Response to Amendment
This application is responsive to applicant amendments/remarks received 05/29/2026. Claims 1 and 10 amended. Claims 1-14 remain pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange (US Patent No. 20140088825 A1), in view of Bartel (US Patent No. 6056076 A).
In re claim 1, Lange teaches An electrical locking system for a motor vehicle (Abstract: “Methods and systems are provided for unlatching a power latch system of a door.”), comprising
a plurality of lock devices, including locks that are operated electrically, each of the plurality of lock devices comprising an actuator that is acted upon electrically, for unlocking and/or opening a motor vehicle door and/or a motor vehicle flap (Para [0016]: “The doors 12, 14 each include a door latching system 18, 20. In various embodiments, each door latching system 18, 20 generally includes a striker (not shown), a forkbolt (not shown), and a detent lever (not shown). The striker may be fixedly attached to the door 12, 14 or the vehicle body 16 (i.e. depending on implementation of the latching system 18, 20). The forkbolt moves between an unlatched position and a latched position to realeasbly capture the striker. The detent lever moves between a latched position and a released position to cause the fork bolt to move between the unlatched position and the latched position. For example, when the detent lever is in the latched position the forkbolt is in the latched position and capturing the striker; and when the detent lever is in the released position the forkbolt is in the unlatched position thus releasing the striker. An actuator 22, 24 is powered from a power system 26 to actuate the detent lever to cause the fork bolt to latch and unlatch from the striker.”),
comprising a plurality of energy stores, configured to provide a power supply to a respective one of the plurality of lock devices for unlocking and/or opening the respective one of the plurality of lock devices in an emergency operation generated by a predetermined emergency, including in the event of failure of a main power source of the motor vehicle (Para [0017]: “As shown in the more detailed FIGS. 2-4, the power system 26 includes a primary power source 28, a backup power source 30, and a plurality of switches 32-40. The primary power source may be, for example, a vehicle battery. The backup power source 30 may be, for example, an auxiliary battery associated with the vehicle 10 or with the particular door 12, 14. As can be appreciated, the primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 can include, but are not limited to, batteries, capacitors, super capacitors, inductors, or any combination including "boost circuits" or any other electrical energy storage devices. The primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 are arranged in a series configuration. In various embodiments, the polarity of the power sources 28 and 30 can be as shown in FIGS. 2-4 or can be reversed.”).
Lange fails to teach wherein each of the plurality of lock devices comprises a respective emergency supply device, and
wherein each of the individual energy stores of the plurality of energy stores of the respective emergency supply devices are electrically connected to one another such that emergency supply devices are electrically connected.
However, Bartel teaches wherein each of the plurality of lock devices comprises a respective emergency supply device (Abstract: “An electrical control system for a vehicle having electrically operated locks provides at each door an emergency unit built into the respective lock and having a power storage unit continuously connected between the starter battery and the motor driver for the lock, and a voltage limiter reducing the voltage applied to the storage unit and the motor driver from that of the storage battery.”) , and
wherein each of the individual energy stores of the plurality of energy stores of the respective emergency supply devices are electrically connected to one another such that emergency supply devices are electrically connected (Abstract: “An electrical control system for a vehicle having electrically operated locks provides at each door an emergency unit built into the respective lock and having a power storage unit continuously connected between the starter battery and the motor driver for the lock, and a voltage limiter reducing the voltage applied to the storage unit and the motor driver from that of the storage battery.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lange to incorporate the teachings of Bartel to provide wherein each of the plurality of lock devices comprises a respective emergency supply device, and wherein each of the individual energy stores of the plurality of energy stores of the respective emergency supply devices are electrically connected to one another such that emergency supply devices are electrically connected with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange. Doing so enables reliable emergency operation with components dimensioned to be distributed in the automotive vehicle doors or door locks, as recognized by Bartel (Col 3, lines 11-13).
In re claim 3, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein each of the plurality of the lock devices further comprises a control apparatus, wherein the emergency supply device is connected to the control apparatus (Para [0018]: “As can be appreciated, the plurality of switches 32-40 may be provided for both doors 12, 14 or may be provided as a set of switches 32-40, one set for each door 12, 14 or actuator 22, 24. The plurality of switches 32-40 are selectively opened and closed to provide power to the actuator 22, 24 from the primary power source 28, the backup power source 30, and/or both the primary power source 28, and the backup power source 30.” and para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure. In general, the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure selectively control the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 such that power is supplied to the actuator 22, 24 from the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4), and/or both the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4).”).
In re claim 7, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the emergency supply devices comprise at least one light as a warning function and/or as a status control for each of the plurality of energy stores (Para [0032]: “When the power mode 80 is the series power mode or the series pulse power mode and the lever position 92 indicates that the detent lever or the latch has not moved, the lever status 78 is set to indicate no movement of the detent lever and the warning message 94 and/or the warning signal 96 is generated. For example, the warning message 94 and/or the warning signal 96 are generated based on a number Z of cycles X through the modes without successfully moving the detent lever (either consecutive or non-consecutive).” and para [0033]: “In various embodiments, the warning signal 96 is a control signal that illuminates a warning lamp or LED (not shown) of the vehicle 10 (FIG. 1) or door 12, 14 (FIG. 1), and/or is a control signal that activates a warning chime or message of an audio system (not shown) of the vehicle 10 (FIG. 1).”).
In re claim 8, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores are further arranged to serve as a long-time power source for unlocking and/or opening the plurality of lock devices (Paras [0034]-[0035]: “Referring now to FIG. 6, and with continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 5, a flowchart illustrates a control method that can be performed by the control module 62, 64 of FIG. 1 in accordance with the present disclosure. As can be appreciated in light of the disclosure, the order of operation within the method is not limited to the sequential execution as illustrated in FIG. 6, but may be performed in one or more varying orders as applicable and in accordance with the present disclosure.” “In various embodiments, the method can be scheduled to run based on predetermined events, and/or can run continually during operation of the latch system 18, 20.” and para [0038]: “If, at 110, an open request 76 is received, and the open request 76 is not the first attempt to unlatch the latch at 120 rather, it is the second attempt at 130 (e.g., the attempt count equals two or other N number), the power mode 80 is set to the backup power mode at 190 and the switch control signals 82-90 are generated at 200 to control power from the backup power source 30 to the actuator 22, 24 of the latch system 18, 20. After the control signals 82-90 are generated, the lever status 78 is evaluated to determine if the detent lever has moved at 170. If the detent lever has moved at 170, the method may end 180. If, however, the detent lever has not moved at 170, the method continues with monitoring for an open request 76 at 110 and monitoring the timer at 165.”).
In re claim 9, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the plurality of lock devices comprise a signal transmitter for providing an unlocking signal upon actuation, wherein the signal transmitter is arranged to be supplied with energy by means of the energy store (Para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure.”).
In re claim 10, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 3 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the control apparatuses of the lock devices comprise a wake-up function to reduce energy consumption of the control apparatuses (Para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure.”).
In re claim 11, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the energy stores are electrical energy stores and/or electrochemical energy stores (Para [0017]: “As can be appreciated, the primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 can include, but are not limited to, batteries, capacitors, super capacitors, inductors, or any combination including "boost circuits" or any other electrical energy storage devices.”).
In re claim 13, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in series (Para [0017]: “The primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 are arranged in a series configuration.”).
Claims 2, 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange (US Patent No. 20140088825 A1), in view of Bartel (US Patent No. 6056076 A) and further in view of Stang (US Patent No. 20240100956 A1).
In re claim 2, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in parallel.
However, Stang teaches wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in parallel (SEE FIG 1, Electrical System 11 and Energy Store 14 in a parallel configuration, and para [0036]: “FIG. 1 shows a motor vehicle 10, which may be an automobile, in particular a passenger vehicle or a truck. An on-board electrical system 11 to which a control unit 12 can be connected can be provided in the motor vehicle 10. The control unit 12 may be an e-call control unit, for example. In the event that a supply current 13 from the on-board electrical system 11 fails, the control unit 12 can be provided with an additional electrical energy store 14, which can have a lithium-ion battery 15, for example. The energy store 14 enables an emergency supply of the control unit 12 and thus represents a backup battery (BUB).”; para [0009] describing both systems share a common "ground potential" (chassis/negative pole) to prevent "drift" between them, which is a characteristic of parallel grounding, rather than adding voltages together in series.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lange and Bartel to further incorporate the teachings of Stang to provide wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in parallel with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange as modified by Bartel. Doing so enables an emergency supply of the control unit 12 and thus represents a backup battery (BUB), as recognized by Stang (Para [0036]).
In re claim 4, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the electrical locking system comprises a power management device (Para [0023]: “The power mode determination module 70 evaluates the open request 76 and the lever status 78 to determine a power mode 80. In various embodiments, the power mode 80 can be at least one of a primary power mode, a backup power mode, a series power mode, and a series pulse power mode. When the open request 76 is first received, the power mode determination module 70 sets the power mode 80 to the primary power mode. When the open request 76 is received a second time (or any other N number of times) and the lever status 78 indicates that the detent lever has not moved and the latch has not opened, the power mode determination module 70 sets the power mode 80 to the backup power mode. Alternatively, when a time T (e.g., 250 milliseconds, or other time) has expired and a subsequent open request 76 has not been received and the lever status 78 still indicates that the detent lever has not moved and the latch has not opened, the power mode determination module 70 sets the power mode 80 to the backup power mode.”).
The combination fails to teach arranged to detect and/or compensate for deviations in voltages of the plurality of energy stores.
However, Stang teaches arranged to detect and/or compensate for deviations in voltages of the plurality of energy stores (Paras [0043]-[0044]: “If the short circuit 25 or the creepage current of the leakage resistor 26 occurs, the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops via this electrical connection and the coupling 23 via the energy store 14, which is therefore subjected to a higher voltage than is provided according to the emergency supply voltage Un. This can lead to damage to the energy store 14. If the short circuit 25′ occurs, then the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops across the switching element 24 and the on-board electrical system 11 is short-circuited except for the resistance of the switching element 24 and the line resistance 21.” “In order to take these fault cases into account, provision can be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27. In this case, the measurement circuit 27 can be provided directly at the respective pole P+, P− or in the cable 19 or, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the control unit 12. This variant is possible because the line resistances 21 are sufficiently low.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lange and Bartel to further incorporate the teachings of Stang to provide arranged to detect and/or compensate for deviations in voltages of the plurality of energy stores with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange as modified by Bartel. Doing so enables provision to be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27, as recognized by Stang (Para [0044]).
In re claim 12, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 3 stated above but fails to teach wherein the control apparatus of the locking device is configured to monitor the voltage of the plurality of energy stores and a corresponding signal is generated if a voltage drop or defect is detected.
However, Stang teaches wherein the control apparatus of the locking device is configured to monitor the voltage of the plurality of energy stores and a corresponding signal is generated if a voltage drop or defect is detected (SEE abstract, and paras [0043]-[0044]: “If the short circuit 25 or the creepage current of the leakage resistor 26 occurs, the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops via this electrical connection and the coupling 23 via the energy store 14, which is therefore subjected to a higher voltage than is provided according to the emergency supply voltage Un. This can lead to damage to the energy store 14. If the short circuit 25′ occurs, then the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops across the switching element 24 and the on-board electrical system 11 is short-circuited except for the resistance of the switching element 24 and the line resistance 21.” “In order to take these fault cases into account, provision can be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27. In this case, the measurement circuit 27 can be provided directly at the respective pole P+, P− or in the cable 19 or, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the control unit 12.”; for clarification, examiner notes a control apparatus of the locking device that monitors is primarily taught in Lange through the various monitoring modes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lange and Bartel to further incorporate the teachings of Stang to provide wherein the control apparatus of the locking device is configured to monitor the voltage of the plurality of energy stores and a corresponding signal is generated if a voltage drop or defect is detected with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange as modified by Bartel. Doing so enables provision to be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27, as recognized by Stang (Para [0044]).
In re claim 14, Lange, Bartel and Stang teach all of the limitations of claim 4 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores of the individual emergency supply devices are connected to the power management device (Para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure. In general, the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure selectively control the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 such that power is supplied to the actuator 22, 24 from the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4), and/or both the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4).”).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange (US Patent No. 20140088825 A1), in view of Bartel (US Patent No. 6056076 A) and further in view of Pohl (US Patent No. 20230128709).
In re claim 5, Lange and Bartel teach all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach wherein the plurality of energy stores of the emergency supply devices are accessible from outside the motor vehicle.
However, Pohl teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores of the emergency supply devices are accessible from outside the motor vehicle (Para [0008]: “An important aspect is the basic consideration that, in the case of an auxiliary energy supply which is accessible from the outside and enables an electrical connection to the central battery and/or to the motor vehicle locking system, unauthorized access to the motor vehicle electronics is possible. The motor vehicle electronics are at risk of tampering, which may even result in damage to the electrical system of the motor vehicle.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lange and Bartel to further incorporate the teachings of Pohl to provide wherein the plurality of energy stores of the emergency supply devices are accessible from outside the motor vehicle with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange as modified by Bartel. Doing so enables an auxiliary energy supply accessible from the outside and enables an electrical connection to the central battery and/or to the motor vehicle locking system, as recognized by Pohl (Para [0008]).
In re claim 6, Lange, Bartel and Pohl teach all of the limitations of claim 5 stated above where Pohl further teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores are inserted into the plurality of lock devices at an accessible point on an outside of the motor vehicle (Para [0033]: “Alternatively or additionally, the auxiliary energy supply 5 may serve to supply electrical energy to the motor vehicle locking system 1. In general, the auxiliary energy supply 5 also enables the motor vehicle locking system 1 to be operated in the event of a failure of the central battery 4.”, para [0048]: “The closure element 9 may be designed according to a further configuration (likewise not illustrated) as a door operating element, for instance as a door handle 16 and/or door handle cup. By way of example, the auxiliary energy supply 5 is arranged in a contour of the door handle 16 and/or of the door handle cup, wherein the auxiliary energy supply 5 is only accessible when the door handle 16 is pulled, which in this case corresponds to the open position of the closure element 9.” and para [0068]: “According to one configuration (not illustrated), the closure element 9 may correspond to the adjustment element with which the motor vehicle locking system 1 is associated.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lange, Bartel and Pohl to further incorporate the teachings of Pohl to provide wherein the plurality of energy stores are inserted into the plurality of lock devices at an accessible point on an outside of the motor vehicle with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange as modified by Bartel and Pohl. Doing so enables an auxiliary energy supply accessible from the outside and enables an electrical connection to the central battery and/or to the motor vehicle locking system, as recognized by Pohl (Para [0008]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/29/2026 with respect to the claims have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection as necessitated by amendment.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20150330116 A1 teaches an electronic latch assembly for a closure device of a motor vehicle, having an actuator group operable to control actuation of the closure device and an electric motor controllable to drive the actuator group and supplied, during a normal operating condition, by a main power source of the motor vehicle providing a main supply voltage (Vbatt); the electronic latch assembly has a backup energy source, and a control unit controlling the backup energy source to supply the electric motor during a failure operating condition. The backup energy source has a supercapacitor group, which stores energy during the normal operating condition and provides a backup supply voltage (Vsc) to supply the electric motor (9) during the failure operating condition.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 08/11/2026