Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the various rectangular (or near-rectangular) boxes representing functional blocks or components in Fig. 2 (e.g. 3), which are blank other than containing a reference numeral, should be provided with “descriptive legends”, per 37 CFR 1.84(o), with reference numeral placed outside the box/block in an appropriate manner. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because its word count is greater than 150 words in length. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the control apparatuses" on lines 2 and 3, and “the energy consumption” on line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7-11 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lange (US Patent No. 20140088825 A1).
In re claim 1, Lange teaches An electrical locking system for a motor vehicle (Abstract: “Methods and systems are provided for unlatching a power latch system of a door.”), comprising
a plurality of lock devices, including locks that are operated electrically, each of the plurality of lock devices comprising an actuator that is acted upon electrically, for unlocking and/or opening a motor vehicle door and/or a motor vehicle flap (Para [0016]: “The doors 12, 14 each include a door latching system 18, 20. In various embodiments, each door latching system 18, 20 generally includes a striker (not shown), a forkbolt (not shown), and a detent lever (not shown). The striker may be fixedly attached to the door 12, 14 or the vehicle body 16 (i.e. depending on implementation of the latching system 18, 20). The forkbolt moves between an unlatched position and a latched position to releasably capture the striker. The detent lever moves between a latched position and a released position to cause the fork bolt to move between the unlatched position and the latched position. For example, when the detent lever is in the latched position the forkbolt is in the latched position and capturing the striker; and when the detent lever is in the released position the forkbolt is in the unlatched position thus releasing the striker. An actuator 22, 24 is powered from a power system 26 to actuate the detent lever to cause the fork bolt to latch and unlatch from the striker.”),
wherein each of the plurality of lock devices comprises an emergency supply device comprising a plurality of energy stores, configured to provide a power supply to a respective one of the plurality of lock devices for unlocking and/or opening the respective one of the plurality of lock devices in an emergency operation generated by a predetermined emergency, including in the event of failure of a main power source of the motor vehicle (Para [0017]: “As shown in the more detailed FIGS. 2-4, the power system 26 includes a primary power source 28, a backup power source 30, and a plurality of switches 32-40. The primary power source may be, for example, a vehicle battery. The backup power source 30 may be, for example, an auxiliary battery associated with the vehicle 10 or with the particular door 12, 14. As can be appreciated, the primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 can include, but are not limited to, batteries, capacitors, super capacitors, inductors, or any combination including "boost circuits" or any other electrical energy storage devices. The primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 are arranged in a series configuration. In various embodiments, the polarity of the power sources 28 and 30 can be as shown in FIGS. 2-4 or can be reversed.”), and
wherein the individual energy stores of the plurality of energy stores of the emergency supply devices are electrically connected to one another (SEE FIGS 2-4, and para [0017]: “The primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 are arranged in a series configuration.”).
In re claim 3, Lange teaches wherein each of the plurality of the lock devices further comprises a control apparatus, wherein the emergency supply device is connected to the control apparatus (Para [0018]: “As can be appreciated, the plurality of switches 32-40 may be provided for both doors 12, 14 or may be provided as a set of switches 32-40, one set for each door 12, 14 or actuator 22, 24. The plurality of switches 32-40 are selectively opened and closed to provide power to the actuator 22, 24 from the primary power source 28, the backup power source 30, and/or both the primary power source 28, and the backup power source 30.” and para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure. In general, the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure selectively control the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 such that power is supplied to the actuator 22, 24 from the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4), and/or both the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4).”).
In re claim 7, Lange teaches wherein the emergency supply devices comprise at least one light as a warning function and/or as a status control for each of the plurality of energy stores (Para [0032]: “When the power mode 80 is the series power mode or the series pulse power mode and the lever position 92 indicates that the detent lever or the latch has not moved, the lever status 78 is set to indicate no movement of the detent lever and the warning message 94 and/or the warning signal 96 is generated. For example, the warning message 94 and/or the warning signal 96 are generated based on a number Z of cycles X through the modes without successfully moving the detent lever (either consecutive or non-consecutive).” and para [0033]: “In various embodiments, the warning signal 96 is a control signal that illuminates a warning lamp or LED (not shown) of the vehicle 10 (FIG. 1) or door 12, 14 (FIG. 1), and/or is a control signal that activates a warning chime or message of an audio system (not shown) of the vehicle 10 (FIG. 1).”).
In re claim 8, Lange teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores are further arranged to serve as a long-time power source for unlocking and/or opening the plurality of lock devices (Paras [0034]-[0035]: “Referring now to FIG. 6, and with continued reference to FIGS. 1 and 5, a flowchart illustrates a control method that can be performed by the control module 62, 64 of FIG. 1 in accordance with the present disclosure. As can be appreciated in light of the disclosure, the order of operation within the method is not limited to the sequential execution as illustrated in FIG. 6, but may be performed in one or more varying orders as applicable and in accordance with the present disclosure.” “In various embodiments, the method can be scheduled to run based on predetermined events, and/or can run continually during operation of the latch system 18, 20.” and para [0038]: “If, at 110, an open request 76 is received, and the open request 76 is not the first attempt to unlatch the latch at 120 rather, it is the second attempt at 130 (e.g., the attempt count equals two or other N number), the power mode 80 is set to the backup power mode at 190 and the switch control signals 82-90 are generated at 200 to control power from the backup power source 30 to the actuator 22, 24 of the latch system 18, 20. After the control signals 82-90 are generated, the lever status 78 is evaluated to determine if the detent lever has moved at 170. If the detent lever has moved at 170, the method may end 180. If, however, the detent lever has not moved at 170, the method continues with monitoring for an open request 76 at 110 and monitoring the timer at 165.”).
In re claim 9, Lange teaches wherein the plurality of lock devices comprise a signal transmitter for providing an unlocking signal upon actuation, wherein the signal transmitter is arranged to be supplied with energy by means of the energy store (Para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure.”).
In re claim 10, Lange teaches wherein the control apparatuses of the lock devices comprise a wake-up function to reduce the energy consumption of the control apparatuses (Para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure.”).
In re claim 11, Lange teaches wherein the energy stores are electrical energy stores and/or electrochemical energy stores (Para [0017]: “As can be appreciated, the primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 can include, but are not limited to, batteries, capacitors, super capacitors, inductors, or any combination including "boost circuits" or any other electrical energy storage devices.”).
In re claim 13, Lange teaches wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in series (Para [0017]: “The primary power source 28 and the backup power source 30 are arranged in a series configuration.”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange (US Patent No. 20140088825 A1), in view of Stang (US Patent No. 20240100956 A1).
In re claim 2, Lange teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in parallel.
However, Stang teaches wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in parallel (SEE FIG 1, Electrical System 11 and Energy Store 14 in a parallel configuration, and para [0036]: “FIG. 1 shows a motor vehicle 10, which may be an automobile, in particular a passenger vehicle or a truck. An on-board electrical system 11 to which a control unit 12 can be connected can be provided in the motor vehicle 10. The control unit 12 may be an e-call control unit, for example. In the event that a supply current 13 from the on-board electrical system 11 fails, the control unit 12 can be provided with an additional electrical energy store 14, which can have a lithium-ion battery 15, for example. The energy store 14 enables an emergency supply of the control unit 12 and thus represents a backup battery (BUB).”; para [0009] describing both systems share a common "ground potential" (chassis/negative pole) to prevent "drift" between them, which is a characteristic of parallel grounding, rather than adding voltages together in series.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lange to incorporate the teachings of Stang to provide wherein the individual energy stores are electrically connected to one another in parallel with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange. Doing so enables an emergency supply of the control unit 12 and thus represents a backup battery (BUB), as recognized by Stang (Para [0036]).
In re claim 4, Lange teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the electrical locking system comprises a power management device (Para [0023]: “The power mode determination module 70 evaluates the open request 76 and the lever status 78 to determine a power mode 80. In various embodiments, the power mode 80 can be at least one of a primary power mode, a backup power mode, a series power mode, and a series pulse power mode. When the open request 76 is first received, the power mode determination module 70 sets the power mode 80 to the primary power mode. When the open request 76 is received a second time (or any other N number of times) and the lever status 78 indicates that the detent lever has not moved and the latch has not opened, the power mode determination module 70 sets the power mode 80 to the backup power mode. Alternatively, when a time T (e.g., 250 milliseconds, or other time) has expired and a subsequent open request 76 has not been received and the lever status 78 still indicates that the detent lever has not moved and the latch has not opened, the power mode determination module 70 sets the power mode 80 to the backup power mode.”).
Lange fails to teach arranged to detect and/or compensate for deviations in voltages of the plurality of energy stores.
However, Stang teaches arranged to detect and/or compensate for deviations in voltages of the plurality of energy stores (Paras [0043]-[0044]: “If the short circuit 25 or the creepage current of the leakage resistor 26 occurs, the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops via this electrical connection and the coupling 23 via the energy store 14, which is therefore subjected to a higher voltage than is provided according to the emergency supply voltage Un. This can lead to damage to the energy store 14. If the short circuit 25′ occurs, then the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops across the switching element 24 and the on-board electrical system 11 is short-circuited except for the resistance of the switching element 24 and the line resistance 21.” “In order to take these fault cases into account, provision can be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27. In this case, the measurement circuit 27 can be provided directly at the respective pole P+, P− or in the cable 19 or, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the control unit 12. This variant is possible because the line resistances 21 are sufficiently low.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lange to incorporate the teachings of Stang to provide arranged to detect and/or compensate for deviations in voltages of the plurality of energy stores with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange. Doing so enables provision to be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27, as recognized by Stang (Para [0044]).
In re claim 12, Lange teaches all of the limitations of claim 3 stated above but fails to teach wherein the control apparatus of the locking device is configured to monitor the voltage of the plurality of energy stores and a corresponding signal is generated if a voltage drop or defect is detected.
However, Stang teaches wherein the control apparatus of the locking device is configured to monitor the voltage of the plurality of energy stores and a corresponding signal is generated if a voltage drop or defect is detected (SEE abstract, and paras [0043]-[0044]: “If the short circuit 25 or the creepage current of the leakage resistor 26 occurs, the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops via this electrical connection and the coupling 23 via the energy store 14, which is therefore subjected to a higher voltage than is provided according to the emergency supply voltage Un. This can lead to damage to the energy store 14. If the short circuit 25′ occurs, then the on-board electrical system voltage Ub drops across the switching element 24 and the on-board electrical system 11 is short-circuited except for the resistance of the switching element 24 and the line resistance 21.” “In order to take these fault cases into account, provision can be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27. In this case, the measurement circuit 27 can be provided directly at the respective pole P+, P− or in the cable 19 or, as illustrated in FIG. 1, in the control unit 12.”; for clarification, examiner notes a control apparatus of the locking device that monitors is primarily taught in Lange through the various monitoring modes.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lange to incorporate the teachings of Stang to provide wherein the control apparatus of the locking device is configured to monitor the voltage of the plurality of energy stores and a corresponding signal is generated if a voltage drop or defect is detected with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange. Doing so enables provision to be made in the motor vehicle 10 for at least one of the poles P+, P− or both of the poles P+, P− to be connected in each case to the ground potential 17 via a measurement circuit 27, as recognized by Stang (Para [0044]).
In re claim 14, Lange and Stang teach all of the limitations of claim 4 stated above where Lange further teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores of the individual emergency supply devices are connected to the power management device (Para [0020]: “With reference back to FIG. 1, a control module 62, 64 controls the power to the actuator 22, 24 by controlling the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 based on sensed signals received from a position sensor 66, 68 and/or modeled data indicating a status of the latching system 18, 20 and further based on the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure. In general, the power unlatch systems and methods of the present disclosure selectively control the switches 32-40 (FIGS. 2-4) of the power system 26 such that power is supplied to the actuator 22, 24 from the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4), and/or both the primary power source 28 (FIGS. 2-4), the backup power source 30 (FIGS. 2-4).”).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lange (US Patent No. 20140088825 A1), in view of Pohl (US Patent No. 20230128709).
In re claim 5, Lange teaches all of the limitations of claim 1 stated above but fails to teach wherein the plurality of energy stores of the emergency supply devices are accessible from outside the motor vehicle.
However, Pohl teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores of the emergency supply devices are accessible from outside the motor vehicle (Para [0008]: “An important aspect is the basic consideration that, in the case of an auxiliary energy supply which is accessible from the outside and enables an electrical connection to the central battery and/or to the motor vehicle locking system, unauthorized access to the motor vehicle electronics is possible. The motor vehicle electronics are at risk of tampering, which may even result in damage to the electrical system of the motor vehicle.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Lange to incorporate the teachings of Pohl to provide wherein the plurality of energy stores of the emergency supply devices are accessible from outside the motor vehicle with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange. Doing so enables an auxiliary energy supply accessible from the outside and enables an electrical connection to the central battery and/or to the motor vehicle locking system, as recognized by Pohl (Para [0008]).
In re claim 6, Lange and Pohl teach all of the limitations of claim 5 stated above where Pohl further teaches wherein the plurality of energy stores are inserted into the plurality of lock devices at an accessible point on an outside of the motor vehicle (Para [0033]: “Alternatively or additionally, the auxiliary energy supply 5 may serve to supply electrical energy to the motor vehicle locking system 1. In general, the auxiliary energy supply 5 also enables the motor vehicle locking system 1 to be operated in the event of a failure of the central battery 4.”, para [0048]: “The closure element 9 may be designed according to a further configuration (likewise not illustrated) as a door operating element, for instance as a door handle 16 and/or door handle cup. By way of example, the auxiliary energy supply 5 is arranged in a contour of the door handle 16 and/or of the door handle cup, wherein the auxiliary energy supply 5 is only accessible when the door handle 16 is pulled, which in this case corresponds to the open position of the closure element 9.” and para [0068]: “According to one configuration (not illustrated), the closure element 9 may correspond to the adjustment element with which the motor vehicle locking system 1 is associated.”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combination of Lange and Pohl to further incorporate the teachings of Pohl to provide wherein the plurality of energy stores are inserted into the plurality of lock devices at an accessible point on an outside of the motor vehicle with the METHODS AND SYSTEMS FOR CONTROLLING AN ACTUATOR OF A VEHICLE LATCH of Lange as modified by Pohl. Doing so enables an auxiliary energy supply accessible from the outside and enables an electrical connection to the central battery and/or to the motor vehicle locking system, as recognized by Pohl (Para [0008]).
Conclusion
/JAMES E MUNION/Examiner, Art Unit 2688 04/04/2026