DETAILED ACTION
The following is a final office action in response to the application filed 7/6/2026.
Applicant’s amendments to Claims 1 , 14 and 19 and cancellation of Claims 11, 12, 13, have been received and are acknowledged.
Claims 2, 3, 15, 16 and 17 were previously cancelled.
The applicant's claim for benefit as a 371 of PCT/CB2023/051779 (filed 7/5/2023) and FOR priority for GB 2209881.8, (filed 7/5/22) has been received and acknowledged.
Claims 1, 4-10, 14 and 19-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/6/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejections under 35 USC 101, Application argues: That the exemplary amended claim 1 “is not directed to an abstract idea but rather to a specific practical application that arises on digital transaction systems… specific cryptographic and architectural apparatus…amended claims now include reference to provision of individual verification units for each trusted user… the claims now set out a technical solution as to how transaction verification can be carried out using a centralized ledger….a novel, hybrid architecture with several specific structural components…avoids replication of transaction data across multiple global nodes and distributes computation burden across trusted users rather than concentrating it… Like the claims in Desjardins, the present claims by their very nature , are not defined by particular physical features but rather by logical structures and processes… claims provide ..including increasing processing efficiency for verifying digital transactions…. ” (Applicant’s response 5-7)
Examiner respectfully disagrees as noted in the rejection previously and below. Contrary to Applicant’s assertions the instant claims are distinguishable from Desjardins in that the instant recited claims are directed to the business/economic challenge of verification/establishing trust between users -which is a basic fundamental economic practice necessary for commercial and legal transactions/organizing human activity. As such the instant claims recite the use of computing technology claimed at a high level generality for its well known, routine and conventional functions to execute the claimed abstract idea which is ‘apply it’ (See MPEP 2106.05 (f)). At most the instant recited claims improve the abstract idea. This is not an improvement to technology. As such Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
With regard to the rejections under 35 USC 103, Applicant argues that the prior art of What is Amazon QLDB in view of Accessing Amazon QLDB further in view of Amazon QLDB concurrency model do not read on the newly amended claim language. Further Applicant asserts that the prior art of Tobkin/Feeney/Meriac do not remedy the argued deficiencies of the NPL.
Examiner respectfully disagrees as noted in the rejection below. Applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the recited claim limitations. Applicant is arguing the claims more narrowly than is recited. Examiner must interpret the claims using broadest reasonable interpretation. Further Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection applied below. As such Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 4-10, 14 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
When considering subject matter eligibility under 35 U.S.C. 101, (1) it must be determined whether the claim is directed to one of the four statutory categories of invention, i.e., process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. If the claim does fall within one of the statutory categories, (2a) it must then be determined whether the claim is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., law of nature, natural phenomenon, and abstract idea), and if so (2b), it must additionally be determined whether the claim is a patent-eligible application of the exception. If an abstract idea is present in the claim, any element or combination of elements in the claim must be sufficient to ensure that the claim amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself. Examples of abstract ideas include fundamental economic practices; certain methods of organizing human activities; an idea itself; and mathematical relationships/formulas. Alice Corporation Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank International, et al., 573 U.S. ____ (2014).
The claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. In the instant case, the claim(s) as a whole, considering all claim elements both individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than an abstract idea.
(1) In the instant case, the claims are directed towards a method and the system of verifying transactions. In the instant case, Claims 1, 4-10, 14 and 18, are directed to a process. Claims 19-21 are directed to a system.
(2a) Prong 1: Transaction verification is categorized in/akin to the abstract idea subject matter grouping of: methods of organizing human activity [organizing human activity (commercial or legal interactions (including agreements in the form of contracts; legal obligations; advertising, marketing or sales activities or behaviors; business relations)]. As such, the claims include an abstract idea.
The specific limitations of the invention are (a) identified to encompass the abstract idea include:
1. (original) A method of verifying transactions comprising:
assigning 'trusted status' a subset of users, the subset of trusted users defining a centralised root of trust, each trusted user provided with access to an individual verification …
issuing one or more tokens from the centralised root of trust to users,
submitting a transaction involving at least one token for verification by each of the subset of trusted users,
determining whether the submitted transaction is verified by a trusted user by determining whether a certificate of verification is issued by the individual verification …of the trusted user,
determining whether or not a transaction is centrally verified based on whether or not a predetermined proportion of the trusted users have individually verified the transaction or not, and
wherein if the transaction is centrally verified the transaction is recorded to a centralised …, and wherein if the transaction is not centrally verified, the transaction is not recorded to the centralised ….
19. (original) A system for verifying transactions comprising:
a centralised root of trust defined by a subset of trusted users, the centralised root of trust being operable to issue tokens to users, a a number of individual verification …equal to the number of trusted users, each trusted user provided with access to an individual verification … number of users operable to receive tokens, and perform transactions with them,
at least one … which contains a centralised … of centrally verified transactions,
wherein the at least one…can only be written to by trusted users and/or by a non-trusted user given the authority to write to the at least one server by a predetermined proportion of the trusted users,
said individual verification … the trusted users can each individually verify a transaction by issuing a certificate of verification associated with the trusted user, and
a central verification … operable to centrally verify transactions involving the tokens,
where a transaction is only centrally verified if a predetermined proportion of the trusted users have individually verified that transaction, wherein centrally verified transactions are recorded to the centralised ….
As stated above, this abstract idea falls into the (b) subject matter grouping of: methods of organizing human activity.
Prong 2: When considered individually and in combination, the instant claims are do not integrate the exception into a practical application because the steps of assigning… issuing… submitting… determining …determining… recorded/not recorded… perform… do not apply, rely on, or use the judicial exception in a manner that that imposes a meaningful limitation on the judicial exception (i.e. the abstract idea).
The instant recited claims including additional elements (i.e. receive… record/not record) do not improve the functioning of the computer or improve another technology or technical field nor do they recite meaningful limitations beyond generally linking the use of an abstract idea to a particular technological environment. The limitations merely recite: “apply it” (or an equivalent) or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05 (f) and (g))
(2b) In the instant case, Claims 1, 4-10, 12-14 and 18, are directed to a process. Claims 19-21 are directed to a system.
Additionally, the claims (independent and dependent) do not include additional elements that individually or in combination are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception of abstract idea (i.e. provide an inventive concept). As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element(s) of: (server, centralized ledger, units) merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or merely uses generic computing elements to perform well known, routine, and conventional functions. (See MPEP 2106.05 (d), (f) and (g)) (Specification, pg. 4 individual verification unit… pg. 6, server… hardened server…ledger … quantum ledger… pg. 8 server contains a ledger…individual verification unit… pg. 9 central verification unit…operably connected to the server… ledger…)
The dependent claims have also been examined and do not correct the deficiencies of the independent claims.
It is noted that claim (4-10, 12-14, 18, 20-21) introduces the additional element of wherein clauses further defining elements… ledger..(Claims 4, 5)… predetermined proportion…(Claims 6, 7, 8, 9); …trusted users (Claim 10)… …certificate… metadata…(Claim 14) …used to verify …(Claim 18)…hardened server… (Claim 20); server operable to self-destruct…(Claim 21)…. These element is not a practical application of the judicial exception because these limitations merely recite: “apply it” (or an equivalent) or merely include instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05 (f) and (g)) Further these limitations taken alone or in combination with the abstract do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea alone because, these elements amount to mere use of a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea or merely add insignificant extra-solution activity to the judicial exception or merely uses generic computing elements to perform well known, routine, and conventional functions. (See MPEP 2106.05 (d), (f) and (g)) (Specification, pg. 6, server… hardened server…ledger … quantum ledger… pg. 8 server contains a ledger…pg. 9 central verification unit…operably connected to the server… ledger…)
Therefore, claims 1, 4-10, 14 and 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4, 5, 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over non-patent literature "What is the Amazon QLDB?" ( https://web.archive.org/web/20201030041330/https://docs.aws.amazon.com/qldb/latest/developerguide/what-is.html ) 10/30/2020 hereinafter referred to as What is Amazon QLDB further in view of non-patent literature "Accessing Amazon QLDB" (https://web.archive.org/web/20201030041330/https://docs.aws.amazon.com/qldb/latest/developerguide/accessing.html) 10/30/2020 hereinafter referred to as Accessing Amazon QLDB further in view of non-patent literature Amazon QLDB concurrency model (https://web.archive.org/web/20201030041330/https://docs.aws.amazon.com/qldb/latest/developerguide/concurrency.html ) 10/30/2020 hereinafter referred to as Amazon QLDB concurrency model further in view of Amazon Quantum Ledger Database (Amazon QLDB): Developer Guide, Jun 24, 2021 (https://web.archive.org/web/20210624004604/https://docs.aws.amazon.com/qldb/latest/developerguide/qldb-dg.pdf#what-is) hereinafter referred to as Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide.
Claims 1 and 19
Claim 1
What is Amazon QLDB discloses:
1. (original) A method of verifying transactions comprising:
….
the subset of trusted users defining a centralised root of trust, … ( See at least, What is Amazon QLDB, owned by a central trusted authority)
issuing one or more tokens from the centralised root of trust to users, ( See at least, What is Amazon QLDB, cryptographically verifiable transaction log)
submitting a transaction involving at least one token for verification by each of the subset of trusted users, ( See at least, What is Amazon QLDB, cryptographically verifiable transaction log)
…
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Accessing Amazon QLDB teaches:
1. (original) A method of verifying transactions comprising:
assigning 'trusted status' a subset of users, ( See at least, Accessing Amazon QLDB, credentials)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Accessing Amazon QLDB discloses how to access a the Amazon QLDB. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e.the Amazon QLDB and features thereof). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Amazon QLDB concurrency model teaches:
determining whether or not a transaction is centrally verified based on whether or not a predetermined proportion of the trusted users have individually verified the transaction or not, and wherein if the transaction is centrally verified the transaction is recorded to a centralised ledger, and wherein if the transaction is not centrally verified, the transaction is not recorded to the centralised ledger. ( See at least, Amazon QLDB concurrency model, “When a transaction writes to QLDB, the validation checks of the OCC model are implemented by QLDB itself. If a transaction can't be written to the journal due to a failure in the verification phase of OCC, QLDB returns an OccConflictException to the application layer.”)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Amazon QLDB concurrency model teaches the concurrency model used in Amazon QLDB One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e.the Amazon QLDB and features thereof).). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Amazon QLDB concurrency model.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide teaches:
….each trusted user provided with access to an individual verification unit…. (See Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide, pg pg 460-503, digest, requesting a digest,)
determining whether the submitted transaction is verified by a trusted user by determining whether a certificate of verification is issued by the individual verification unit of the trusted user(See Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide, pg 460-503,What does data integrity mean? How does verification work? Hashing, Digest , Merkle Tree, Proof, Verification Example - recalculate the digest.. Getting started the verification .. request a digest from your ledger… request a proof… as long as the previously saved digest is known and trusted outside fo QLDB, the integrity of your document is proven if your recalculated digest hash matches the saved digest hash… Requesting a digest in QLDN…5. Review the digest information. Then choose Save….run a query…Verifying your data in QLDB…Verification results…Using a proof to recalculate your digest.. Tutorial-provides another example of data integrity verification…Common errors for verification….)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB as taught in Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide including verification features. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e.the Amazon QLDB and features thereof).). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide.
Claim 19
What is Amazon QLDB discloses:
19. (original) A system for verifying transactions comprising:
a centralised root of trust defined by a subset of trusted users, the centralised root of trust being operable to issue tokens to users,… a number of users operable to receive tokens, and perform transactions with them, ( See at least, What is Amazon QLDB, owned by a central trusted authority)
at least one server which contains a centralised ledger of centrally verified transactions, ( See at least, What is Amazon QLDB, owned by a central trusted authority)
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Accessing Amazon QLDB teaches:
wherein the at least one server can only be written to by trusted users and/or by a non-trusted user given the authority to write to the at least one server by a predetermined proportion of the trusted users, …., and ( See at least, Accessing Amazon QLDB, credentials)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Accessing Amazon QLDB discloses how to access a the Amazon QLDB. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e.the Amazon QLDB and features thereof). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Amazon QLDB concurrency model teaches:
a central verification unit operable to centrally verify transactions involving the tokens,where a transaction is only centrally verified if a predetermined proportion of the trusted users have individually verified that transaction, wherein centrally verified transactions are recorded to the centralised ledger. ( See at least, Amazon QLDB concurrency model, “When a transaction writes to QLDB, the validation checks of the OCC model are implemented by QLDB itself. If a transaction can't be written to the journal due to a failure in the verification phase of OCC, QLDB returns an OccConflictException to the application layer.”)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Amazon QLDB concurrency model teaches the concurrency model used in Amazon QLDB. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e.the Amazon QLDB and features thereof).). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Amazon QLDB concurrency model.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide teaches:
….a number of individual verification units equal to the number of trusted users, each trusted user provided with access to an individual verification unit, (See Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide, pg pg 460-503, digest, requesting a digest, )
said individual verification units configured such that the trusted users can each individually verify a transaction by issuing a certificate of verification associated with the trusted user (See Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide, pg pg 460-503,What does data integrity mean? How does verification work? Hashing, Digest , Merkle Tree, Proof, Verification Example - recalculate the digest.. Getting started the verification .. request a digest from your ledger… request a proof… as long as the previously saved digest is known and trusted outside fo QLDB, the integrity of your document is proven if your recalculated digest hash matches the saved digest hash… Requesting a digest in QLDN…5. Review the digest information. Then choose Save….run a query…Verifying your data in QLDB…Verification results…Using a proof to recalculate your digest.. Tutorial-provides another example of data integrity verification…Common errors for verification….)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB as taught in Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide including verification features. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e.the Amazon QLDB and features thereof).). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide.
Claim 4
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model / Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 1.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Accessing Amazon QLDB teaches:
wherein the ledger can only be written to by any of the trusted users. ( See at least, Accessing Amazon QLDB, credentials)
Claim 5
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model/ Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 1.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Accessing Amazon QLDB teaches:
wherein the ledger can be written to by any of the trusted users and/or non-trusted users who have been authorised to write to the ledger by the trusted users. ( See at least, Accessing Amazon QLDB, credentials, permission group)
Claim 6
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model/ Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 5.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; however Accessing Amazon QLDB teaches:
wherein a predetermined proportion of the trusted users is required to grant authorisation to the non-trusted user to write to the ledger. ( See at least, Accessing Amazon QLDB, credentials, permission group)
Claims 7, 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amazon QLDB in view of Accessing Amazon QLDB further in view of Amazon QLDB further in view of Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide further in view of WO 2021016546 A1, Tobkin et al hereinafter referred to as Tobkin.
Claim 7
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model /Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 1.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; Tobkin teaches:
wherein the predetermined proportion of trusted users is a simple majority. (See at least, Tobkin [43] sentiment analysis… transaction’s validity …. Majority all vote the same way, with a very high probability that the transaction is valid)…threshold number…)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Tobkin teaches a sample consensus protocol including a majority for transaction validity. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. the Amazon QLDB including a consensus protocol including a majority for transaction validity).). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Tobkin.
Claim 8
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model /Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 1.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following; Tobkin teaches:
wherein the predetermined proportion of trusted users is variable. (See at least, Tobkin [43] sentiment analysis… transaction’s validity …. Threshold number of sampled….sampling …a subset…)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Tobkin teaches a sample consensus protocol including a sampling of a subset . One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. the Amazon QLDB including a consensus protocol including a sample/sampling for transaction validity).). As such the claimed invention is obvious over What is Amazon QLDB/ Tobkin.
Claim 9
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model /Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 8.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly discloses the following;Tobkin teaches:
wherein the predetermined proportion is variable in line with the number of trusted users, number of total users, or number of transactions requiring verification. (See at least, Tobkin [43] sentiment analysis… transaction’s validity …. Threshold number of sampled….sampling …a subset…)
Claims 10, 14, 18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amazon QLDB in view of Accessing Amazon QLDB further in view of Amazon QLDB further in view of Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide further in view of US 20160098723 A1, Feeney hereinafter referred to as Feeney.
Claim 10
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model/Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 1.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly disclose the following; however, Feeney teaches:
wherein the trusted users are each assigned a partial, private key. (See at least Feeney, [32-33] generate a public and private key )
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Feeney teaches a system and method of data verification (specifically blockchain) including various features such as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. Amazon QLDB and features thereof including as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over Amazon QLDB/Feeney.
Claim 14
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model/Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 1.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly disclose the following; however, Feeney teaches:
wherein the certificate/s and/or any metadata relating to the certificate/s are recorded to the centralised ledger alongside the transaction to which the certificate/s relates. (See at least Feeney, [67-68] QR code….)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Feeney teaches a system and method of data verification (specifically blockchain) including various features such as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. Amazon QLDB and features thereof including as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over Amazon QLDB/Feeney.
Claim 18
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model/Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 1.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly disclose the following; however, Feeney teaches:
wherein the method is used to verify encoded data in the form of two-dimensional barcodes. (See at least Feeney, [67-68] QR code….)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Feeney teaches a system and method of data verification (specifically blockchain) including various features such as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. Amazon QLDB and features thereof including as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over Amazon QLDB/Feeney.
Claim 21
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model/Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 19.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly disclose the following; however, Feeney teaches:
wherein the at least one server is operable to self-destruct when an unauthorised attempt to access the at least one server is made. (See at least Feeney, [67-68] Self-destruct device)
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Feeney teaches a system and method of data verification (specifically blockchain) including various features such as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. Amazon QLDB and features thereof including as public/private key, certificates, QR code and self-destruct feature). As such the claimed invention is obvious over Amazon QLDB/Feeney.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over What is Amazon QLDB in view of Accessing Amazon QLDB further in view of Amazon QLDB concurrency further in view of Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide further in view of US20190007216 A1, Meriac hereinafter referred to as Meriac .
Claim 20
What is Amazon QLDB/ Accessing Amazon QLDB/Amazon QLDB concurrency model/Amazon QLDB: Developer Guide disclose the invention as Claimed above in Claim 19.
What is Amazon QLDB does not directly disclose the following; however, Feeney teaches:
wherein the at least one server is a hardened server. (See at least Meriac, [12] ….(hardened) … server nodes… )
Furthermore, the Supreme Court has supported in KSR International Co. Teleflex Inc. (KSR), 550US___, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), that merely applying a known technique to a known method, yield predictable results, render the claimed invention obvious over such combination. In the instant case, What is Amazon QLDB describes the Amazon QLDB. Meriac teaches a system and method of using a hardened server to hide/secure information. One of ordinary skill in the art would clearly recognize that this combination would lead to a predictable result (i.e. Amazon QLDB and features thereof including as hardened server in order to hide/secure information). As such the claimed invention is obvious over Amazon QLDB/ Meriac.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHA PUTTAIA H/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3691