Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Claims 14, 16, 18, 21, 24, 26, 28, 31, and 33 have been amended.
Claims 20 and 30 are canceled.
Claims 14-19, 21-29, and 31-33 are presently pending.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 14, 24, and 33 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Furthermore, with respect to the Claims 21 and 31, it is noted that the Examiner took Official Notice that providing/presenting description information of live-streamers is widely understood to be known in the art. As Applicant has failed to traverse the Official Notice in a timely manner, the Official Notice is taken to be admitted prior art, and the Official Notice is made final. See MPEP 2144.03(C).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 21, 24, 31, and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (CN 112470482 A) (of record, hereinafter Yang), in view of Chang et al. (US 2016/0286244 A1) (of record, hereinafter Chang), further in view of Chen (US 2023/0101302 A1) (hereinafter Chen), and further in view of Xu et al. (US 2021/0006864 A1) (hereinafter Xu).
Regarding Claim 14, Yang discloses a method for live streaming, comprising:
receiving an access request for a first live stream, the first live stream corresponding to a first live streaming party; [Figs. 1, 3, 9; 0054-56: audience terminal may choose to enter a live room of some anchor/host] and
presenting a first live streaming interface of the first live stream, the first live streaming interface being configured to provide a first video content and a second video content, [Figs. 1, 3, 9; 0019-20, 0056-61, 0070-72: responsive to entering live room, live video stream corresponding to the live room is displayed (second video content), and additionally host-selected target video (first video content) may be inserted to be displayed alongside live video stream]
the first video content corresponding to a first source, [Figs. 1, 3, 9; 0028, 0058-60: target video is pulled from video server 120]
the second video content corresponding to a second source associated with the first live streaming party. [Figs. 1, 3, 9; 0028, 0048-53, 0060: live stream data may be captured at anchor/host terminal and transmitted via live broadcast server 130]
Yang fails to explicitly disclose the first live streaming interface further comprising an entry associated with a second live stream corresponding to the first source, the entry being configured to access the second live stream, a second live streaming interface of the second live stream being configured to provide a third video content corresponding to the first source.
Chang, in analogous art, teaches the first live streaming interface further comprising an entry associated with a second live stream corresponding to the first source, [Figs. 1, 3; 0005, 0071-73: while viewing a broadcast stream from a broadcaster (i.e., first live streaming room of Yang above), system may recommend other related broadcasts from other broadcasters of the same event (i.e., second live streaming room corresponding to the first source – such as the target video source of Yang above)], the entry being configured to access the second live stream, [Figs. 1, 3; 0070: muti-perspective video sharing engine allows users to select a live video stream from one of a plurality of choices via the user interface to view on the viewing device, or alternatively select multiple streams to be concurrently displayed;]
a second live streaming interface of the second live stream being configured to provide a third video content corresponding to the first source. [Figs. 1, 3; 0005, 0071-73: while viewing a broadcast stream from a broadcaster (i.e., first live streaming room of Yang above), system may recommend other related broadcasts from other broadcasters of the same event (i.e., second live streaming room corresponding to the first source – such as the target video source of Yang above – where it would be inferably obvious that that system may be repeated for each broadcaster stream. See MPEP 2144.01.)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yang with the teachings of Chang to include an entry associated with a second live stream corresponding to the first source in order to provide multi-perspective views of correlated video streams of the same event so that viewers can obtain a more enhanced viewing experience. [Chang – 0005, 0073]
Yang and Chang fail to explicitly disclose in response to a selection of the entry: in response to a selection of the entry, presenting an access entry for accessing the second live stream; and in response to the access entry being triggered, presenting the second live streaming interface of the second live stream.
Chen, in analogous art, teaches in response to a selection of the entry: in response to a selection of the entry, presenting an access entry for accessing the second live stream; [Figs. 3-8, 13; 0048-50, 0053: upon selection of a preset area control information on target page (such as the recommendation of Yang and Chang above), a second areas of secondary live broadcast interfaces may be display; 0057-62: secondary live broadcast interfaces may be displayed in a list, and once selected the target page will switch to the selected secondary live broadcast interface] and
in response to the access entry being triggered, presenting the second live streaming interface of the second live stream. [0057-62: secondary live broadcast interfaces may be displayed in a list, and once selected the target page will switch to the selected secondary live broadcast interface]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yang and Chang with the teachings of Chen to responsively present access entries for accessing second live streams in order to facilitate the user to select secondary live broadcasts to be switched intuitively. [Chen – 0003, 0057]
Yang, Chang, and Chen fail to explicitly disclose presenting description information associated with the second livestream.
Xu, in analogous art, teaches presenting description information associated with the second livestream. [Figs. 1B, 2B; 0064: interface for selecting a live broadcast room (such as the access entry page of Yang, Chang, and Chen above) may label thumbnails of each respective broadcast room, as well as provide information on the anchor, etc.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yang, Chang, and Chen with the teachings of Xu to present description information associated with the second live stream so as to aid users in quickly and conveniently finding live broadcast rooms of interest. [Xu – 0063]
Regarding Claim 21, Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu disclose all of the limitations of Claim 14 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Yang and Chang disclose wherein live streaming systems may provide user accounts and social media features. [Yang – 0053, 0079: system may provide user names as well as identification of live rooms corresponding to accounts; Chang – 0039: interactive streaming may include social media features]
Yang and Chang fail to explicitly disclose presenting description information associated with the second live stream; and wherein the description information comprises a live streaming party description of a second live streaming party corresponding to the second live stream.
However, the Examiner takes Official Notice that providing description information of live streamers has been well-known and utilized in the art for purposes of providing audience members information regarding particular streamers and topics/subjects of interest covered by those streamers on their respective channels.
Regarding Claim 24, Claim 24 recites an apparatus that performs the functions of the method of Claim 14. As such, Claim 24 is analyzed and rejected similarly as Claim 14 above, mutatis mutandis. (see also, Yang [Fig. 15-16]; [0025-26] and [0172-174])
Regarding Claim 31, Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu disclose all of the limitations of Claim 24 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Claim 31 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 21 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 33, Claim 33 recites a CRM storing a program that performs the functions of the method of Claim 14. As such, Claim 33 is analyzed and rejected similarly as Claim 14 above, mutatis mutandis. (see also, Yang [Fig. 15-16]; [0025-26] and [0172-174])
Claim(s) 15 & 17-19, and 25 & 27-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu as applied to claims 14 and 24, respectively above, and further in view of Tremblay (US 2015/0245079 A1) (of record, hereinafter Tremblay).
Regarding Claim 15, Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu disclose all of the limitations of Claim 14 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Yang discloses wherein presenting the first live streaming interface of the first live stream comprises:
receiving live stream data associated with the first live stream; [Yang – Figs. 1, 3-4, 9; 0019-20, 0056-61: live server 130 may send a merged broadcast comprising live video stream from host terminal (live stream) and target video from video server 120 (second video content)]
presenting the first live streaming interface based on layout information associated with the first live streaming interface, such that the first video content and the second video content are displayed in the first live streaming interface based on the layout information. [Yang – Figs. 1, 3, 8-9; 0019-20, 0056-61, 0070-72, : live server 130 may send a merged broadcast comprising live video stream from host terminal (live stream) and target video from video server 120 (second video content) and mixing the live video stream and target video according to some layout; 0096-101: live screen with video images may be positioned according to a default position and sizes or according to locations/sizes set by the anchor/host]
Yang and Chang fail to explicitly disclose parsing the first video content and the second video content from the live stream data.
Tremblay, in analogous art, teaches parsing the first video content and the second video content from the live stream data. [Figs. 11a-c; 0060, 0079: wherein live broadcast streaming servers (such as those of Yang and Chang above) may provide main streams (first video content) and related live webcam streams (second video contents) together to client devices as a multiplexed stream]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu with the teachings of Tremblay to specify that the first and second video contents are parsed from the live stream data as it is understood that separate video feeds (such as the first and second video contents of Yang and Chang above) may be distributed as separate multiplexed streamed to be received by other viewing terminals (where it would be implicitly understood that multiplexed streams comprise a plurality of separate streams of data that would be parsed for the individual constituent data. See MPEP 2144.01). [Tremblay – 0060, 0079]
Regarding Claim 17, Yang, Chang, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 15 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Yang discloses wherein the layout information is based on: live streaming configuration information associated with the first live stream; and/or orientation information of a display device for presenting the first live streaming interface. [Yang – 0096-101: live screen with video images may be positioned according to a default position and sizes or according to locations/sizes set by the anchor/host]
Regarding Claim 18, Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 17 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Yang discloses wherein the live streaming configuration information comprises predetermined configuration information, or the live streaming configuration information is generated based on a live streaming setting of the first live streaming party. [Yang – 0096-101: live screen with video images may be positioned according to a default position and sizes or according to locations/sizes set by the anchor/host]
Regarding Claim 19, Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 15 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Yang and Tremblay disclose wherein the live stream data is generated based on a merging of first live stream data originating from the first source and second live stream data originating from the second source. [Yang – Figs. 1, 3, 9; 0019-20, 0056-61, 0070-72: live server 130 may send a merged broadcast comprising live video stream from host terminal (live stream) and target video from video server 120 (second video content) and mixing the live video stream and target video according to some layout; Tremblay – Figs. 11a-c; 0060, 0079: wherein live broadcast streaming servers may provide main streams and related live webcam streams together to client devices as a multiplexed stream]]
Regarding Claim 25, Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu disclose all of the limitations of Claim 24 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Claim 25 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 15 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 27, Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 25 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Claim 27 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 17 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 28, Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 27 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Claim 28 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 18 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 29, Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 25 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Claim 29 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 19 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Claim(s) 16 and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay as applied to claims 15 and 25, respectively above, and further in view of Epari et al. (US 2022/0286741 A1) (of record, hereinafter Epari).
Regarding Claim 16, Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 15 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay fail to explicitly disclose wherein the layout information indicates that the first video content or the second video content is presented in the first live streaming interface with a higher priority.
Epari, in analogous art, teaches wherein the layout information indicates that the first video content or the second video content is presented in the first live streaming interface with a higher priority. [Figs. 6-7; 0012-13, 0076-77, 0061, 0063: content may have a priority hierarchy that may be user provided for content that is to be presented in a main window or PIP window]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay with the teachings of Epari to specify layout information indicating a content to be presented with a higher priority in order to automatically present content of higher interest/priority to be focused on a main window of a display. [Epari – 0063-65]
Regarding Claim 26, Yang, Chang, Chen, Xu, and Tremblay disclose all of the limitations of Claim 25 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Claim 26 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 16 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Claim(s) 22-23 and 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu as applied to claims 14 and 24, respectively above, and further in view of Li et al. (US 2008/0260351 A1) (of record, hereinafter Li)
Regarding Claim 22, Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu disclose all of the limitations of Claim 14 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Yang and Chang disclose wherein the first source is managed by a live streaming platform, [Yang – Fig. 1; 0057-60: wherein video server 120 may provide target video to live broadcast server 130; Chang – Figs. 1-3; 0049, 0052 interactive broadcasting service 101 that may provide multiple video streams of a same event; (see also MPEP 2144.04(V)-(VI))] the first live streaming party being a target user of the live streaming platform. [Yang – 0051-53: live server 103 may store accounts of anchors and viewers, etc.; Chang – 0039, 0053: interactive streaming may include social media features including various account details of broadcasters]
Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu fail to explicitly disclose the target user having a reference permission to the first source.
Li, in analogous art, teaches the target user having a reference permission to the first source. [0018-22, 0040: broadcast signals for content may have specific rights to specific people dictating whether they have access to content, or rights to further share the content with others]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu with the teachings of Li to specify that target users have reference permissions to sources in order to provide rights protecting of content and limit rights to certain users to share the content with other users. [Li – 0008-10]
Regarding Claim 23, Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu disclose all of the limitations of Claim 14 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Yang discloses to present an entry for adding the first source as a live stream material. [Yang – Figs. 4-7; 0062-65: video selection interface provided to anchor account to select target video to add to live stream]
Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu fail to explicitly disclose wherein, in response to a predetermined live streaming party having a reference permission to the first source, a live streaming management interface of the predetermined live streaming party being configured to present an entry for adding the first source as a live stream material.
Li, in analogous art, teaches wherein, in response to a predetermined live streaming party having a reference permission to the first source, a live streaming management interface of the predetermined live streaming party being configured to present an entry for adding the first source as a live stream material. [0018-22, 0040: broadcast signals for content may have specific rights to specific people dictating whether they have access to content, or rights to further share the content with others, where only users with rights have access to the content and know the existence of the content (i.e., you are presented with the option for the content if you have rights)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu with the teachings of Li to specify that specific users have reference permissions to sources and in order to provide rights protecting of content and limit rights to certain users to share the content with other users. [Li – 0008-10]
Regarding Claim 32, Yang, Chang, Chen, and Xu disclose all of the limitations of Claim 24 which are analyzed as previously discussed with respect to that claim.
Furthermore, Claim 32 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 22 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Conclusion
/WILLIAM J KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409