DETAILED ACTION
Objection to the Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following minor informalities:
Paragraphs 0025 and 0207 each recite an instance of “PTV value” which should instead recite “PVT value” corresponding to the description of a “position-velocity-time value.”
Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following minor informalities:
The claim, at line 3, includes an instance of “PTV value” which should instead recite “PVT value” corresponding to the limitation “position-velocity-time value.”
Accordingly, appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 10, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over (hereinafter, “KANG”) (citations to English Machine Translation NPL) in view of US 2009/0254275 (hereinafter, “XIE”).
Regarding claim 1, KANG discloses:
A method comprising:
receiving a first user equipment (UE) message including first location information from a first UE (mobile communication terminal 110); (¶ 0037: [L]ocation calculation server 120 receives the wireless LAN environment information from the mobile communication terminal 110)
acquiring second location information on the first UE; (¶ 0032: The position calculation server 120 receives satellite data through a satellite receiver built therein, and performs positioning using satellite data of the mobile communication terminal 110)
transmitting a request message to the first UE; and (¶ 0033: [L]ocation calculation server 120 . . . transmits an SMREQ (short message request) signal requesting information on the terminal corresponding to the location location target by the HLR)
receiving a response message in response to the request message, (¶ 0033: [L]ocation calculation server 120 receives a short message request (SMreq) signal including a response to the information request for the terminal corresponding to the location location target from the corresponding HLR)
wherein the request message is transmitted based on an inconsistency between the first location information and the second location information, (¶ 0041: When the GPS position information and the pCell position information differ from the predetermined distance or more, the positioning error determination device 132 determines that there is an error in either the GPS position information or the pCell position information . . . positioning error determination device 132 recognizes the difference value between the GPS position information and the pCell position information as a positioning error)
wherein the request message requests transmission of the response message including information on a specific number of satellite identifiers, and (¶ 0041: [P]ositioning error determination device 132 determines that the positioning accuracy of the GPS position information is higher than the pCell position information when the recognized satellites are more than a certain number as a result of analyzing the GPS propagation signal and recognizes that the positioning error exists in the pCell position information)
. . .
Although KANG discloses positioning error determination device 132 determines that the positioning accuracy of the GPS position information is higher than the pCell position information when the recognized satellites are more than a certain number as a result of analyzing the GPS propagation signal and recognizes that the positioning error exists in the pCell position information, ¶ 0041, KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the specific number is determined based on a first distance between the first location information and the second location information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, XIE teaches:
wherein the specific number is determined based on a first distance between the first location information and the second location information. (¶ 0040: In step 630, the navigation state error manager 405 determines whether the error distance exceeded a third threshold. If the error distance is determined to exceed the third threshold, the navigation state error manager 405, in step 635, adds the number of satellite vehicles associated with the calculated error distance that exceeded the third threshold. In essence, the navigation state error manager 405 counts the number of satellite vehicles)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KANG’s positioning error detection procedure to provide distance error-thresholds as taught by XIE to determine the number of satellites so as to provide a position, velocity, and time (PVT) solution, as a navigation solution, such that the global positioning system includes a GPS receiver, which typically incorporates current measurements from four or more GPS satellites to update its most recent PVT solution using some navigation algorithm. See XIE, at ¶ 0002.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the specific number is determined as a first number or a second number based on the first distance and a preconfigured threshold distance.
In the same field of endeavor, however, XIE teaches:
wherein the specific number is determined as a first number or a second number based on the first distance and a preconfigured threshold distance. (¶ 0040: [I]f the error distance did not exceed the third threshold, then the navigation state error manager 405 in step 633 does no calculation to the number of satellite vehicles)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the specific number is determined as the first number based on that the first distance is smaller than the preconfigured threshold distance, wherein the specific number is determined as the second number based on that the first distance is greater than or equal to the preconfigured threshold distance, and wherein the first number is greater than the second number.
In the same field of endeavor, however, XIE teaches:
wherein the specific number is determined as the first number based on that the first distance is smaller than the preconfigured threshold distance, wherein the specific number is determined as the second number based on that the first distance is greater than or equal to the preconfigured threshold distance, and wherein the first number is greater than the second number. (¶ 0040: In step 630, the navigation state error manager 405 determines whether the error distance exceeded a third threshold. If the error distance is determined to exceed the third threshold, the navigation state error manager 405, in step 635, adds the number of satellite vehicles associated with the calculated error distance that exceeded the third threshold. In essence, the navigation state error manager 405 counts the number of satellite vehicles that has shown large residuals over the long enough distance. Alternatively or addition, if the error distance did not exceed the third threshold, then the navigation state error manager 405 in step 633 does no calculation to the number of satellite vehicles)
Regarding claim 10, KANG discloses:
A method by a first user equipment (UE) (mobile communication terminal 110) comprising:
selecting first transmission resources based on configuration information; (¶ 0031: The positioning protocol refers to a protocol standardizing the application layer specification for position location. Any positioning protocol can be used if the positioning protocol can transmit and receive the GPS radio signal and the wireless LAN signal between the mobile communication terminal 110 and the position calculation server 120. The positioning protocol may be . . . Radio Resource Control (RRC))
transmitting a first UE message including first location information on the first transmission resources; (¶ 0038: [A] positioning request is generated from the mobile communication terminal 110 to the position calculation server 120; ¶ 0032: [L]ocation calculation server 120 selectively receives the location information from the mobile communication terminal 110)
receiving from a first device a request message requesting transmission of satellite information on a specific number of satellite identifiers; and (¶ 0032: [P]osition calculation server 120 receives satellite data through a satellite receiver built therein, and performs positioning using satellite data of the mobile communication terminal 110 requesting the positioning. That is, the position calculation server 120 receives the navigation data from the mobile communication terminal 110)
transmitting a response message including the satellite information, (¶ 0033: [L]ocation calculation server 120 receives a short message request (SMreq) signal including a response to the information request for the terminal corresponding to the location location target from the corresponding HLR)
KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the specific number is determined based on a first distance between the first location information and the second location information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, XIE teaches:
wherein the specific number is determined based on a first distance between the first location information and the second location information. (¶ 0040: In step 630, the navigation state error manager 405 determines whether the error distance exceeded a third threshold. If the error distance is determined to exceed the third threshold, the navigation state error manager 405, in step 635, adds the number of satellite vehicles associated with the calculated error distance that exceeded the third threshold. In essence, the navigation state error manager 405 counts the number of satellite vehicles)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KANG’s positioning error detection procedure to provide distance error-thresholds as taught by XIE to determine the number of satellites so as to provide a position, velocity, and time (PVT) solution, as a navigation solution, such that the global positioning system includes a GPS receiver, which typically incorporates current measurements from four or more GPS satellites to update its most recent PVT solution using some navigation algorithm. See XIE, at ¶ 0002.
Regarding claim 11, KANG discloses:
A first device (position calculation server 120) comprising:
a radio frequency (RF) transceiver; and
a processor connected to the RF transceiver, wherein the processor is configured to:
control the RF transceiver to receive a first user equipment (UE) message including first location information from a first UE; (¶ 0037: [L]ocation calculation server 120 receives the wireless LAN environment information from the mobile communication terminal 110)
acquire second location information on the first UE; (¶ 0032: The position calculation server 120 receives satellite data through a satellite receiver built therein, and performs positioning using satellite data of the mobile communication terminal 110)
transmit a request message to the first UE; and (¶ 0033: [L]ocation calculation server 120 . . . transmits an SMREQ (short message request) signal requesting information on the terminal corresponding to the location location target by the HLR)
receive a response message in response to the request message, (¶ 0033: [L]ocation calculation server 120 receives a short message request (SMreq) signal including a response to the information request for the terminal corresponding to the location location target from the corresponding HLR)
wherein the request message is transmitted based on an inconsistency between the first location information and the second location information, (¶ 0041: When the GPS position information and the pCell position information differ from the predetermined distance or more, the positioning error determination device 132 determines that there is an error in either the GPS position information or the pCell position information . . . positioning error determination device 132 recognizes the difference value between the GPS position information and the pCell position information as a positioning error)
wherein the request message requests transmission of the response message including information on a specific number of satellite identifiers, and (¶ 0041: [P]ositioning error determination device 132 determines that the positioning accuracy of the GPS position information is higher than the pCell position information when the recognized satellites are more than a certain number as a result of analyzing the GPS propagation signal and recognizes that the positioning error exists in the pCell position information)
. . .
Although KANG discloses positioning error determination device 132 determines that the positioning accuracy of the GPS position information is higher than the pCell position information when the recognized satellites are more than a certain number as a result of analyzing the GPS propagation signal and recognizes that the positioning error exists in the pCell position information, ¶ 0041, KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the specific number is determined based on a first distance between the first location information and the second location information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, XIE teaches:
wherein the specific number is determined based on a first distance between the first location information and the second location information. (¶ 0040: In step 630, the navigation state error manager 405 determines whether the error distance exceeded a third threshold. If the error distance is determined to exceed the third threshold, the navigation state error manager 405, in step 635, adds the number of satellite vehicles associated with the calculated error distance that exceeded the third threshold. In essence, the navigation state error manager 405 counts the number of satellite vehicles)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KANG’s positioning error detection procedure to provide distance error-thresholds as taught by XIE to determine the number of satellites so as to provide a position, velocity, and time (PVT) solution, as a navigation solution, such that the global positioning system includes a GPS receiver, which typically incorporates current measurements from four or more GPS satellites to update its most recent PVT solution using some navigation algorithm. See XIE, at ¶ 0002.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KANG in view of XIE, and further in view of US 2021/0150419 (hereinafter, “DRAYNA”).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 2. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the preconfigured threshold distance is preconfigured based on at least one of a satellite coverage and a measurement error range of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS).
In the same field of endeavor, however, DRAYNA teaches:
wherein the preconfigured threshold distance is preconfigured based on at least one of a satellite coverage and a measurement error range of a global navigation satellite system (GNSS). (¶ 0038: [A] rideable vehicle may be equipped with a single GPS device that is capable of receiving data from multiple satellites and that may identify and/or report how many satellites are currently reporting data. In some examples, the systems described herein may use the number of satellites registered by the GPS sensor to calculate the level of location confidence in the location of the rideable vehicle (e.g., by calculating a higher level of location confidence if more satellites are detected by the GPS sensor))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KANG’s positioning error detection procedure to provide identification/reporting how many satellites are reporting data, as taught by DRAYNA, so as to have a higher level of location confidence in the location of a rideable vehicle that is reporting data and has corroborating data from another device (e.g., a mobile device) than a rideable vehicle without corroborating data. See DRAYNA, at ¶ 0038.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KANG in view of XIE, and further in view of US 2023/03799673 (hereinafter, “VASSILOVSKI”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the second location information is acquired based on first sensing information included in a second UE message transmitted by a second UE or global navigation satellite system (GNSS) raw measurement data included in a third UE message transmitted by the first UE.
In the same field of endeavor, however, VASSILOVSKI teaches:
wherein the second location information is acquired based on first sensing information included in a second UE message transmitted by a second UE or global navigation satellite system (GNSS) raw measurement data included in a third UE message transmitted by the first UE. (¶ 0131: [A]t 916, first wireless device 902 transmits at least one message comprising information regarding the detected object. The information includes . . . at least one raw sensor data set of the one or more raw sensor data sets (e.g., received at 908); ¶ 0106: V2 may also detect V3 via sensor(s) on V2. In other words, V2 may process raw data received from sensor(s) on V2 to detect V3. Additionally, V2 may receive, from V1, the message containing information about V3. Using its own data, in addition to the information received from V1, V2 may attempt to identify or localize a location of V3 in the environment. In certain cases, an ability of V2 to localize V3 may be based on (1) an accuracy of V2 in detecting its own position in relation to V3 and (2) an accuracy of V1 in detecting is own position in relation to V3; ¶ 0124: At 812, V2 uses the information included in the first message to attempt to locate V3 in the environment. In other words, V2 uses the information included in the first message in addition to one or more raw sensor data sets received from one or more sensors at V2, a map, and/or other information previously provided to V2 to attempt to locate V3 in the environment. In some cases, at 812, V2 determines that V2 is unable to identify and/or localize V3. For example, V2 may process the one or more raw sensor data sets received from one or more sensors at V2, the map, and/or other information previously provided to V2 to detect V3)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KANG’s positioning error detection procedure to provide sensor data sharing, as taught by VASSILOVSKI, such that an ITS station may determine a location and/or other characteristics (e.g., velocity, speed, size, etc.), of the perceived object based on the information in the received sensor sharing message. See VASSILOVSKI, at ¶ 0025.
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KANG in view of XIE, and further in view of US 2024/0357523 (hereinafter, “ZHOU”).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first device verifies whether the first location information is manipulated, depending on whether the satellite identifiers included in the response message match satellite identifiers observed based on the first location information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, ZHOU teaches:
wherein the first device verifies whether the first location information is manipulated, depending on whether the satellite identifiers included in the response message match satellite identifiers observed based on the first location information. (¶ 0234: Spoofing interference to the GNSS receiver originates from a navigational positioning principle. Because a delay of an interference signal generated by an interference source such as a pseudo satellite reaching the GNSS receiver is inconsistent with a delay of a real GNSS satellite signal reaching the GNSS receiver in the sky, a distance detected by the GNSS receiver (where the distance is referred to as a “pseudorange” in satellite navigation) changes, and location information output by the GNSS receiver is inconsistent with real location information)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KANG’s positioning error detection procedure to provide spoofing interference detection as taught by ZHOU to detect a faulty base station that is affected by an interference signal, such that whether the GNSS receiver deployed in the BBU is interfered can be effectively determined. See ZHOU, at ¶ 0273.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the response message further includes a value related to global navigation satellite system (GNSS) raw measurement data.
In the same field of endeavor, however, ZHOU teaches:
wherein the response message further includes a value related to global navigation satellite system (GNSS) raw measurement data. (¶ 0234: Spoofing interference to the GNSS receiver originates from a navigational positioning principle. Because a delay of an interference signal generated by an interference source such as a pseudo satellite reaching the GNSS receiver is inconsistent with a delay of a real GNSS satellite signal reaching the GNSS receiver in the sky, a distance detected by the GNSS receiver (where the distance is referred to as a “pseudorange” in satellite navigation) changes, and location information output by the GNSS receiver is inconsistent with real location information)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 7. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the first device verifies whether the first location information is manipulated by further considering whether a position-velocity-time (PTV) value converted from the GNSS raw measurement data corresponds to the first location information.
In the same field of endeavor, however, ZHOU teaches:
wherein the first device verifies whether the first location information is manipulated by further considering whether a position-velocity-time (PTV) value converted from the GNSS raw measurement data corresponds to the first location information. (¶ 0234: Spoofing interference to the GNSS receiver originates from a navigational positioning principle. Because a delay of an interference signal generated by an interference source such as a pseudo satellite reaching the GNSS receiver is inconsistent with a delay of a real GNSS satellite signal reaching the GNSS receiver in the sky, a distance detected by the GNSS receiver (where the distance is referred to as a “pseudorange” in satellite navigation) changes, and location information output by the GNSS receiver is inconsistent with real location information)
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over KANG in view of XIE, and further in view of US 2023/0169850 (hereinafter, “LEE”).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of KANG and XIE, as applied above, renders obvious the method of claim 1. KANG does not explicitly disclose:
wherein the request message is a common safety request (CSR) type of message.
In the same field of endeavor, however, LEE teaches:
wherein the request message is a common safety request (CSR) type of message. (¶ 0078: [M]essage frames may include a message frame for . . . a message frame for a common safety request)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify KANG’s positioning error detection procedure to provide common safety request, as taught by LEE, such that a data frame for probe vehicle data (PVD) can be defined by including only autonomous vehicle identification and status (e.g., level, ODD, fallback) information, and can be used independently from message frames or data frames for driving negotiation based on the identification information, thereby having the advantage of effectively identifying autonomous driving vehicles. See LEE, at ¶ 0026.
Conclusion
If attempts to reach the Examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Kathy Wang-Hurst can be reached at 571-270-5371. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GARTH D RICHMOND/Examiner, Art Unit 2644
/KATHY W WANG-HURST/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2644