DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 3 and 21 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims3 recites, in response to the second shape corresponding to an increasing width or a constant with of the detected lane line object and the width of the detected lane line object corresponding to a second reference value greater than the first reference value, the processor is configured to set a length corresponding to the second reference value to be the second length.
Here the phrase “ an increasing width” should be “an increasing width” and the phrase “constant with” should be “constant width”.
Claim 21 is objected because there is a numerical reference “508” in the claim limitation.
Claim 21 recites, “change a length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or a length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the second”. The phrase “the second” should be “the second length”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 and 12-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 20 recites, “wherein in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and vehicle speed information and yaw rate information being received from the sensor device,”. The phrase “the map data” and “the sensor device” have lack of antecedent basis which makes the claim s indefinite.
Dependent claims 2-10 and 12-17, 21 are also rejected based on dependency.
Claim 18 recites, “wherein in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and vehicle speed information and yaw rate information being received from the sensor device,”. The phrase the sensor device” have lack of antecedent basis which make the claims to be indefinite.
Claim 19 is also rejected based on dependency.
Claim 17 recites, “wherein the augmented reality engine is configured to perform sensor fusion based on the image from the camera, to perform geometric modeling based on a result of performing the sensor fusion, and to perform visualization based on a result of the modeling.” The phrase “the augmented reality engine” has a lack of antecedent basis that makes the scope of the limitation indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, 9-10 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo et al. (machine translated Korean Patent Publication: KR-20210085834-A, “Seo” application: KR 10-2019-0179322 A) in view of Lee et al (machine translated WO 2020159247, “Lee”) and McCracken et al. (machine translated CN 110352087 A, “McCracken”).
Regarding claim 1, Seo teaches, A signal processing device (Fig. 1) comprising:
a memory (database part 140) configured to store data for an augmented reality lane carpet; (Page 6.3rd paragraph, “In the database part (140)" the graphic resource information for synthesizing carpet in the image photographed in the camera part (120) is contained) and
a processor (control unit 30) configured to detect lane line object based on an image from a camera, (Page 5, from bottom 4 paragraphs : “As the means in which the camera part (120) takes a picture of the image of the front of vehicle" at least one camera including the digital imaging sensor is comprised. The camera part (120) includes multiple cameras and the gaze direction (or" the travelling direction of the vehicle) is taken a picture of and the pedestrian (or" the obstacle) image and road equipment (the example : traffic signal" the road side tree" the guide etc) image are obtained. In the present preferred embodiment" the image is be used to detect the lane (or" the forked road).” Page 6 (second to last Paragraph) “Referring to Figure 2" the above-mentioned front camera image receive (S101)ed is decoded if the control unit (130) receives the front camera image (S102).”)
While Seo teaches, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a length, (Fig.4(a) and Page 7 “It is the example diagram in which (a) of fig. 4 produces the carpet of the color (example : blue) in which the current compass deviation is designated to the bottom surface whole of the driving lane and indicated.” ) but doesn’t expressly teach, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a first length, and in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a second length greater than the first length,
However Lee teaches, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a first length, and in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a second length greater than the first length, (
See Fig.22, If the shape of lane line is straight the length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1410, if the shape of lane line is slanted (greater width than the straight) then the length of the carpet image is the length of carpet image 1420.)
Seo and Lee are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo to have included, in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a first length, and in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a second length greater than the first length as taught by Lee.
The motivation to include Lee is to vary size of carpet image in relation to shape of front area available for safe driving.
Seo as modified by Lee teaches, wherein in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and vehicle speed information and yaw rate information being received from the sensor device, the processor is configured to recalculate the lane line (Lee [0033] “In an embodiment, the recalculating the current lane information of the vehicle may be performed when a lane cannot be recognized from the front image, or may be performed when there is an error in lane information of a map road link received from the outside.”. “[0346] The sensing unit 120 May acquire sensing signals for vehicle posture information, vehicle collision information, vehicle direction information, vehicle position information (GPS information), vehicle angle information, vehicle speed information, vehicle acceleration information, vehicle inclination information, vehicle forward/backward information, battery information, fuel information, tire information, vehicle lamp information, vehicle internal temperature information, vehicle internal humidity information, steering wheel rotation angle, vehicle external illuminance, pressure applied to an accelerator pedal, pressure applied to a brake pedal, and the like.” .) but doesn’t teach the processor is configured to display an augmented reality dynamic carpet based on the vehicle speed information and the yaw rate information,
However, McCracken teaches, the processor is configured to display an augmented reality dynamic carpet based on the vehicle speed information and the yaw rate information, (Section: Specific implementation methods :……….“For example, computer graphics generation system 70 can selectively generate AR image of the AR environment 25 (e.g., comprises AR object of the instruction object 26) to reflect the corresponding change the orientation, position, viewing direction, field of view, movement, etc. of the occupant. computer graphics generation system 70 based on information received from monitoring system 46, indicating the game controller 44 and/or controller 42 of the passenger carrier 20 position, yaw and speed and/or other operating parameters of the data to selectively generate the AR environment 25.”)
Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken are analogous as they are from the field of augmented reality. vehicle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and vehicle speed information and yaw rate information being received from the sensor device as taught by Lee and McCracken.
The motivation for the above is determine lane length from alternative resource.
Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, wherein in response to detecting preceding vehicle object based on the image from the camera, the processor is configured to limit a length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or a length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length for avoiding overlap with the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length based on a distance from the detected preceding vehicle object. (Seo Fig. 5 indicates the length of the carpet image or augmented image is limited based on based on a distance from the detected preceding vehicle object.)
Regarding claim 2, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to the first shape, the processor is configured to display a lane image with the first length, and in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to the second shape, the processor is configured to display a lane image with the second length. (Lee,
See Fig.22, If the shape of lane line is straight the length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1410 , if the shape of lane line is slanted then the length of the carpet image is the length of carpet image 1420.)
Regarding claim 3, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches wherein: in response to the first shape corresponding to a decreasing width of the detected lane line object and the width of the detected lane line object corresponding to a first reference value, the processor is configured to set a length corresponding to the first reference value to be the first length; ( Lee, Fig.22, If the shape of lane line object is straight the (width of the lane line object smaller), length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1410 which is first length)
in response to the second shape corresponding to an increasing width or a constant with of the detected lane line object and the width of the detected lane line object corresponding to a second reference value greater than the first reference value, the processor is configured to set a length corresponding to the second reference value to be the second length. (Lee, Fig.22, If the shape of lane line object is slanted (width of the lane line object larger than the straight line object), length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1420 which is second length, larger than length of first length of 1410)
Regarding claim 4, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, teaches wherein in response to a preceding vehicle object being detected based on the image from the camera, the processor is configured to limit a length the length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length to a third length, or to limit a length the length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length to a fourth length. (Seo, Fig. 5 indicates the length of the carpet image or augmented image is limited based on based on a distance from the detected preceding vehicle object.)
Regarding claim 7, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, wherein as a vehicle travels, the processor is configured to update and display the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length. (Lee, “[0523] FIG. 24 is a conceptual view illustrating a method of updating lane information of a vehicle based on a forward image. [0524] Referring to FIG. 24, the controller 870 checks whether there is a change in map-based road map (S701). When the road map is changed (S702), updates the number of lanes of a current road (S703).”)
Regarding claim 9, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to the first shape in a state in which the detected lane line object do not match the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to set and display the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length, (.Lee, [0519] FIG. 23 is a flowchart of calculating current lane information of a vehicle. [521]…When the road map matching fails (S606), the controller 870 calculates the number of lanes on the road based on the front image (S606). When calculating the number of road lanes based on the front image fails, the controller 870reattempts the road map matching. Fig. 23 indicates when frontal image and map matches, map image would be used as augmented image and match is not successful, the augmented image or carpet image would be created based on frontal image.)
See Fig.22, If the shape of lane line is straight the length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1410” ) and
wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to the second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to display the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length greater than the first length. (
See Fig.22, If the shape of lane line is straight the length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1410, if the shape of lane line is slanted (greater width than the straight) then the length of the carpet image is the length of carpet image 1420.)
Regarding claim 10, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches wherein in response to the detected lane line object matching the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to display an augmented reality route carpet based on the map data.( (Lee, [0519] FIG. 23 is a flowchart of calculating current lane information of a vehicle. [521]…When the road map matching fails (S606), the controller 870 calculates the number of lanes on the road based on the front image (S606). When calculating the number of road lanes based on the front image fails, the controller 870reattempts the road map matching. Fig. 23 indicates when frontal image and map matches, map image would be used as augmented image and match is not successful, the augmented image or carpet image would be created based on frontal image.)
Regarding claim 15, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches wherein the processor is configured to detect a position of a driver's eyes based on an image from a vehicle internal camera, and to change a position for projecting the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length based on the position of the driver's eyes. (Lee,”
)
Regarding claim 16, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches,, wherein the processor comprises: a data interface configured to receive an image from the camera; (Seo, Paragraph Description of Embodiments: Information in which the information input unit (110) is received to at least one sensor or one communication method are received.”) and an augmented reality engine configured to output the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the second length based on the image from the camera.(Seo, Page 6 “ The composite image synthesized using the graphic resource (in other words" the carpet image) stored in the travel information in which the composition image output unit (150) is processed at the control unit (130) the input image and database part (140) is outputted.”)
Regarding claim 17, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, wherein the augmented reality engine is configured to perform sensor fusion based on the image from the camera, to perform geometric modeling based on a result of performing the sensor fusion, and to perform visualization based on a result of the modeling. (Lee, “[0164].The self-driving vehicle 100b having the means for providing the XR image may obtain sensor information from sensors including a camera and output an XR image generated based on the obtained sensor information.” Obtained sensor information comes from various sensors thus have fusion of sensors. “[0129]…..The robot 100a may obtain state information of the robot 100a by using sensor information obtained from various types of sensors, detect (recognize) a surrounding environment and an object, generate map data, determine a moving path and a driving plan, determine a response to the user interaction, or determine an operation”.)
Regarding claim 18, Seo teaches, A signal processing device comprising:
a memory configured to store data for an augmented reality lane carpet and map data; (Page 6 “In the database part (140)" the graphic resource information for synthesizing carpet in the image photographed in the camera part (120) is contained. Page 3 3rd paragraph: “In the present invention" the database part comprises the information about the road lane number" map data" the carpet related graphic resource information and calibration information" and the middle at least one.) and
a processor configured to detect lane line object based on an image from a camera, (Page 5: “As the means in which the camera part (120) takes a picture of the image of the front of vehicle" at least one camera including the digital imaging sensor is comprised. The camera part (120) includes multiple cameras and the gaze direction (or" the travelling direction of the vehicle) is taken a picture of and the pedestrian (or" the obstacle) image and road equipment (the example : traffic signal" the road side tree" the guide etc) image are obtained. In the present preferred embodiment" the image is be used to detect the lane (or" the forked road).” Page 6 (second to last Paragraph) “Referring to Figure 2" the above-mentioned front camera image receive (S101)ed is decoded if the control unit (130) receives the front camera image (S102).”)
Seo doesn’t expressly teach, wherein in response to the detected lane line object matching the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to display an augmented reality route carpet based on the map data, and in response to the detected lane line object not matching the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet based on the detected lane line object,
Lee teaches, wherein in response to the detected lane line object matching the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to display an augmented reality route carpet based on the map data, and in response to the detected lane line object not matching the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet based on the detected lane line object,
(Lee, “[0519] FIG. 23 is a flowchart of calculating current lane information of a vehicle. [521]…When the road map matching fails (S606), the controller 870 calculates the number of lanes on the road based on the front image (S606). When calculating the number of road lanes based on the front image fails, the controller 870reattempts the road map matching.” Fig. 23 indicates when frontal image and map matches, map image would be used as augmented image and match is not successful, the augmented image or carpet image would be created based on frontal image.)
Seo and Lee are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo to have included in response to the detected lane line object matching the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to display an augmented reality route carpet based on the map data, and in response to the detected lane line object not matching the map data stored in the memory, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet based on the detected lane line object as taught by Lee.
The motivation to include the modification is to reduce the effort of augmented reality image generation.
Seo as modified by Lee teaches wherein in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, the processor is configured to recalculate the lane line (Lee [0034] In some implementations, the recalculating of the current lane information of the vehicle may be performed when a lane is not recognizable form the forward image, or when there in an error in lane information of a map road link received from the outside. [0344] The sensing unit 120 may detect a status of the vehicle. The sensing unit 120 may include a posture sensor (e.g., a yaw sensor, a roll sensor, a pitch sensor, etc.), a collision sensor, a wheel sensor, a speed sensor, a tilt sensor, a weight-detecting sensor, a heading sensor, a gyro sensor, a position module, a vehicle forward/backward movement sensor, a battery sensor, a fuel sensor, a tire sensor, a steering sensor by a turn of a handle, a vehicle internal temperature sensor, a vehicle internal humidity sensor, an ultrasonic sensor, an illumination sensor, an accelerator position sensor, a brake pedal position sensor, and the like.) but doesn’t teach the processor is configured to display an augmented reality dynamic carpet based on the vehicle speed information and the yaw rate information,
However, McCracken teaches, the processor is configured to display an augmented reality dynamic carpet based on the vehicle speed information and the yaw rate information, ((Section: Specific implementation methods :……… “For example, computer graphics generation system 70 can selectively generate AR image of the AR environment 25 (e.g., comprises AR object of the instruction object 26) to reflect the corresponding change the orientation, position, viewing direction, field of view, movement, etc. of the occupant. computer graphics generation system 70 based on information received from monitoring system 46, indicating the game controller 44 and/or controller 42 of the passenger carrier 20 position, yaw and speed and/or other operating parameters of the data to selectively generate the AR environment 25.”)
Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken are analogous as they are from the field of augmented reality. vehicle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and vehicle speed information and yaw rate information being received from the sensor device as taught by Lee and McCracken.
The motivation for the above is determine lane length from alternative resource.
Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, wherein in response to detecting preceding vehicle object based on the image from the camera, the processor is configured to limit a length of the augmented reality lane carpet or the augmented reality route carpet or the augmented reality dynamic carpet for avoiding overlap with the augmented reality lane carpet based on a distance from the detected preceding vehicle object. . (Seo Fig. 5 indicates the length of the carpet image or augmented image is limited based on based on a distance from the detected preceding vehicle object.)
Regarding claim 19, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a first length, and wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a second length greater than the first length. ((Lee,
See Fig.22, If the shape of lane line is straight the length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1410 or 1430, if the shape of lane line is slanted then the length of the carpet image is the length of carpet image 1420.)
Regarding claim 20, Seo teaches, A vehicle display apparatus (Fig. 1) comprising- the signal a signal processing device ( Fig.1 element 130)
wherein the signal processing device ( element 130) comprises:
a memory (database part 140) configured to store data for an augmented reality lane carpet; (Page 6 “In the database part (140)" the graphic resource information for synthesizing carpet in the image photographed in the camera part (120) is contained) and
a processor (control unit 30) configured to detect lane line object based on an image from a camera, (Page 5: “As the means in which the camera part (120) takes a picture of the image of the front of vehicle" at least one camera including the digital imaging sensor is comprised. The camera part (120) includes multiple cameras and the gaze direction (or" the travelling direction of the vehicle) is taken a picture of and the pedestrian (or" the obstacle) image and road equipment (the example : traffic signal" the road side tree" the guide etc) image are obtained. In the present preferred embodiment" the image is be used to detect the lane (or" the forked road).” Page 6 (second to last Paragraph) “Referring to Figure 2" the above-mentioned front camera image receive (S101)ed is decoded if the control unit (130) receives the front camera image (S102).”)
While Seo teaches, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a length, (Fig.4(a) and Page 7 “It is the example diagram in which (a) of fig. 4 produces the carpet of the color (example : blue) in which the current compass deviation is designated to the bottom surface whole of the driving lane and indicated.” ) but doesn’t expressly teach, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a first length, and in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a second length greater than the first length,
However Lee teaches, wherein in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a first length, and in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a second length greater than the first length, (
See Fig.22, If the shape of lane line is straight the length of the is carpet image is the length of image 1410 or 1430, if the shape of lane line is slanted then the length of the carpet image is the length of carpet image 1420.)
Seo and Lee are analogous as they are from the field of vehicle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo to have included, in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a first length, and in response to the detected lane line object corresponding to a second shape with a greater width than the first shape, the processor is configured to set and display an augmented reality lane carpet with a second length greater than the first length as taught by Lee.
The motivation to include Lee is to vary size of carpet image in relation to shape of front area available for safe driving.
Seo as modified by Lee teaches, wherein in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and vehicle speed information and yaw rate information being received from the sensor device, the processor is configured to recalculate the lane line (Lee [0033] “In an embodiment, the recalculating the current lane information of the vehicle may be performed when a lane cannot be recognized from the front image, or may be performed when there is an error in lane information of a map road link received from the outside.”. “[0346] The sensing unit 120 May acquire sensing signals for vehicle posture information, vehicle collision information, vehicle direction information, vehicle position information (GPS information), vehicle angle information, vehicle speed information, vehicle acceleration information, vehicle inclination information, vehicle forward/backward information, battery information, fuel information, tire information, vehicle lamp information, vehicle internal temperature information, vehicle internal humidity information, steering wheel rotation angle, vehicle external illuminance, pressure applied to an accelerator pedal, pressure applied to a brake pedal, and the like.”.) but doesn’t teach the processor is configured to display an augmented reality dynamic carpet based on the vehicle speed information and the yaw rate information,
However, McCracken teaches, the processor is configured to display an augmented reality dynamic carpet based on the vehicle speed information and the yaw rate information, ((Section: Specific implementation methods :……… “For example, computer graphics generation system 70 can selectively generate AR image of the AR environment 25 (e.g., comprises AR object of the instruction object 26) to reflect the corresponding change the orientation, position, viewing direction, field of view, movement, etc. of the occupant. computer graphics generation system 70 based on information received from monitoring system 46, indicating the game controller 44 and/or controller 42 of the passenger carrier 20 position, yaw and speed and/or other operating parameters of the data to selectively generate the AR environment 25.”)
Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken are analogous as they are from the field of augmented reality. vehicle display.
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and vehicle speed information and yaw rate information being received from the sensor device as taught by Lee and McCracken.
The motivation for the above is determine lane length from alternative resource.
Claim(s) 5-6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken in view of Kosaka al. WO 2017061035 A, “Kosaka”).
Regarding claim 5, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken teaches, wherein the processor is configured to receive the vehicle speed information from a sensor the sensor device, (Lee, “[0346] The sensing unit 120 May acquire sensing signals for vehicle posture information, vehicle collision information, vehicle direction information, vehicle position information (GPS information), vehicle angle information, vehicle speed information, vehicle acceleration information, vehicle inclination information, … and the like.”) and but doesn’t expressly teach, to change a width or length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length based on the vehicle speed information.
Kosaka teaches, to change a width or length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length based on the vehicle speed information. (See section Functional block configuration of vehicle display device : ……”Further, the display pattern determination unit 150 can determine a display pattern in which the length of the direction guide image 200 along the road RD increases as the traveling speed of the vehicle V increases.”)
Kosaka and Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken are analogous as they are from the field of augmented reality for vehicle display..
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken to change a width or length of the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length based on the vehicle speed information as taught by Kosaka..
The motivation for the above is to dynamically generate the carpet image during running of vehicle.
Regarding claim 6, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken doesn’t expressly teach, wherein when a vehicle stops, the processor is configured to stop displaying the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length.
Kosaka teaches, wherein when a vehicle stops, the processor is configured to stop displaying the augmented reality image (The curve at Fig.9 (a) and (b) shows when velocity is zero, then the distance or length of augmented image is zero, that means no augmented image will be displayed when the vehicle speed is zero.)
Kosaka and Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken are analogous as they are from the field of augmented reality for vehicle display..
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken to have included when a vehicle stops, then the processor is configured to stop displaying the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length similar to when a vehicle stops, the processor is configured to stop displaying the augmented reality image as taught by Kosaka..
The motivation for the above is to avoid unnecessarily processing of the augmented image when the vehicle is not running..
Regarding claim 8, Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken doesn’t expressly teach, wherein in response to a driving speed of the vehicle being lower than or equal to a reference speed, the processor is configured to display the augmented reality lane carpet without updating the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length.
However, Kosaka teaches, wherein in response to a driving speed of the vehicle being lower than or equal to a reference speed, the processor is configured to display the augmented reality lane carpet without updating the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length. (Curve of Fig. 9(a) displays that at a reference speed of Vmin, the augmented image is displayed with length Dmin.)
Kosaka and Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken are analogous as they are from the field of augmented reality for vehicle display..
Therefore it would have been obvious for an ordinary skilled person in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Seo as modified by Lee and McCracken to have included in response to a driving speed of the vehicle being lower than or equal to a reference speed, the processor is configured to display the augmented reality lane carpet without updating the augmented reality lane carpet with the first length or the augmented reality lane carpet with the second length. as taught by Kosaka..
The motivation for the above is to avoid unnecessarily process the augmented image when the vehicle speed is too low.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 12-14 and 21 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 12 is objected because the combination of prior arts fails to expressly teach, wherein in response to the lane line object not being detected in the image from the camera, the map data not being stored in the memory or not being valid, and the vehicle speed information and yaw rate information not being received from the sensor device, the processor is configured to not display the augmented reality carpet.
Claim 13 is objected because the combination of prior arts fails to expressly teach, wherein in response to a width between lane lines, detected based on the lane line object in the image from the camera, being within an allowable range, the processor is configured to update previous lane line object to current lane line object, and
wherein in response to the width between the detected lane lines falling outside the allowable range, the processor is configured to not update the previous lane line object to the current lane line object.
Claim 14 is objected because the combination of prior arts fails to expressly teach, wherein in response to a variation in the width between the lane lines, detected based on the lane line object in the image from the camera, being greater than or equal to a first level, and a variation in one of two lane lines being lower than or equal to a second level which is lower than the first level, the processor is configured to maintain previous lane line information of a remaining lane line.
Claim 21 is objected as the combination of prior arts fails to expressly teach the limitations of claim 21.
Conclusion
/SAPTARSHI MAZUMDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2612