DETAILED ACTION
Claims filed 12-19-2024. Claims 1-16 canceled. Claims 17-32 new.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12-19-2024 was filed on the mailing date of the application filed on 12-19-2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 20 objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 20 is depending on canceled claim 3. Claim 20 should depending on claim 17. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 32 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Mordechai 2020/0221214
Regarding claim 32, Mordechai discloses a bass loudspeaker including:
a frame (Figs 1-3, chassis frame 102 also known as a frame, para [65]);
a diaphragm (Figs 1-3 diaphragm 132, para [65-67]) suspended from the frame by at least a first suspension element (Figs 1-3 woofer surround 134/first suspension, para [65]) and a second suspension element (Fig 2, second suspension/spider 130, para [75-76]), wherein the first suspension element is attached to the frame at a first landing surface on the frame (Fig 3, chassis via frame rim102f, para [65]) and the second suspension element is attached to the frame at a second landing surface on the frame (Fig 3, chassis via frame first ledge 102d, para [97]);
a magnet unit (Figs 2-3, magnet 114, para [66]) secured to the frame, wherein the magnet unit includes a permanent magnet and at least two flux guiding elements (Figs 1-4, a cup sidewall 110b, center pole 112b, top-plate 116, para [66]) configured to guide magnetic flux across an air gap (Fig 4, gap 118, para [71-72]);
a voice coil (Figs 2-3, voice coil 122, para [68-72]) rigidly connected to the diaphragm (132);
wherein the loudspeaker is operable to energise the voice coil to cause the voice coil to move relative to the magnet unit along a movement axis (perpendicular to extension of the diaphragm), thereby moving the diaphragm along the movement axis to produce sound (loudspeaker operation);
wherein the diaphragm comprises an outer diaphragm body (Figs 1- 3, outer diaphragm body 132) and a central diaphragm body (see Fig 2 below, central diaphragm body 130);
wherein the central diaphragm body includes an annular wall which extends around the voice coil, the annular wall (Figs 1-2 parts 130) extending along the movement axis between a first end (Fig 2 below shows the highest portion of the innermost section) and a second end (the lowest portion of the outermost section of the central diaphragm body, see Fig 2 below) of the central diaphragm body;
wherein the outer diaphragm body is connected to the annular wall at a location between the first end and the second end, such that the second end of the annular wall is separated from the location where the outer diaphragm is connected to the annular wall (see Fig 2 below);
wherein the first suspension element (Figs 1-2 first suspension element/woofer surround 134, para [65] is connected to the outer diaphragm body (Figs 2-3 diaphragm 132); and wherein the second suspension element (Figs 1-2 second suspension element/spider 130, para [75] is connected to the annular wall at (Figs 2-3) or towards the second end of the central diaphragm body (Figs 2-3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-20, 22-26, 28-29, 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mordechai 2020/0221214
Regarding claim 17, Mordechai discloses a bass loudspeaker (Figs 1-3, 5a-5d, para [0001]) including:
a frame (Figs 1-3, chassis frame 102 also known as a frame, para [65]);
a diaphragm (Figs 1-3 diaphragm 132, para [65-67]) suspended from the frame by at least a first suspension element (Figs 1-3 woofer surround 134/first suspension, para [65]) and a second suspension element (Fig 2, second suspension/spider 130, para [75-76]), wherein the first suspension element is attached to the frame at a first landing surface (Fig 3, chassis via frame rim102f, para [65]) on the frame and the second suspension element is attached to the frame at a second landing surface on the frame (Fig 3, chassis via frame first ledge 102d, para [97]);
a magnet unit (Figs 2-3, magnet 114, para [66]) secured to the frame, wherein the magnet unit includes a permanent magnet and at least two flux guiding elements (Figs 1-4, a cup sidewall 110b, center pole 112b, top-plate 116, para [66]) configured to guide magnetic flux across an air gap (Fig 4, gap 118, para [71-72]); a voice coil (Figs 2, 4, voice coil 122, para [68, 72]) rigidly connected to the diaphragm (132);
wherein the loudspeaker is operable to energise the voice coil to cause the voice coil to move relative to the magnet unit along a movement axis (perpendicular to extension of the diaphragm), thereby moving the diaphragm along the movement axis to produce sound (loudspeaker operation),
wherein the voice coil is configured to sit in the air gap (Figs 2-3, voice coil 122 is disposed within gap 118, para [72]), with a centre of mass of the voice coil having a position along the movement axis that is between the first landing surface and the second landing surface, when the diaphragm is at rest (Figs 2-3 shows); and
wherein a magnetic flux density at an outer perimeter of the voice coil is 50% or less of a magnetic flux density at an inner perimeter of the voice coil (Fig 3 shows, the voice coil 122 extends substantially in a vertical direction out of the gap; consequently, in this extending region, the flux density is far lower compared to the region within the gap. Figs 5a-5d shows magnetic flux lines are outside the gap, such that the flux density at outer perimeter of the voice coil outside the gap must be 50% or less than flux density at the inner perimeter of the voice coil inside the gap).
Regarding claim 18, Mordechai discloses the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein the magnetic flux density at the outer perimeter of the voice coil is in a range of 10% to 50% of the magnetic flux density at the inner perimeter of the voice coil (Fig 3 shows, the voice coil 122 extends substantially in a vertical direction out of the gap; consequently, in this extending region, the flux density is far lower compared to the region within the gap. Figs 5a-5d shows magnetic flux lines are outside the gap, such that the flux density at outer perimeter of the voice coil in a range of 10% to 50% of the magnetic flux density at the inner perimeter of the voice coil).
Regarding claim 19, Mordechai discloses the magnetic unit and the air gap from a magnetic circuit which has a magnetic reluctance.
Mordechai discloses the claimed invention except for the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein the magnet unit and the air gap form a magnetic circuit which has a magnetic reluctance of at least 2.5 x 10^6 [1/H]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein the magnet unit and the air gap form a magnetic circuit which has a magnetic reluctance of at least 2.5 x 10^6 [1/H] is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 20, Mordechai discloses the magnetic unit and the air gap from a magnetic circuit which has a magnetic reluctance.
Mordechai discloses the claimed invention except for the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein the air gap has a magnetic reluctance of at least 2 X 10^6 [1/H]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein the air gap has a magnetic reluctance of at least 2 X 10^6 [1/H] is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 22, Mordechai disclose the claimed invention excepted for the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein an extent of the voice coil along the movement axis is in a range of 85% and 100% of the separation of the landing surfaces along the movement axis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein an extent of the voice coil along the movement axis is in a range of 85% and 100% of the separation of the landing surfaces along the movement axis is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 23, Mordechai discloses the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein the permanent magnet has a first mass, the voice coil has a second mass, and the first mass is smaller than the second mass (the masses of the permanent magnet and the voice coil depend very much on the selected material). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would select the materials for the permanent magnet and the voice coil is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 24, Mordechai discloses the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein: the diaphragm comprises an outer diaphragm body (Fig 2, outer diaphragm body 132) and a central diaphragm body (Fig 2, central diaphragm body 130);
the central diaphragm body includes an annular wall which extends around the voice coil, the annular wall (Figs 1-2 parts 130) extending along the movement axis between a first end (Fig 2 below shows the highest portion of the innermost section) and a second end (the lowest portion of the outermost section of the central diaphragm body, see Fig 2 below);
wherein the outer diaphragm body is connected to the annular wall at a location between the first end and the second end, such that the second end is separated from the location where the outer diaphragm is connected to the annular wall (see Fig 2 below);
wherein the first suspension element is connected to the outer diaphragm body (Figs 2-3); and the second suspension element is connected to the annular wall at or towards the second end of the central diaphragm body (Fig 2-3).
Regarding claim 25, Mordechai discloses the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein: the outer diaphragm body (Figs 1-2 outer diaphragm body 132) has an inner circumferential surface inclined relative to the movement axis (Figs 1-2 shows inner circumferential surface of diaphragm 132 inclined relative to the movement axis 180),
the annular wall of the central diaphragm body has an outer circumferential surface (Fig 2 diaphragm 132) inclined relative to the movement axis (longitudinal axis 180),
wherein the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface are
inclined relative to the movement axis by substantially the same angle and are secured together (Fig 2 shows the inner circumferential surface and the outer circumferential surface diaphragm 132 are inclined relative to the movement axis 180 by substantially the same angle).
Regarding claim 26, Mordechai discloses the annular wall of the central diaphragm body has an outer circumferential surface (Fig 2 diaphragm 132) is provided at an angle relative to the movement axis (longitudinal axis 180).
Mordechai discloses the claimed invention excepted for the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein the angle is in a range of 3 degrees and 35 degrees relative to the movement axis, preferably between 3 degrees and 20 degrees relative to the movement axis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have wherein the angle is in a range of 3 degrees and 35 degrees relative to the movement axis, preferably between 3 degrees and 20 degrees relative to the movement axis. is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Regarding claim 28, Mordechai discloses the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein an axial extent of the central diaphragm body along the movement axis (Fig 2 the central diaphragm body 132 along the movement axis 180 is greater than the separation of the landing surfaces along the movement axis (wherein the first suspension element is attached to the frame at a first landing surface (Fig 3, chassis via frame rim102f, para [65]) on the frame and the second suspension element is attached to the frame at a second landing surface on the frame (Fig 3, chassis via frame first ledge 102d, para [97]).
Regarding claim 29, Referred to Applicant’s specification on page 6 of 17 state that the first end of the central diaphragm body may be closed. Additionally or alternatively , a dust cap 390 may be located over the first end of the central diaphragm body. The second end of the central diaphragm body may have a second extent in direction perpendicular to the movement axis 102, Referred to applicant’s Fig 1.
Examiner reads a first extent as shown in Fig below and a second extent is where magnet unit 441, stationary part 440 via yoke
Mordechai discloses the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, the first end of the central diaphragm body has a first extent in a direction perpendicular to the movement axis (Fig 2, a first extent via tweeter diaphragm 136, para [68] of the central diaphragm body 132 direction perpendicular to the movement axis 180);
the second end of the central diaphragm body has a second extent in the direction
perpendicular to the movement axis (Fig 2, a second extent via woofer cup 110, a T yoke 112, a bottom yoke 112a ), the first extent is smaller than the second extent (Fig 2 shows the first extent via tweeter diaphragm 136 is smaller than the second extent via woofer cup 110, a T yoke 112, a bottom yoke 112a).
Regarding claim 31, Mordechai 2020/0221214 discloses an assembly comprising a bass loudspeaker and an enclosure (Figs 1-3, 5a-5d, para [0001]), wherein the bass loudspeaker is mounted in the enclosure (Figs 1-3, 5a-5d, para [0001]), wherein the bass loudspeaker (Figs 1-3, 5a-5d, para [0001]) includes:
a frame (Figs 1-3, chassis frame 102 also known as a frame, para [65]);
a diaphragm (Figs 1-3 diaphragm 132, para [65-67]) suspended from the frame by at least a first suspension element (Figs 1-3 woofer surround 134/first suspension, para [65]) and a second suspension element (Fig 2, second suspension/spider 130, para [75-76]), wherein the first suspension element is attached to the frame at a first landing surface on the frame (Fig 3, chassis via frame rim102f, para [65]) and the second suspension element is attached to the frame at a second landing surface on the frame Fig 3, chassis via frame first ledge 102d, para [97]);
a magnet unit (Figs 2-3, magnet 114, para [66]) secured to the frame, wherein the magnet unit includes a permanent magnet and at least two flux guiding elements (Figs 1-4, a cup sidewall 110b, center pole 112b, top-plate 116, para [66]) configured to guide magnetic flux across an air gap (Fig 4, gap 118, para [71-72]); a voice coil (Figs 2, 4, voice coil 122, para [68, 72]) rigidly connected to the diaphragm (132);
wherein the loudspeaker is operable to energise the voice coil to cause the voice coil to move relative to the magnet unit along a movement axis (perpendicular to extension of the diaphragm), thereby moving the diaphragm along the movement axis to produce sound (loudspeaker operation),
wherein the voice coil is configured to sit in the air gap (Figs 2-3, voice coil 122 is disposed within gap 118, para [72]), with a centre of mass of the voice coil having a position along the movement axis that is between the first landing surface and the second landing surface, when the diaphragm is at rest (Figs 2-3 shows); and
wherein a magnetic flux density at an outer perimeter of the voice coil is 50% or less of a magnetic flux density at an inner perimeter of the voice coil (Fig 3 shows, the voice coil 122 extends substantially in a vertical direction out of the gap; consequently, in this extending region, the flux density is far lower compared to the region within the gap. Figs 5a-5d shows magnetic flux lines are outside the gap, such that the flux density at outer perimeter of the voice coil outside the gap must be 50% or less than flux density at the inner perimeter of the voice coil inside the gap).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mordechai 2020/0221214 in view of Watanabe 2006/0280330
Regarding claim 21, Mordechai disclose the speaker driver further comprises a chassis have a chassis base and a cup yoke, and the yoke having bottom yoke. Mordechai does not explicitly show the claimed limitation as recited in claim 21.
Watanabe teaches the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17,
wherein the at least two flux guiding elements include a yoke including a base and a
sidewall extending from the base, wherein a thickness of the voice coil in a direction perpendicular to the movement axis is greater than a thickness of the sidewall of the yoke in the direction perpendicular to the movement axis (Fig 2 shows the part 51 of yoke is slightly thicker than the voice coil 6). However Watanabe does not teach wherein a thickness of the voice coil in a direction perpendicular to the movement axis is greater than a thickness of the sidewall of the yoke in the direction perpendicular to the movement axis. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a thickness of the voice coil in a direction perpendicular to the movement axis is greater than a thickness of the sidewall of the yoke in the direction perpendicular to the movement axis is just a matter of design choice by the manufacturers, Since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claims are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. The motivation for this would have yielded predictable results.
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mordechai 2020/0221214 in view of Shigeta 2009/0185711
Regarding claim 27, Mordechai discloses in para [2, 106, 123, 124] referred to Fig 13, driver 100 with spider 130 and a woofer cable 152 originates from woofer terminal 108, passing through a woofer cable opening in chassis 102 (not shown), following the contours of at least a portion of spider rising portion 130b and at least a portion of spider neck portion 130c toward woofer voice coil 122, where each of the electric wires of woofer cable 152 connects with woofer voice coil wire 122b, para [124].
Mordechai does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 27.
Shigeta teaches the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein: the central membrane body includes a signal track to transmit an electrical signal to or from the voice coil; the signal track extends from a location on the outer circumferential surface of the annular wall, along the annular wall and towards the voice coil, the location from which the signal track extends is at or towards the second end of the annular wall (para [33] teaches a terminal provided in the frame of the speaker unit 1 and the copper foil of the butterfly damper 4 are connected, and two methods of either (1) connecting the input signal to the voice coil 6 by using a tinsel wire form the inside of the butterfly damper 4 or (2) printing the copper foil on the back of the diaphragm 2 and introducing the input signal finally to the voice coil 6 through the back of the diaphragm 2 can be adopted). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement the copper foil on the diaphragm and electric connected to the voice coil as taught by Shigeta in Mordechai for electrically connected of the voice coil with the diaphragm.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mordechai 2020/0221214 in view of Bullimore 2015/0117698
Regarding claim 30, Mordechai does not explicitly disclose the claimed limitation as recited in claim 30. However the central diaphragm body is closed, or a dust cap is located over the first end of the central diaphragm body is well known in the art.
Bullimore teaches the bass loudspeaker according to claim 17, wherein: either the first end of the central diaphragm body is closed, or a dust cap (Fig 3 shows central dust cap cover 24 to cover the diaphragm 18a, para [44]) is located over the first end of the central diaphragm body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to implement a dust cap is located over the first end of the central diaphragm body in Mordechai’s invention as taught by Bullimore to prevent dust, moisture and contaminants from entering the bass loudspeaker.
Conclusion
/JULIE X DANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2692
/CAROLYN R EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2692