Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 11 and 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 6 “said directions” should be changed to “said first and second direction” and “said direction” should be changed to “said first or second direction” for clarification.
Claim 11 “the inclined aperture” should be changed to “the aperture” for clarification.
Claim 17 “an the/or” should be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder (“system”) that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“the diffuse light generation system arranged to generate a diffuse skylight component in the output light”
“the collimated light generation system arranged to generate a collimated sunlight component in the output light”
“the first optical expansion system is arranged to expand the collimated light beam in a first expanded direction over the output aperture as the collimated sunlight component, such that a first expanded collimated light beam produced thereby has a greater cross-sectional extent in the first expanded direction than the collimated light beam”, and
“the second optical expansion system is arranged to separately and subsequently expand the first expanded collimated light beam in a second expanded direction over the output aperture as the collimated sunlight component, such that a second expanded collimated light beam produced thereby has a greater cross-sectional extent in the second expanded direction than the first expanded collimated light beam” in claim 1.
The examiner is interpreting “the diffuse light generation system” as “a diffuser”, “the collimated light generation system” as “a collimator”, “the first optical expansion system” as “a first prism sheet”, “the second optical expansion system” as “a second prism sheet”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the steps “expanding light from a collimated light beam”, “expanding subsequently said first expanded collimated light beam…” without reciting any corresponding structure as to how the light or collimated light beam is produced, and how the first expanded collimated light beam is expanded. The claims lack sufficient structure to perform the recited functions.
Claim 20 is rejected since it is dependent upon claim 19.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6, 9-14, and 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Flynn et al. (US 2017/0074486).
Claim 1: Flynn discloses an optical display device arranged to create a perception of a sky scene in output light, the device comprising: a collimated light generation system comprising: a collimated light source (1, fig. 10B) to produce a collimated light beam (light collimated by 2, fig. 10B); a first optical expansion system (41, fig. 11B), and; a second optical expansion system (42, fig. 11B); a diffuse light generation system (8, fig. 10B), and; an output aperture (output aperture of 20, fig. 6) through which the output light is projected, the diffuse light generation system (8) arranged to generate a diffuse skylight component in the output light (see fig. 10B and 0054]), and the collimated light generation system arranged to generate a collimated sunlight component in the output light (see para [0037] and [0065]), wherein the first optical expansion system (41) is arranged to expand the collimated light beam (see fig. 11B) in a first expanded direction (horizontal direction, fig. 11B) over the output aperture as the collimated sunlight component, such that a first expanded collimated light beam (expanded beam emitted from 41, fig. 11B) produced thereby has a greater cross-sectional extent in the first expanded direction (horizontal direction in fig. 11B) than the collimated light beam (see fig. 11B), and the second optical expansion system (42) is arranged to separately and subsequently expand the first expanded collimated light beam (light emitted from 41 expanded through 42, fig. 11B) in a second expanded direction (angled direction of 42, fig. 11B) over the output aperture as the collimated sunlight component, such that a second expanded collimated light beam (light emitted from 42, fig. 11B) produced thereby has a greater cross-sectional extent in the second expanded direction than the first expanded collimated light beam (see fig. 11B), wherein the first and second optical expansion systems (41, 42) are arranged to expand the collimated light beam (light emitted from 40, fig. 11A) while maintaining collimation thereof, and the second expanded direction (angle of light emitted from 42, fig. 11B) is different to, and angled relative to, the first expanded direction (light from 41, fig. 11B).
Claim 2: Flynn discloses the first optical expansion system (41, fig. 11B) is separate from and upstream of the second optical expansion system (42, fig. 11B) and the first optical expansion system does not expand the collimated light beam in the second direction and/or the second optical expansion system does not expand the collimated light beam in the first expanded direction (see fig. 11B).
Claim 3: Flynn discloses he first and second optical expansion system (41, 42) are arranged for uniform expansion and/or consist of linear expansion of the collimated light in the associated expansion directions (see fig. 11B).
Claim 6: Flynn discloses the collimated light beam (light from 40, fig. 11A) is expanded in at least one of said first and second directions to the extent of the output aperture in said first or second direction (see figs. 6, 10B, 11A,B).
Claim 9: Flynn discloses the first optical expansion system (41, fig. 11B) comprises: a prism sheet (41) arranged inclined to a direction of propagation of the collimated light beam (see fig. 11B), and to expand the collimated light beam to a first expanded collimated light beam (expanded beam of 41, fig. 11B).
Claim 10: Flynn discloses the prism sheet is arranged for transmission of the collimated light beam therethrough (see fig. 11B).
Claim 11: Flynn discloses the prism sheet is arranged inclined to the inclined aperture.
Claim 12: Flynn discloses the second optical expansion system (42, fig. 11B) comprises: a second prism sheet (42) arranged inclined to a direction of propagation of the first expanded collimated light beam (see fig. 11B), and to expand the first collimated light beam to a second expanded collimated light beam (beam emitted from 42, fig. 11B).
Claim 13: Flynn discloses the second prism sheet (42) is arranged over the output aperture and to project the second expanded collimated light beam through the output aperture as the collimated sunlight component (see fig. 6 and 11B).
Claim 14: Flynn discloses the second prism sheet (42) is arranged planar to the output aperture (see fig. 6).
Claim 16: Flynn discloses the collimated light source (1) includes a coupling system (2, fig. 10B) to project light from the light source to the collimating system, wherein the coupling system includes one or more of a prism, a light guide, a lens (2).
Claim 17: Flynn discloses collimated light source (1) is arranged not to interfere with light projected from the collimating system (see fig. 10B) and the prism sheet.
Claim 18: Flynn discloses a kit of parts for assembly (see figs. 6, 10B) into the optical display device of claim 1.
Claim 19: Flynn discloses method of creating a perception of a sky scene comprising: expanding light (light exiting 2, fig. 2) from a collimated light beam (beam collimated by 2, fig. 2) in a first direction (horizontal direction, fig. 2) when viewed at an output aperture (output aperture of 20, fig. 6), thereby producing a first expanded collimated light (expanded light emitted from 41, fig. 11B) beam having a greater cross-sectional extent in the first direction (horizontal direction in fig. 11B) than the collimated light beam (beam of 40, fig. 11A,B); expanding subsequently said first expanded collimated light beam (light emitted from 41, fig. 11B) in a different second direction (angled direction entering 42, fig. 11B), angled relative to the first direction (horizontal direction in fig. 11B), when viewed at the output aperture, thereby producing a second expanded collimated light beam (light emitted from 42, fig. 11B) having a greater cross-sectional extent (light emitted from 42 is greater than light from 41, fig. 11B) in the second direction than the first expanded collimated light beam (see fig. 11B), and; outputting the expanded collimated light as a collimated sunlight component (sunlight, see para [0065]), wherein said expanding in the first direction and said expanding in the second direction are each performed while maintaining collimation of the collimated light beam (see fig. 11B).
Claim 20: Flynn discloses transmitting light to a diffuse light generation system (8, fig. 10B) to generate a skylight component, and; outputting diffuse light as a skylight component (see fig. 10B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4-5, 7-8 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Flynn et al. (US 2017/0074486).
Claim 4: Flynn is silent about an average angle of divergence of the light expanded collimated light beam is within 5% or 10% of an angle of divergence of the collimated light beam.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made change the angles of the light source where an average angle of divergence of the light expanded collimated light beam is within 5% or 10% of an angle of divergence of the collimated light beam to produce a desired lighting output range, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 5: Flynn is silent about the collimated light beam is expanded in both directions by at least 3 or 5 times.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made change the angles of the light source where an average angle of divergence of the light expanded collimated light beam is within 5% or 10% of an angle of divergence of the collimated light beam to produce a desired lighting output range, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art. In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980).
Claim 7: Flynn is silent about the first and second expansion direction are orthogonal to each other over the output aperture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the position of the first and second optical expansion systems where the first and second expansion direction are orthogonal to each other over the output aperture in order to adjust the light output direction of the light, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 8: Flynn is silent about the output aperture extends in a longitudinal and lateral direction, wherein the first direction is aligned to the lateral direction and the second direction is aligned to the longitudinal direction.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the position of the first and second optical expansion systems where he output aperture extends in a longitudinal and lateral direction, wherein the first direction is aligned to the lateral direction and the second direction is aligned to the longitudinal direction in order to adjust the light output direction of the light, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 15: Flynn discloses the collimated light source comprises a light source (1, fig. 10B) and a collimating system (2, fig. 10B) to receive light from the light source and produce the collimated light beam therefrom,
However, the first embodiment of Flyn is silent about the collimation system is an off-axis parabolic reflector.
A second embodiment of Flynn teaches a collimation system is an off-axis parabolic reflector (15, fig. 8A).
Therefore, in view of the second embodiment of Flynn, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the lens with an off-axis parabolic reflector, in order to provide another means of collimating light.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 19 has/have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/ZHENG SONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875