DETAILED ACTION
In response to communications filed 4 February 2026, claims 1, 8-9, 16-17, 20, and 22 are amended per applicant’s request. Claims 1-14, 16-17, and 20-23 are pending.
Response to Arguments
In section “Allowable Subject Matter” of the Remarks filed 4 February 2026, applicant states that claims 20 and 22 were indicated as being allowable if rewritten in independent form. However, no allowable subject matter was indicated for claims 20 and 22. Instead claims 20 and 22 were objected to based on the informalities; see paragraph [03] of the Office action mailed 4 November 2025.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Objections to the Claims,” filed 4 February 2026, with respect to claims 20 and 22 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of claims 20 and 22 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see “Claim Rejections --- 35 U.S.C. § 103,” filed 4 February 2026, with respect to claims 1, 16, and 17 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
On pages 10-14, applicant argues that Yuen, Luo, and Chen-126 do not individually teach the features of claims 1, 16, and 17 as amended directed to canceling display after a preset duration. However, these arguments are not persuasive, because one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Yuen in view of Chen-126 teach the features at issues, as shown in the instant rejection.
Claim Objections
Claims 11 and 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
claim 11: the dependency to “claim 9” appears to be a typographical error for --claim 10-- (line 1)
claim 17: “a processor” has antecedent basis to --the processor-- (line 12)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-9, 12-13, 16-17, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen et al. (US 2014/0172814 A1) in view of Mengyun Luo (CN 113392342 A, citations with respect to the English machine translation) and Jianghao Chen (CN 114117126 A, “Chen-126”; citations with respect to the English machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Yuen teaches a search interface presentation method, comprising:
in response to an access request to a search input interface, presenting the search input interface, wherein the search input interface includes a search term presentation area (see Yuen [0054], “portion of a search query is received,” where [0041] teaches a “grid format comprising a plurality of query suggestion entity representations” search term presentation area);
in response to a triggering operation on the search input interface, jumping to a search result interface, where the search result interface is configured to present a search result matching a target search term, wherein the target search term is determined by the triggering operation on the search input interface (see Yuen [0054], “selection of one of the plurality of query suggestion entity representations is received,” where [0047] teaches that the “selection” triggering operation presents “search results . . . displayed in a separate window”).
Yuen does not explicitly teach the search term presentation area is configured for movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed.
However, Luo teaches the search term presentation area is configured for movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed (see Luo [n0041], “candidate keyword drifts . . . along a straight line trajectory,” where [n0052] teaches a preset “moving speed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed, as taught by Luo, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen, because “the display animation of the associated candidate keyword is dynamically displayed, thereby enriching the display content of the search interface and achieving the effect of expanding the display style of the search interface, thereby overcoming the problem of the relatively single display style of related technologies” (see Luo [n0034]).
Yuen as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the method further comprises: based on an access operation meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that a display element has been presented for a preset duration, cancelling the presentation of the display element.
However, Chen-126 teaches wherein the method further comprises: based on an access operation meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that a display element has been presented for a preset duration, cancelling the presentation of the display element (see Chen-126 [n0082], “recommendation section 70 can also be hidden . . . when the user does not respond after the recommendation section 70 has been displayed for a preset duration,” where triggering the “second recommendation control” to enter “full-screen mode” is an access operation meeting a preset condition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cancel presentation of a display element after a preset duration, as taught by Chen-126, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, because “Optionally, the recommendation section 70 can also be hidden through specified operations” (see Chen-126 [n0082]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to predicably hide a display element, as taught by Chen-126, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, in order to declutter the display interface.
Yuen as modified teaches
wherein the access operation is to the search input interface (see Yuen [0041] and Chen-126 [n0082], where the access operation to the “interface,” taught by Chen-126, is to the search input interface taught by Yuen); and
wherein the display element is the search term presentation area (see Yuen [0041] and Chen-126 [n0082], where the “recommendation section” display element, taught by Chen-126, is the search term presentation area taught by Yuen).
Regarding claim 16, Yuen teaches an electronic device, comprising:
one or more processors; a storage device configured to store one or more programs; wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors (see Yuen [0022]-[0023]),
cause the one or more processors to implement:
in response to an access request to a search input interface, presenting the search input interface, wherein the search input interface includes a search term presentation area (see Yuen [0054], “portion of a search query is received,” where [0041] teaches a “grid format comprising a plurality of query suggestion entity representations” search term presentation area);
in response to a triggering operation on the search input interface, jumping to a search result interface, where the search result interface is configured to present a search result matching a target search term, wherein the target search term is determined by the triggering operation on the search input interface (see Yuen [0054], “selection of one of the plurality of query suggestion entity representations is received,” where [0047] teaches that the “selection” triggering operation presents “search results . . . displayed in a separate window”).
Yuen does not explicitly teach the search term presentation area is configured for movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed.
However, Luo teaches the search term presentation area is configured for movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed (see Luo [n0041], “candidate keyword drifts . . . along a straight line trajectory,” where [n0052] teaches a preset “moving speed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed, as taught by Luo, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen, because “the display animation of the associated candidate keyword is dynamically displayed, thereby enriching the display content of the search interface and achieving the effect of expanding the display style of the search interface, thereby overcoming the problem of the relatively single display style of related technologies” (see Luo [n0034]).
Yuen as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further implement: based on an access operation meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that a display element has been presented for a preset duration, cancelling the presentation of the display element.
However, Chen-126 teaches wherein the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further implement: based on an access operation meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that a display element has been presented for a preset duration, cancelling the presentation of the display element (see Chen-126 [n0082], “recommendation section 70 can also be hidden . . . when the user does not respond after the recommendation section 70 has been displayed for a preset duration,” where triggering the “second recommendation control” to enter “full-screen mode” is an access operation meeting a preset condition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cancel presentation of a display element after a preset duration, as taught by Chen-126, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, because “Optionally, the recommendation section 70 can also be hidden through specified operations” (see Chen-126 [n0082]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to predicably hide a display element, as taught by Chen-126, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, in order to declutter the display interface.
Yuen as modified teaches
wherein the access operation is to the search input interface (see Yuen [0041] and Chen-126 [n0082], where the access operation to the “interface,” taught by Chen-126, is to the search input interface taught by Yuen); and
wherein the display element is the search term presentation area (see Yuen [0041] and Chen-126 [n0082], where the “recommendation section” display element, taught by Chen-126, is the search term presentation area taught by Yuen).
Regarding claim 17, Yuen teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program thereon, wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor (see Yuen [0022]-[0023]),
causes the processor to implement:
in response to an access request to a search input interface, presenting the search input interface, wherein the search input interface includes a search term presentation area (see Yuen [0054], “portion of a search query is received,” where [0041] teaches a “grid format comprising a plurality of query suggestion entity representations” search term presentation area);
in response to a triggering operation on the search input interface, jumping to a search result interface, where the search result interface is configured to present a search result matching a target search term, wherein the target search term is determined by the triggering operation on the search input interface (see Yuen [0054], “selection of one of the plurality of query suggestion entity representations is received,” where [0047] teaches that the “selection” triggering operation presents “search results . . . displayed in a separate window”).
Yuen does not explicitly teach the search term presentation area is configured for movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed.
However, Luo teaches the search term presentation area is configured for movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed (see Luo [n0041], “candidate keyword drifts . . . along a straight line trajectory,” where [n0052] teaches a preset “moving speed”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the movable presentation of a first preset search term along a first direction at a preset moving speed, as taught by Luo, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen, because “the display animation of the associated candidate keyword is dynamically displayed, thereby enriching the display content of the search interface and achieving the effect of expanding the display style of the search interface, thereby overcoming the problem of the relatively single display style of related technologies” (see Luo [n0034]).
Yuen as modified does not explicitly teach wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to further implement: based on an access operation meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that a display element has been presented for a preset duration, cancelling the presentation of the display element.
However, Chen-126 teaches wherein the computer program, when executed by a processor, causes the processor to further implement: based on an access operation meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that a display element has been presented for a preset duration, cancelling the presentation of the display element (see Chen-126 [n0082], “recommendation section 70 can also be hidden . . . when the user does not respond after the recommendation section 70 has been displayed for a preset duration,” where triggering the “second recommendation control” to enter “full-screen mode” is an access operation meeting a preset condition).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to cancel presentation of a display element after a preset duration, as taught by Chen-126, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, because “Optionally, the recommendation section 70 can also be hidden through specified operations” (see Chen-126 [n0082]). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to predicably hide a display element, as taught by Chen-126, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, in order to declutter the display interface.
Yuen as modified teaches
wherein the access operation is to the search input interface (see Yuen [0041] and Chen-126 [n0082], where the access operation to the “interface,” taught by Chen-126, is to the search input interface taught by Yuen); and
wherein the display element is the search term presentation area (see Yuen [0041] and Chen-126 [n0082], where the “recommendation section” display element, taught by Chen-126, is the search term presentation area taught by Yuen).
Regarding claim 2, Yuen as modified teaches wherein the search input interface further comprises a content stream information presentation area which is configured to present a content stream information, wherein the content stream information comprises at least one media content (see Yuen [0051] and Fig. 6, element 641, “image” media content presented).
Regarding claim 3, Yuen as modified teaches wherein the search term presentation area comprises at least one search term control, and the movable presentation of the first preset search term at the preset moving speed comprises: movable presentation of the search term control in the search term presentation area at the preset moving speed, wherein a display content of the search term control comprises the first preset search term associated with the search term control (see Yuen [0047] and Fig. 4, element 450, and Luo [n0052]).
Regarding claim 4, Yuen as modified teaches wherein a display background of the search term control is determined by a relative position of the search term control within the search term presentation area; and/or wherein, the display background of the search term control is determined by the first preset search term associated with the search term control (see Yuen [0042], “background color . . . indicating that the query suggestion is a trending search query”).
Regarding claim 6, Yuen as modified teaches further comprising: when the access request to the search input interface is a first access request, maintaining presentation of the search term presentation area in the search input interface (see Yuen [0041] and [0054], the “grid format” presentation area is maintained when a “portion of a search query is received,” i.e., when the access request is a first access request).
Regarding claim 7, Yuen as modified teaches wherein the maintaining presentation of the search term presentation area in the search input interface comprises: maintaining presentation of the search term presentation area in the search input interface until a preset condition is triggered, wherein the preset condition comprises displaying a search result interface or receiving a preset trigger operation on a content stream information presentation area (see Yuen [0047], “actions . . . preview of the search results . . . within the bounded region of the query suggestion . . . or displayed in a separate window”).
Regarding claim 8, Yuen as modified teaches wherein the preset condition comprises that the access request to the search input interface is a non-first access request (see Yuen [0044], an “updated search query” is a non-first access request).
Regarding claim 9, Yuen as modified teaches further comprising: based on an access operation to the search input interface meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that the search term presentation area has been presented for a preset duration, replacing the search term presentation area in the search input interface with at least part of a content stream information presentation area, and expanding the content stream information presentation area (see Yuen [0044] and Chen-126 [n0082], hiding the search term presentation area display element, as taught by Yuen and Chen, expands the content presentation area).
Regarding claims 12, 21, and 23, Yuen as modified teaches wherein in response to a triggering operation on the search input interface, jumping to a search result interface, comprises: in response to a trigger operation on the first preset search term, jumping to the search result interface, wherein the target search term is the first preset search term corresponding to the trigger operation; or in response to a triggering operation on a search input control in the search input interface, jumping to the search result interface, wherein the target search term is a search term input through the search input control (see Yuen [0047]-[0048], “user selections” and “search results . . . displayed in a separate window”)..
Regarding claim 13, Yuen as modified teaches wherein the search input control comprises an input control and a search control, and in response to a triggering operation on the search input control in the search input interface, jumping to the search result interface comprises:
in response to an input operation on the input control, acquiring a target search term corresponding to the input operation (see Yuen [0054], “portion of the search query is then updated based on the query suggestion”);
in response to a triggering operation on the search control, jumping to the search result interface (see Yuen [0054], “updated search query may be executed”)
Regarding claims 20 and 22, Yuen as modified teaches wherein, the one or more programs, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the one or more processors to further implement at least one of the following: when the access request to the search input interface is a first access request, maintaining presentation of the search term presentation area in the search input interface, or based on an access request operation to the search input interface meeting a preset condition, in response to determining that the search term presentation area has been presented for a preset duration, replacing the search term presentation area in the search input interface with at least part of the content stream information presentation area, and expanding the content stream information presentation area (see Yuen [0041] and [0054], the “grid format” presentation area is maintained when a “portion of a search query is received,” i.e., when the access request is a first access request).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen et al. (US 2014/0172814 A1) in view of Mengyun Luo (CN 113392342 A, citations with respect to the English machine translation) and Jianghao Chen (CN 114117126 A, “Chen-126”; citations with respect to the English machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chen et al. (CN 111045581 A1, “Chen-581”; citations with respect to the English machine translation).
Regarding claim 5, Yuen as modified does not explicitly teach further comprising:
in response to a sliding operation on the search term presentation area along the first direction, acquiring a target moving direction and a target moving speed corresponding to the sliding operation;
maintaining the first preset search term for movable presentation along the target moving direction at the target moving speed.
However, Chen-581 teaches further comprising:
in response to a sliding operation on the search term presentation area along the first direction, acquiring a target moving direction and a target moving speed corresponding to the sliding operation (see Chen-581 [0047], “obtain . . . sliding operation,” “sliding speed,” and “sliding operation direction”);
maintaining the first preset search term for movable presentation along the target moving direction at the target moving speed (see Chen-581 [0067], “controls the target page to start inertial sliding”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to respond to a sliding operation, as taught by Chen-581, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, to “control the inertial sliding process of the screen display page so that its inertial sliding process matches the user’s sliding operation” (see Chen-581 [0006]).
Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen et al. (US 2014/0172814 A1) in view of Mengyun Luo (CN 113392342 A, citations with respect to the English machine translation) and Jianghao Chen (CN 114117126 A, “Chen-126”; citations with respect to the English machine translation) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0054867 A1).
Regarding claim 10, Yuen as modified does not explicitly teach further comprising: in response to a sliding operation on the search input interface along a second direction, replacing the search term presentation area in the search input interface with at least part of a content stream information presentation area, and expanding the content stream information presentation area.
However, Lee teaches further comprising: in response to a sliding operation on the search input interface along a second direction, replacing the search term presentation area in the search input interface with at least part of a content stream information presentation area, and expanding the content stream information presentation area (see Lee [0133]-[0135], “user touches and drags a location on a recommendation screen downward with his/her finger . . . sizes of recommended item areas may be reduced”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace a presentation area in response to a sliding operation, as taught by Lee, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, because “by minimizing services through a swipe down operation, a full screen mode may be provided in which the user can concentrate on content shown in a background plane” (see Lee [0135]).
Regarding claim 11, Yuen as modified teaches wherein the content stream information presentation area comprises a plurality of media content presentation modules (see Yuen Fig. 6, elements 631-647, and [0051], “additional data . . . images . . . one or more search results of the query suggestion and/or search query portion”), and
after the replacing the search term presentation area in the search input interface with at least part of the content stream information presentation area, the method further comprises: presenting a second preset search term in any one of the media content presentation modules (see Yuen Fig. 6, element 635/645, and Lee [0133]-[0135], where “seattle weather radar” is a second preset search term presented, as taught by Yuen, after replacing the search term presentation area with the content stream information presentation area, as taught by Lee).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuen et al. (US 2014/0172814 A1) in view of Mengyun Luo (CN 113392342 A, citations with respect to the English machine translation) and Jianghao Chen (CN 114117126 A, “Chen-126”; citations with respect to the English machine translation) as applied to claims 1, 12, and 13 above, and further in view of Lee et al. (US 2016/0054867 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Yuen as modified does not explicitly teach further comprising: in response to a sliding operation on the search input interface along a second direction, changing at least one of a presentation style and a presentation position of the search input control.
However, Lee teaches further comprising: in response to a sliding operation on the search input interface along a second direction, changing at least one of a presentation style and a presentation position of the search input control (see Lee [0133]-[0135], “user touches and drags a location on a recommendation screen downward with his/her finger . . . sizes of recommended item areas may be reduced”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to change at least one of a presentation style and a presentation position of the search input control in response to a sliding operation, as taught by Lee, in combination with the techniques taught by Yuen as modified, because “by minimizing services through a swipe down operation, a full screen mode may be provided in which the user can concentrate on content shown in a background plane” (see Lee [0135]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Kristopher Andersen/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2159