DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 4-12 and 17-25 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claim cannot depend from any other multiple dependent claim. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims have not been further treated on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 11/3/25; 4/2/25; 12/19/25 has/have been acknowledged and is/are being considered by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 13-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson et al. (U.S. Pat. 6,030,375 hereinafter “Anderson”).
Regarding claim 1, Anderson discloses a medical device (e.g. 178) comprising: a body configured such that the body may be positioned within a vagina of a user (e.g. 190); at least one electrode integral with, or coupled to, the body (e.g. 182); and a power source configured to supply the at least one electrode with electricity (e.g. 70).
Regarding claim 2, Anderson further discloses wherein the body includes an absorbent material (e.g. Col. 10, ll. 1-6).
Regarding claim 3, Anderson further discloses wherein the body includes a tampon (e.g. Col. 10, ll. 12-22).
Regarding claim 13, Anderson discloses a method for treating pelvic pain comprising: positioning a medical device within a vagina of a user (e.g. Col. 10, ll. 12-28), the medical device (e.g. 178) including: a body configured such that the body may be positioned within a vagina of a user (e.g. 190), at least one electrode (e.g. 182) integral with, or coupled to, the body, and a power source (e.g. 70) configured to supply the at least one electrode with electricity; and applying transcutaneous electrical stimulation to the hypogastric nerve plexus of the user via the medical device positioned within the vagina of the user (e.g. Col. 10, ll. 12-28).
Regarding claim 14, Anderson further discloses absorbing menses of the user via the medical device positioned within the vagina of the user (e.g. Col. 10, ll. 12-22).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anderson as applied to claims 1-3 and 13-14 above, and further in view of Boyd et al. (U.S. Pub. 2009/0222060 hereinafter “Boyd”).
Regarding claims 15-16, Anderson discloses the claimed invention except for explicitly stating the stimulation parameters. However, Boyd teaches a similar intravaginal stimulator that teaches that it is known to use 1-20 or 80-120 hertz as set forth in Abstract, Paragraph 20 and Claims 14-15 to provide known frequencies to provide a known treatment for pelvic floor muscle dysfunction. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the system as taught by Anderson, with the known stimulation parameters as taught by Boyd, since such a modification would provide the predictable results of using the known stimulation frequencies of 1-20 or 80-120 hertz for the treatment of pelvic floor muscle dysfunction.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Anderson et al. (U.S. Pat. 5,816,248) – provides intravaginal stimulation using a tampon structure.
/REX R HOLMES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796