DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-10, in the reply filed on 09 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the aforementioned reply.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the recitation of “configured for…” in lines 3 and 5 is indefinite because it is unclear what Applicant intends. Are the blocks being claimed as having a specified configuration to align the receptacle (i.e. “configured to align…”) or merely recited as an intended use operation not afforded patentable weight (i.e. the current “configured for aligning”)? While it is believed Applicant’s intent is to positively recite the configuration as functional language (i.e. “configured to align…”), clarification and correction are still required.
Claims 9-10 recite the limitation "the connector" in line 1 of each. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 1 recites a universal connector assembly, but does not recite “a connector” to provide antecedent basis to claims 9-10. The preamble of claims 9-10 should be corrected to recite “the universal connector assembly” or “the assembly” to clearly provide antecedent basis to the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2005/0000553 to Noguchi et al. (“Noguchi”).
Regarding claims 1-10, Noguchi (in Figs. 7-14 and associated text) discloses a universal connector assembly for securely connecting a receptacle (106) to an endoscope reprocessing system (101, the assembly comprising:
a first block (145, see Fig. 11) configured for aligning the receptacle to the endoscope reprocessing system in a first direction;
a second block (117b) connectable to the first block, the second block configured for aligning the receptacle to the endoscope reprocessing system in a second direction; and
a third block (131, see ¶ [0189]) comprising one or more internal endoscope hook-ups (see Fig. 10A), the third block configured to fit with the second block (implicit between interaction of 117b and 131),
further comprising a movement mechanism actuatable for connecting the third block to the first block to the second block (see mechanical holding means in ¶ [0200]), wherein the movement mechanism comprises a manual handle (note any structural of the movement mechanism capable of being gripped reads on the generic recitation of manual handle),
wherein the movement mechanism comprises an automated pulling actuator (the electromagnet or suction unit of Noguchi reads on the generic recitation of an automated pulling actuator),
wherein the receptacle comprises a tray, rack, or container (tray 106) configured to receive an endoscope,
wherein the second block comprises a spring-loaded attachment mechanism for securing the second block to the receptacle (see Fig. 19),
wherein the third block is removable (note the third block 131 is removable with the tray),
wherein the third block comprises one or more hook-ups configured to fluidly connect an endoscope thereto (see Fig. 10A),
wherein the first block is configured for vertical alignment of the receptacle (see Fig. 11 and ¶ [0200]),
wherein the first block is configured for lateral alignment of the receptacle (see Fig. 11 and ¶ [0200]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2021/0127962 to Iwasaki, which discloses an endoscope reprocessor with receptacle and connecting means.
US 2009/0065034 to Suzuki et al., which discloses an endoscope reprocessor with receptacle and connecting means.
WO 2007/042787 to Oliver et al., which discloses an endoscope reprocessor with receptacle and connecting means.
US 2002/0146344 to Walta, which discloses an endoscope reprocessor with receptacle and connecting means.
Joseph L. Perrin, Ph.D.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/Joseph L. Perrin/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711