DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-4, 7-12, and 14 have been amended. Claims 5-6, 13, and 15-16 have been cancelled. Claims 17-25 have been added. Claims 1-4, 7-12, 14, and 17-25 are pending for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/19/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, and 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Park (US 20190082193 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a method of encoding a video picture into a bitstream of encoded video picture data, the method comprising temporal predicting a video picture block by obtaining a temporal predicted block based on at least one reference block of at least one reference picture pointed to by at least one motion vector associated with the video picture block (Park discloses inter temporal prediction where a current block is predicted from a reference block in a reference picture identified by a motion vector. fig 2 [0078]-[0079]), wherein if-the temporal prediction of the video picture block is based on a single reference block of a reference picture (Fig. 2), then the method further comprises:
padding a padding region (SZ) of the reference block based on a motion vector derived from a nearest subblock of the video picture block inside the video picture (FIG. 5 illustrates an example of motion compensated boundary pixel padding (MCP)… In MCP, a video coder (e.g., video encoder 20 or video decoder 30) uses the motion of a boundary block to get corresponding pixels, pixel 1-9 and A-C, and uses those pixels to derive pixel values outside a padding boundary.); and
determining a size (M) of the padding region (SZ) based on said motion vector ([0089] The video coder may determine the size of padded block 600).
Regarding claim 2, Park teaches a method of decoding a video picture from a bitstream of encoded video picture data, the method comprising temporal predicting a video picture block by obtaining a temporal predicted block based on at least one reference block of at least one reference picture pointed to by at least one motion vector associated with the video picture block (Park discloses inter temporal prediction where a current block is predicted from a reference block in a reference picture identified by a motion vector. fig 2 [0078]-[0079]), wherein if-the temporal prediction of the video picture block is based on a single reference block of a reference picture, then the method further comprises:
padding a padding region (SZ) of the reference block based on a motion vector derived from a nearest subblock of the video picture block inside the video picture (FIG. 5 illustrates an example of motion compensated boundary pixel padding (MCP)… In MCP, a video coder (e.g., video encoder 20 or video decoder 30) uses the motion of a boundary block to get corresponding pixels, pixel 1-9 and A-C, and uses those pixels to derive pixel values outside a padding boundary.); and
determining a size (M) of the padding region (SZ) based on said motion vector ([0089] The video coder may determine the size of padded block 600).
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the padding region is a rectangular region (Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 4, Park teaches the method of claim 3, wherein the size (M) of the padding region (SZ) is set at least equal to 4 in response to the derived motion vector pointing to a position internal to a reference picture (The video coder may determine the size of padded block 600 in various ways. One example of size setting is that MX is 4, MY is 32, NX is 4, NY is 4. [0089]); or is set at least equal to 4 in response to the reference picture pointed to by the motion vector being an inter-predicted picture; or is set at least equal to 4 in response to a temporal or depth layer of the video picture being at least equal to 1 (Alternative limitations).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the method of claim 3, wherein a temporal or depth layer of the video picture is higher or equal to a predefined value then the size (M) of the padding region (SZ) is set at least equal to 8 (When MY is larger than MAX_MY, MY can be set as MAX_MY. MAX_MY can be 16, 32, 64, 128, or signaled. [0089]).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches the method of claim 3, wherein a temporal or depth layer of the video picture is higher or equal to a pre-defined value, the reference picture pointed to by the motion vector is an inter-predicted picture, and the temporal or depth layer of the video picture is higher or equal to a predefined value, then the size (M) of the padding region (SZ) is further increased by 4 (When MY is larger than MAX_MY, MY can be set as MAX_MY. MAX_MY can be 16, 32, 64, 128, or signaled. [0089]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of Deng (US 20230396796 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the temporal prediction of the video picture block is based on a single reference block of a reference picture and the single reference block is located at a corner of the reference picture ([0085] corner of a boundary block. Fig. 5) then the method further comprises:
obtaining a first (mvL0) and a second (mvL0) motion vectors associated with a subblock of the reference block located at the corner of the video picture ([0092] If the derived PMV.sub.j is a bi-prediction motion vector (i.e., the derived PMV.sub.j contains two motion vectors pointing to two positions), the video coder may use the vector pointing to the position which is inside the boundary and furthest to the boundary.);
calculating first sizes (M1 L0, M2 L0) of the padding region (SZ) from coordinates (mvL0 x, mvL0 y) of the first motion vector (mvL0) and second sizes (M1 L1, M2 L1) of the padding region from coordinates (mvL1 x, mvL1 y) of the second motion vector (mvL1) (Fig. 6: [0089] determine the size of padded block 600);
Park does not explicitly teach the following limitations, however, in an analogous art, Deng teaches selecting either the first sizes or the second sizes as sizes of the padding region (SZ) based on signs of the first and second sizes ([0007]-[0008] the horizontal padding dimension and the vertical padding dimension are determined according to the formula a×size, where a is a positive integer, and where size is a positive integer based on the size of the CTU.); and
padding the padding region (SZ) based on either the first or second motion vector according to the selected sizes (For each region with a size of 4×M or M×4 along the boundary of the reference picture to be padded, M being the desired frame boundary extension, a motion vector is derived from the nearest 4×4 block inside the frame. [0074]).
It would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to take the teachings of Deng and apply them to Park. One would be motivated as such as to improve the accuracy of deriving padded samples.
Regarding claim 10, Park in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 9. Deng teaches wherein the selected sizes leads to a maximal surface of the padding region (SZ) (the horizontal padding dimension and the vertical padding dimension are determined according to a first padding process having a first maximum dimension, and wherein a second horizontal padding dimension and a second vertical padding dimension are determined according to a second padding process implemented after the first padding process and having a second maximum dimension. [0013]). The same motivation used to combine Park in view of Deng in claim 9 is applicable.
Regarding claim 11, Park in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 9. Deng teaches wherein the first sizes are selected when their signs are strictly positive and at least one of the second sizes is not strictly positive ([0007]-[0008] the horizontal padding dimension and the vertical padding dimension are determined according to the formula a×size, where a is a positive integer, and where size is a positive integer based on the size of the CTU.). The same motivation used to combine Park in view of Deng in claim 9 is applicable.
Regarding claim 12, Park in view of Deng teaches the method of claim 9. Deng teaches wherein the second sizes are selected when their signs are strictly positive and at least one of the first sizes is not strictly positive ([0007]-[0008] the horizontal padding dimension and the vertical padding dimension are determined according to the formula a×size, where a is a positive integer, and where size is a positive integer based on the size of the CTU.). The same motivation used to combine Park in view of Deng in claim 9 is applicable.
Claims 14, 17-25 are rejected under the same arts and evidence used to reject claims 1-4, 7-12.
Conclusion
/HESHAM K ABOUZAHRA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2486