DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 was filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US 20210302528 A1 and Wang hereinafter).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a system for determining a position of a target (i.e. FIG. 1A illustrates an example system 100 in which a position estimation engine 106 may localize the position of user equipment 102 (i.e. target)) Para [0026] located within a reference space (i.e. determine the client device's location, and for other location services, such as identifying a person's location, tracking and managing inventory of objects, commute prediction, and the like (i.e. reference space).) Abstract, using a radiation within the reference space of an electromagnetic signal (i.e. User equipment 102 may include a device which emits radio frequency (RF) based wireless signals (i.e. electromagnetic), such as WiFi, Bluetooth Low Energy (BLE), Ultra-wideband (UWB), etc) Para [0026] containing information associated with the target (i.e. The response from user equipment 102 may include sending corresponding signals (e.g., acknowledgement (ACK) messages) back to anchor device 104, establishing a connection (e.g., handshake) between user equipment 102 and anchor device 104, and generating a CSI dataset. ) Para [0028] the system comprising: a plurality of modules of antennas (i.e. the RF switch may disconnect signal routing to and from the first antenna set, and establish signal routing to and from the second antenna set) Para [0029], each of which is formed by at least two antennas configured to receive the electromagnetic signal containing information associated with the target (i.e. a system with an array of multiple transmit and receive antennas (MIN/10) is provided on a device. A first subset of antennas can be selected from the array of antennas. A radio frequency (RF) switch can be used to connect the subset of antennas to a radio physical layer, so that the selected antennas can receive signals from a user device (also referred to as client device or target device).) Para [0023]; a radio chain operatively connected to said plurality of modules of antennas, said radio chain configured to receive from each module an electrical signal associated with said electromagnetic signal (i.e. When activating a radio chain, RF switch 311 connects the appropriate antenna element to radio physical layer 312. Radio physical layer 312 will generate CSI data for signals (i.e. electromagnetic signals) when the signals are received through the activated antenna subset. CSI data is a complex number that represents amplitude and phase information for each subcarrier in a channel and other signal information, such as the arrival time of the signal, signal strength, etc.) Para [0050]; at least a one first switching device interposed between said radio chain and said plurality of modules of antennas (i.e. Control unit 314 sends switch commands to RF switch 311 to switch between radio chains accordingly (e.g., connecting the radio chains to radio physical layer 312) to activate the antenna subsets) Para [0053] and (See whole Figure 4; i.e. An antenna in a selected antenna subset is activated when RF splitter 421 switches to the appropriate antenna element 431, creating a radio RF chain (also referred to as MIMO chain) through the antenna element 431. Combining CSI data from multiple radio RF chains (e.g., through multiple antenna subsets) enables the system to increase the number of MIMO chains by several folds without adding physical chains to the array of antenna elements 431. Because CSI data from multiple signals need to be similar in arrival time and signal strength in order to be combined, RF switch 400 may switch between combinations of radio RF chains quickly in a short period of time) Para [0057]; and a processor operatively connected to said radio chain to process information associated with the electrical signal received by said radio chain (i.e. Control unit 314 sends switch commands to RF switch 311 to switch between radio chains accordingly (e.g., connecting the radio chains to radio physical layer 312) to activate the antenna subsets. Although user device and anchor device 302 are not connected or associated with each other, control unit 314 can sniff for wireless data packets sent by the user device. Control unit 314 may determine the MAC address of the user device by capturing and decoding the wireless frames sent by the user device. MAC sublayer 313 assigns the user device's MAC address as the destination address, and control unit 314 can send the user device an 802.11 control message (e.g., control or management messages, for example, RTS, CTS, probe request, probe response, association request, NULL or QQ SNULL data frames, etc.) through the antenna subset to the user device, to trigger user device to respond with ACK messages based on the 802.11 standard. When the user device signals (e.g., ACK messages) are received through the antenna subsets, radio physical layer 312 generates CSI data for the corresponding signals.) Para [0053], wherein said at least one first switching device has a single input operatively connected to said radio chain and a plurality of outputs (i.e. RF switch 311 may have one input and multiple outputs at each RF interface) Para [0050], the plurality of outputs of said at least one first switching device being operatively connected to each module of antennas of said plurality of modules (i.e. Thus, for an anchor device 302 with 4 RF interfaces, a SP4T RF switch 311 may connect anchor device 302 to 16 antenna elements, creating 16 radio chains. RF switch 311 can switch between different antenna subsets by activating (switching on) different combinations of radio chains. When activating a radio chain, RF switch 311 connects the appropriate antenna element to radio physical layer 312.) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 2, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses a predetermined number of said modules of antennas, each module being constituted by a predetermined number of said antennas (i.e. FIG. 5B illustrates another example 510 of an antenna arrangement in accordance with various embodiments. In the example, antenna elements 520 are arranged in a three-dimensional layout, along x-axis 512, y-axis 514, and z-axis 516. Each axis 512, 514, and 516 can have a linear antenna array (e.g., two or more antennas aligned in a straight line) lie along its direction, resulting in a three-dimensional multi-array. The distance between each antenna element is less than half of a signal wavelength, and may be equidistant or of variable distances. Control unit 508 may select different antenna subsets to activate and receive signals.) Para [0060].
Regarding Claim 3, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein said processor comprises a CPU unit operatively associated to a control logic unit (i.e. Control unit 314 is operable to control activation of antenna subsets. For example, control unit 314 may receive a request for the user device's location. Control unit 314 decides when and which antenna subsets to activate to transmit and receive signals to and from the user device, based on a configuration file of predetermined combinations of antenna subjects.) Para [0052], said control logic unit being controlled by said CPU unit (i.e. CPU 62 may include one or more processors 63…processor 63 is specially designed hardware for controlling the operations of network device 10.) Para [0087].
Regarding Claim 4, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 3 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein said control logic unit has one or more outputs operatively connected to each of said first switching devices (See Figure 3, element 314; i.e. Control unit 314 is operable to control activation of antenna subsets. For example, control unit 314 may receive a request for the user device's location. Control unit 314 decides when and which antenna subsets to activate to transmit and receive signals to and from the user device, based on a configuration file of predetermined combinations of antenna subjects.) Para [0052], a switching of each first switching device being controlled by said control logic unit (i.e. Control unit 314 sends switch commands to RF switch 311 to switch between radio chains accordingly (e.g., connecting the radio chains to radio physical layer 312) to activate the antenna subsets.) Para [0053].
Regarding Claim 5, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 4 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein the system comprises a number of said first switching devices equal to a number of the antennas contained in each module of said plurality of modules (See whole Figure 4; i.e. FIG. 4 illustrates an example RF switch 400 in accordance with various embodiments. In the example, RF switch 400 is a single pole four throw (SP4T) switch, or split 4 radio frequency switch. In the example, GPIO control 401 can generate four or more GPIO commands, and each RF splitter 421 can generate four or more switch patterns. Switch patterns may be defined in a configuration file.) Para [0056], each first switching device having a single input operatively connected to said radio chain ; i.e. for an anchor device 302 with 4 RF interfaces, a SP4T RF switch 311 may connect anchor device 302 to 16 antenna elements, creating 16 radio chains. RF switch 311 can switch between different antenna subsets by activating (switching on) different combinations of radio chains. When activating a radio chain, RF switch 311 connects the appropriate antenna element to radio physical layer 312.) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 6, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 5 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein each first switching device has a number of outputs equal to a number of the modules of said plurality of modules (See whole Figure 4; i.e. FIG. 4 illustrates an example RF switch 400 in accordance with various embodiments. In the example, RF switch 400 is a single pole four throw (SP4T) switch, or split 4 radio frequency switch. In the example, GPIO control 401 can generate four or more GPIO commands, and each RF splitter 421 can generate four or more switch patterns. Switch patterns may be defined in a configuration file.) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 7, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 6 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein the outputs of a same first switching device are respectively connected to the antennas belonging to distinct modules, each first switching device being connected to all modules of antennas of said plurality of modules (See whole Figure 4; i.e. for an anchor device 302 with 4 RF interfaces, a SP4T RF switch 311 may connect anchor device 302 to 16 antenna elements, creating 16 radio chains. RF switch 311 can switch between different antenna subsets by activating (switching on) different combinations of radio chains. When activating a radio chain, RF switch 311 connects the appropriate antenna element to radio physical layer 312.) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 8, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses a first switching device provided with a single input operatively connected to said radio chain and a plurality of outputs (See whole Figure 4; i.e. RF switch 311 may have one input and multiple outputs at each RF interface) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein said single first switching device has a number of outputs equal to the a number of the modules of antennas of said plurality of modules (i.e. RF switch 311 may have one input and multiple outputs at each RF interface) Para [0050] and (See whole Figure 4; i.e. FIG. 4 illustrates an example RF switch 400 in accordance with various embodiments. In the example, RF switch 400 is a single pole four throw (SP4T) switch, or split 4 radio frequency switch… RF switch 400 may be a single pole double throw (SPDT) switch, double pole double throw (DPDT) switch, among other pole/throw configurations with multiple terminals. General purpose input/output (GPIO) control 401 may include two or more pins. In the example, GPIO control 401 can generate four or more GPIO commands, and each RF splitter 421 can generate four or more switch patterns. Switch patterns may be defined in a configuration file.) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 10, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 8 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses a plurality of second switching devices, each of which has a single input and a plurality of outputs (i.e. RF switch 311 may have one input and multiple outputs at each RF interface) Para [0050] and (See whole Figure 4; i.e. FIG. 4 illustrates an example RF switch 400 in accordance with various embodiments. In the example, RF switch 400 is a single pole four throw (SP4T) switch, or split 4 radio frequency switch…RF switch 400 may be a single pole double throw (SPDT) switch, double pole double throw (DPDT) switch, among other pole/throw configurations with multiple terminals. General purpose input/output (GPIO) control 401 may include two or more pins. In the example, GPIO control 401 can generate four or more GPIO commands, and each RF splitter 421 can generate four or more switch patterns. Switch patterns may be defined in a configuration file.) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 11, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein a number of said second switching devices is equal to a number of said modules of antennas a number of the plurality of outputs associated with each of said second switching devices being equal to the number of antennas configured to define the respective modules of said plurality of modules (See whole Figure 4; i.e. FIG. 4 illustrates an example RF switch 400 in accordance with various embodiments. In the example, RF switch 400 is a single pole four throw (SP4T) switch, or split 4 radio frequency switch… RF switch 400 may be a single pole double throw (SPDT) switch, double pole double throw (DPDT) switch, among other pole/throw configurations with multiple terminals. General purpose input/output (GPIO) control 401 may include two or more pins. In the example, GPIO control 401 can generate four or more GPIO commands, and each RF splitter 421 can generate four or more switch patterns. Switch patterns may be defined in a configuration file.) Para [0056]).
Regarding Claim 12, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 10 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein an input of each second switching device is operatively connected to a respective output of said first switching device (i.e. FIG. 4 illustrates an example RF switch 400 in accordance with various embodiments. In the example, RF switch 400 is a single pole four throw (SP4T) switch, or split 4 radio frequency switch. In another embodiment, RF switch 400 may be a single pole double throw (SPDT) switch, double pole double throw (DPDT) switch, among other pole/throw configurations with multiple terminals. General purpose input/output (GPIO) control 401 may include two or more pins. In the example, GPIO control 401 can generate four or more GPIO commands, and each RF splitter 421 can generate four or more switch patterns. Switch patterns may be defined in a configuration file.) Para [0056].
Regarding Claim 13, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 12 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein the outputs of each second switching element are connected to all the antennas constituting a respective module of said plurality of modules (See whole Figure 4; i.e. for an anchor device 302 with 4 RF interfaces, a SP4T RF switch 311 may connect anchor device 302 to 16 antenna elements, creating 16 radio chains. RF switch 311 can switch between different antenna subsets by activating (switching on) different combinations of radio chains. When activating a radio chain, RF switch 311 connects the appropriate antenna element to radio physical layer 312.) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 14, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 1 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein said radio chain configured to send to one or more modules of antennas of said plurality of modules a corresponding first electrical signal (i.e. RF switch 311 can switch between different antenna subsets by activating (switching on) different combinations of radio chains. When activating a radio chain, RF switch 311 connects the appropriate antenna element to radio physical layer 312. Radio physical layer 312 will generate CSI data for signals when the signals are received through the activated antenna subset. CSI data is a complex number that represents amplitude and phase information for each subcarrier in a channel and other signal information, such as the arrival time of the signal, signal strength, etc.) Para [0050].
Regarding Claim 15, Wang discloses all the limitations of claim 14 as discussed above. Further Wang discloses wherein said plurality of modules of antennas are configured to receive said first electrical signal generated by said radio chain and to radiate in the reference space a corresponding first electromagnetic signal associated to said first electrical signal (i.e. RF switch 311 can switch between different antenna subsets by activating (switching on) different combinations of radio chains. When activating a radio chain, RF switch 311 connects the appropriate antenna element to radio physical layer 312. Radio physical layer 312 will generate CSI data for signals when the signals are received through the activated antenna subset. CSI data is a complex number that represents amplitude and phase information for each subcarrier in a channel and other signal information, such as the arrival time of the signal, signal strength, etc.) Para [0050], said electromagnetic signal received by said plurality of modules of antennas being variable as a function of the first electromagnetic signal radiated in the reference space (i.e. Antenna array 301 may include multiple transmit and receive antennas (MIMO) for transmitting and/or receiving radio baseband. In the example, antenna array 301 can transmit and receive signals to and from the user device, wherein the signals are used by position estimation engine 321 to localize the user device (e.g., by AoA estimation).) Para [0049].
Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rampa et al. (WO 2020161580 A1) “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR DETECTING ONE OR MORE TARGETS LOCATED WITHIN A MONITORING AREA” (August 13, 2020) is directed to a system for detecting one or more targets (T) positioned within a monitored area (A), comprising: at least one pair of devices (2), each of which is provided with one or more radio modules (3) having at least one antenna (5) designed to transmit/receive an electromagnetic signal (S); at least one electronic processing unit (4) provided with a first electronic portion (4') associated with one or more radio modules (3) and suited to process the information associated with the electromagnetic signal (S) in such a way as to extract data related to the status of the transmission channel (C), and with a second electronic portion (4") operatively connected to the first portion (4') and suited to process the information associated with the status of the transmission channel (C) in such a way as to obtain data related to the movement and the instantaneous position of the target (T) within the monitored area (A). The electronic processing unit (4) is configured to selectively send a control signal (sc) to at least one radio module (3), wherein said control signal (sc) promotes the variation of the parameters (P) associated with the radio modules (3) to promote the selective emission and/or reception by the same of an electromagnetic signal (S) corresponding to a given wave mode (vx). The invention concerns also a method for detecting one or more targets (T) within a monitored area (A).
Scagnol et al. (US 20180084371 A1) “FACILITATING A LOCATION DETERMINATION OF A USER EQUIPMENT THAT IS CONNECTED TO A MASTER RADIO BASED UPON SLAVE RADIO MEASUREMENTS” (March 22, 2018) is directed to a deployment of a master radio in conjunction with one or more slave radios. The master radio coordinates with a UE, or transmitter, to transmit a particular known set of wireless signals in a defined time window over a dedicated wireless connection between the UE and the master radio. The master radio separately coordinates with the one or more slave radios to monitor for and measure the dedicated wireless connection during the defined time window (e.g., to obtain AoA measurements, signal strength measurements, etc.). The measurements can be reported to the master radio or a separate measurement processing unit to facilitate a location determination of the UE.
Wang et al. (US 20210302528 A1) “SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR ESTIMATING THE ANGLE OF ARRIVAL USING ANTENNA ARRAYS” (September 30, 2021) is directed to antenna configuration in an antenna array of limited array size and channel state information (CSI) collection and analysis, to improve accuracy of angle of arrival (AoA) estimations for localizing a client device's position. Signals can be received from groups of antennas and CSI data can be generated from the signals. The CSI data can be combined, where the combined CSI data represents CSI data measurements of multiple signals received from a plurality of antenna subsets, without requiring physical installation of additional antennas to the limited antenna array to make the CSI data measurements. The angle of arrival (AoA) of the signals is estimated based on the combined CSI, and the AoA estimation can be used to determine the client device's location, and for other location services, such as identifying a person's location, tracking and managing inventory of objects, commute prediction, and the like.
Hart et al. (US 9823330 B2) “Angle Of Arrival Location Sensing With Antenna Array” (November 21, 2017) is directed to an apparatus includes a plurality of antennas, a receiver in communication with said plurality of antennas for receiving one or more packets in a block based modulation environment, a switch interposed between a portion of the antennas and the receiver for switching between the antennas, and a processor for calculating angle of arrival for use in identifying a location of a mobile device transmitting the one or more packets.
Ben-Shachar et al. (US 11668781 B2) “Angle Of Arrival Estimation Using A Single Receive Chain” (June 6, 2023) is directed to determining an angle-of-arrival of a wireless transmission are provided, including receiving, with a first antenna, at least a first portion of a wireless transmission, determining when a second portion of the wireless transmission will be received, switching to the second antenna to receive the second portion of the wireless transmission, determining an angle of arrival of the wireless transmission based on the first portion and the second portion of the wireless transmission, and outputting the angle of arrival of the wireless transmission.
Conclusion
/IYONDA L LEWIS/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2647
Iyonda.Lewis@USPTO.gov
/DIANE D MIZRAHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2647