DETAILED ACTION
This Office action is a response to Preliminary Amendment made to an Application No. 18/877,004 filed on 12/19/2025 in which claims 1-5 are canceled and new claims 6-9 are added. Accordingly, claims 6-9 are currently pending for examination.
Drawings
The Examiner contends that the drawings submitted on 12/19/2024 are acceptable for examination proceedings.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Examiner has considered the reference(s) listed on the Information Disclosure Statement submitted on 12/19/2024 and 06/03/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 6-9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 6-9 recites acronyms such as “UL” in line 4 respectively. For clarity, it is suggested to spell out the specified acronyms in at least the first time it is mentioned in the claim.
Claim 9 recites “A system comprising a terminal and a base station,…” in line 1. For clarity and formality, it is suggested to insert the colon ":" after the word -- comprising: -- in order to properly demarcate the preamble and the body of the claim.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Double Patenting
Claims 6-9 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 7-10 of copending Application No. 18/877,112 (hereinafter ‘112) in view of Babaei (US 2023/0232420 A1) hereinafter “Babaei”. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in this instant application and co-pending application ‘112 disclose the similar features, therefore claims 6-9 in this instant application constitute obvious double patenting over said claims of ‘112.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Regarding pending claim 6, the claimed limitation of said claim 6 are substantially the same as claim 7 of ‘112.
However, ‘112 does not recite suspends uplink transmission. In the same analogous art, Babaei discloses wherein the processor suspends uplink transmission in a certain period after the ACK transmission of the MAC CE (see ¶ [0220] [0227], the wireless device may not perform and/or may stop uplink transmission during the switching gap period).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide suspends uplink transmission as taught by Babaei, in the system of ‘112, so that it would provide to enhance processes for switching between uplink carriers to enable efficient utilization of TX chains/radio frequency (RF) TX resources (Babaei: see ¶ [0037]).
The table below shows only Example (sample) of how each of the limitations/claims is/are similar features with co-pending application ‘112.
Instant Application No. 18/877,004
Co-pending Application No. 18/877,112
6. A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for indicating cell switch, the MAC CE including at least one of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a UL TCI state for a target cell; and
a processor that applies the TCI state or the UL TCI state included in the MAC CE after a certain period elapses from acknowledgement (ACK) transmission of the MAC CE,
wherein the processor suspends uplink transmission in a certain period after the ACK transmission of the MAC CE.
7. A terminal comprising:
a receiver that receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for indicating cell switch in different frequency bands, the MAC CE including at least one of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state and a UL TCI state for a target cell; and
a processor that applies the TCI state or the UL TCI state included in the MAC CE after a certain time period elapses from acknowledgement (ACK) transmission of the MAC CE.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 8 recites the limitation “the certain time period” in line 7. It is unclear whether “the certain time period” refers to “a certain period” in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YUAN et al. (US 2025/0317821 A1) hereinafter “Yuan” in view of Babaei (US 2023/0232420 A1) hereinafter “Babaei”.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Yuan discloses Claim 6 of a terminal (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0096], a UE) and Claim 7 of a radio communication method for a terminal (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0096], a UE), comprising:
a receiver (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0096-97], a UE includes wireless transceiver) that receives a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for indicating cell switch, the MAC CE including at least one of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0142] [0145], the switching to a new cell may be indicated by a MAC-CE or a DCI indicating the UE to use at least one TCI state configured for the new cell);
a processor (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0096], a UE includes processor) that applies the TCI state included in the MAC CE after a certain period elapses from acknowledgement (ACK) transmission of the MAC CE (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0127], the application time can be a number of X milliseconds (ms) from the end of UL slot carrying the feedback (e.g., ACK) for the MAC-CE; see claim 137),
Yuan does not explicitly disclose suspends uplink transmission.
However, Babaei discloses wherein the processor suspends uplink transmission in a certain period after the ACK transmission of the MAC CE (see ¶ [0220] [0227], the wireless device may not perform and/or may stop uplink transmission during the switching gap period).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide suspends uplink transmission as taught by Babaei, in the system of Yuan, so that it would provide to enhance processes for switching between uplink carriers to enable efficient utilization of TX chains/radio frequency (RF) TX resources (Babaei: see ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Yuan discloses a base station (see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0080], a base station) comprising:
a transmitter (see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0080], a base station includes transceiver) that transmits a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for indicating cell switch, the MAC CE including at least one of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0142] [0145], the switching to a new cell may be indicated by a MAC-CE or a DCI indicating the UE to use at least one TCI state configured for the new cell);
a processor (see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0080], a base station includes processor) wherein the TCI state included in the MAC CE is applied after the certain time period elapses from ACK transmission of the MAC CE by a terminal (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0127], the application time can be a number of X milliseconds (ms) from the end of UL slot carrying the feedback (e.g., ACK) for the MAC-CE; see claim 137),
Yuan does not explicitly disclose suspends uplink transmission.
However, Babaei discloses suspends uplink transmission in a certain period after acknowledgement (ACK) reception of the MAC CE (see ¶ [0220] [0227], the wireless device may not perform and/or may stop uplink transmission during the switching gap period).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide suspends uplink transmission as taught by Babaei, in the system of Yuan, so that it would provide to enhance processes for switching between uplink carriers to enable efficient utilization of TX chains/radio frequency (RF) TX resources (Babaei: see ¶ [0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Yuan discloses a system comprising a terminal (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0096], a UE) and a base station (see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0080], a base station), wherein
the base station comprises:
a transmitter (see FIG. 2; see ¶ [0080], a base station includes transceiver) that transmits a medium access control control element (MAC CE) for indicating cell switch, the MAC CE including at least one of a transmission configuration indication (TCI) state (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0142] [0145], the switching to a new cell may be indicated by a MAC-CE or a DCI indicating the UE to use at least one TCI state configured for the new cell), and
the terminal comprises:
a receiver (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0096-97], a UE includes wireless transceiver) that receives the MAC CE (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0142] [0145], the switching to a new cell may be indicated by a MAC-CE or a DCI indicating the UE to use at least one TCI state configured for the new cell);
a processor (see FIG. 4; see ¶ [0096], a UE includes processor) that applies the TCI state included in the MAC CE after a certain period elapses from acknowledgement (ACK) transmission of the MAC CE (see FIG. 15; see ¶ [0127], the application time can be a number of X milliseconds (ms) from the end of UL slot carrying the feedback (e.g., ACK) for the MAC-CE; see claim 137),
Yuan does not explicitly disclose suspends uplink transmission.
However, Babaei discloses wherein the processor suspends uplink transmission in a certain period after the ACK transmission of the MAC CE (see ¶ [0220] [0227], the wireless device may not perform and/or may stop uplink transmission during the switching gap period).
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide suspends uplink transmission as taught by Babaei, in the system of Yuan, so that it would provide to enhance processes for switching between uplink carriers to enable efficient utilization of TX chains/radio frequency (RF) TX resources (Babaei: see ¶ [0037]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record (see attached PTO-892) and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
JANG et al. (US 2022/0385425 A1) teaches A method performed by a terminal includes receiving information associated with an activation of transmission configuration indication (TCI) states from a base station through a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE), where the information indicates a serving cell identifier (ID), a control resource set (CORESET) index, and TCI state IDs (see Abstract).
Farag et al. (US 2024/0007916 A1) teaches A method for operating a user equipment (UE) includes receiving configuration information for reference signals associated with measurement of one or more candidate cells, receiving configuration information for transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state lists associated with the one or more candidate cells, performing measurement on the reference signals, determining, based on the measurement, a measurement report, and transmitting the measurement report (see Abstract).
/PETER CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2462