DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
In p. 19, line 16, the reference “51” is referred to a pitch actuation pump. In line 19, the reference “51” is referred to as “step actuating pump”. It is required to use same terminology for consistency purposes.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 14 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, line 11, change: “connected to [[the]] an auxiliary inlet and to [[the]] an auxiliary outlet.”
Claim 15, line 7, change: “providing lubrication [[of]] for the turbomachine and [[of]] for controlling…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretations
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do use the word “means,” and are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
a. Claim 1 - “drive means” read as a means for driving.
has/have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because they use generic placeholders:
a. Claim 1 – “means”
coupled with functional language:
a. “for driving”
without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. Furthermore, the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
A review of the specification shows that the following appears to be the corresponding structure described in the specification for the 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph limitation:
a. Corresponding structure is found in p. 12, lines 4-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Schweikl et al. (U.S. 4,545,791).
Regarding claim 1, Schweikl et al. discloses an oil tank (22) for an aircraft turbomachine (Col. 1, lines 5-10), comprising:
an enclosure (B’, Fig. 5) configured to contain oil (Col. 4, lines 58-60) and defining a main axis (i.e., axis 1’);
an oil inlet (i.e., inlet connected to line 25’ shown in Fig. 4) at an upper part of the enclosure (as shown in Fig. 4, the inlet of the tank 22 is an upper/upstream end of the enclosure);
an oil outlet (i.e., outlet connected to line 21 in Fig. 4) at a lower part of the enclosure (as shown in Fig. 4, the outlet is connected to a lower part of the oil tank enclosure);
a wheel (rotor 35 having blades 36 shown in Fig. 5, Col. 4, lines 60-68, which is analogous to bladed wheel 15 of Fig. 3, Col. 3, lines 54-65) arranged in the lower part of the enclosure (as shown in Fig. 5) and capable of being configured to be driven in rotation by drive means (rotor attached to shaft, Col. 4, lines 60-65, external power, Col. 4, lines 5-12, Col. 5, lines 30-40) so as to centrifuge the oil against a retaining wall (i.e., rotation of the bladed wheel/rotor centrifuges the oil against the wall of the enclosure B’, as analogously explained in Col. 3, lines 55-65, Col. 4, lines 47-56, the arrangement thereof generates pressure energy from the rotational energy of the oil imparted by the wheel, Col. 5, lines 49-54) of the enclosure (B’) and against the oil outlet (i.e., outlet connected to line 21 in Fig. 4), thereby maintaining an oil supply to said oil outlet (i.e., outlet connected to line 21 in Fig. 4) during flight phases of the aircraft in zero or negative gravity (Col. 1, lines 38-68 and Col. 2, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Schweikl et al. discloses wherein the wheel (rotor 35 having blades 36 shown in Fig. 5, Col. 4, lines 60-68, which is analogous to bladed wheel 15 of Fig. 3, Col. 3, lines 54-65) has an axis of rotation (1’) parallel to the main axis (1’, i.e., the axis of rotation of the wheel is coincident with the main axis and is therein parallel to the main axis, as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 3, Schweikl et al. discloses wherein the wheel (rotor 35 having blades 36 shown in Fig. 5, Col. 4, lines 60-68, which is analogous to bladed wheel 15 of Fig. 3, Col. 3, lines 54-65) is adjacent to a bottom wall (i.e., rotor 35 is adjacent to bottom wall to the right of bearing 39 as shown in Fig. 5) of the enclosure (B’).
Regarding claim 9, Schweikl et al. discloses wherein the enclosure (B’) further comprises a transverse wall (40, Fig. 5) delimiting in said enclosure an upper compartment (i.e., compartment wherein 37 resides) comprising the oil inlet (inlet is connected to line 25’ in Fig. 4) and a lower compartment (lower compartment wherein 36 resides) comprising the wheel (35), the retaining wall (40) and the oil outlet (outlet connected to line 21 in Fig. 4), said transverse wall (40) comprises at least one passage (i.e., passage shown by F in Fig. 5) fluidly connecting the lower compartment with the upper compartment (i.e., the air/oil mixture from line 25’ enters the upper compartment as shown in Fig. 5, Col. 4, lines 20-26, and enters the lower compartment, via flowpath arrows F and G, Col. 4, lines 47-56).
Regarding claim 10, Schweikl et al. discloses wherein the at least one passage comprises a conduit (i.e., conduit shown by the passage of F through rotor 31, Fig. 5) extending from the transverse wall (40) into the wheel (35, as shown in Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Schweikl et al. discloses wherein the conduit (conduit shown by the passage of F through rotor 31, Fig. 5) extends over at least 80% of a height of the wheel (35) along a main direction of said conduit (as shown in Fig. 5, the conduit extends the entire height of the wheel 35).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-8 and 12-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding claim 4, Schweikl et al. fails to disclose or suggest wherein the retaining wall (wall of the enclosure B’) is conical in shape with a smaller diameter section and a larger diameter section.
Claims 5-8 would be allowable due to their dependency on claim 4.
Regarding claim 12, Schweikl et al. fails to disclose or suggest that at the least one passage (passage shown by F in Fig. 5) comprises a valve adapted to allow a flow of oil from the upper compartment (compartment wherein 37 resides) to the lower compartment (lower compartment wherein 36 resides) and to block a flow of oil from the lower compartment to the upper compartment.
Regarding claim 13, Schweikl et al. fails to disclose or suggest wherein the oil outlet (outlet connected to line 21 in Fig. 4) on the lower compartment (lower compartment wherein 36 resides) is an auxiliary oil outlet, said oil tank (22) comprising an auxiliary oil inlet on said lower compartment.
Regarding claim 14, Schweikl et al. fails to disclose or suggest the hydraulic control circuit (i.e., circuit comprising pump 20, line 23, and gearbox 24, as shown in Fig. 4) being hydraulically connected to an auxiliary inlet and to an auxiliary outlet.
Claim 15 would be allowable due to its dependency on claim 14.
Conclusion
/ERIC J ZAMORA ALVAREZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745 07/13/2026