DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Amendment filed 27 May 2026. Claim(s) 1-6, 10-11, 15, 20-21, 25, 27-29, 32-33, 37, 42, 46-47, 53, 55, 57, and101-103 are currently pending. The Examiner acknowledges the amendments to claim(s) 1, 5, 10-11, 20, 25, 27, 32, 33, 42, 46, 47, 53, and 55, cancelled claim(s) 7-9, 12-14, 16-19, 22-24, 26, 30-31, 34-36, 38-41, 43-45, 48-52, 54, 56, and 58-100 and new claim(s) 101-103.
Claim Interpretation
No claim limitation has been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) because each term (e.g., ‘hook structure’) connotes sufficient structure to a POSITA. See MPEP § 2181. If applicant contends otherwise, please point to supporting disclosure.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 10, 11, 15, 20, 21, 25, 27, 28, 32, 33, 37, 42, 45, 47, 53, 55, and 57 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Felix et al. (US 2019/0117363A1, “Felix”).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 10, 32, 46 and 57, Felix discloses an implantable prosthesis including a layer of biologically compatible repair fabric (36; [0070, 0079, 0106]). A plurality of separate microtextured grip segments (26; [0064]) are secured to the layer of repair fabric. Each of the plurality of separate grip segments includes a plurality of grips (24; [0064]) having at least one hook structure (52a,b). It is noted that grip segments including a substrate with a plurality of grips with hook features extending from the substrate form a microtextured surface [0053]. Felix discloses that the repair fabric (36) is a mesh, wherein a mesh is known to have openings/perforations a well as pores (38; Fig. 6). The plurality of separate grip segments are attached to a surface of the layer of repair fabric [0058, 0082].
Regarding claim 3, Felix discloses that each of the plurality of grips include two hook features (52a,b) that extend in opposing directions (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 5, Felix discloses that each of the plurality of grips includes a first pillar (54; Fig. 7), a second pillar (32) extending from a surface of the first pillar. A cross-sectional area of the first pillar is larger than a cross-sectional area of the second pillar. The at least one hook structure extends from the second pillar (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, Felix discloses that the plurality of separate grip segments includes three or more grip segments integrated with the layer of repair fabric (Fig. 3; [0065]).
Regarding claim 15, Felix discloses that the layer of repair fabric has a preformed three-dimensional configuration with an apex which is free of grip segments (Fig. 1,3;[0100]).
Regarding claim 20, Felix discloses that the plurality of perforations (38) for at least one grip segment of the plurality of separate grip segments are arranged in at least three distinct regions on the at least one grip segment (Fig. 3) as shown via columns of each grip segment.
Regarding claim 21, Felix discloses that each region (column) includes a group of perforations (Fig. 3; [0066, 0102]).
Regarding claim 25, Felix discloses that the plurality of perforations for at least on grip segment of the plurality of separate grip segments are arranged in an array which extends in a direction along a length of the at least one grip segment (Fig. 3, 22; [0065-0066,0102]).
Regarding claim 27, Felix discloses that the layer of repair fabric has preformed three-dimensional configuration with an apex (Fig. 1,3;[0100]) and a rounded ridge extending from the apex to an outer periphery. A portion of at least one grip segment of the plurality of separate grip segments extend across the rounded ridge (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 28, Felix discloses that at least two grip segments are arranged on the layer of repair fabric entirely on one side of the rounded ridge (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 33, Felix discloses that the plurality of separate grip segments includes three or more microtextured grip segments integrated with the layer of repair fabric (Fig. 3; [0065]).
Regarding claim 37, Felix discloses that the layer of repair fabric has a preformed three-dimensional configuration with an apex which is free of microtextured grip segments (Fig. 1,3;[0100]).
Regarding claim 42, Felix discloses that the plurality of perforations (38) for at least one microtextured grip segment of the plurality of separate grip segments are arranged in at least three distinct regions on the at least one grip segment (Fig. 3) as shown via columns of each grip segment.
Regarding claim 47, Felix discloses that the plurality of separate grip segments occupy approximately 20% to approximately 30% of a surface of the layer of repair fabric (Fig. 1, 22).
Regarding claim 53, Felix discloses that the plurality of perforations (38) for at least one grip segment of the plurality of separate grip segments are arranged in at least three distinct regions on the at least one grip segment (Fig. 3) as shown via columns of each grip segment.
Regarding claim 55, Felix discloses that the plurality of perforations for at least on grip segment of the plurality of separate grip segments are arranged in an array which extends in a direction along a length of the at least one grip segment (Fig. 3, 22; [0065-0066,0102]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Felix et al. (US 2019/0117363A1, “Felix”).
Regarding claim 4, Felix discloses that the hook features extending a distance of approximately 0.20mm to approximately 0.30mm are disclosed as result effective variables in that changing the length of the hook features provides sufficient amount of tissue grip while reducing inadvertent release from tissue. Further, it appears that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in modifying Felix to have hook features extending a distance in the claimed range, as it involves only adjusting the dimension of a component disclosed to require adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Felix by extending the hook features a distance of approximately 0.20mm to approximately 0.30mm, as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6, 29 and 101-103 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Priewe et al. (US 2014/0257348A1) discloses a surgical implant that discloses separate grip segments and a repair fabric including perforations extending therethrough.
/JOCELIN C TANNER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771