DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application discloses and claims only subject matter disclosed in prior application, and names the inventor or at least one joint inventor named in the prior application. Accordingly, this application may constitute a continuation or divisional. Should applicant desire to claim the benefit of the filing date of the prior application, attention is directed to 35 U.S.C. 120, 37 CFR 1.78, and MPEP § 211 et seq. The presentation of a benefit claim may result in an additional fee under 37 CFR 1.17(w)(1) or (2) being required, if the earliest filing date for which benefit is claimed under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) and 1.78(d) in the application is more than six years before the actual filing date of the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS)s submitted on 05/12/2026 and 12/19/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (US20190313107) (hereinafter Park) in view of Tan (US20260214274) (hereinafter Tan).
Regarding claim 1, Park discloses a method of signaling neural network post-loop filter information for video data, the method comprising: signaling a neural network post-filter characteristics message [Figs. 29-39, 0099, 0255, 0275-0299, 0335-0342; global motion calculation module performing coding process].
signaling a syntax element specifying a padding type corresponding to the neural network post-filter characteristics message, wherein the syntax element includes a value specifying a wrap-around padding type and a value specifying a fixed padding type [Figs. 29-39, 0099, 0255, 0275-0299, 0335-0342; variety of algorithms implementing global motion calculation module for virtual region pixel values including different padding methods, including a variety of boundary types/regions].
Park discloses the limitations of the claims. However, Park does not explicitly disclose signaling a syntax element indicating a sample value to be used for padding in a case where the fixed padding type is specified.
Tan more explicitly discloses signaling a syntax element indicating a sample value to be used for padding in a case where the fixed padding type is specified [TBLS 2-5, 0172-0199; nnpf padding types implemented including fixed and wrapround padding].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park with the teachings of Tan as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such a high efficiency image compression technology to effectively transmit, store, and reproduce the information of high resolution and high quality images is achieved (see Tan 0003-0005).
Regarding claim 2, Park discloses a method of applying a neural network in-loop filter to reconstructed video, the method comprising: receiving a neural network post-filter characteristics message ;parsing a syntax element identifying a padding type corresponding to the neural network post-filter characteristics message, wherein the syntax element includes a value specifying a wrap-around padding type and a value specifying a fixed padding type [Figs. 29-39, 0099, 0255, 0275-0299, 0335-0342; variety of algorithms implementing global motion calculation module for virtual region pixel values including different padding methods, including a variety of boundary types/regions].
Park discloses the limitations of the claims. However, Park does not explicitly disclose parsing a syntax element indicating a sample value to be used for padding in a case where the fixed padding type is specified.
Tan more explicitly discloses parsing a syntax element indicating a sample value to be used for padding in a case where the fixed padding type is specified [TBLS 2-5, 0172-0199; nnpf padding types implemented including fixed and wrapround padding].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park with the teachings of Tan as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such a high efficiency image compression technology to effectively transmit, store, and reproduce the information of high resolution and high quality images is achieved (see Tan 0003-0005).
Regarding claim 3, Park discloses a device comprising one or more processors configured to: receive a neural network post-filter characteristics message [Figs. 29-39, 0099, 0255, 0275-0299, 0335-0342; global motion calculation module performing coding process].
parse a syntax element identifying a padding type corresponding to the neural network post-filter characteristics message, wherein the syntax element includes a value specifying a wrap-around padding type and a value specifying a fixed padding type [Figs. 29-39, 0099, 0255, 0275-0299, 0335-0342; variety of algorithms implementing global motion calculation module for virtual region pixel values including different padding methods, including a variety of boundary types/regions].
Park discloses the limitations of the claims. However, Park does not explicitly disclose
parse a syntax element indicating a sample value to be used for padding in a case where the fixed padding type is specified
Tan more explicitly discloses parse a syntax element indicating a sample value to be used for padding in a case where the fixed padding type is specified.
[TBLS 2-5, 0172-0199; nnpf padding types implemented including fixed and wrapround padding].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the teachings of Park with the teachings of Tan as stated above. By incorporating the teachings as such a high efficiency image compression technology to effectively transmit, store, and reproduce the information of high resolution and high quality images is achieved (see Tan 0003-0005).
Conclusion
/TALHA M NAWAZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2483