DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 76-79, 81-88, and 93-95 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Park (pub # 20160292563).
Consider claim 76. Park teaches A wearable device (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0080, smart ring 110). comprising:
a ring-shaped body; (Figs. 2A-2C and paragraph 0107, smart ring 200a having a ring-shaped body).
one or more input devices provided on at least one region of an inner circumferential surface or on at least one region of an outer circumferential surface of the ring-shaped body, (Fig. 5A and paragraph 0136, touch area 520a on outer circumference of smart ring 505a).
a user configured to activate the one or more input devices by touching the one or more input devices; (Fig. 5A and paragraph 0137, The first touch area 520a may detect the compression by the flesh of an input finger 510a as a first input).
and one or more output devices, (paragraph 0079, each smart ring may be associated with a particular detectable output).
the one or more output devices configured to send an electromagnetic radiation signal in response to the user activating the one or more input devices. (paragraph 0079, each smart ring may be associated with a particular detectable output (detectable radio frequency (RF) signal, optical signal, audio pitch, or the like), thus an electromagnetic radiation signal).
Consider claim 87. Park teaches A system, comprising:
a wearable device (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0080, smart ring 110). comprising:
a ring-shaped body; (Figs. 2A-2C and paragraph 0107, smart ring 200a having a ring-shaped body).
one or more input devices provided on at least one region of an inner circumferential surface or on at least one region of an outer circumferential surface of the ring-shaped body; (Fig. 5A and paragraph 0136, touch area 520a on outer circumference of smart ring 505a).
and one or more output devices provided on at least one region of the inner circumferential surface or at least one region of the outer circumferential surface; (paragraph 0077, the outer surface of a body of the smart ring may include a visual output device, such as one or more lights (e.g., LEDs) or a screen display for displaying visual outputs such as texts, graphics, and the like. The color of the light, the sequence in which one or more lights turns on/off, and/or the like may correspond to predefined output messages. The output device may include one or more speakers, other audio output devices, vibration, and/or other tactile indicators. For example, different volumes and types of sound, different strengths, sequences, or directions of vibration, or combinations thereof, may represent different messages. A magnetic device in one or more smart rings may be used to selectively generate magnetic attraction and repulsion between two adjacent rings, to represent messages to the user).
and one or more receiver devices configured to receive a signal from the one or more output devices. (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0087, The network device 115 may be configured for communication over the network 130. The network device 115 may include interface software, hardware, or combinations thereof, for communication over the network 130. The network device 115 may include hardware such as network modems, wireless receiver or transceiver electronics, and/or software that provide wired or wireless communication link with the network 130 (or with a network-connected device)).
Consider claim 93. Park teaches A method, comprising:
receiving an input signal in response to a user activating an input device on a surface of a ring-shaped device; (paragraph 0128, First at block B410, the user interface 117 of the smart ring 110 may detect a user input based on at least in part of touch area, touch material, and touch motion. The user interface 117 may detect the user input when the smart ring 110 is worn on the finger 102).
and sending, from an output device of the ring-shaped device and in response to the input signal, one or more electromagnetic radiation signals such that a receiver device receives the one or more electromagnetic radiation signals and activates a function of the receiver device in response to the one or more electromagnetic radiation signals. (paragraph 0135, Next at block B420, the network device 125 of the smart ring 110 may relay the user input data to the primary device 120. For example, the processor 111 of the smart ring 110 may transform the signals detected by the user interface 117 of the smart ring 110 into transmittable user input data. Then, the network device 115 may transmit the user input data over the network 130 to the primary device 120. paragraph 0079, each smart ring may be associated with a particular detectable output (detectable radio frequency (RF) signal, optical signal, audio pitch, or the like), thus an electromagnetic radiation signal).
Consider claim 77. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 76, wherein the one or more input devices includes at least one of a touch sensor or a button. (Fig. 5A and paragraph 0136, touch area 520a on outer circumference of smart ring 505a).
Consider claim 78. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 76, further comprising one or more power storage devices configured to store electric power, wherein the one or more power storage devices is removable and interchangeable. (paragraph 0009, In particular embodiments, the electronic smart ring device has an annular ring part and a separable part, where the separable part may include electronics and a rechargeable power source. Paragraph 0078, A smart ring may include two separable parts, a first part including at least a battery and a second part including an annular body that fits on a finger).
Consider claim 79. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 78, wherein the one or more power storage devices is configured for inductive or non-inductive wireless charging by pressure contact, (paragraph 0175, a charging apparatus 905 coupled to a smart ring 110 according to various embodiments. Referring to FIGS. 1-9A, the charging apparatus 905 may include at least a power source 910 and a holding component 920. The power source 910 may be any suitable battery, capacitor, or other suitable sources of power for charging the smart ring 110. The holding component 920 may be a mechanical and/or electrical components for engaging or otherwise coupling to the smart ring 110 for charging the smart ring 110 and/or holding the smart ring in place. For example, the holding component 920 may include at least a hook, cavity, budge, tab, rib, a combination thereof, and/or the like. The holding component 920 may include electrical connection (for wired power transfer) and/or inductive components (e.g., a coil, for wireless power transfers).
and wherein magnets are used for pressure contact. (paragraph 0176, The inductive tab 940 may include a coil for inductively (wirelessly) charging the smart ring 950. In various embodiments, the coil for inductively charging the smart ring 950 in the manner described may be a same coil as the electro-magnetic device 220d).
Consider claim 81. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 76, wherein the one or more output devices includes at least one electromagnetic radiation source configured to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal, wherein the electromagnetic radiation signal includes at least one of a visible light signal or an invisible light signal. (paragraph 0187, With respect to light-based implementations, the primary device 120 may capture (with a light sensor or camera of the primary device 120) the light emitted by each of the one or more smart rings 110 or reflected by the one or more smart rings 110. The light reflected by the one or more smart rings may originally emitted by any light source of the primary device 120. The light emitted by the primary device 120 may be reflected by each of the one or more smart rings 110. The light signals generated may be visible or invisible (e.g., infrared). In some embodiments, the light signals may be in constant frequency. In other embodiments, the light signals may be in varying frequency).
Consider claim 82. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 81, wherein the electromagnetic radiation signal includes the invisible light signal, the invisible light signal includes at least one of infrared radiation or radio frequency radiation. (paragraph 0187, With respect to light-based implementations, the primary device 120 may capture (with a light sensor or camera of the primary device 120) the light emitted by each of the one or more smart rings 110 or reflected by the one or more smart rings 110. The light reflected by the one or more smart rings may originally emitted by any light source of the primary device 120. The light emitted by the primary device 120 may be reflected by each of the one or more smart rings 110. The light signals generated may be visible or invisible (e.g., infrared). In some embodiments, the light signals may be in constant frequency. In other embodiments, the light signals may be in varying frequency).
Consider claim 83. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 76, further comprising: one or more wireless communication units configured for wireless communication with one or more hubs over at least one of a Bluetooth protocol or a mesh protocol. (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0087, The network device 115 may be configured for communication over the network 130. The network device 115 may include interface software, hardware, or combinations thereof, for communication over the network 130. The network device 115 may include hardware such as network modems, wireless receiver or transceiver electronics, and/or software that provide wired or wireless communication link with the network 130 (or with a network-connected device). In particular embodiments, the network device 115 may be coupled to the processor 111 for providing communication functions. The network device 115 may provide telephone and other communications in accordance with typical industry standards (the network 130 may be a network), such as, but not limited to code division multiple access (CDMA), time division multiple access (TDMA), frequency division multiple access (FDMA), long term evolution (LTE), wireless fidelity (WiFi), frequency modulation (FM), Bluetooth (BT), near field communication (NFC), Zigbee, 802.15.4, and the like. In particular embodiments, the network device 115 may be configured for (the network 130 may be) Bluetooth low energy (BTLE) or Zigbee, for communicating with the primary device 120 via the network 130).
Consider claim 84. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 83, wherein the one or more hubs includes at least one of a charging station, a mobile device, or a smart device. (Fig. 1 and paragraph 0097, the primary device 120 may include a mobile smart phone (such as, but not limited to an iPhone™, an Android™ phone, or the like) or other mobile phone with suitable processing capabilities).
Consider claim 85. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 76, further comprising a tactile surface configured to orient the wearable device with respect to a user's finger. (paragraph 0174, the user interface 117 of the smart ring 110 may include an orientation device (not shown) for orientating the smart ring 110. For example, the orientation device may include an accelerometer configured to detect motion of the smart ring 110. Based on the data from the orientation device, the smart ring 110 (via the processor 111) may determine an appropriate orientation of the smart ring 110, thus outputting signals in an appropriate sequence/direction based on the appropriate orientation).
Consider claim 86. Park further teaches The wearable device of claim 76, wherein the ring-shaped body is configured to be placed on and surround a user's finger. (Fig. 1).
Consider claim 88. Park further teaches The system of claim 87, wherein the one or more receiver devices includes a receiver electromagnetic radiation sensor configured to detect one or more electromagnetic radiation signals emitted from the one or more output devices of the wearable device. (paragraph 0187, the primary device 120 may capture (with a light sensor or camera of the primary device 120) the light emitted by each of the one or more smart rings 110 or reflected by the one or more smart rings 110. The light reflected by the one or more smart rings may originally emitted by any light source of the primary device 120. The light emitted by the primary device 120 may be reflected by each of the one or more smart rings 110. The light signals generated may be visible or invisible (e.g., infrared)).
Consider claim 94. Park further teaches The method of claim 93, wherein the activating the input device includes at least one of the user touching the ring-shaped device or the user moving the ring-shaped device. (Fig. 5A and paragraph 0136, The first touch area 520a may detect the compression by the flesh of an input finger 510a as a first input).
Consider claim 95. Park further teaches The method of claim 93, wherein the receiver device includes a receiver electromagnetic radiation sensor configured to detect the one or more electromagnetic radiation signals emitted from the output device. (paragraph 0187, the primary device 120 may capture (with a light sensor or camera of the primary device 120) the light emitted by each of the one or more smart rings 110 or reflected by the one or more smart rings 110. The light reflected by the one or more smart rings may originally emitted by any light source of the primary device 120. The light emitted by the primary device 120 may be reflected by each of the one or more smart rings 110. The light signals generated may be visible or invisible (e.g., infrared)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 80 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (pub # 20160292563) in view of Mars et al (U.S. Pat # 12,328,581).
Consider claim 80. Park does not specifically disclose The wearable device of claim 78, further comprising one or more energy harvesting devices, wherein the one or more energy harvesting devices are configured to transmit electric power to the one or more power storage devices, and wherein the one or more energy harvesting devices includes at least one of a thermoelectric generator or a transducer. However Mars et al in at least col. 4 lines 3-13 discloses “In various embodiments, power management and charging circuitry is typically provided to control charging of the power supply. In some examples, charging may be facilitated by and external power source, such as an electrical source, magnetic source, radio frequency (rf) source, NFC (e.g. Qi Charger), light or laser source, heat source, or the like. In various cases, the charging circuitry may include components appropriate for the charging source, such as electrical contacts, metal coils, solar or light power conversion regions, thermoelectric generation components, or the like”, thus a harvesting device including a thermoelectric generator. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Mars et al with the invention of Park in order to provide an efficient and cost effective method of charging the wearable device.
Claim(s) 89-90 and 96-97 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (pub # 20160292563) in view of Ding et al (pub # 20200227954).
Consider claims 89 and 96. Park does not specifically disclose wherein the one or more receiver devices includes an electromagnet, wherein the electromagnet includes at least one of a solenoid, a servomotor, a stepper motor, or a motor. However Ding et al in at least paragraph 0045 discloses an electromagnet 140 that may be a solenoid. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the electromagnet of Ding et al with the wearable device of Park in order to increase the efficiency of charging (Ding et al paragraph 0012).
Consider claims 90 and 97. Ding et al further teaches The system of claim 89, wherein the one or more receiver devices includes a memory that stores instructions executable by one or more processors of the one or more receiver devices, which when executed cause the one or more receiver devices to:
detect a position of the electromagnet; (paragraph 0052, if a communication packet indicates a device type that uses magnetic positioning, and/or the wireless charger 110 detects a magnet of the mobile device (e.g., a permanent magnet)).
actuate the electromagnet; (paragraph 0052, the wireless charger 110 may energize the electromagnet 140).
and reconfigure the position of the electromagnet. (paragraph 0052, the wireless charger 110 may energize the electromagnet 140 so as to draw the mobile device towards an alignment position (e.g., alignment position 220 as shown in FIGS. 2A-2B)).
Claim(s) 91 and 92 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park (pub # 20160292563) in view of Ding et al (pub # 20200227954) and further in view of Zeine (pub # 20200295598).
Consider claim 91. Park in view of Ding et al does not specifically disclose The system of claim 89, wherein the one or more receiver devices is configured to be installed over a toggle light switch such that the toggle light switch can be (1) operated in response to the signal from the one or more output devices and (2) manually operated by a user. However Zeine in at least Fig. 4 and paragraph 0033 discloses a wireless signaling device 444 installed over a toggle light switch that sends and receives signals to a light control component 454 for turning on or off the light device that the switch is connected to. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zeine with the invention of Park in view of Ding et al because wireless power is desirable (Zeine paragraph 0042).
Consider claim 92. Park in view of Ding et al does not specifically disclose The system of claim 89, wherein the one or more receiver devices includes magnets configured to magnetically couple the one or more receiver devices to a toggle light switch. However Zeine in at least Fig. 4 and paragraph 0033 discloses a wireless signaling device 444 installed over a toggle light switch that sends and receives signals to a light control component 454 for turning on or off the light device that the switch is connected to. Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the features of Zeine with the invention of Park in view of Ding et al because wireless power is desirable (Zeine paragraph 0042).
Conclusion
/CHAYCE R BIBBEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2624