Initial Examination
Applicant's submission filed on 12/19/24, including preliminary amendments filed on 12/19/24, has been entered.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the respective claims 1-20 of copending Application No. 18877094 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader versions of the reference claims. For instance, instant claim 1 has the UE configure parameters of a BWP, including additional requirements. The reference claim 1 has the UE configure a DL/UL BWP and claim 2 utilizes a LO to do so (i.e., “additional requirement” of instant claim 1). Consequently, under BRI, the broader scope of the instant claims requires a provisional DP Rejection relative to the reference application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 6-14, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (US 20220166594 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang discloses a user equipment (UE) [fig. 11], comprising:
at least one memory [fig. 11 “Memory”]; and
at least one processor [fig. 11 no. 702] coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the UE to:
determine a capability to configure transmission parameters of a bandwidth part (UE considers M delays and/or delay between first/second BWP (i.e., transmission parameter) [fig. 7 no. 501, fig. 9 no. 710]);
determine additional requirements for the transmission parameters of the bandwidth part (UE determines N parameters and/or quantity of MIMO layers (i.e., additional requirements) [fig. 7 no. 510, fig. 9 no. 720]); and
activate the bandwidth part within a time interval based on the additional requirements (Eventually, the UE activates the BWP within the duration (i.e., time interval based on additional reqs) [fig. 7 no. 540, fig. 9 no. 760]).
Regarding claim 15, it is substantially similar to claim 1, except is in method claim format, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning.
Regarding claim 19, it substantially similar to claim 1 and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Zhang further discloses processor [fig. 11 no. 702] for wireless communication, comprising: at least one controller [fig. 11 no. 701] coupled with at least one memory [fig. 11 “Memory”].
Regarding claim 20, it substantially similar to claim 1, except is from the perspective of the network, and is rejected under substantially similar reasoning, where Zhang further discloses a base station [fig. 13], comprising: at least one memory [fig. 13 no. 8021]; and at least one processor [fig. 13 no. 8022].
Regarding claims 2 and 16, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the time interval depends on the additional requirements (Based on the scenario (i.e., additional reqs), the time period is determined [par. 0265-266]).
Regarding claim 6, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the additional requirements for transmission parameters depend on a frequency band [par. 0263].
Regarding claim 7, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the time interval is a first switching time for a first set of additional requirements [fig. 7 no. 510].
Regarding claim 8, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the time interval is a second switching time for a second set of additional requirements [fig. 9 no. 720].
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the bandwidth part comprises an uplink bandwidth part [Abstract].
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the bandwidth part comprises a downlink bandwidth part [Abstract].
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit information indicating the capability to configure the transmission parameters of the bandwidth part [fig. 7 no. 520-530, fig. 9 no. 730-740].
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to receive information indicating the additional requirements for the transmission parameters of the bandwidth part (The terminal receives the reconfiguration message, which is based on and used to further configure the BWP to be used by the terminal (i.e., info “indicating” additional reqs) [fig. 6 no. 412]).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to autonomously determine the additional requirements for the transmission parameters of the bandwidth part (The additional reqs are determined by the UE based on UE capability and known by the UE [fig. 7 no. 501-510, fig. 9 no. 710-720]).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Zhang further discloses:
wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit information indicating the additional requirements for the transmission parameters of the bandwidth part [fig. 7 no. 520-530, fig. 9 no. 730-740].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 15 respectively, and further in view of Frank (US 10951255 B1, cited by Applicant of Record).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Zhang discloses wherein the additional requirements for the transmission parameters, as discussed above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose comprises a frequency of a local oscillator. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Frank.
In the same field of endeavor, Frank discloses:
comprises a frequency of a local oscillator [fig. 8-9].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Frank. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of better controlling extent of unwanted power leakage into nearby channels [Frank col. 1 ln. 53 – col. 2 ln. 4].
Claims 4 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claims 1 and 15 respectively, and further in view of Liu (US 20240195440 A1).
Regarding claims 4 and 18, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Zhang discloses wherein the additional requirements for the transmission parameters, as discussed above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose comprises a bandwidth of a transmit filter. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Liu.
In the same field of endeavor, Liu discloses:
comprises a bandwidth of a transmit filter [par. 0132].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Liu. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of reducing the probability that the signal cannot be correctly received [Liu par. 0004].
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Awad (US 20250119906 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Zhang discloses everything claimed, as applied above.
Although Zhang discloses wherein the additional requirements for the transmission parameters, as discussed above, Zhang does not explicitly disclose depend on a power class. However, these concepts are well known as disclosed by Awad.
In the same field of endeavor, Awad discloses:
depend on a power class [par. 0105].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Zhang with Awad. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to perform such a modification given the benefit of efficiently handling communications in wireless communications systems that use different types of terminal devices [Awad par. 0008].
Conclusion
/WALTER J DIVITO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465