DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/19/2024 has been entered and considered by Examiner. Claims 21 - 30 are presented for examination.
Specification
The title of the invention is objected for not being descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Khoshnevisan et al. (US Pub. 20220022235 A1) in view of Kim et al. (US Pub. 20220174707 A1).
For claims 21 and 26, Khoshnevisan discloses a User Equipment (UE) comprising: a memory [¶0140, 0008, 0250]; and a processor coupled with the memory [¶0140, 0008, 0250],
wherein the processor is configured to control the UE (Fig. 3. The disclosed UE performs the scheduling-feedback method; the preamble is treated as limiting for this analysis.) [¶0140, 0008, 0250] to:
a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) which provides a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format [¶0140], and
generate a Hybrid Automatic repeat Request - Acknowledgement (HARQ-ACK) codebook for the DCI format (Fig. 3, codebook positions 330-a to 330-c. The UE forms a feedback codebook whose positions correspond to the scheduling DCIs. This establishes the claimed codebook-to-DCI relationship.) [¶0140-142],
wherein the DCI format is used to schedule one or more Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) receptions in one or more serving cells (Fig. 3, DCI 315-b and PDSCHs 320-b and 320-c. A scheduling DCI can allocate PDSCHs on two component carriers. The specification identifies a scheduled component carrier as the serving cell. Thus, this supplies both the scheduling and cell relationship.) [¶0140-142], and
wherein the UE is configured to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook, in a case where the one or more PDSCH receptions are scheduled from a same PDCCH monitoring occasion, in increasing order of PDSCH reception starting time for a same pair of a reference cell and a PDCCH monitoring occasion (Fig. 3, PMO 310, reference CC 305-c, PDSCHs 320-b and 320-d, and positions 330-b and 330-c. The associated component carrier is the claimed reference cell: it supplies the common cell coordinate for ordering DCIs received in the same PMO. Paragraph 0145 orders their DAIs by PDSCH starting time on that carrier; paragraph 0146 uses those DAIs to form the codebook. In the drawing, 320-b starts before 320-d on CC3, yielding DAI/codebook positions 2 then 3.) [¶0145-147].
But Khoshnevisan doesn’t explicitly disclose receive a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH).
However, Kim discloses receive a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) which provides a Downlink Control Information (DCI) format (Figs. 5 and 21, step S2106. The UE detects the downlink control channel carrying a DCI format. The multi-PDSCH procedure expressly sends its DCI on that channel.) [¶0053, 0115].
Since, all are analogous arts addressing Control channels used in a mobile network; Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teachings of Khoshnevisan with Kim to ensure proper reception of critical data, thus, improving network efficiency.
For claims 22 and 27, Khoshnevisan discloses the reference cell is a serving cell with a smallest index from the one or more serving cells (. Fig. 4, DCI 415-b and selected CC 405-a. The lowest-index scheduled carrier is an express option, not an inferred numerical optimization. The example selects index 1 from scheduled carriers 1 and 3. Apply the general same-carrier/same-PMO rule of paragraph 0145 when a tie occurs under that selection. Fig. 4 illustrates the selection; it does not itself depict a same-reference-cell tie.) [¶0152, 0012].
For claims 23 and 28, Khoshnevisan discloses the HARQ-ACK codebook is a Type-2 HARQ-ACK codebook (Fig. 2 and its description in paragraph 0130. The reference expressly identifies the dynamic DAI-based codebook as Type 2. Fig. 2 supplies the scheduling context; the Type-2 designation is textual. The ground uses this expressly taught codebook type with the reference’s multi-DCI ordering procedure.) [¶0130].
For claims 24 and 29, Khoshnevisan discloses the UE is configured to generate the HARQ-ACK codebook based on a value of a Downlink Assignment Index (DAI) (Fig. 3, DAI values 1 to 3 and codebook positions 330-a to 330-c. The DAI determines where the UE places feedback in the generated codebook.) [¶0146], and
wherein the value of the DAI is included in the DCI format (Fig. 2, DCIs 215; Fig. 3, DCIs 315. The DAI is a field in the scheduling DCI, rather than an unrelated value computed outside the DCI. Paragraphs 0127–0128 describe that signaling and paragraph 0142 applies per-DCI counter-DAI numbering to Fig. 3.) [¶0127-128].
For claims 25 and 30, Khoshnevisan discloses the processor is configured to control the UE to :transmit a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) with the HARQ-ACK codebook (Fig. 3, PUCCH 325. The UE sends the generated codebook on the uplink control channel shown in the same scheduling example.) [¶0146].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12519598 B2; US 11736237 B2
Inquiries
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Armouche, Hadi can be reached on 571-270-3618. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAKEE FANG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409