Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the Applicant’s claims, filed on 07/22/2026.
Claims 1 and 9 have been amended.
Claims 6-8, 15, and 22 have been canceled.
Claims 1-5, 9-14, and 16-21 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 07/22/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-5, 9-14, and 16-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s submittal of amended drawings overcomes the drawing objections, and the objection is withdrawn. The IDS submitted on 11/18/2025 has been re-considered and the record updated accordingly. Applicant’s amendments and arguments for claim 1 have been considered, found partially persuasive and the rejection withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the amendments raise new issues and a new ground(s) of rejection is made as shown below.
Regarding applicant’s argument that one skilled artisan would not have combined Hu ‘8250 and Leising since Hu ‘8250 has no room for a flow passage for drilling fluid has been considered, found not persuasive, and the rejection maintained. In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the combination of Hu ‘8250 and Leising would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention. Both references are directed direction drilling systems and modifying the system of Hu ‘8250 to include the annular flow channel as taught by Leising would have represented a predictable use of known elements according to their known functions. As recognized in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007), it is proper to combine known elements according to known methods to yield predictable results, even if the references do not expressly teach the combination. The result of combining these known elements would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill because each component performs its well-understood function.
Regarding applicant’s argument that one skilled artisan would not have combined Hu ‘8250 and Russell for using drilling fluid to achieve pressurization has been considered, found persuasive, and the rejection withdrawn. Examiner notes that applicant’s argument regarding the combination not teaching a means to prolong the lifetime of the hydraulic system is further limiting than the claim elements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the oil bladder unit comprises an oil bladder framework and a bladder arranged thereon, which is made of flexible material and holds a compensating hydraulic fluid, and an annular space for storing the compensating hydraulic fluid is formed between the oil bladder framework and the bladder. It is unclear how the oil bladder unit comprising of bladder holding (emphasis added) a compensating hydraulic fluid and having an annular space between the bladder and bladder framework storing (emphasis added) compensating fluid is occurring simultaneously. One of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The scope of the hydraulic fluid held in the bladder and stored in the annulus between the bladder and framework is indefinite. Examiner is reading as the compensating fluid in only held or stored within the annulus between the bladder and framework.
Claim 1 recites the drilling fluid and lacks antecedent basis. Examiner is reading as “a drilling fluid.”
Claims 2-5, 9-14, and 16-21 are rejected for depending on a rejected indefinite claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 14, and 16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN114508520), hereinafter referred to as Hu `8520, as best understood by the indefinite language, in view of Hu et al. (CN114109256), hereinafter referred to as Hu `9256, Howell (US11,015,590), Leising et al. (US8,960,330), and Gearhart et al. (US7,673,705).
Claim 1. Hu `8520 discloses: A directional tool for coiled tubing drilling (Fig. 1), comprising:
an electronic control module (electric control device; Pg. 4, para 9), for receiving a ground control command (control signal; Pg. 4, para 9);
a hydraulic driving module (driving device; Pg. 4, para 8), which comprises a motor (21 driving motor, Fig. 1) in signal connection with the electronic control module (driving device receives control signal; Pg. 4, para 9),
a bidirectional hydraulic pump (22 hydraulic pump, Fig. 1; forward or reverse rotation; Pg. 4, para 9) connected to the motor (Fig. 1), and
a piston unit (Fig. 1) comprising a piston housing (distal end of 1 hydraulic shell, Fig. 1) and a piston (3 piston rod, Fig. 1) arranged within the piston housing (Fig. 1),
a first liquid cavity (31 upper piston cavity, Fig.1) and
a second liquid cavity (32 lower piston cavity, Fig. 1) in communication with the bidirectional hydraulic pump being formed at both ends of the piston, respectively (fluidically connected by 13 and 14 flow passages, Fig. 1); and
wherein the electronic control module is configured to transmit the ground control command to the hydraulic driving module, so that the motor drives the bidirectional hydraulic pump to generate high-pressure oil and low-pressure oil in the first liquid cavity and the second liquid cavity alternately, thus driving the piston to perform axial movement reciprocally under differential pressure (signal received by motor operates pump to create high/suction oil pressure to reciprocally actuate the piston; Pg. 5, para 3-4); the directional tool further comprises
an upper joint (Hu `8520: positive conical buckle, Fig. 1; Pg. 4, para 7), and
a pressure-bearing shell connected (Hu `8520: 1 hydraulic shell is both pressure bearing and the piston shell, Fig. 1; coupled to positive conical buckle, Fig. 1) thereto;
the hydraulic driving module are arranged inside the pressure-bearing shell (Fig. 1)
Hu `8520 does not disclose: a mechanical transmission module, with both ends thereof connected to the piston and a downhole drilling tool, respectively; wherein the mechanical transmission module is configured to convert the axial movement of the piston into a rotational movement, causing the downhole drilling tool to rotate and thereby adjusting downhole tool face; wherein the electronic control module and, an annular flow passage is disposed about the electronic control module and the hydraulic driving module in the pressure- bearing shell, the electronic control module includes a circuit pressure-bearing cylinder, and a control circuit arranged inside the circuit pressure-bearing cylinder, the hydraulic driving module further includes an oil bladder unit arranged between the electronic control module and the motor, the oil bladder unit comprises a bladder that holds a compensating hydraulic fluid, and the upper joint and the circuit pressure-bearing cylinder are respectively provided with a first flow hole and a second flow hole extending through side walls thereof configured to allow the drilling fluid to flow to the oil bladder unit through the first flow hole, the annular flow passage, and the second flow hole in sequence, thereby equalizing a pressure of the drilling fluid and a pressure of the compensating hydraulic fluid in the bladder.
Hu `9256 discloses a continuous drilling orientation device where a reciprocal axial movement of a drive shaft translates into a rotational orientation of a drilling tool.
Hu `9256 teaches: a mechanical transmission module (100 drilling orientation device comprising of 6 drive shaft, Fig. 1), with both ends thereof connected to the piston (3 piston cylinder, Fig. 1) and a downhole drilling tool (drilling tool; Pg. 6, para 6), respectively, wherein the mechanical transmission module is configured to convert the axial movement of the piston into a rotational movement, causing the downhole drilling tool to rotate and thereby adjusting downhole tool face (reciprocal movement 3 piston cylinder drives 6 drive shaft to rotate and change orientation; Pg. 8, para 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hu `8520 by incorporating a reciprocal piston to actuate a drive shaft to translate an axial movement to a rotational movement as taught by Hu `9256 with a reasonable expectation of success in order to rotate and change orientation of a drilling tool as taught by Hu `9256 (Fig. 1-2; Pg. 8, para 4).
Regarding the limitation: electronic control module is configured to transmit the ground control command. Hu `8520 discloses the claimed invention except for a ground control command.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to communicate a ground control signal to a downhole control module as instantly claimed based on choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Such an implementation merely represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to established functions – namely, using known surface to downhole telemetry to convey control information, and using known telemetry means to perform the function.
Hu `8520 in view of Hu `9256 does not teach: electronic control module arranged inside the pressure-bearing shell and the electronic control module includes a circuit pressure-bearing cylinder, and a control circuit arranged inside the circuit pressure-bearing cylinder.
Howell discloses a downhole pump system comprising of a control unit with a circuit board encased in a housing.
Howell teaches: electronic control module (435 circuit board, Fig. 16) arranged inside the pressure-bearing shell (Fig. 15-16) and the electronic control module includes a circuit pressure-bearing cylinder (420 housing, Fig. 15), and a control circuit (435 circuit board, Fig. 16) arranged inside the circuit pressure-bearing cylinder (Fig. 15-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hu `8520 in view of Hu `9256 by incorporating the electronic control module inside of a pressure bearing cylinder within the hydraulic shell as taught by Howell with a reasonable expectation of success in order to control the operation as taught by Howell (Col. 17, lines 27-40; Fig. 15-16).
Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256 and Howell does not teach: an annular flow passage is disposed about the electronic control module and the hydraulic driving module in the pressure-bearing shell and an oil bladder unit arranged between the electronic control module and the motor, the oil bladder unit comprises a bladder that holds a compensating hydraulic fluid.
Leising discloses a coiled tubing direction drilling apparatus comprising of an annular flow channels running axially along the apparatus and an oil compensator positioned at a variety of locations along the apparatus.
Leising teaches: an annular flow passage (72 flow channels, Fig. 2) is disposed about the electronic control module and the hydraulic driving module (flow channels flow around 54 electronic chassis, 56 motor, and 62 pump; Fig. 2) in the pressure-bearing shell (44 drill collar, Fig. 2) and an oil bladder unit (52 oil compensator, Fig. 2) arranged between the electronic control module and the motor, the oil bladder unit comprises a bladder (implicit oil reservoir within a oil compensator) that holds a compensating hydraulic fluid (implicit to an oil compensator).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256 and Howell by incorporating an annular flow channel and an oil compensator as taught by Leising with a reasonable expectation of success in order to compensate for any oil changes and circulate mud around the electronic chassis, motor, and pump as taught by Leising (Fig. 2-3; Col. 4, lines 14-23).
Regarding the limitation: oil bladder unit arranged between the electronic control module and the motor. Leising does not explicitly teach, however Leising does disclose the oil compensator may be positioned at any location along the apparatus (Col. 4, lines 21-23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to position the oil compensator between the electronic control module and the motor as instantly claimed based on choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007). Such an implementation merely represents the predictable use of prior art elements according to established functions.
Regarding the limitation: the oil bladder unit comprises an oil bladder framework and a bladder arranged thereon, which is made of flexible material and holds a compensating hydraulic fluid, and an annular space for storing the compensating hydraulic fluid is formed between the oil bladder framework and the bladder. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, and Leising is silent on the structure of the oil bladder, however; Leising does teach an oil bladder (52 oil compensator, Fig. 2).
Gearhart discloses a measurement-while-drilling tool having a pressure compensation system.
Gearhart teaches: the oil bladder unit (310 pressure balance chassis; Fig. 5) comprises an oil bladder framework (external surfaces of 310 where 320 is coupled, Fig. 5) and a bladder (320 pliable bladder, Fig. 5) arranged thereon, which is made of flexible material and holds a compensating hydraulic fluid, and an annular space for storing the compensating hydraulic fluid is formed between the oil bladder framework and the bladder (annular 328 pressure compensating reservoir holds compensating fluid; Col. 7, lines 47-57).
Gearhart discloses an apparatus comprising of an oil filled bladder used to equalize the internal pressure using the pressure of drilling fluid wherein the drilling fluid communicates from various holes and annular flow channels to the bladder.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have substituted the oil compensator of Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, and Leising with the pressure balance chassis of Gearhart with a reasonable expectation of success in order to equalize the internal and external pressure the as taught by Gearhart (Col. 4, lines 2-8) because both perform the same function in similar contexts. Such a substitution represents the use of a known element according to its established function, and the results would have been predictable. KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 415-421, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, and Leising does not teach: a first flow hole and a second flow hole extending through side walls thereof configured to allow the drilling fluid to flow to the oil bladder unit through the first flow hole, the annular flow passage, and the second flow hole in sequence, thereby equalizing a pressure of the drilling fluid and a pressure of the compensating hydraulic fluid in the bladder.
Gearhart further teaches: a first flow hole (proximal 330 vent hole, Fig. 5) and a second flow hole (distal 330 vent hole, Fig. 5) extending through side walls (330 extend radially thru sidewalls, Fig. 5) thereof configured to allow the drilling fluid (drilling fluid; Col. 4, lines 2-8) to flow to the oil bladder unit through the first flow hole, the annular flow passage (328, Fig. 5), and the second flow hole in sequence (flow of drilling fluid from the surface would implicitly enter proximal 330, 328, and distal 330 sequentially, Fig. 5), thereby equalizing a pressure of the drilling fluid and a pressure of the compensating hydraulic fluid in the bladder (Col. 7, lines 44-47).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, and Leising by incorporating flow holes fluidically connected to an annulus and a bladder with a reasonable expectation of success in order to equalize the internal and external pressure the as taught by Gearhart (Col. 7, lines 44-47).
Claim 2. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 1, wherein a circuit pressure-bearing cylinder (Howell: 420 housing, Fig. 15), and
a control circuit (Howell: 435 circuit board, Fig. 16) arranged inside the circuit pressure-bearing cylinder Howell: (Fig. 15-16) and in signal connection (Howell: implicit to 440 controller and 430 circuit board) therewith.
Claim 3. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 2, wherein the directional tool further comprises:
a mechanical transmission shell (Hu `9256: 1 cylindrical shell, Fig. 1) connected with the pressure bearing shell (mechanical transmission tool Hu `9256 is coupled to direction tool of Hu `8520), wherein the mechanical transmission module is arranged inside the mechanical transmission shell (Hu `9256: Fig. 1).
Claim 4. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 2, wherein the control circuit is installed inside the circuit pressure-bearing cylinder through a circuit framework (Howell: circuitry is mounted to a board, inherent to circuit board; 435 circuit board, Fig. 16), and configured to receive the ground control command through a cable connector (Hu `8520: 5 control joint, Fig. 1; inherently coupled to the electric control device to receive a signal, see previously rejected claim 1).
Claim 5. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 4, wherein the hydraulic driving module further includes a motor housing (Hu `8520: proximal end of 1 hydraulic shell, Fig. 1) fixedly connected to an upper end of the piston housing (Hu `8520: distal end of 1 hydraulic shell, Fig. 1), and the motor and the bidirectional hydraulic pump are arranged within the motor housing (Hu `8520: 21 motor and 22 pump are withing the proximal end of 1 hydraulic shell, Fig. 1).
Claim 9. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 1, wherein the second flow hole is arranged to be corresponding to the oil bladder unit in position (Gearhart: 330 is fluidically coupled and proximate to 320, Fig. 5).
Claim 14. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 1, wherein a hydraulic joint (Hu `8520: 62 second sealing seat, Fig. 1) is affixed to a lower end of the piston housing, and wherein a lower end of the piston extends through the hydraulic joint to form a dynamic seal (Hu `8520: 62 is coupled to distal end of 1, distal end of 3 extends through 62 and forms a sealing cavity; Pg, 4, para 6; Fig. 1).
Claim 16. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 1, wherein the mechanical transmission module comprises
a transmission shaft (Hu `9256: 6 drive shaft, Fig. 1) connected to the piston (Hu `9256: 3 piston cylinder, Fig. 1) and a rotating cylinder (Hu `9256: 8 transmission cylinder, Fig. 1) adaptively connected to the transmission shaft (Hu `9256: Fig. 1), and is configured to drive the rotating cylinder to rotate through an axial movement of the transmission shaft (Hu `9256: Fig. 1-2; Pg. 8, para 4).
Claim 17. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 16, wherein the transmission shaft is fixedly connected to the piston (Hu `9256: Fig. 1-2) through a drive shaft (Hu `9256: 6 drive shaft, Fig. 1), which has a central flow passage (Hu `9256: internal bore of 6, Fig. 1), a third flow hole (Leising: 76 flow diverter, Fig. 3) passing through a side wall thereof for and connects the central flow passage (Leising: 78 interior flow passage, Fig. 3) with the annular flow passage (Leising: 72 flow channels, Fig. 3).
Claim 18. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 16 or 17, wherein
a plurality of first key ways (Hu `9256: 6A first locating bulge, Fig. 2) and
a plurality of second key ways (Hu `9256: 6B second locating bulge, Fig. 2) both evenly distributed along a circumferential direction are formed on an outer surface of the transmission shaft,
wherein the first key ways and the second key ways are spaced apart along an axial direction and offset from each other at a certain angle circumferentially, so as to be in communication with but offset from each other along the circumferential direction (Hu `9256: Fig. 2), and
at least one engaging protrusion (Hu `9256: 8A bulge, Fig. 2) is arranged on an inner surface of the rotating cylinder, and configured to alternately engage with one of the first key ways and one of the second key ways when the transmission shaft moves along the axial direction, thus driving the rotating cylinder to rotate (Hu `9256: 6B second locating bulge, Fig. 2-4; Pg. 7 para 4 – Pg. 8, para 4).
Claim 19. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 18, wherein a first side wall at a lower end of each first key way is formed as a first guiding inclined surface (Hu `9256: chamfer on distal end of 6A, Fig. 2), which is opposite to a corresponding second key way to receive the engaging protrusion from said second key way (Hu `9256: Fig. 2),
a first side wall at an upper end of each second key way is formed as a second guiding inclined surface (Hu `9256: chamfer on proximal end of 6B, Fig. 2), which is opposite to a corresponding first key way to receive the engaging protrusion from said first key way (Hu `9256: Fig. 2), and
a first engaging inclined surface (Hu `9256: chamfer on proximal end of 8A, Fig. 3) that engages with the first guiding inclined surface is formed on a second side opposite to a first side (Hu `9256: Fig. 3), and at an upper end of the engaging protrusion,
while a second engaging inclined surface (Hu `9256: chamfer on distal end of 8A, Fig. 3) that engages with the second guiding inclined surface is formed on the second side and at a lower end of the engaging protrusion (Hu `9256: Fig. 3).
Claim 20. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 16, wherein the mechanical transmission module further comprises:
a ratchet cylinder (Hu `9256: 4 ratchet cylinder, Fig. 3), with an upper end thereof sleeved on the drive shaft (Hu `9256:Fig. 1), and
a lower end thereof extending downward to engage with an upper end of the rotating cylinder (Hu `9256: Fig. 4),
ratchets formed at the lower end of the ratchet cylinder and the upper end of the rotating cylinder being configured to engage with each other (Hu `9256: Fig. 4); and a spring (Hu `9256: 2 spring, Fig. 1 and 4), wherein
a step with an end surface facing downward is provided on an inner wall of the mechanical transmission shell (Hu `9256: Fig. 1; change in ID at distal end of 2 spring), and the spring is arranged between the step and an upper end surface of the ratchet cylinder, the lower end of the ratchet cylinder pressing tightly against the upper end of the rotating cylinder, thereby allowing the rotating cylinder to rotate in only one direction (Hu `9256: Fig. 1 and 4).
Claim 21. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 16, wherein
an output joint (Hu `9256: 13 output joint, Fig. 1) is fixedly connected to a lower end of the rotating cylinder for connecting to the downhole drilling tool (Hu `9256: Fig. 1; lower end of the output joint can be combined with the bottom drilling tool; Pg. 6, para 6),
a sealing joint (Hu `9256: 11 sealing joint, Fig. 1) being arranged between the output joint and the mechanical transmission shell, and
the sealing joint is fixed connected to the mechanical transmission shell (Hu `9256: 11 is fixedly coupled to 1; Fig. 1), and engages with both the rotating cylinder and the output joint through a thrust bearing (Hu `9256: 10 bearing, Fig. 1), wherein a rotary sealing ring (Hu `9256: 12 rotary sealing ring, Fig. 1) is arranged between the output joint and the sealing joint, to form a rotary seal therebetween (Hu `9256: Pg. 7, para 2; Fig. 1).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN114508520), hereinafter referred to as Hu `8520, in view of Hu et al. (CN114109256), hereinafter referred to as Hu `9256, Howell (US11015590), Leising et al. (US8960330), Gearhart et al. (US7,673,705) and further in view of Doty (US4333541).
Claim 10. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 1, wherein the bidirectional hydraulic pump comprises a first oil port (Hu `8520: intersection of 31 upper cavity and 13 first flow passage, Fig. 1) and a second oil port (Hu `8520: intersection of 32 lower cavity and 14 second flow passage, Fig. 1) in communication with the first liquid cavity and the second liquid cavity respectively (Hu `8520: Fig. 1).
Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart does not teach: the hydraulic driving module further comprises a two-way hydraulic valve connected between the bidirectional hydraulic pump and the piston housing, wherein a first oil path and a second oil path respectively in communication with the first oil port and the second oil port are arranged within the two-way hydraulic valve.
Doty discloses a hydraulic circuit for routing pressure to either end of a cylinder with a two way valve.
Doty teaches: a two-way hydraulic valve (52 two way valve, Fig. 7) connected between the hydraulic pump (50 pump, Fig. 7) and the piston housing (39 cylinder, Fig. 7), wherein a first oil path and a second oil path respectively in communication with the first oil port and the second oil port (flow route and intersection ports between routes and cylinder, Fig. 7) are arranged within the two-way hydraulic valve (Fig. 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart by incorporating a two way hydraulic valve as taught by Doty with a reasonable expectation of success in order to route pressurized fluid from the pump to either end of the piston to extend or retract the piston as taught by Doty (Fig. 7; Col. 3. Lines 35-45).
Claim 11. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach and further in view of Doty teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 10, wherein a first flow passage (Hu `8520: 13 first flow passage, Fig. 1) and a second flow passage (Hu `8520: 14 second flow passage, Fig. 1) in communication with the first liquid cavity and the second liquid cavity respectively are provided within a side wall of the piston housing, wherein the first flow passage is in communication with the first oil path to form a first hydraulic passage, and the second flow passage is in communication with the second oil path to form a second hydraulic passage (Hu `8520: Fig. 1), wherein the bidirectional hydraulic pump is configured to:
when the motor rotates in a forward direction, draw the low-pressure oil from the second hydraulic passage, which is compressed to form the high-pressure oil and then transported to the first liquid cavity through the first hydraulic passage, so that the piston extends axially downward (Hu `8520; Pg. 5, para 4), and
when the motor rotates in a reverse direction, draw the low-pressure oil from the first hydraulic passage, which is compressed to form the high-pressure oil and then transported to the second liquid cavity through the second hydraulic passage, so that the piston retracts axially upward (Hu `8520; Pg. 5, para 4).
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN114508520), hereinafter referred to as Hu `8520, in view of Hu et al. (CN114109256), hereinafter referred to as Hu `9256, Howell (US11015590), Leising et al. (US8960330), Gearhart et al. (US7,673,705), and further in view of Stephenson (US7409825).
Claim 12. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, Gearhart, and Doty teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 10.
Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, Gearhart, and Doty does not teach: a first safety valve and a second safety valve are respectively provided in the first oil path and the second oil path.
Stephenson discloses a hydraulic system with failure protection by incorporating pressure relief valves on each work port of a lift cylinder.
Stephenson teaches: a first safety valve (68 first pressure relief valve, Fig. 3) and a second safety valve (69 second pressure relief valve, Fig. 3) are respectively provided in the first oil path (70 first hose, Fig. 3) and the second oil path (71 second hose, Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, Gearhart, and Doty by incorporating pressure relief valves on each hydraulic flow path as taught by Stephenson with a reasonable expectation of success in order to relieve pressure from the cylinder if the pressure exceeds a predefined threshold as taught by Stephenson (Fig. 3; Col. 4. Lines 4-15).
Claims 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (CN114508520), hereinafter referred to as Hu `8520, in view of Hu et al. (CN114109256), hereinafter referred to as Hu `9256, Howell (US11015590), Leising et al. (US8960330), Gearhart et al. (US7,673,705), and further in view of Berryman (US3363696).
Claim 13. Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart teach: The directional tool for coiled tubing drilling according to claim 1.
Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart does not teach: a pressure balance hole is arranged in the side wall of the piston housing, for communicating the annular flow passage with an upper area of the piston.
Berryman discloses a bypass valve apparatus for wellbore treating and testing comprising of a lateral port to provide a pressure balance to a piston.
Berryman teaches: a pressure balance hole (48 lateral port, Fig. 2) is arranged in the side wall of the piston housing (17 mandrel, Fig. 2), for communicating the annular flow passage (inherent annular flow area between 17 and wellbore) with an upper area of the piston (upper area of sliding member with O-rings 37 and 32, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the system of Hu `8520 in view of Hu`9256, Howell, Leising, and Gearhart by incorporating a lateral port in the piston housing fluidically coupled to the annulus as taught by Berryman with a reasonable expectation of success in order to pressure balance the piston as taught by Berryman (Col. 4, lines 23-28).
Conclusion
/DANIEL T CRAIG/Examiner, Art Unit 3676
/TARA SCHIMPF/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3676