DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “wheel hub”, recited in claim 1 line 2 described in Specification in paragraph 31, by reference character 700 being connected to the output shaft 600. In drawings Fig 1 the callout for reference character 700 is directed at what is known in the art as a wheel rim, but shaft 600 is shown to have a part typically known as “a wheel hub” integral with the shaft outboard end, which is then connected to a wheel rim. It is suggested by Examiner to change the specification part identified by reference character 700 to “wheel rim”, for greater clarity.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1, the recitation in claim 1 “wheel hub” in line 2 is indefinite because it is ambiguous as to what part is being referred to. Specification in paragraph 31, describes the wheel hub 700 being connected to the output shaft 600, shown in Fig 1 callout for 700 is directed at a wheel rim, but shaft 600 is shown to have a wheel hub integral at is outboard end, which is then connected to a wheel rim. The part in Fig 1 identified by 700 is more typically known in the art as a “wheel rim”, and the integrally connected part at end of shaft is more typically know in the art as a “wheel hub”. It is suggested by Examiner to change the recitation in claim 1 to “wheel rim”, for greater clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20030189388-A1) to Hashimoto (“Hashimoto”), and further in view of US-20050236198-A1 to Jenkins (“Jenkins”).
Regarding Claim 1, Hashimoto (embodiment of Fig 6) discloses a wheel hub driving assembly (200 “power unit assembly” comprising an integral wheel support, planetary transmission/conventional gear drive planetary transmission and electric motor assembly”), Para 21 Para 22 , Fig 6), comprising: an output shaft (24 “splined shaft” connected to 16 “hub”, Para 21), connected to ( via 20 “lugs”, Para 21) a wheel rim (“wheel” not shown, Para 21); a reduction assembly (planetary transmission/conventional gear drive planetary transmission Para 22), in transmission connection (via 34 “fasteners” between 30 “planetary transmission case” [thus 30 is a connection housing] to 12 “wheel bearing” [i.e. outer ring of hub 16] Para 22) with an outer ring (12 “wheel bearing” [i.e. outer ring of 16 hub]) of the output shaft [24 splined shaft has 16 hub connected at end via splines] wherein two connection faces (Annotated Fig 6 “AF6”) are respectively provided on both sides of the reduction assembly in an axial direction of the output shaft (600); and a motor (in 47 “motor housing” with 60 “rotor”, 62 front and rear “stators”, Para 23-27, AF6), circumferentially arranged (AF6) outside the output shaft and connected to the other of the two connection faces (AF6, typically a brake assembly is attached to the outer ring, such that the motor would connect to the other connection face away from where brake would be located) of the reduction assembly wherein an air gap face (AF6, Para 27) of the motor is parallel to (AF6) the connection faces and the reduction assembly, the brake assembly and the motor are located within a periphery of the wheel rim (wheel rim not shown, would be connected via 70 “stud” to 16 hub Para 21, where motor, reduction assembly and brake would be located withing periphery of wheel rim).
Hashimoto does not disclose a brake assembly fixed to the outer ring of the output shaft and connected to one of the two connection faces of the reduction assembly) facing an end face of the wheel hub, nor that that the motor is connected to the other of the connection faces away from the brake assembly.
Jenkins discloses a hub drive having a hub (40) motor (22), reduction assembly (36) and a brake assembly (46 “brake disc” with two axial side faces, and two 47 calipers connected to brake each of brake faces, one on each side of the brake disc, Para 69, Figs 1, 4, 5) fixed to (via fasteners Fig 1) the outer ring (40 hub, brake abuts end face/inboard side of wheel hub and flange, Fig 1, Para 69) of the output shaft (34), all located within the periphery of 44 wheel rim (44).
The difference between the disclosure in the claimed invention and the prior art, is that the prior art does not disclose the wheel hub driving assembly and the brake assembly fixed to the outer ring of the output shaft in a single combined apparatus.
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the wheel hub driving assembly of Hashimoto and the teaching of the brake assembly fixed to the outer ring of the output shaft of Jenkins, to modify the wheel hub driving assembly (of Hashimoto) such that it includes a brake assembly fixed to the outer ring of the output shaft (like Jenkins), and such that the brake and calipers are fixed to outer side surface of sealing housing (of Hashimoto) and such that the brake is connected to one of the two connection faces (inner side of hub outer ring) of the reduction assembly (of Hashimoto) motor and such that the brake is facing an end face of the wheel hub, with the motivation to have a brake assembly to slow the vehicle speed (implicit function of brake) having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 1, further comprising a housing (including many walls: 30 “planetary transmission case” [i.e. 30a front housing, 30b front end cover, 30c reduction housing, 47 “motor case”, 64 “end plate” [i.e. 64 rear end cover, 64a connection housing, 64b side housing, and 68 ”resolver” i.e. rear motor housing, and 70 ”cover plate”, Para 22-23, 26, (see Annotated Fig 6, “AF6” and Annotated Fig 6B “AF6B” enlarged view of AF6), wherein the housing comprises: a front housing (30a), comprising a front end cover (30b) and a reduction housing (30c), wherein the reduction housing is connected to (AF6) an outer side surface (AF6B) of the front end cover and the motor (enclosed in 47 and 64 AF6) is connected to an inner side surface of the front end cover (47 connects to 30 and radially inner side Fig 6); a sealing housing (30d), wherein an inner side surface of the sealing housing is connected to (AF6, AF6B) one side of the reduction housing away from the front end cover, and an outer side surface of the sealing housing is connected to the brake assembly (as described in paragraph 10 of this document); wherein the reduction assembly is located in (AF6, AF6B) the reduction housing, and is sealed between (via corner fittings of 47/30b and 30e/12, AF6) the front end cover and the sealing housing.
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 2, wherein the brake assembly comprises: a brake disc, wherein an output shaft flange is provided on the outer ring of the output shaft the brake disc abuts against the end face of the wheel hub and the output shaft flange and is fixed between the end face of the wheel hub and the output shaft flange , and brake faces are formed on two axial sides of the brake disc; and at least one brake caliper, fixed to the outer side surface of the sealing housing (italicized limits: as described in paragraph 11 of this document) and connected to the two brake faces of the brake disc for braking (bold limits as described in paragraph 10 of this document).
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 2, wherein the housing further comprises: a rear housing (64 “end plate” and 70 ”cover plate”, and 47 “motor case” Fig 6, Para 26) comprising a rear end cover (64) and a rear motor housing (64c), wherein an inner ring (64 radially inner side thereof) of the rear end cover extends to be connected to (AF6, AF6B) the rear motor housing; and a side housing (outer radial wall of 47), connected to (Fig 6) an outer ring of the front end cover (30b and outer radial wall of 47 abut, AF6) and an outer ring of the rear end cover (30b) ; wherein the front housing further comprises a front motor housing (47), an inner ring of the front end cover extends to be connected to (AF6) the front motor housing, and the motor is arranged between (AF6) the front end cover and the rear end cover and a radial inner side of the motor is sealed by (via corner fittings on 64/68 AF6) the front motor housing and the rear motor housing, and a radial outer side of the motor is sealed by (via corner fittings on 64,47 AF6) the side housing.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 4, wherein the motor (described in paragraph 10 of this document) comprises: a front stator (rear 62), fixed to the inner side surface of the front end cover (411); a rear stator (rear 62), fixed to an inner side surface of the rear end cover (64 AF6); a rotor (60), retained between (AF6) the front stator and the rear stator), wherein an air gap (AF6) is provided between the rotor and each of the front stator and the rear stator, and the air gap face (AF6) is formed between the rotor and each of the front stator and the rear stator and a rotating shaft (44 “rotor shaft”), rotatably connected to (via inner and outer bearings 48 in races AF6) an inner ring of the front motor housing (radially inner portion of 47 AF6) and an inner ring of the rear motor housing (66 “rotor shaft extension” in 68 “resolver” AF6) in a sealed manner (via 70 “cover plate”), wherein a radial inner side of the rotor extends between the front motor housing and the rear motor housing, and is fixedly connected to the rotating shaft (AF6).
Claim 6, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 5, further comprising a wheel hub bearing assembly (14 “housing” and 16 “hub” with two 18” tapered rollers” therein between with an inner race, AF6), wherein the wheel hub bearing assembly comprises: an inner bearing ring (16 “hub” fixedly connected to the outer ring (via 18 “tapered bearings”) of the output shaft (22 “splined shaft”); and an outer bearing ring (14 “housing”), fixed ( between the inner bearing ring and the rotating shaft (AF6).
Regarding Claim 7, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 6 wherein the rear housing (described in paragraph 13 of this document) further comprises a connection housing (64a described in paragraph 11 of this document) connected to an outer side surface of the rear end cover (64 AF6), and an outer ring flange (outer flange on 70 “cover plate” AF6) is provided on an outer ring of the outer bearing ring (520) and is fixed (via 34 “fasteners”, AF6) to the connection housing (30).
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 5, further comprising: a first bearing (68 “resolver”), connected between the rear motor housing (64c) and the rotating shaft (44); a second bearing (left 48 AF6), connected between the front motor housing (30e) and the rotating shaft; and a third bearing (right 18 AF6), connected between the sealing housing (30d) and the output shaft (22).
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 2, wherein the reduction assembly is a planetary gear reduction assembly (as described in paragraph 10 of this document); two axial sides of a planetary carrier (26/76) of the reduction assembly (AF6) are respectively limited by a fourth bearing (left 18 AF6) and the sealing housing (30d), and the fourth bearing is connected between (AF6) the front end cover (30b) and the planetary carrier; and the sealing housing (30d) is provided with a stopper (outer axial extension of 14 AF6) for abutting against a gear ring (26/27/38 AF6) of the reduction assembly
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins discloses the wheel hub driving assembly according to claim 6, Hashimoto further discloses: a fourth oil seal (AF6 near right/outer 18 bearing), located between the wheel hub bearing assembly (12/14) and the sealing housing (30d) and arranged between the output shaft (22) and the rotating shaft (44).
The combination of Hashimoto and Jenkins does not disclose any other bearings including
a first oil seal, arranged between the rear motor housing and the rotating shaft and located on an outer side of the first bearing ; a second oil seal , arranged between the front motor housing and the rotating shaft and located on an outer side of the second bearing; a third oil seal, arranged between the sealing housing and the output shaft and located on an outer side of the third bearing.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a first, second and third seal associated with the first, second and third bearings, as a matter of duplication of parts (as the fourth seal is disclosed). It would have been obvious to have included three additional seals, like the seal of Hashimoto, located such that a first oil seal, arranged between the rear motor housing and the rotating shaft and located on an outer side of the first bearing ; a second oil seal , arranged between the front motor housing and the rotating shaft and located on an outer side of the second bearing; a third oil seal, arranged between the sealing housing and the output shaft and located on an outer side of the third bearing, with the motivation to ensure the bearings remain lubricated and the housing cavities are properly sealed, having an expectation of equivalent function and a reasonable expectation of success.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Huang (CN 105691184 A), Chen (US 20250375981 A1), Jin (CN 209488419 U), Chen (CN 115476679 A, CN 115503462 A), Liu (CN 115276311 A) disclose wheels with at least one of: motors, reduction assembly, brakes, seals and bearings.
Conclusion
/EVA L COMINO/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615