer execution instruction; the processor executes the computer execution instruction stored in the memory (Charlton: para 110, “the software 1802 is implemented by hardware such as machine a 1900 of FIG. 19 that includes processors 1910, memory 1930, and I/O components 1950”), to cause the processor to execute a material display method, electronic device, wherein the device comprises: a processor and a memory; the memory stores a computer execution instruction; the processor executes the computer execution instruction stored in the memory, to cause the processor to execute the a material display method according to , the material display method comprises: displaying a material display page in response to an acquisition operation of a user for the material display page, wherein the material display page is used for displaying at least one first material (Charlton: para 2, “the present disclosure addresses systems and methods for identifying image modifiers based on image analysis of images within a field of view of an image capture device and interaction analysis of selections within a user interface”; also, para 52, “After activation, the presentation component 270 loads at least one set of modifiers, described in more detail below. In some instances, the modifiers are presented in a formatted presentation referred to as a modifier carousel.”; also, para 70, “the presentation component 270 causes presentation of the modifier icons for the set of modifiers within the user interface”); switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, wherein the preset switching condition comprises one or more items selected from a group consisting of system time being matched with preset switching time, an existence of an updated first material, a material update request triggered by the user being acquired, and a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses and performing a switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, wherein the preset switching condition comprises one or more items selected from a group consisting of system time being matched with preset switching time, an existence of an updated first material, a material update request triggered by the user being acquired, and a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of an electronic device that displays a material display page presenting selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of switching the displayed material in response to a user navigation gesture made within the page. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that "a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that the device switches the displayed materials in response to a page navigation operation. Second, Luo teaches that the gesture "enables scrolling through" the selectable graphical items, so that the device lets the user move through more materials than fit on the screen. Third, switching on an in-page navigation operation lets the device advance through Charlton's materials without leaving the material display page.
Regarding claim 14, Charlton discloses a computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer execution instruction, and upon the processor executing the computer execution instruction, a material display method is implemented (para 117, “the storage unit 1936 can include a machine-readable medium 1938 on which are stored the instructions 1916 embodying any of the methodologies or functions described herein”; also, para 125, “the machine-readable medium 1938 is non-transitory (in other words, not having any transitory signals) in that it does not embody a propagating signal”), the material display method comprises: displaying a material display page in response to an acquisition operation of a user for the material display page, wherein the material display page is used for displaying at least one first material (para 52, “After activation, the presentation component 270 loads at least one set of modifiers, described in more detail below. In some instances, the modifiers are presented in a formatted presentation referred to as a modifier carousel.”; also, para 70, “the presentation component 270 causes presentation of the modifier icons for the set of modifiers within the user interface”); and performing a switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, wherein the preset switching condition comprises one or more items selected from a group consisting of system time being matched with preset switching time, an existence of an updated first material, a material update request triggered by the user being acquired, and a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired. Charlton does not disclose and performing a switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, wherein the preset switching condition comprises one or more items selected from a group consisting of system time being matched with preset switching time, an existence of an updated first material, a material update request triggered by the user being acquired, and a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses and performing a switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied, wherein the preset switching condition comprises one or more items selected from a group consisting of system time being matched with preset switching time, an existence of an updated first material, a material update request triggered by the user being acquired, and a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of a non-transitory machine-readable medium storing instructions for displaying a material display page presenting selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of switching the displayed material in response to a user navigation gesture made within the page. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that "a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that the stored instructions switch the displayed materials in response to a page navigation operation. Second, Luo teaches that the gesture "enables scrolling through" the selectable graphical items, so that the instructions let the user move through more materials than fit on the screen. Third, switching on an in-page navigation operation lets the instructions advance through Charlton's materials without leaving the material display page.
Regarding claim 17, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a page jump operation triggered by the user within the material display page that satisfies the preset switching condition.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a page jump operation triggered by the user within the material display page that satisfies the preset switching condition (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of switching the displayed material in response to a navigation gesture made within the page. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that "a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that an in-page navigation operation triggers switching of the displayed materials. Second, Luo describes the gesture as "providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600," so that the navigation occurs within the same page. Third, tying the switch to an in-page navigation operation lets the user advance through Charlton's materials without leaving the material display page.
Regarding claim 18, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 17, wherein the preset switching condition comprises a preset page jump operation triggered by the user being acquired; page jump operation is matched with the preset page jump operation, it is determined that the preset switching condition is satisfied, and the switching operation is performed on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of switching the displayed material when a particular navigation gesture is recognized. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that the second item "is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that recognizing a particular gesture as the preset page jump operation triggers the switch. Second, Luo distinguishes a "swipe or drag gesture" used for navigation from a "tap or press" used to apply a material, so that the system matches the user input against a particular preset operation before switching. Third, requiring a match with a preset page jump operation prevents inadvertent switching of Charlton's displayed materials during other interactions.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses if the page jump operation is matched with the preset page jump operation, it is determined that the preset switching condition is satisfied, and the switching operation is performed on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page.
Regarding claim 21, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: a page jump operation that satisfies the preset switching condition is pre-set; performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to a preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the page jump operation triggered by the user within the material display page that satisfies the preset switching condition, wherein the page jump operation that satisfies the preset switching condition comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of re-entering the material display page, a saving edited content operation triggered on the material display page, a completing editing operation triggered on the material display page, and a restoring operation of a last edited image.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses wherein a page jump operation that satisfies the preset switching condition is pre-set; performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the page jump operation triggered by the user within the material display page that satisfies the preset switching condition (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture.”), wherein the page jump operation that satisfies the preset switching condition comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of re-entering the material display page, a saving edited content operation triggered on the material display page, a completing editing operation triggered on the material display page, and a restoring operation of a last edited image (para 193, “the user provides a subsequent input (e.g., a tap or press) in order to apply the media overlay corresponding to the third selectable graphical item 1654”; also, para 193, “a media overlay 1656 is applied and provided for display in the user interface 1600 on the display screen”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of switching the displayed material in response to a preset page operation such as completing an editing operation. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that a particular gesture causes a "second selectable graphical item 1652" to be "displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that a preset page operation can be defined as the trigger for switching. Second, Luo teaches that "a media overlay 1656 is applied and provided for display" when the user provides input "in order to apply the media overlay," so that completing an editing operation on the page is a recognized operation that can serve as the page jump operation. Third, defining the page operation in advance lets the system switch Charlton's displayed materials at meaningful points in the editing workflow.
Regarding claim 22, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 5, operation triggered by the user on the material display page are obtained in real time, if the operation triggered by the user is matched with a preset operation, it is determined that the material update request triggered by the user is acquired; the preset operation comprises any one selected from a group consisting of up sliding operation, down sliding operation, left sliding operation and right sliding operation, or the preset operation may also be a preset pattern drawn within a preset region, or, the material display page is provided with an update control, the preset operation comprises triggering the update control by the user.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Luo discloses wherein an operation triggered by the user on the material display page are obtained in real time, if the operation triggered by the user is matched with a preset operation, it is determined that the material update request triggered by the user is acquired; the preset operation comprises any one selected from a group consisting of up sliding operation, down sliding operation, left sliding operation and right sliding operation, or the preset operation may also be a preset pattern drawn within a preset region, or, the material display page is provided with an update control, the preset operation comprises triggering the update control by the user (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials with the features of Luo's invention of recognizing a user sliding gesture as the operation that requests an update of the displayed materials. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Luo teaches that "a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture," so that a sliding gesture obtained from the user is treated as a request to update the displayed materials. Second, Luo teaches that the swipe or drag input "enables scrolling through" the selectable graphical items and is distinguished from other inputs, so that the system matches the obtained operation against a preset sliding operation before updating. Third, recognizing a directional sliding gesture gives the user a quick and familiar way to request new materials on Charlton's material display page.
Claim(s) 3, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180131878) in view of Luo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210200390), further in view of Lin (C.N Pub. No. 103235799).
Regarding claim 3, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 2, first display order of each of the first materials according to the association information corresponding to each of the first materials comprises:Charlton does not disclose wherein the association information comprises performance data corresponding to the first material, calculating a performance score corresponding to each of the first materials according to the performance data corresponding to each of the first materials and a preset performance score calculation method; and determining the first display order corresponding to each of the first materials based on a preset arrangement order according to the performance score.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lin discloses wherein the association information comprises performance data corresponding to the first material (para 26, “the display volume and click-through rate of the content item at each display position are calculated when the content item is displayed n times (ie, reaching the display threshold)”); calculating a performance score corresponding to each of the first materials according to the performance data corresponding to each of the first materials and a preset performance score calculation method (para 28, “according to the position of the click-through rate of the content item in the click-through rate distribution of neighboring content items, the feedback weight fbWeight of the content item is calculated”); and determining the first display order corresponding to each of the first materials based on a preset arrangement order according to the performance score (para 31, “the adjusted weight W' is obtained by using the feedback weight fbWeight and the original ranking weight Weight of the content item, and then the ranking of the content item is changed according to the adjusted weight W”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of Lin's invention of computing a score from performance data and ranking the materials according to that score. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Lin teaches that "the display volume and click-through rate of the content item at each display position are calculated when the content item is displayed n times," so that the display volume and click-through rate constitute performance data of the material. Second, Lin teaches that "the feedback weight fbWeight of the content item is calculated" from that click-through performance, so that a performance score is computed for each of Charlton's materials by a preset method. Third, Lin teaches that "the ranking of the content item is changed according to the adjusted weight W'," so that arranging the materials by the computed score places the better-performing materials where the user reaches them first.
Regarding claim 19, Charlton as modified by Luo and Lin discloses the method according to claim 3, performance data comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of a total number of times the user has used the first material, the user's evaluation on the first material, a score of the first material.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lin discloses wherein the performance data comprises at least one selected from a group consisting of a total number of times the user has used the first material, the user's evaluation on the first material, a score of the first material (para 26, “the display volume and click-through rate of the content item at each display position are calculated when the content item is displayed n times (ie, reaching the display threshold)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of Lin's invention of measuring the display volume of each material as performance data. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Lin teaches that "the display volume and click-through rate of the content item at each display position are calculated when the content item is displayed n times," so that the display volume provides a total number of times the material has been used as the performance data. Second, Lin calculates these metrics per content item, so that each of Charlton's materials has its own performance data. Third, using a measured usage count as the performance data ties the ordering of Charlton's displayed materials to concrete user-engagement metrics.
Regarding claim 20, Charlton as modified by Luo and Lin discloses the method according to claim 3, Charlton does not disclose wherein the preset arrangement order is a descending order of the performance scores corresponding to the first materials or an ascending order of the performance scores corresponding to the first materials.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Lin discloses wherein the preset arrangement order is a descending order of the performance scores corresponding to the first materials or an ascending order of the performance scores corresponding to the first materials (para 31, “the adjusted weight W' is obtained by using the feedback weight fbWeight and the original ranking weight Weight of the content item, and then the ranking of the content item is changed according to the adjusted weight W”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of Lin's invention of ranking the materials by the magnitude of the computed score. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Lin teaches that "the ranking of the content item is changed according to the adjusted weight W'," so that the magnitude of the score determines the order in which the materials are arranged. Second, Lin advances a content item in the ranking as its weight increases, which is a descending order of the score and places the best-scoring materials first. Third, ordering by the magnitude of the score gives the user predictable access to the materials most likely to be wanted, whether the arrangement is configured as descending or ascending.
Claim(s) 4, 10, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180131878) in view of Cockcroft (U.S. Pub. No. 20150242940)
Regarding claim 4, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied, after performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the first display order, the method further comprises: first material that has not been displayed in the material cache list in response to a total number of a time of the switching operation reaches a preset switching times threshold; and giving a priority to displaying the first material that has not been displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied again.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Russell discloses wherein in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied, after performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the first display order, the method further comprises: determining a first material that has not been displayed in the material cache list in response to a total number of a time of the switching operation reaches a preset switching times threshold (para 74, “Content may be subject to rendering a particular number of times, a certain number of times a day, certain times with regard to certain content, and the like”; also, para 76, “Expiration and other life-cycle data may be tracked by the advertisement selection module 330 such that this information is taken into account when making advertisement selections of what advertisement may be rendered next”); and giving a priority to displaying the first material that has not been displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied again (para 76, “the advertisement selection module may be configured to maintain an even-rotation of advertisements subject to certain priorities discussed below”; also, para 78, “the advertisement selection module 330 may then look to see if one piece of content has a higher priority than another (e.g., an advertiser has paid an additional premium to ensure its content is seen before other content). If no priority is given or the content has equal priority, the advertisement selection module 330 may default to a random selection”; also, para 76, “the advertisement selection module 330 may further track the last time an advertisement was rendered such that the same advertisement is not continuously rendered back-to-back when other content is available in the advertisement buffer 310”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of Russell's invention of tracking how many times material has been rendered and rotating the display toward material not yet shown. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Russell teaches that "Content may be subject to rendering a particular number of times," so that counting renderings of Charlton's materials provides the threshold at which a coverage check is performed. Second, Russell teaches that life-cycle data is "taken into account when making advertisement selections of what advertisement may be rendered next," so that the system can identify material that has not yet been displayed and select it next. Third, Russell teaches maintaining "an even-rotation of advertisements subject to certain priorities," so that giving priority to not-yet-displayed material ensures the user is exposed to the full set of materials rather than seeing the same materials repeatedly.
Regarding claim 10, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the preset switching condition comprises the system time being matched with the preset switching time; performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: system time is matched with the preset switching time in real time, and if the system time is matched with the preset switching time in real time, performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Russell discloses detecting whether the system time is matched with the preset switching time in real time (para 75, “Other content may have an actual expiration date such that when a particular date or time arrives, that content is deleted or is made subject to overwriting by other content”; also, para 76, “Expiration and other life-cycle data may be tracked by the advertisement selection module 330 such that this information is taken into account when making advertisement selections of what advertisement may be rendered next”), and if the system time is matched with the preset switching time in real time, performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page (para 75, “the 5 PM news may be available for rendering an unlimited number of times until the 6 PM news is available at which time the 5 PM news may be deleted or left unprotected and subject to overwriting by new content (e.g., the 6 PM news)”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of Russell's invention of rendering content at certain times of day and tracking time data to determine what to render next. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Russell teaches that content may have "an actual expiration date such that when a particular date or time arrives, that content is deleted or is made subject to overwriting by other content," so that a preset time can serve as the condition that triggers switching of Charlton's displayed materials. Second, Russell teaches that "this information is taken into account when making advertisement selections of what advertisement may be rendered next," so that the system can detect when the current time matches the preset time and act on it. Third, switching the displayed materials at a scheduled time keeps the material display page fresh on a predictable cadence without requiring any user action.
Regarding claim 23, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 2, wherein in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied, after performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the first display order, the method further comprises: first material that has not been displayed in the material cache list in response to a total number of a time of the switching operation reaches a preset switching times threshold; and giving a priority to displaying the first material that has not been displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied again.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Russell discloses determining a first material that has not been displayed in the material cache list in response to a total number of a time of the switching operation reaches a preset switching times threshold (para 74, “Content may be subject to rendering a particular number of times, a certain number of times a day, certain times with regard to certain content, and the like”; also, para 76, “Expiration and other life-cycle data may be tracked by the advertisement selection module 330 such that this information is taken into account when making advertisement selections of what advertisement may be rendered next”); and giving a priority to displaying the first material that has not been displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied again (para 76, “the advertisement selection module may be configured to maintain an even-rotation of advertisements subject to certain priorities discussed below”; also, para 76, “the advertisement selection module 330 may further track the last time an advertisement was rendered such that the same advertisement is not continuously rendered back-to-back when other content is available in the advertisement buffer 310”; also, para 78, “the advertisement selection module 330 may then look to see if one piece of content has a higher priority than another (e.g., an advertiser has paid an additional premium to ensure its content is seen before other content). If no priority is given or the content has equal priority, the advertisement selection module 330 may default to a random selection”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of Russell's invention of tracking how many times material has been rendered and rotating the display toward material not yet shown. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Russell teaches that "Content may be subject to rendering a particular number of times," so that counting renderings of the materials maintained in the list provides the threshold at which a coverage check is performed. Second, Russell teaches that life-cycle data is "taken into account when making advertisement selections of what advertisement may be rendered next," so that the system can identify material in the list that has not yet been displayed and select it next. Third, Russell teaches maintaining "an even-rotation of advertisements subject to certain priorities," so that giving priority to not-yet-displayed material ensures the user is exposed to the full list of materials rather than seeing the same materials repeatedly.
Claim(s) 6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180131878) in view of Luo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210200390), further in view of He (U.S. Pub. No. 20180018319)
Regarding claim 6, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the preset switching condition comprises an existence the updated first material; performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: newly added first material and/or association information corresponding to the first material exist in a pre-stored material cache list in real time, if the newly added first material and/or the association information corresponding to the first material exist, determining at least one first target material that satisfies a preset display condition according to an updated material cache list; and performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the at least one first target material.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, He discloses detecting whether a newly added first material and/or association information corresponding to the first material exist in a pre-stored material cache list in real time (para 53, “the popular sticker database is configured to store popular sticker data and is continuously updated as a backend server performs pushing”; also, para 94, “the local terminal continuously updates the sending volume according to sticker images sent by a user to maintain recently-used sticker data matching usage of sticker images of the user”), if the newly added first material and/or the association information corresponding to the first material exist, determining at least one first target material that satisfies a preset display condition according to an updated material cache list (para 78, “sticker images corresponding to the preset sticker sending policy are selected, where a basis of the selection may be the statistics data or a combination of the statistics data and user behavior data, so as to obtain one or a few sticker images having the largest sending volume. The sticker image is the recommended sticker image”); and performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page according to the at least one first target material (para 94, “the local terminal continuously updates the sending volume according to sticker images sent by a user to maintain recently-used sticker data matching usage of sticker images of the user”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of He's invention of detecting material newly pushed to the terminal and switching the displayed material to a recommended target selected from the updated list. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, He teaches that "the popular sticker database is configured to store popular sticker data and is continuously updated as a backend server performs pushing," so that detecting material newly pushed to the terminal lets Charlton's page react to material added after the page is first shown. Second, He teaches that recommended sticker images are selected "so as to obtain one or a few sticker images having the largest sending volume," so that a target material satisfying a preset condition is selected from the updated list. Third, He teaches that "the local terminal continuously updates the sending volume according to sticker images sent by a user to maintain recently-used sticker data matching usage of sticker images of the user," so that performing the switch keeps the displayed material consistent with the current target material.
Regarding claim 8, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 7, wherein the preset switching condition comprises the existence the updated first material; performing the switching operation on the at least one first material displayed on the material display page in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied comprises: detecting whether a newly added first material and/or association information corresponding to the first material exist in a pre-stored material cache list in real time; determining a first updated material that satisfies a preset display condition according to an updated material cache list, and performing the switching operation on the first material currently displayed on the display region that displays in turn according to the first updated material; for other first materials in the updated material cache list except for the first updated material that satisfies the preset display condition, determining a second display order corresponding to the other first materials according to association information corresponding to the other first materials; and performing a switching operation of displaying in turn on the first material displayed on the at least one display region that displays in turn according to the second display order in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied. Charlton does not disclose detecting whether a newly added first material and/or association information corresponding to the first material exist in a pre-stored material cache list in real time; determining a first updated material that satisfies a preset display condition according to an updated material cache list, and performing the switching operation on the first material currently displayed on the display region that displays in turn according to the first updated material; for other first materials in the updated material cache list except for the first updated material that satisfies the preset display condition, determining a second display order corresponding to the other first materials according to association information corresponding to the other first materials; and performing a switching operation of displaying in turn on the first material displayed on the at least one display region that displays in turn according to the second display order in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, He discloses detecting whether a newly added first material and/or association information corresponding to the first material exist in a pre-stored material cache list in real time (para 53, “the popular sticker database is configured to store popular sticker data and is continuously updated as a backend server performs pushing”; also, para 94, “the local terminal continuously updates the sending volume according to sticker images sent by a user to maintain recently-used sticker data matching usage of sticker images of the user”); determining a first updated material that satisfies a preset display condition according to an updated material cache list (para 78, “sticker images corresponding to the preset sticker sending policy are selected, where a basis of the selection may be the statistics data or a combination of the statistics data and user behavior data, so as to obtain one or a few sticker images having the largest sending volume. The sticker image is the recommended sticker image”), while Luo discloses performing the switching operation on the first material currently displayed on the display region that displays in turn according to the first updated material (para 191, “the user instead provides a different touch input corresponding to a swipe or drag gesture that enables scrolling through (e.g., providing navigation through various graphical items presented in the user interface 1600) the selectable graphical items 1650, and a second selectable graphical item 1652 is displayed in response to the swipe or drag gesture”); for other first materials in the updated material cache list except for the first updated material that satisfies the preset display condition, determining a second display order corresponding to the other first materials according to association information corresponding to the other first materials (para 189, “a score can be generated and assigned to each media overlay, and based at least in part on the respective scores, a subset of the media overlays are selected for inclusion on the carousel arrangement of the user interface in an example”); and performing a switching operation of displaying in turn on the first material displayed on the at least one display region that displays in turn according to the second display order in response to the preset switching condition being satisfied (para 189, “media overlays can be organized into respective groups for including on the carousel arrangement thereby enabling rotating through media overlays by group”; also, para 187, “the user can utilize various inputs to rotate the selectable graphical items onto and off of the display screen in manner corresponding to a carousel providing a cyclic view of the graphical items”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo's invention of cycling materials in a carousel region, with the features of He's invention of detecting newly pushed material and selecting a recommended target. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, He teaches that the popular database "is continuously updated as a backend server performs pushing" and selects recommended stickers "so as to obtain one or a few sticker images having the largest sending volume," so that newly pushed material can be detected and a first updated material selected. Second, Luo teaches that "a score can be generated and assigned to each media overlay," so that the remaining materials can be placed in a second display order. Third, Luo teaches "rotating through media overlays by group" in a carousel "providing a cyclic view," so that switching the cycling region according to that second order presents the remaining materials in turn while the updated material is featured.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Charlton et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20180131878) in view of Luo et al. (U.S. Pub. No. 20210200390), further in view of Cockcroft (U.S. Pub. No. 20150242940)
Regarding claim 9, Charlton as modified by Luo discloses the method according to claim 1, material display page in response to the acquisition operation of a user for the material display page comprises: material display page comprises a first display region and a second display region, the first display region is used for displaying the first material, the second display region is used for displaying a second material, and the first material and the second material are different types of materials; and detecting whether the second display region comprises a second material that coincides with the first material displayed in the first display region, and if the second display region comprises a second material that coincides with the first material displayed in the first display region, deleting the second material in the second display region that coincides with the first material displayed in the first display region.
However, in a similar field of endeavor, Cockcroft discloses wherein the material display page comprises a first display region and a second display region, the first display region is used for displaying the first material, the second display region is used for displaying a second material, and the first material and the second material are different types of materials (para 12, “FIG. 8 is a line drawing illustrating an example user interface in which a first list of content items is displayed in a first region of the user interface and a second list of content items is displayed in a second region of the user interface”; also, para 75, “the list in the first region of the user interface includes information (e.g., photos, titles, links, and so on) pertaining to items listed on a network-based publication system that match a set of keywords”; also, para 75, “the list in the second region includes information pertaining to items included in advertisements that are presented in conjunction with the list in the first region”); and detecting whether the second display region comprises a second material that coincides with the first material displayed in the first display region (para 49, “the identification module 356 identifies that the second set of content items includes a duplicate content item”), and if the second display region comprises a second material that coincides with the first material displayed in the first display region, deleting the second material in the second display region that coincides with the first material displayed in the first display region (para 50, “the notification module 358 provides an indication that the content item that the duplicate content item is to be omitted from the second set of content items before the second set of content items is to be communicated for presentation to the user in a second list”; also, para 51, “the server application may then omit duplicate content items from the list of content items before sending the list of content items to the client application(s) 112”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Charlton's invention of displaying selectable image modifier materials, as modified by Luo, with the features of Cockcroft's invention of presenting two regions of different content and removing from the second region any item that duplicates an item in the first region.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this combination for the following reasons. First, Cockcroft teaches a user interface in which "a first list of content items is displayed in a first region" and "a second list of content items is displayed in a second region," with the first region holding items matching keywords and the second region holding advertisements, so that two regions can present different types of materials on the page. Second, Cockcroft teaches that "the identification module 356 identifies that the second set of content items includes a duplicate content item," so that the system can detect when a material in the second region coincides with a material in the first region. Third, Cockcroft teaches that the duplicate "is to be omitted from the second set of content items before the second set of content items is to be communicated for presentation," so that deleting the coinciding material from the second region avoids showing the user the same material twice across the two regions.
Conclusion
/JAI W LI/Junior Examiner, Art Unit 2613
/XIAO M WU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2613