DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Species I in the reply filed on 10/2/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Applicant argues Species I and II are linked by a single inventive concept and examiner has not demonstrated a burden on examination. This is not found persuasive. The Office disagrees with Applicant’s first argument in that while the two species may present a single inventive concept, generally, they do not share the same or corresponding special technical features. The special technical feature of Species I being the forward tilting movement achieved by abutment of the seat support against an abutment surface along with rearward tilting and vertical movement through pivoting. Species II does not include this forward tilting through abutment against a surface as the seat is rolled on bearings when lifted and additionally includes the ability to move forward laterally. Further, the burden on Examiner is established at least by way of requiring a search in different classification areas, including but not limited to, A47C1/03294 (movably coupled seats and backrests sliding on rollers). Claims 14, 15 and 18 are withdrawn as they are directed to the convex guide slot 9, lateral forward movement and movable guide pins 11a, 11b of the embodiment of fig. 7.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10 and 16 recite “the seat plate.” There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 17 depends from claim 15, however, it recites limitations having antecedent basis only in claim 16. For purposes of examination, it will be assumed claim 17 was intended to depend from claim 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 13 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bock (EP 3387957). Bock discloses synchronizing mechanism for a chair, in particular an office chair, comprising a base part (fig. 1: 2) defining an axis of rotation (fig. 1: 3), a backrest support (fig. 1: 5) for holding a backrest and a seat support (fig. 1: 4) for holding a seat, wherein the backrest support is mounted on the base part so as to be pivotable about a first pivot (fig. 1: 12), wherein the seat support is mounted on the backrest support so as to be pivotable about a second pivot (fig. 1: 42), wherein the first pivot of the backrest support is fixed relative to the base part (as shown in figs. 1-3) and the second pivot of the seat support is movable relative to the base part (as shown in figs. 1-3),wherein in a basic position (fig. 1), the second pivot is in a lower basic position and the seat support abuts on a support structure (fig. 1: front inclined slope of 2), and wherein in an upper end position (fig. 3), the movable second pivot is moved essentially vertically into an upper end position and the seat support is spaced apart from the support structure.
As concerns claim 2, Bock discloses wherein the second pivot (fig. 1: 42) is fixed relative to the backrest support and is movable essentially vertically upwards with the backrest support (fig. 3).
As concerns claim 3, Bock discloses wherein in a first intermediate position (fig. 1: 2) the second pivot (fig. 1: 42) is moved from the lower basic position essentially vertically upwards into a first intermediate position and the seat support is arranged so as to tilt relative to the support structure (as shown in fig. 2).
As concerns claim 4, Bock discloses wherein in the end position the seat support is maximally pivotable relative to the backrest support about the second pivot (fig. 3 shows that 4 is pivoted the maximum amount.
As concerns claim 5, Bock discloses wherein the base part is arranged as a rigid component (fig. 1: 2 is rigid).
As concerns claim 6, Bock discloses wherein, when viewed from a side, the first pivot (fig. 1: 12) is arranged in a seat direction behind the axis of rotation (fig. 1: 3) and the second pivot (fig. 1: 42) is arranged in the seat direction in front of the axis of rotation of the base part.
As concerns claim 7, Bock discloses wherein the support structure is arranged in front of the axis of rotation of the base part in the seating direction, when viewed from the side (fig. 1: the inclined portion of 4 is arranged in front of 3).
As concerns claim 8, Bock discloses wherein the second pivot (fig. 1: 42) is arranged between the support structure (fig. 1: inclined front surface of 4) and the fixed first pivot (fig. 1: 12), when viewed from the side.
As concerns claim 9, Bock discloses wherein in the basic position a support point of the seat support on the support structure is located in the vertical direction above the first pivot (a portion of the inclined surface is located vertically higher than 12, as this is how the support structure being located “in the vertical direction above” is used in the present specification).
As concerns claim 13, Bock discloses wherein the backrest support has a slotted guide for the seat support (figs. 1-3: the front end portion of 14 of the backrest support includes a slot for 36 which guides movement of the seat support).
As concerns claim 20, Bock discloses an office chair having the synchronizing mechanism of claim 1.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10, 16, 17 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 11, 12 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art reference of Bock fails to teach:
wherein the seat support is designed as a U-shaped profile which, downwardly open, is arranged on the underside of the seat plate;
wherein the support structure comprises a sliding block which is preferably mounted so as to be rotatable about a third pivot between two tab-like projections of the base part;
wherein in a second intermediate position the second pivot is moved from the lower basic position essentially vertically upwards into a second intermediate position in which the seat support is raised so far that it is out of contact with the support structure, so that the seat support with the seat plate can be tilted without guidance about the second pivot; or
wherein the fixed first pivot and/or the movable second pivot is/are realized by means of a deformable structure.
Further, there is no teaching, suggestion or motivation to modify the prior art absent hindsight.
Conclusion
/TIMOTHY J BRINDLEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636