DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 24-30, 33-38, 42, and 49 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dillen et al. (Dillen) (Patent/Publication Number US 2023/0193840).
Regarding claims 24, 33, and 49, Dillen discloses a spark ignition engine (10) that is fueled with hydrogen or ammonia (such as, In one embodiment, the substitution ratio may correspond to an injection amount of a fuel with a relatively lower carbon content or zero carbon content (e.g., hydrogen gas or ammonia).) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0012, 0015-0016, 0019, 0024, 0027-0028]), wherein an exhaust stream from the spark ignition engine passes through a three-way catalyst (130) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0040] The locomotive may include an exhaust gas treatment system coupled in the exhaust passage to reduce regulated emissions. In one example embodiment, the exhaust gas treatment system may include a diesel oxidation catalyst (DOC) 130 and a diesel particulate filter (DPF) 132. The DOC may oxidize exhaust gas components, thereby decreasing carbon monoxide, hydrocarbons, and particulate matter emissions. The DPF is configured to trap particulates, also known as particulate matter (an example of which is soot), produced during combustion, and may be comprised of ceramic, silicon carbide, or any suitable material. In other embodiments, the exhaust gas treatment system may additionally include a selective catalytic reduction (SCR) catalyst, three-way catalyst, NOx, trap, various other emission control devices or combinations thereof. ..... .) (e.g. See Figures 2; Paragraphs [0040]); wherein a hydrocarbon fuel (212) is introduced into the exhaust stream before it enters the three-way catalyst (e.g. See Figures 2; Paragraphs [0041, 0048]); and wherein an amount of hydrocarbon fuel that is introduced into the exhaust stream from the spark ignition engine is adjusted as at least one of engine torque, speed and pressure varies (As such, engine controller 12, engine throttle 142, engine sensors 150, and engine actuators 152) so as to reduce NOx in an exhaust stream that passes through the three-way catalyst (e.g. See Paragraphs [0059] At step 402, engine operating conditions may be estimated and/or measured. As an example, the engine operating conditions to be estimated and/or measured may include engine speed, engine temperature, engine load, torque demand, boost demand, engine dilution demand, and so on. The geographical location of the vehicle may also be obtained from an on-board navigational system. In one example, the controller on-board the vehicle may include a navigation system (e.g., global positioning system, GPS) via which a location of the vehicle (e.g., GPS co-ordinates of the vehicle) may be retrieved. In another example, the location of the vehicle may be retrieved form an external network communicatively coupled to the vehicle.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0042, 0044, 0046, 0059]).
Regarding claims 25, 34, Dillen further discloses wherein the amount of the hydrocarbon fuel that is introduced into the exhaust stream from the spark ignition engine is determined by closed loop control using a measurement of NOx that is in the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst (e.g. See Paragraphs [0044] Both the engine controller and the consist controller may receive information from a plurality of sensors and may send control signals to a plurality of actuators. The engine controller, while overseeing control and management of the locomotive, may receive signals from a variety of engine sensors 150, as further elaborated herein, in order to determine operating parameters and operating conditions, and correspondingly adjust various engine actuators 152 to control operation of the locomotive. For example, the engine controller may receive signals from various engine sensors including, but not limited to, engine speed, engine load, intake manifold air pressure, boost pressure, exhaust pressure, ambient pressure, ambient temperature, exhaust temperature, engine temperature, exhaust oxygen levels, etc. ..... .) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0034, 0038, 0040-0041, 0044, 0084]).
Regarding claims 26, 35, Dillen further discloses wherein the amount of the hydrocarbon fuel that is introduced into the exhaust stream from the spark ignition engine is determined by open loop control using a lookup table that employs information about engine speed, torque and/or pressure (e.g. See Paragraphs [0044] Both the engine controller and the consist controller may receive information from a plurality of sensors and may send control signals to a plurality of actuators. The engine controller, while overseeing control and management of the locomotive, may receive signals from a variety of engine sensors 150, as further elaborated herein, in order to determine operating parameters and operating conditions, and correspondingly adjust various engine actuators 152 to control operation of the locomotive. For example, the engine controller may receive signals from various engine sensors including, but not limited to, engine speed, engine load, intake manifold air pressure, boost pressure, exhaust pressure, ambient pressure, ambient temperature, exhaust temperature, engine temperature, exhaust oxygen levels, etc. ..... .) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0016, 0042, 0044, 0046, 0059, 0084]).
Regarding claims 27, Dillen further discloses wherein the spark ignition engine is fueled with a substantially stoichiometric air fuel ratio (e.g. See Paragraphs [0012, 0032, 0035]).
Regarding claims 28, 36, Dillen further discloses wherein the hydrocarbon fuel is methanol or a methanol-gasoline mixture (e.g. See Paragraphs [0019, 0024, 0031-0032]).
Regarding claims 29, 37, Dillen further discloses wherein the hydrocarbon fuel is methanol or a methanol-gasoline mixture and wherein the methanol is a low-carbon methanol that is produced from at least one of biomass, waste and CO2 (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024] The first, second, and third fuels (e.g., fuels stored on-board the train) may each be of different fuel types. Suitable fuels may include hydrocarbon-based fuels, such diesel, natural gas, methanol, ethanol, dimethyl ether (DME), etc. Other suitable fuels may be non-hydrocarbon-based fuels, such as hydrogen, ammonia, etc.) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024, 0031-0032, 0060]).
Regarding claims 30, 38, Dillen further discloses wherein the hydrocarbon fuel is ethanol or an ethanol-gasoline mixture (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024, 0031-0032, 0060]).
Regarding claims 42, Dillen further discloses wherein hydrocarbon fuel from the hydrocarbon fuel tank is also sent to the spark ignition engine and is varied with variation of at least one of engine torque and engine speed (e.g. See Paragraphs [0042, 0044, 0046, 0059]).
Claims 43-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miyagawa (Patent/Publication Number US 2014/0311428).
Regarding claims 43, Miyagawa discloses spark ignition engine (1) that is fueled by ammonia (40) from an ammonia tank (64) and by hydrogen that is provided by engine exhaust heat reforming of some of the ammonia from the ammonia tank (e.g. See Paragraphs [0118] The catalyst 60 of the cracker 51 is fed with vaporized ammonia from the ammonia feed tube 61b. In the cracker 51, at least part of the ammonia is cracked. The hydrogen which is produced at the catalyst 60 and the ammonia which was not cracked at the catalyst 60 are fed, as shown by the arrow 103, through the cooler 85 to the hydrogen injector 86.) (e.g. See Figure 6, Paragraphs [0045-0049, 0117-0121]); wherein reforming of ammonia produces both hydrogen (86) and unconverted ammonia (83); wherein the hydrogen and unconverted ammonia are introduced into the spark ignition engine (1) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0045-0049, 0117-0121]); wherein an exhaust stream from the spark ignition engine is sent to a three-way catalyst (e.g. See Paragraphs [0086-0087]); and wherein an amount of hydrogen is added to the spark ignition engine and is varied as one of at least engine torque, speed and temperature varies (e.g. See Paragraphs [0121] When the ratio of concentration of inflow is outside the predetermined judgment range, it is possible to perform control for adjusting the inflow concentration ratio. In the other internal combustion engine as well, it is possible to perform control for adjusting the inflow concentration ratio. For example, when performing the second control for adjusting the inflow concentration ratio, it is possible to adjust the amount of feed of ammonia from the ammonia injector 83 and the amount of feed of hydrogen from the hydrogen injector 86 so as to change the ratio of hydrogen to ammonia which are fed to the combustion chambers.) (e.g. See Figure 6, Paragraphs [0065-0066, 0105, 0117-0121]).
Regarding claims 44, Miyagawa further discloses wherein the amount of hydrogen that is added to the engine is sufficient to avoid misfire as at least of engine torque, speed and temperature vary (e.g. See Paragraphs [0065] The amount of feed of the ammonia and the amount of feed of the hydrogen at the time of ordinary operation of the internal combustion engine in the present embodiment can, for example, be determined based on the speed and required load of the internal combustion engine. A map of the amounts of feed of the different fuels having the speed and required load of the internal combustion engine as functions is prepared in advance. This map can be stored in the controller 31.), and (e.g. See Paragraphs [0105] The internal combustion engine has an MBT (minimum advance for best torque) ignition timing as the ignition timing at which the torque which is output becomes maximum. In an internal combustion engine which is fueled by gasoline, in particular at the time of high load, if igniting the fuel near the MBT ignition timing, knocking and other abnormal combustion occur, so the fuel is ignited at the retarded side from the MBT ignition timing. ....) (e.g. See Figure 6, Paragraphs [0065-0066, 0105, 0117-0121]).
Regarding claims 45, Miyagawa further discloses wherein a hydrocarbon fuel, that is provided by a fuel tank (51) that is separate from the fuel tank that provides the ammonia, is added to the exhaust stream from the spark ignition engine (e.g. See Paragraphs [0046-0047, 0050, 0053]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-32, and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dillen et al. (Dillen) (Patent/Publication Number US 2023/0193840) in view of Kawada et al. (Kawada) (Patent/Publication Number US 2014/0047821).
Regarding claims 31, 39, Dillen discloses all the claimed limitation as discussed above except that the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst passes through an SCR catalyst and wherein air and diesel exhaust fluid are added to the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst prior to its entrance into the SCR catalyst.
Kawada teaches that it is conventional in the art, to use the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst passes through an SCR catalyst (54) and wherein air (14) and diesel exhaust fluid (18, 21, 24) are added to the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst prior to its entrance into the SCR catalyst (54) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0068] The urea solution reformer 13 is incorporated into an exhaust gas purifier of the diesel engine 11 as shown in FIG. 2. This exhaust gas purifier comprises: a selective catalytic reduction catalyst 51 provided in the exhaust pipe 12 of the engine 11; the urea solution reformer 13 having the ammonia gas supply nozzle 24 engaged into the exhaust pipe 12 at an exhaust-gas upstream side of the selective catalytic reduction catalyst 51; urea solution supply means 53 having a second urea solution supply nozzle 52 engaged into the exhaust pipe 12 at an exhaust-gas upstream side of the selective catalytic reduction catalyst 51 and an exhaust-gas downstream side of the first urea solution supply nozzle 21; ..... .) (See Paragraphs [0061, 0068, 0070]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to use the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst passes through an SCR catalyst and wherein air and diesel exhaust fluid are added to the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst prior to its entrance into the SCR catalyst of Dillen, as taught by Kawada for the purpose of reducing the NOx in the exhaust gas of an internal combustion engine; and supply additional air into the exhaust gas to change the air-fuel ratio of the exhaust gas flowing into the SCR catalyst, so as to reduce the poisoned materials in the purifying catalyst and to reduce amount of nitrogen oxides in the exhaust gas of the lean-burn engine, and further improve the performance of the engine and the efficiency of the emission system, since the use thereof would have been routinely practiced by those with ordinary skill in the art to maintain high purification efficiency of a catalyst system.
Regarding claims 32, 40, Kawada further discloses wherein the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst passes through an SCR catalyst and wherein air and diesel exhaust fluid are added to the exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst prior to its entrance into the SCR catalyst and wherein the air is preheated by employing a heat exchanger (16) using heat sources that include engine coolant or exhaust downstream from the SCR catalyst (e.g. See Paragraphs [0077] When the carrier gas flow rate regulation valve 66 is activated and the electrothermal coil 16b is energized, the carrier gas in the carrier gas tank 14 is supplied into the carrier gas flow passage 16d of the carrier gas heating unit 16. This carrier gas absorbs a heat, which is generated by the electrothermal coil 16b and then transmitted to the coil holding portion 16a, carrier gas flow passage-oriented coil 16c, and the like, while the carrier gas flows through the carrier gas flow passage 16d, and thereafter the carrier gas reaches the carrier gas injecting nozzle 17. The carrier gas flow passage 16d is sufficiently long, thereby enabling to sufficiently heat the carrier gas by the carrier gas heating unit 16. ..... .) (e.g. See Paragraphs [0061, 0070-0071, 0077]).
Regarding claims 41, Kawada further discloses wherein the diesel exhaust fluid is ammonia from an ammonia tank (62, 72) that also provided ammonia to the spark ignition engine (e.g. See Paragraphs [0070-0073]).
Claims 46-48, and 50-55 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyagawa (Patent/Publication Number US 2014/0311428) in view of Dillen et al. (Dillen) (Patent/Publication Number US 2023/0193840).
Regarding claims 46, 55, Miyagawa discloses all the claimed limitation as discussed above except that the hydrocarbon fuel is at least one of ethanol, an ethanol-gasoline mixture methanol and a methanol-gasoline mixture.
Dillen teaches that it is conventional in the art, to use the hydrocarbon fuel is at least one of ethanol, an ethanol-gasoline mixture methanol and a methanol-gasoline mixture (e.g. See Paragraphs [0024] The first, second, and third fuels (e.g., fuels stored on-board the train) may each be of different fuel types. Suitable fuels may include hydrocarbon-based fuels, such diesel, natural gas, methanol, ethanol, dimethyl ether (DME), etc. Other suitable fuels may be non-hydrocarbon-based fuels, such as hydrogen, ammonia, etc.) (See Paragraphs [0024, 0027, 0032]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, to use the hydrocarbon fuel is at least one of ethanol, an ethanol-gasoline mixture methanol and a methanol-gasoline mixture of Miyagawa, as taught by Dillen for the purpose of reducing the NOx in the exhaust gas of an internal combustion engine, so as to reduce the poisoned materials in the purifying catalyst and to reduce amount of nitrogen oxides in the exhaust gas of the lean-burn engine, and further improve the performance of the engine and the efficiency of the emission system, since the use thereof would have been routinely practiced by those with ordinary skill in the art to maintain high purification efficiency of a catalyst system.
Regarding claims 47, Dillen further discloses wherein the hydrocarbon fuel is also used to fuel the spark ignition engine (See Paragraphs [0010, 0024, 0027, 0032]).
Regarding claims 48, 50-51, Dillen further discloses wherein an amount of NOx that is in an exhaust stream from the three-way catalyst is reduced by adjustment of the amount of hydrocarbon fuel that is in the exhaust stream from the spark ignition engine as at least one of engine torque, speed and temperature varies (e.g. See Paragraphs [0016, 0042, 0044, 0046, 0059, 0084]).
Regarding claims 52-53, Miyagawa further discloses wherein the amount of hydrogen that is added to the engine is sufficient to avoid misfire as at least of engine torque, speed and temperature vary (e.g. See Paragraphs [0065] The amount of feed of the ammonia and the amount of feed of the hydrogen at the time of ordinary operation of the internal combustion engine in the present embodiment can, for example, be determined based on the speed and required load of the internal combustion engine. A map of the amounts of feed of the different fuels having the speed and required load of the internal combustion engine as functions is prepared in advance. This map can be stored in the controller 31.), and (e.g. See Paragraphs [0105] The internal combustion engine has an MBT (minimum advance for best torque) ignition timing as the ignition timing at which the torque which is output becomes maximum. In an internal combustion engine which is fueled by gasoline, in particular at the time of high load, if igniting the fuel near the MBT ignition timing, knocking and other abnormal combustion occur, so the fuel is ignited at the retarded side from the MBT ignition timing. ....) (e.g. See Figure 6, Paragraphs [0065-0066, 0105, 0117-0121]).
Regarding claims 54, Miyagawa further discloses wherein the amount of hydrocarbon fuel that is introduced into the engine is determined by use of information about combustion stability (e.g. See Paragraphs [0105-0107]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 56 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims; and also to overcome the claim objections set forth in this Office action, such as to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 101, and 112 2nd paragraph.
Since allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant is encouraged to submit Final Formal Drawings (If Needed) in response to this Office action. The early submission of formal drawings will permit the Office to review the drawings for acceptability and to resolve any informalities remaining therein before the application is passed to issue. This will avoid possible delays in the issue process.
Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and consists of eight patents:
Shimada et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2007/0209609), Toshioka et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2013/0055703), Yan et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2014/0053537), Qi et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2015/0096287), Tanaka et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2018/0258815), Fujiwara et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 10280856), Byrne et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2022/0154614), and Doura et al. (Pat./Pub. No. US 2023/0265772), all discloses an exhaust gas purification for use with an internal combustion engine.
Conclusion
Binh Q. Tran
/BINH Q TRAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3748
November 01, 2025