DETAILED ACTION
Preliminary amendments to the claims, filed 12/18/2024, have been entered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the chain and lubrication system as recited at least in claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 1 be found allowable, claim 19 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claims 1 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities: For claim 1, the term “it” should be positively recited to avoid confusion. For claim 9 “the roller” should be clarified to recite “the scraper roller”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites “if n=number of belts”, but it is unclear whether or not this limitation is required. It is assumed, for purposes of examination, that applicant intended that the n=number of belts is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 13, 14, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Redding US3125948.
Regarding claim 1, Redding teaches a baler 10 for forming round bales of crops, including:
- a frame 16 providing an internal volume (space under 16);
- a pick up unit 22 attached to the frame 16 and configured for picking up crops from the ground and for feeding it into the baler (wherein when 22 spins, crop can be moved into area 42), the feeding unit having an inlet (left side of 22 shown in Figure 1, column 2: 47-49 “The bale material is fed into the baling chamber 42 between the lower drive roll 22 and the press roll 24”. Therefore, material is entered from the left side, which is considered the inlet) facing the ground and an outlet (right side of 22) facing the internal volume (space under 16);
- a compression chamber 42 (wherein a bale forming chamber 42 is the same as the claimed compression chamber, since both provide space for forming the bale) for compressing the crops to form the bale, the compression chamber 42 being of a variable diameter (via change in at least the belts 32), wherein the crops is fed to the compression chamber 42 from the outlet of the feeding unit in a feeding direction;
- a plurality of guide rollers 20/26/28/30 placed inside the internal volume (space under 16) and including a pair of entrance rollers (20 and 26) ;
- a plurality of belts 32 placed side by side (as shown in Figure 2 and 3)in the internal volume (space under 16) and wound around the guide rollers 20/26/28/30 so to define an endless loop (as shown in Figure 1, and wherein the bands 34 are endless Column 2: 36, thus forming a loop), the loop being flexible (wherein bands are necessarily flexible to achieve the shape shown in Figure 1) for delimiting the compression chamber 42, wherein the guide rollers 20/26/28/30 are rotatable for driving the belts 32 around the loop, wherein the baler further comprises a belt divider 54 to divide each belt of the plurality of belts 32 from the adjacent one, the belt divider 54 having divisions (as shown in Figure 3, with 52 providing the divisions) corresponding in number to the number of the plurality of belts 32, wherein each belt of the plurality of belts 32 lays in a plane (as shown in Figure 3) which is oriented longitudinally so that the plurality of belts 32, when stretched between the plurality of rollers, are oriented along a longitudinal direction (from left to right of Figure 3), characterized in that at least a part of the belt divider 54 (wherein 48 and 49 are pivotable) is movable in a direction parallel (wherein 49 is moved to be parallel to the belts) and transversal (wherein 46 and 48 rotate on pivot point 55 with pivoting direction transverse to the left-right direction in Figure 3) to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 6, Redding teaches the at least one part of the belt divider 54 (wherein 48 and 49 are pivotable) is configured to have a free motion (arm 44 can rotate, which is considered free motion) as a result of displacement of the belts 32 of the plurality of belts 32 (wherein significant motion of 32 can move 48/49 by pivoting) and without further driving force.
Regarding claim 13, Redding teaches that the plurality of belts 32 includes four belts 32 (Figure 3 shows at least four belts).
Regarding claim 14, Redding teaches a method for forming round bales (cylindrical/roll bales Column 1: 8-11 are round bales), comprising the following steps:
- providing a baler 10 with a plurality of guide rollers 20/26/28/30 placed inside an internal volume (space under 16) of the baler and including a pair of entrance rollers (20 and 26);
- placing a plurality of belts 32 side by side in the internal volume (space under 16) and wind them around the guide rollers 20/26/28/30 so to define an endless loop, the loop being flexible for delimiting a compression chamber 42;
- rotating (necessarily occurring during operation to during the belt rotation) the guide rollers 20/26/28/30 for driving the belts 32 around the loop;
- feeding the crops into the compression chamber 42 of the baler through a pick up unit 22 in a feeding direction (to the right of Figure 1),
- compressing the crops to form the bale (Column 2:47-55 “The bale material is fed into the baling chamber 42 between the lower drive roll 22 and the press roll 24. As the sheet of matted bale material reaches a point between the upper and lower trip rollers 26 and 28, the free end of the sheet of baling material is rolled upwardly and backwardly after which the sheet of material fed between the press roll and the lower drive roll is rolled in a manner to form a large bale”) in the compression chamber 42;
- dividing each belt (as shown in Figures 3 and 4) of the plurality of belts 32 from the adjacent one through a belt divider 54, the belt divider 54 having divisions corresponding in number to the number of the plurality of belts 32;
- placing each belt of the plurality of belts 32 in a plane (as shown in Figure 3) which is oriented longitudinally (as recited above) so that the plurality of belts 32, when stretched between the plurality of rollers, are oriented along a longitudinal direction, characterized in that at least a part of the belt divider 54 (wherein 48 and 49 are pivotable) is movable in a direction parallel (wherein 49 is moved to be parallel to the belts) and transversal (wherein 46 and 48 rotate on pivot point 55 with pivoting direction transverse to the left-right direction in Figure 3) to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 18, Redding teaches a baler 10 for forming round bales of crops (as recited above), comprising:
- a frame 16 providing an internal volume (space under 16);
- a pick up unit 22 attached to the frame 16 and configured for picking up crops from the ground and for feeding the crops into the internal volume (space under 16), the feeding unit having an inlet (left side of 22 shown in Figure 1) facing the ground and an outlet (right side of 22) facing the internal volume (space under 16);
- a compression chamber 42 for compressing the crops to form the bale, the compression chamber 42 being of a variable diameter, wherein the crops are fed to the compression chamber 42 from the outlet of the feeding unit in a feeding direction (as recited above);
- a plurality of guide rollers 20/26/28/30 placed inside the internal volume (space under 16) and including a pair of entrance rollers (20 and 26);
- a plurality of belts 32 placed side by side in the internal volume (space under 16) and wound around the guide rollers 20/26/28/30 so to define an endless loop (as recited above), the loop being flexible for delimiting the compression chamber 42, wherein the guide rollers 20/26/28/30 are rotatable for driving the belts 32 around the loop, wherein the baler further comprises a belt divider 54, to divide each belt (as recited above) of the plurality of belts 32 from the adjacent one, the belt divider 54 having divisions, wherein each belt of the plurality of belts 32 lays in a plane which is oriented longitudinally so that the plurality of belts 32, when stretched between the plurality of rollers, are oriented along a longitudinal direction, wherein at least a part of the belt divider 54 (wherein 48 and 49 are pivotable) is movable in a direction parallel (wherein 49 is moved to be parallel to the belts) and transversal (wherein 46 and 48 rotate on pivot point 55 with pivoting direction transverse to the left-right direction in Figure 3) to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 19, Redding teaches the divisions correspond in number to the number of the plurality of belts 32 (as shown in Figure 3).
Claim(s) 1-6, 13, 14, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sereg US3992987.
Regarding claim 1, Sereg teaches a baler 10 for forming round bales 12 of crops, including
- a frame 14 providing an internal volume (area inside 14);
- a pick up unit 30 attached to the frame 14 and configured for picking up crops from the ground and for feeding it into the baler (to the right in Figure 1), the feeding unit having an inlet (left side of Figures 1 and 2) facing the ground and an outlet (adjacent 60) facing the internal volume (area inside 14);
- a compression chamber (holding 12) for compressing the crops to form the bale, the compression chamber (holding 12) being of a variable diameter (wherein 12 can expand due to belts 64 64), wherein the crops is fed to the compression chamber (holding 12) from the outlet of the feeding unit in a feeding direction (to the right in Figure 2);
- a plurality of guide rollers 36-52 placed inside the internal volume (area inside 14) and including a pair of entrance rollers (28 and 52);
- a plurality of belts 64 placed side by side (shown partially in Figure 4) in the internal volume (area inside 14) and wound around the guide rollers 36-52 so to define an endless loop (Figure 1), the loop being flexible (wherein 64 is considered flexible since it traverses the curves shown in Figure 1) for delimiting the compression chamber (holding 12), wherein the guide rollers 36-52 are rotatable (necessarily occurring when belts 64 are moved in the arrows shown in Figure 1, since rollers 32-52 are described as rollers, thus requiring that they are rotatable) for driving the belts 64 around the loop, wherein the baler further comprises a belt divider 66 (wherein Figure 4 shows 66 dividing belts 64 via comb teeth 70) to divide each belt of the plurality of belts 64 from the adjacent one, the belt divider 66 having divisions 68 corresponding in number to the number of the plurality of belts 64, wherein each belt of the plurality of belts 64 lays in a plane (the generally horizontal plane shown in Figure 1 between 36 and 66) which is oriented longitudinally (into and out of the page in Figure 1) so that the plurality of belts 64, when stretched between the plurality of rollers, are oriented along a longitudinal direction (into and out of the page in Figure 1), characterized in that at least a part of the belt divider 66 is movable in a direction parallel (wherein 68 extends parallel to the longitudinal direction) and transversal (wherein slot 78 and 80 provide movement towards and away from the longitudinal direction, as described in Column 2: 28-33 “Bars 74 and 76 are provided with elongated slots 78 and 80 formed therein respectively adapted to receive belts 82 and 84 extending therethrough to permit the bars 74 and 76 to be adjustably secured to the frame means such as illustrated in FIG. 2”) to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 2, Sereg teaches the belt divider 66 comprises a fixed portion (frame portion adjacent 76 shown in Figure 2, shown in figure A below, annotated from Figure 2) and a movable portion (74, 76, and 68), wherein the fixed portion is a bar I(wherein the portion is shown as bar shaped in Figure 2) fixed to the frame 14 and extended along the transversal direction (into and out of the page) between a first end and a second end (the respective left and right sides of the baler) and the movable part is a comb (with teeth 70) movably connected 9via slot 78 and bolts 82/84) to the bar at a central part thereof (connected to the central part of the bar via bolts 82 and 84).
Figure A: annotated Figure 2
Regarding claim 3, Sereg teaches that the movable part of the belt divider 66 is configured to slide (on slots 78) with respect to the fixed bar.
Regarding claim 4, Sereg teaches that the belt divider 66 has stopping elements 82/84 and wherein the movable portion (74, 76, and 68) of the belt divider 66 is configured to move along a specific path (the slots 78) having a determined length (wherein the slots 78 are the length shown in Figure 3), the stopping elements being configured to stop the movable portion (74, 76, and 68) of the belt divider 66 when the movable portion (74, 76, and 68) arrives at the end of said path (either end of the slots 78), so that the movable portion (74, 76, and 68) is provided with a limited movement (due to bolts 82 and 84 engaging the ends of the slots 78).
Regarding claim 5, Sereg teaches that if n=number of belts 64, the belt divider 66 has N teeth wherein N=n+1 and wherein the movable portion (74, 76, and 68) of the belt divider 66 includes N-2 teeth (Figure 4 shows such an arrangement where the belts 64 fit in the space between the teeth 70).
Regarding claim 6, Sereg teaches the at least one part of the belt divider 66 is configured to have a free motion (when sliding along slot 78) as a result of displacement of the belts 64 (such as to press on 68) of the plurality of belts 64 and without further driving force.
Regarding claim 13, Sereg teaches that the plurality of belts 64 includes four belts 64 (wherein more than 4 belts can be placed in the spaces described above).
Regarding claim 14, Sereg teaches a method for forming round bales 12, comprising the following steps:
- providing a baler 10 with a plurality of guide rollers 36-52 placed inside an internal volume (area inside 14) of the baler and including a pair of entrance rollers (28 and 52);
- placing a plurality of belts 64 side by side (shown partially in Figure 4) in the internal volume (area inside 14) and wind them around the guide rollers 36-52 so to define an endless loop (Figure 1), the loop being flexible (wherein 64 is considered flexible since it traverses the curves shown in Figure 1) for delimiting a compression chamber (holding 12);
- rotating the guide rollers 36-52 for driving the belts 64 around the loop;
- feeding the crops into the compression chamber (holding 12) of the baler through a pick up unit 30 in a feeding direction (to the right in Figure 2), - compressing the crops to form the bale in the compression chamber (holding 12);
- dividing each belt of the plurality of belts 64 from the adjacent one through a belt divider 66, the belt divider 66 having divisions 68 corresponding in number to the number of the plurality of belts 64;
- placing each belt of the plurality of belts 64 in a plane (the generally horizontal plane shown in Figure 1 between 36 and 66) which is oriented longitudinally (into and out of the page in Figure 1) so that the plurality of belts 64, when stretched between the plurality of rollers, are oriented along a longitudinal direction, characterized in that at least a part of the belt divider 66 is movable in a direction parallel (wherein 68 extends parallel to the longitudinal direction) and transversal (wherein slot 78 and 80 provide movement towards and away from the longitudinal direction) to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 18, Sereg teaches a baler 10 for forming round bales 12 of crops, comprising:
- a frame 14 providing an internal volume (area inside 14);
- a pick up unit 30 attached to the frame 14 and configured for picking up crops from the ground and for feeding the crops into the internal volume (area inside 14), the feeding unit having an inlet (left side of Figure 1) facing the ground and an outlet (adjacent 60) facing the internal volume (area inside 14)
; - a compression chamber (holding 12) for compressing the crops to form the bale, the compression chamber (holding 12) being of a variable diameter, wherein the crops are fed to the compression chamber (holding 12) from the outlet of the feeding unit in a feeding direction (to the right in Figure 2);
- a plurality of guide rollers 36-52 placed inside the internal volume (area inside 14) and including a pair of entrance rollers (28 and 52);
- a plurality of belts 64 placed side by side (shown partially in Figure 4) in the internal volume (area inside 14) and wound around the guide rollers 36-52 so to define an endless loop (Figure 1), the loop being flexible (wherein 64 is considered flexible since it traverses the curves shown in Figure 1) for delimiting the compression chamber (holding 12), wherein the guide rollers 36-52 are rotatable for driving the belts 64 around the loop, wherein the baler further comprises a belt divider 66, to divide each belt of the plurality of belts 64 from the adjacent one, the belt divider 66 having divisions 68, wherein each belt of the plurality of belts 64 lays in a plane (the generally horizontal plane shown in Figure 1 between 36 and 66) which is oriented longitudinally (into and out of the page in Figure 1) so that the plurality of belts 64, when stretched between the plurality of rollers, are oriented along a longitudinal direction, wherein at least a part of the belt divider 66 is movable in a direction parallel (wherein 68 extends parallel to the longitudinal direction) and transversal (wherein slot 78 and 80 provide movement towards and away from the longitudinal direction) to the longitudinal direction.
Regarding claim 19, Sereg teaches n the divisions 68 correspond in number to the number of the plurality of belts 64 (wherein the divisions each provide a slot to hold corresponding belts).
Regarding claim 20, Sereg teaches the movable part of the belt divider is configured to slide (along path provided in slot 78) with respect to the fixed bar, wherein the belt divider comprises a fixed portion (bolts 82 and 84, fixed relative to the fixed bar) and a movable portion (74, 76, and 68 move relative to the fixed bar), and, wherein the belt divider has stopping elements (ends of slots 78) and wherein the movable portion of the belt divider is configured to move along a specific path (along the line provided by slot 78) having a determined length (slot 78’s length), the stopping elements being configured to stop the movable portion of the belt divider when the movable portion arrives at the end of said path (via engagement of 882 and 84 with respective slot 78’s top or bottom ends), so that the movable portion is provided with a limited movement (movement is limited by engagement with the slot).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-8, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redding in view of Casadei, et al. US2022/0346324.
Regarding claim 7, Redding teaches the claim, as described above, but does not teach chains running over the guide rollers 20/26/28/30, wherein the internal side of the chain next to the rollers is lubricated with lubrication liquid so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain due to the centrifugal force.
Casadei, et al. teaches that is known in the art for chains (501/502/503) to run over the guide rollers (¶67 “drive rollers of said plurality are configured for imparting a rotating movement to the crops”) , wherein the internal side of the chain next to the rollers is lubricated (¶11 “The transmission system includes an oil circuit, containing lubricant oil for the chain assembly. In particular, the oil circuit includes an oil tank and one or more oil pipes”) with lubrication liquid (the described oil) so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain (by adding oil) due to the centrifugal force (due to rotation of the chain, which necessarily distributes the liquid oil).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Redding’s drive system to use Casadei, et al.’s lubricated chain driving system to decrease friction for more efficient operation, thus decreasing wear and increasing drive system lifespan.
Regarding claim 8, Casadei, et al. teaches that the internal side of the chain next to the rollers and upstream of the roller with respect to the rotation of the chain relative to the roller is lubricated with the lubrication liquid (wherein when oil is added, the fluid will at one point spread to the entire chain during rotation).
Regarding claim 15, Redding teaches the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but does not teach the steps of running chains over the guide rollers, - applying lubrication liquid to the internal side of the chains, next to the guide rollers so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain due to the centrifugal force.
Casadei, et al. teaches the steps of - running chains over the guide rollers (as recited above), - applying lubrication liquid to the internal side of the chains (wherein lubricant oil will necessarily spread to all surfaces of the chain during sufficient rotation since oil is a liquid), next to the guide rollers so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain due to the centrifugal force (as recited above).
Regarding claim 16, Casadei, et al. teaches a step of lubricating the internal side of the chain next to the rollers and upstream of the roller with respect to the rotation of the chain relative to the roller with the lubrication liquid (as recited above).
Claim(s) 9-12, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Redding in view of Dutertre US20220361414.
Regarding claim 9, Redding teaches a scraper 49 placed next to the guide rollers 20.
Redding does not teach the scraper is a roller having augers at lateral parts and being configured for cleaning the guide rollers from the crops.
Dutertre teaches a baler 10 with guide roller 36 having a scraper roller 58 (shown at least in Figure 2) that has augers 74a/b at lateral parts (right and left sides, respectively) and being configured for cleaning the guide rollers from the crops via engagement with the augers, to convey loose material and remove the material collecting on the roll to a discharge point ¶0004 (“worm conveyor which is provided in the immediate vicinity of a roll, removes the material collecting on the roll and supplies said material to a discharge point”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Redding’s scraper to be replaced with Dutertre’s scraper roller to provide augers such that material can be removed from the guide rolls towards a discharge point.
Regarding claim 10, Dutertre teaches that the roller has a scarper wing (another of 74a/b) attached to the roller between the augers (wherein 74a and b extend from the ends toward the center, overlapping with each other between 69a and b) and projecting (radially) from the surface of the roller for cleaning the guide rollers from the crops.
Regarding claim 11, Dutertre teaches that the scraper wing consists of lateral parts (left and right portions of the helical wings) and a central part (middle part of the helical shape), the lateral parts being extensions of the augers (extending pas point 69a and 69b in towards centerline M) and wherein the central part is placed on the scraper roller between the lateral parts and projects from the surface of the roller in a direction different from projecting direction (wherein the portion of the middle is extending at a direction along the circumference of 64, which has a circular cross section, thus the middle portion is considered to extend in a different direction than the lateral parts when the lateral parts are selected to be placed in different azimuthal locations on the circular cross section of 64’s circumference) of the lateral parts of the scraper wing.
Regarding claim 12, Dutertre teaches that the lateral parts and the central part of the scraper wing form a 1800 angle (when selecting lateral parts and central parts to be 180 degrees rotated from each other, which also places them laterally spaced from each other on the helix of 74a or b).
Regarding claim 17, Redding teaches a step of cleaning the guide rollers 20/26/28/30 from the crops through a scraper which is placed next to the guide rollers 20/26/28/30
Redding does not teach the scraper is a roller and is provided with augers at lateral parts, wherein the scraper roller has a scarper wing attached to the roller between the augers and projecting from the surface of the roller for cleaning the guide rollers from the crops.
Dutertre teaches a baler 10 with guide roller 36 having a scraper roller 58 (shown at least in Figure 2) that has augers 74a/b at lateral parts (right and left sides, respectively) and being configured for cleaning the guide rollers from the crops via engagement with the augers, to convey loose material and remove the material collecting on the roll to a discharge point ¶0004 (“worm conveyor which is provided in the immediate vicinity of a roll, removes the material collecting on the roll and supplies said material to a discharge point”).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Redding’s method to provide the step of the scraper replaced with Dutertre’s scraper roller to provide augers such that material can be removed from the guide rolls towards a discharge point.
Claim(s) 7-8, 15, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sereg in view of Casadei, et al. US2022/0346324.
Regarding claim 7, Sereg teaches the claim, as described above, but does not teach chains running over the guide rollers, wherein the internal side of the chain next to the rollers is lubricated with lubrication liquid so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain due to the centrifugal force.
Casadei, et al. teaches that is known in the art for chains (501/502/503) to run over the guide rollers (¶67 “drive rollers of said plurality are configured for imparting a rotating movement to the crops”) , wherein the internal side of the chain next to the rollers is lubricated (¶11 “The transmission system includes an oil circuit, containing lubricant oil for the chain assembly. In particular, the oil circuit includes an oil tank and one or more oil pipes”) with lubrication liquid (the described oil) so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain (by adding oil) due to the centrifugal force (due to rotation of the chain, which necessarily distributes the liquid oil).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date to modify Sereg’s drive system to use Casadei, et al.’s lubricated chain driving system to decrease friction for more efficient operation, thus decreasing wear and increasing drive system lifespan.
Regarding claim 8, Casadei, et al. teaches that the internal side of the chain next to the rollers and upstream of the roller with respect to the rotation of the chain relative to the roller is lubricated with the lubrication liquid (wherein when oil is added, the fluid will at one point spread to the entire chain during rotation).
Regarding claim 15, Sereg teaches the invention substantially as claimed, as described above, but does not teach the steps of running chains over the guide rollers, - applying lubrication liquid to the internal side of the chains, next to the guide rollers so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain due to the centrifugal force.
Casadei, et al. teaches the steps of - running chains over the guide rollers (as recited above), - applying lubrication liquid to the internal side of the chains (wherein lubricant oil will necessarily spread to all surfaces of the chain during sufficient rotation since oil is a liquid), next to the guide rollers so that the lubrication liquid is distributed over the entire chain due to the centrifugal force (as recited above).
Regarding claim 16, Casadei, et al. teaches a step of lubricating the internal side of the chain next to the rollers and upstream of the roller with respect to the rotation of the chain relative to the roller with the lubrication liquid (as recited above).
Conclusion
/CATHLEEN R HUTCHINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3672 7/10/2026