DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1-9 and 13-20 in the reply filed on 7/2/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim Interpretation
The Examiner wishes to point out to the Applicant that claims 1-9 and 13-20 are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions. The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus is viewed as recitation of intended use and is given patentable weight only to the extent that structure is added to the claimed apparatus (Please see MPEP 2112.01 I and 2114-2115 for further details).
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 6 of claim 1 it says “of a heating box”. For proper antecedent basis this should be “of said heating box”. This does not rise to the level of indefiniteness; however appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Battigelli et al; (FR 2394041; herein Battigelli, already of record, with machine translation). Regarding claim 1, Battigelli teaches:
A crosslinking system for a continuous mat of mineral and/or plant fibers (Figure 1), comprising a crosslinking oven for said mat comprising at least one heating box (paragraph 0041 as shown in Figures 1 and cross-sectionally in Figures 2-3b), each heating box being connected to a combustion chamber (Figure 2, combustion chamber 33 and Figures 3a/b, furnace 45) and an injection system (Figure 2, fan 35 and Figures 3a/b, fan 44) arranged outside the crosslinking oven (As seen in Figures 2-3b) and configured to inject hot air into at least one combustion chamber of a heating box (via the fans 35/44), the hot air thus injected replacing a given fraction of hot air produced by a burner attached to said at least one combustion chamber (Battigelli cycles the air in the over which is already hot and newly heated air from burner 34/46 via the fan 35/44, thus there is a replacement of air), said fraction being between 20% and 100% (At some point during the process of heating the oven all of these fractions are achievable (from starting the oven up to steady state), and since Battigelli anticipates the claimed structure, then Battigelli is capable of such use)
Regarding claim 2, Battigelli teaches:
Wherein the injection system comprises a heater configured to heat ambient air to a given temperature (Both the structures in Figure 2 and 3a or 3b are attached to the oven, paragraph 38. The structure shown in Figure 3b uses a heater, paragraph 54, which thus heats the ambient air of the apparatus)
Regarding claim 3:
Claim 3 is directed to the intended use of the apparatus, and since Battigelli anticipates the claimed structure, then Battigelli is capable of such use.
Regarding claim 5, Battigelli teaches:
Wherein the injection system is supplied with preheated air (since the air in the oven is hot and recirculated to the injection system of Battigelli, this makes said air preheated)
Regarding claim 6, Battigelli teaches:
Wherein at least part of the preheated air comes from a glass melting furnace and/or corresponds to hot recovery air (since the hot air comes from the oven (see remarks regarding claim 5) then it is hot recovered air)
Regarding claim 7, Battigelli teaches:
Wherein the injection system is connected to a hot air emergency exhaust positioned between said injection system and said crosslinking oven (Figure 3b, pipe 46’ and paragraph 54)
Regarding claim 8, Battigelli teaches:
Wherein the injection system is configured to inject hot air from outside the crosslinking oven (As seen in Figures 2-3b the injection system of Battigelli is outside the oven)
Regarding claim 9, Battigelli teaches:
Wherein the injection system comprises a hot air supply line between a hot air source outside the crosslinking oven and the at least one combustion chamber (See annotated figures below, the solid square is the hot air source outside the oven, and the dashed box is the hot air supply line)
Regarding claims 13, 14, and 16-18:
Claims 13, 14, and 16-18are directed to the intended use of the apparatus, and since Battigelli anticipates the claimed structure, then Battigelli is capable of such use.
Regarding claim 15, Battigelli teaches:
Wherein the heater is an electric heater (paragraph 54)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Battigelli. Regarding claims 4, 19, and 20:
Battigelli does not explicitly teach the use of an electric battery or its power. However, Battigelli does teach the use of an electric heater (paragraph 54). Thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to use a battery to power the electric heater of Battigelli, since it has been shown that a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options in their art. If this leads to an anticipated success, it is likely that it was not due to innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1397 (2007). In this instance there are only some many ways to power an electric heater, and the selection of a battery would be well within the abilities of a skilled artisan.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-9, 13, 15-17, 19, and 20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-10, 14, and 16-20 of copending Application No. 18/876954 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they claim the same subject matter, where the only different in instant claim 1 and copending claims 1 and 2 is an overlap of ranges.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The art cited on the PTO-892 are directed to continuous ovens.
/TIMOTHY KENNEDY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1743