DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the citations of Liu are not applicable to the compressor context because of the pressure/temperature changes, would not lead to predictable results, and relies on impermissible hindsight reasoning. This argument is not persuasive. The vanes that exist in Figure 3 and 4 are the same vanes. The same principle – fluid hitting the leading edges of the vanes – would be the same no matter the direction. There is so many pieces of art showing the same types of vanes in both contexts and include the same dimensions. For example, Song (KR 102165973) shows the utilization of guide vanes at the inlet or the exit of the centrifugal pump. Additionally, the vanes change in thickness in the same way as they approach the axis line of the passage – see Figures 1-4 and 6-10 for the vanes positioned at the inlet, versus Figures 5 and 11 which shows the same sorts of vanes positioned at the outlet. The geometry of the vanes is largely similar in shape no matter if they are positioned at the outlet or inlet and they solve the same purpose as reducing vortices. The same responses apply in the same way with respect to arguments of claim 14 which is now broader than claim 1. Brasz teaches “In this mode of operation, the inlet guide vanes 31 are preferably moved to the fully opened positioned” so the vanes still exist for the claims as written; claim 14 only requires deswirler at a discharge position between the condenser and impeller with the plurality of vanes extending radially inward. Haley (US 7856834) discusses utilizing a swirl reducer prior to fluid entering the condenser (Figures 14-15), and the volutes are usually “swirl free” prior to traveling to the condenser, and such deswirling vanes assist in that. No new rejections have been made, but the cited art above is to show the disclosed limitations in other ways.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) or 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Brasz (US 7146813).
Regarding claim 14, Brasz discloses a refrigerant compressor and method thereof (Figure 4), comprising: a discharge portion (37); and a deswirler (31) disposed at the discharge portion, the deswirler including a hollow cylinder including an inner diameter surface and a center axis, and a plurality of vanes extending radially inward from the inner diameter surface toward the center axis (IGV’s 31 shown in Figure 3, but in Figure 4 they are described as “After passing through the impeller 27 the low pressure gas passes through the inlet guide vanes 31 to an exit opening 37. In this mode of operation, the inlet guide vanes 31 are preferably moved to the fully opened positioned”). The deswirler is provided between the discharge of the “compressor” and a condenser (18).
Regarding claims 16-17 and 19, Brasz discloses the method according to claim 14 above. Brasz further discloses an axial width of each of the plurality of vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, each of the plurality of vanes tapers to a tip, and the tips are free-standing, and the taper is linear (see Figure 3 of the vanes shown in IGV’s 31 as they are visibly tapered in linear fashion to a free standing tip).
Regarding claim 15, Brasz discloses the method according to claim 14 above. Brasz further discloses the plurality of vanes extends from its leading edge to its trailing edge in a direction substantially parallel to the center axis (see Figure 3, the vane shape extends from leading/trailing along the taper(s)) and the base of the cylinder is attached to the discharge portion (see the cylindrical exit in Figure 4, the “base” can be referenced anywhere along the cylindrical shape and is connected at the discharge portion 37).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 and 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 209212585).
Liu discloses a refrigerant compressor (Figure 1), comprising: a discharge portion (portion between 3 and 4); and a deswirler (Figure 3) disposed at the discharge portion, the deswirler including a hollow cylinder (10, 11) including an inner diameter surface and a center axis, and a plurality of vanes (12) extending radially inward from the inner diameter surface toward the center axis (see Figure 3). The method of providing these limitations is implicit. Liu further discloses an axial width of each of the plurality of vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, each of the plurality of vanes tapers to a tip, and the tips are free-standing, and the taper is linear (see Figure 3 of the vanes shown as they are visibly tapered in linear fashion to a free standing tip) and the plurality of vanes extends from its leading edge to its trailing edge in a direction substantially parallel to the center axis (see Figure 3, the vane shape extends from leading/trailing along the taper(s)) and the base of the cylinder is attached to the discharge portion (see the cylindrical exit in Figures 1 and 4, the “base” can be referenced anywhere along the cylindrical shape and is connected at the discharge portion).
Liu fails to explicitly disclose a condenser with the deswirler provided between the compressor and condenser.
Liu further discloses the compressor is utilized with a refrigerant line (see abstract). Additionally, it is well known to utilize condensers in such systems for removing heat from the refrigerant and improving efficiency.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Liu such that a condenser with the deswirler provided between the compressor and condenser as is well known in the refrigerant art for the purposes of removing heat from the refrigerant and improving efficiency.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 209212585) in view of Sugitani (US 8245530).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 11, and 13;
Liu discloses a refrigerant compressor (Figure 1), comprising: a discharge portion (portion between 3 and 4); and a deswirler (Figure 3) disposed at the discharge portion, the deswirler including a hollow cylinder (10, 11) including an inner diameter surface and a center axis, and a plurality of vanes (12) extending radially inward from the inner diameter surface toward the center axis (see Figure 3). Liu further discloses an axial width of each of the plurality of vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, each of the plurality of vanes tapers to a tip, and the tips are free-standing, and the taper is linear (see Figure 3 of the vanes shown as they are visibly tapered in linear fashion to a free standing tip) and the plurality of vanes extends from its leading edge to its trailing edge in a direction substantially parallel to the center axis (see Figure 3, the vane shape extends from leading/trailing along the taper(s)).
Liu does not explicitly show the circumferential dimensions and therefore fails to teach the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane.
Sugitani teaches a compressor with analogous vanes that have a tapered shape (Figures 5-6), the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward (Figure 5), the taper being linear (see from 27d to 26b), the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane (see Figure 5, the vanes are symmetrical in this dimension). The dimensions allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compressor and method of Liu such that the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane as taught by Sugitani for the purposes of allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5-6, Liu as modified by Sugitani teaches the compressor according to claim 1 above. Liu further discloses an axial width of each of the plurality of vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, each of the plurality of vanes tapers to a tip, and the tips are free-standing, and the taper is linear (see Figure 3 of the vanes shown as they are visibly tapered in linear fashion to a free standing tip).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Liu as modified by Sugitani teaches the compressor according to claim 1 above. Liu further discloses the plurality of vanes extends from its leading edge to its trailing edge in a direction substantially parallel to the center axis (see Figure 3, the vane shape extends from leading/trailing along the taper(s)) and the base of the cylinder is attached to the discharge portion (see the cylindrical exit in Figures 1 and 4, the “base” can be referenced anywhere along the cylindrical shape and is connected at the discharge portion).
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 10-13, 18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasz (US 7146813) in view of Sugitani (US 8245530).
Regarding claims 1, 8, 11, 13;
Brasz discloses a refrigerant compressor and method thereof (Figure 4), comprising: a discharge portion (37); and a deswirler (31) disposed at the discharge portion, the deswirler including a hollow cylinder including an inner diameter surface and a center axis, and a plurality of vanes extending radially inward from the inner diameter surface toward the center axis (IGV’s 31 shown in Figure 3, but in Figure 4 they are described as “After passing through the impeller 27 the low pressure gas passes through the inlet guide vanes 31 to an exit opening 37. In this mode of operation, the inlet guide vanes 31 are preferably moved to the fully opened positioned”). The deswirler is provided between the discharge of the “compressor” and a condenser (18). Brasz further discloses an axial width of each of the plurality of vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, each of the plurality of vanes tapers to a tip, and the tips are free-standing, and the taper is linear (see Figure 3 of the vanes shown in IGV’s 31 as they are visibly tapered in linear fashion to a free standing tip). Brasz further discloses the plurality of vanes extends from its leading edge to its trailing edge in a direction substantially parallel to the center axis (see Figure 3, the vane shape extends from leading/trailing along the taper(s)).
Brasz does not explicitly show the circumferential dimensions and therefore fails to teach the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane.
Brasz does not explicitly show the circumferential dimensions and therefore fails to teach the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane.
Sugitani teaches a compressor with analogous vanes that have a tapered shape (Figures 5-6), the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward (Figure 5), the taper being linear (see from 27d to 26b), the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane (see Figure 5, the vanes are symmetrical in this dimension). The dimensions allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compressor and method of Brasz such that the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane as taught by Sugitani for the purposes of allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
Regarding claims 2-3 and 5-6 Brasz as modified by Sugitani teaches the compressor according to claim 1 above. Brasz further discloses an axial width of each of the plurality of vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, each of the plurality of vanes tapers to a tip, and the tips are free-standing, and the taper is linear (see Figure 3 of the vanes shown in IGV’s 31 as they are visibly tapered in linear fashion to a free standing tip).
Regarding claims 10 and 12, Brasz as modified by Sugitani teaches the compressor according to claim 1 above. Brasz further discloses the plurality of vanes extends from its leading edge to its trailing edge in a direction substantially parallel to the center axis (see Figure 3, the vane shape extends from leading/trailing along the taper(s)) and the base of the cylinder is attached to the discharge portion (see the cylindrical exit in Figure 4, the “base” can be referenced anywhere along the cylindrical shape and is connected at the discharge portion 37).
Regarding claims 18 and 20;
Brasz discloses the method according to claims 14 and 16 above.
Brasz does not explicitly show the circumferential dimensions and therefore fails to teach the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane.
Sugitani teaches a compressor with analogous vanes that have a tapered shape (Figures 5-6), the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward (Figure 5), the taper being linear (see from 27d to 26b), the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane (see Figure 5, the vanes are symmetrical in this dimension). The dimensions allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Brasz such that the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane as taught by Sugitani for the purposes of allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
Claims 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (CN 209212585) in view of Sugitani (US 8245530).
Liu as modified teaches the method according to claims 14 and 16 above. Liu further discloses an axial width of each of the plurality of vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, each of the plurality of vanes tapers to a tip, and the tips are free-standing, and the taper is linear (see Figure 3 of the vanes shown as they are visibly tapered in linear fashion to a free standing tip) and the plurality of vanes extends from its leading edge to its trailing edge in a direction substantially parallel to the center axis (see Figure 3, the vane shape extends from leading/trailing along the taper(s))
Liu does not explicitly show the circumferential dimensions and therefore fails to teach the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane.
Sugitani teaches a compressor with analogous vanes that have a tapered shape (Figures 5-6), the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward (Figure 5), the taper being linear (see from 27d to 26b), the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane (see Figure 5, the vanes are symmetrical in this dimension). The dimensions allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compressor and method of Liu such that the circumferential with of each of the vanes tapers as it extends radially inward, the taper being linear, the vanes being plane symmetrical across a plane of the center axis lying in the plane as taught by Sugitani for the purposes of allow flow for the refrigerant gas to be controlled, thus preventing the vibration of the vanes and reducing the thrust force that is acting on the bearing sleeve during the adjustment of the flow amount and the flow direction of the fluid.
Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasz (US 7146813) or Liu (CN 209212585) in view of Sugitani (US 8245530), and further in view of Koga (US 20180223866).
Brasz and Liu in view of Sugitani teaches the compressor according to claim 1 above.
Brasz and Liu fail to teach the plurality of vanes consists of seven vanes.
Koga teaches a compressor with an analogous vane arrangement (Figure 2) wherein there are consisting of seven vanes (Figure 2).
The number of vanes controlling the fluid flow of the channel depends on the dimensions of the channel and the size of the vanes. A smaller dimensioned vane can allow for greater numbers with more precise control since a smaller area is being controlled by each individual vane. It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compressor of Brasz and Liu such that the plurality of vanes consists of seven vanes as taught by Koga for the purposes of precisely adjusting the flow of the fluid and thereby reducing vibration/noise.
Claims 21-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brasz (US 7146813) or Liu (CN 209212585) in view of Sugitani (US 8245530), and further in view of Song (KR 102165973).
Brasz and Liu in view of Sugitani teaches the refrigerant compressor according to claim 1 above.
Brasz and Liu as modified by Sugitani fails to teach a number of the plurality of vanes is different from a number of impeller blades of an impeller of the compressor, to reduce resonance between the vanes and the impeller blades, and at a given radial location, an axial thickness of each of the plurality of vanes is greater than a circumferential thickness of the vane.
Song teaches a compressor with anti-vortex elements (200) which can be placed around the circumference of the inlet or outlet of the compressor (Figure 5 for outlet). The vanes are pointy with a tapered geometry in the circumferential direction, and the axial thickness is larger along the entire radial length (see various Figures with the geometry showing the axial length/thickness is larger than any of the circumferential thickness, and it includes a taper pointing radially inward). The number of vanes is fewer than the number of impeller vanes. The vane passing frequency is a product of the stator/guide vanes and the impeller blades; fewer vanes allows for a lower VPF so it does not align with the impeller’s natural frequencies which prevents forced responses that can lead to high cycle fatigue failure. This can also be adjusted by the spatial distribution of the vanes, and larger spatial distribution requires fewer vanes by default. The reduced vane count can lower overall interaction points which decreases the total excitation energy transferred between objects.
Because Song teaches the utilization of guide vanes with a similar shape as Sugitani and Liu and Brasz, including being tapered in the radially inward direction, and because they are utilized for the sake of reducing vortices and therefore reducing noise (Paragraph 8: “anti-vortex device at the discharge port of the centrifugal pump, thereby increasing pumping efficiency and reducing noise”), it therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the compressor of Brasz and Liu such that a number of the plurality of vanes is different from a number of impeller blades of an impeller of the compressor, to reduce resonance between the vanes and the impeller blades, and at a given radial location, an axial thickness of each of the plurality of vanes is greater than a circumferential thickness of the vane as taught by Song for the purposes of reducing the pulse density and interactions and increasing the spacing, thereby allowing for a lowering of the vibration amplitude and noise.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JUSTIN D SEABE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745