DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed on 12/20/2024 has been entered. Claims 1-17, 23-27 are pending in the Application. Claims 18-22 have been canceled by the Applicant. New claims 23-27 have been added by the Applicant.
Double Patenting
Claims 10-13, 16-17 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 12-14, 18-19 of U.S. Patent No. 11032976 B1 in view of Yun et al., US 2017/0362703 A1 and Lee et al., US 2014/0049826 A1, as well as over claims 1-2, 9-10 of US Patent No. 11277974 B2 in view of Yun and Lee, as well as over claims 1, 4-8, 9, 11-15, 16, 17-20 of US Patent 11564359 B2 in view of Yun and Lee, as well as over claims 1 and 17 of US Patent. 12069994 B2 in view of Yun and Lee. The Claims disclose most features of claims of the Instant Application, as seen in the Table below
Instant Application 18877278
US Patent 11032976 B1
10. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing defining a first portion and a second portion, the second portion defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising: a submount; and a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and comprising: a main body comprising: a base substrate that is substantially planar and defines an outer perimeter; and a plurality of optical lens elements extending from the base substrate and cooperating with the base substrate to provide an exterior surface and an interior surface, each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements are aligned with respective light emitting diodes of the plurality of light emitting diodes; and a parylene coating provided over at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface, wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; the plurality of optical lens elements protrudes from the base substrate at the exterior surface; and the main body is formed as a unitary one-piece construction such that the exterior surface extends continuously between the base substrate and each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements to form a fluid impervious barrier therebetween.
11. (Currently Amended): The light fixture of claim 10 wherein: the lens cover and the submount cooperate to define an interior therebetween; [[and]] the light fixture further comprises an encapsulating material that substantially fills the interior and encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes; and the lens cover has a first hardness and the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness.
12. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing comprising a first portion and a second portion, the second portion defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; and a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, wherein each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising: a submount; a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a lens cover comprising a base substrate, a plurality of lens elements protruding from the base substrate, and an exterior surface, the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; an encapsulating material that substantially fills the interior and encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes; and a protective coating provided over the exterior surface of the lens cover, wherein: the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with respective lens elements of the plurality of the lens elements.
12. (Original): The light fixture of claim 11 wherein the second hardness is a Shore A of less than 70.
13. The light fixture of claim 12 wherein the second hardness is a Shore A of less than 70.
13. (Original): The light fixture of claim 11 wherein the encapsulating material comprises a silicone gel.
14. The light fixture of claim 13 wherein the encapsulating material comprises a silicone gel.
16. (Original): The light fixture of claim 10 wherein the housing defines a passageway between the first portion and the second portion.
18. The light fixture of claim 12 wherein the housing defines a passageway between the first portion and the second portion.
17. (Original): The light fixture of claim 16 further comprising a plurality of rib members that extend between the first portion and the second portion and are at least partially disposed in the passageway.
19. The light fixture of claim 18 further comprising a plurality of rib members that extend between the first portion and the second portion and are at least partially disposed in the passageway.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 11277974 B2
10. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing defining a first portion and a second portion, the second portion defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising: a submount; and a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and comprising: a main body comprising: a base substrate that is substantially planar and defines an outer perimeter; and a plurality of optical lens elements extending from the base substrate and cooperating with the base substrate to provide an exterior surface and an interior surface, each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements are aligned with respective light emitting diodes of the plurality of light emitting diodes; and a parylene coating provided over at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface, wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; the plurality of optical lens elements protrudes from the base substrate at the exterior surface; and the main body is formed as a unitary one-piece construction such that the exterior surface extends continuously between the base substrate and each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements to form a fluid impervious barrier therebetween.
A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing comprising a first portion and a second portion, the second portion of the housing defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising a submount and a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a unitary heat sink disposed over both of the first lighting module and the second lighting module, wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; the first lighting module and the second lighting module are horizontally spaced from the controller; and the housing defines a passageway that extends vertically through the housing between the first portion and the second portion such that the passageway is interposed between the first lighting module and the controller.
9. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing comprising a first portion and a second portion, the second portion of the housing defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising a submount and a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a unitary heat sink disposed over both of the first lighting module and the second lighting module, wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are horizontally spaced from the controller; the housing defines a passageway that extends vertically through the housing between the first portion and the second portion such that the passageway is interposed between the first lighting module and the controller; and the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other and are independently controllable by the controller.
18. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing comprising a first portion and a second portion, the second portion of the housing defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising a submount and a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; a unitary heat sink disposed over both of the first lighting module and the second lighting module, wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; the first lighting module and the second lighting module are horizontally spaced from the controller; the housing defines a passageway that extends vertically through the housing between the first portion and the second portion such that the passageway is interposed between the first lighting module and the controller; and the housing further comprises a main frame and a cover member that overlies the main frame and is coupled with the main frame.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 115634359 B2
10. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing defining a first portion and a second portion, the second portion defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising: a submount; and a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and comprising: a main body comprising: a base substrate that is substantially planar and defines an outer perimeter; and a plurality of optical lens elements extending from the base substrate and cooperating with the base substrate to provide an exterior surface and an interior surface, each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements are aligned with respective light emitting diodes of the plurality of light emitting diodes; and a parylene coating provided over at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface, wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; the plurality of optical lens elements protrudes from the base substrate at the exterior surface; and the main body is formed as a unitary one-piece construction such that the exterior surface extends continuously between the base substrate and each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements to form a fluid impervious barrier therebetween.
A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing; and a lighting module at least partially disposed in the housing, the lighting module comprising: a submount; a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount; a lens cover comprising a base substrate, a plurality of lens elements protruding from the base substrate, and an exterior surface, the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; and an encapsulating material that substantially fills the interior and encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes, wherein: the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with respective lens elements of the plurality of the lens elements.
9. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing comprising a first portion and a second portion, the second portion defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; and a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, wherein each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprises: a submount; a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; a lens cover comprising a base substrate, a plurality of lens elements protruding from the base substrate, and an exterior surface, the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; and an encapsulating material that substantially fills the interior and encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes, wherein: the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with respective lens elements of the plurality of the lens elements.
16. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing comprising a first portion and a second portion, the second portion defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; and a lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion, the lighting module comprising: a submount; a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; a lens cover comprising a base substrate, a plurality of lens elements protruding from the base substrate, and an exterior surface, the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; and a silicone gel that substantially fills the interior and encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes, wherein: the lens cover has a first hardness; the silicone gel has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with respective lens elements of the plurality of the lens elements.
Instant Application
US Patent No. 12069994 B2
10. A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing defining a first portion and a second portion, the second portion defining a window; a controller at least partially disposed within the first portion; a first lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module, each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising: a submount; and a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and comprising: a main body comprising: a base substrate that is substantially planar and defines an outer perimeter; and a plurality of optical lens elements extending from the base substrate and cooperating with the base substrate to provide an exterior surface and an interior surface, each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements are aligned with respective light emitting diodes of the plurality of light emitting diodes; and a parylene coating provided over at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface, wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other; the plurality of optical lens elements protrudes from the base substrate at the exterior surface; and the main body is formed as a unitary one-piece construction such that the exterior surface extends continuously between the base substrate and each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements to form a fluid impervious barrier therebetween.
1. A lighting module for a light fixture, the lighting module comprising: a submount; a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled with the submount; a lens cover comprising a base substrate, a plurality of lens elements protruding from the base substrate, and an exterior surface, the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; and an encapsulating material that substantially fills the interior and encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes, wherein: the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with a respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements.
17. A method for constructing a light fixture, the method comprising: providing a housing that defines a controller receptacle; installing a controller in the controller receptacle; concealing the controller with a lid that overlies the controller receptacle; providing a submount having a plurality of light emitting diodes coupled thereto, coupling a lens cover to the submount, the lens cover comprising a base substrate, a plurality of lens elements protruding from the base substrate, and an exterior surface, the lens cover overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and the submount such that the lens cover and the submount define an interior therebetween; filling the interior with an encapsulating material that encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes, wherein: the lens cover has a first hardness; the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness; and each light emitting diode of the plurality of light emitting diodes is aligned with a respective lens element of the plurality of the lens elements.
Claim 12 of US Patent ‘976, Claims 1 and 9 and 18 of ‘974, Claims 1 and 9 and 16 of ‘359, claims 1 and 17 of ‘994 does not disclose ““a parylene coating provided over at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface of the main body”.
US Patent ‘976 does disclose a protective coating on the exterior surface of the lens cover. However, US Patent ‘976 does not disclose that the coating is parylene and also on the interior surface of the main body.
Yun discloses a protective coating that is moisture-resistant that include parylene (¶ [0046]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use parylene, such as taught by Yun, as the protective coating, as taught by Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use parylene for protecting the lens from moisture (Yun, ¶ [0046]).
Lee discloses a light emitting device with a light transmissive layer that is coated by parylene on both inside and outside surfaces completely (parylene layer 560 on 501, Fig. 3; ¶ [0119]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the protective coating, as taught by Cai in view of Yun, on both the interior and exterior surfaces, such as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the protective coating on all surfaces for protecting all surfaces from moisture (Lee, ¶ [0016]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai, US 11032976 B1 in view of Yun et al., US 2017/0362703 A1 and Lee et al., US 2014/0049826 A1 .
Regarding claim 1, Cai discloses “A lens cover for a light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the lens cover (64, 66, Fig. 4) comprising:
a main body comprising: a base substrate (68, Fig. 5) that is substantially planar (col. 2, ln. 48) and defines an outer perimeter; and a plurality of optical lens elements (70, Fig. 5) extending from the base substrate and cooperating with the base substrate to define an exterior surface and an interior surface of the lens cover (seen in Fig. 5), each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements being configured for alignment with a light emitting diode (col. 2, ln. 50-51; seen in Fig. 5 over LEDs 60); and… , wherein: the plurality of optical lens elements protrudes from the base substrate at the exterior surface (seen in Fig. 5, col. 2, ln. 48-49); and the main body is formed as a unitary one-piece construction (col. 3, ln. 1) such that the exterior surface extends continuously between the base substrate and each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements to form a fluid impervious barrier therebetween (seen in Fig. 5; col. 3, ln. 9-30, interior 72 filled with fluid 74).”
However, Cai does not explicitly disclose “a parylene coating provided over at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface of the main body”.
Cai does disclose a protective coating (76, Fig. 5) on the exterior surface of the lens cover. However, Cai does not disclose that the coating is parylene and also on the interior surface of the main body.
Yun discloses a protective coating that is moisture-resistant that include parylene (¶ [0046]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use parylene, such as taught by Yun, as the protective coating, as taught by Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use parylene for protecting the lens from moisture (Yun, ¶ [0046]).
Lee discloses a light emitting device with a light transmissive layer that is coated by parylene on both inside and outside surfaces completely (parylene layer 560 on 501, Fig. 3; ¶ [0119]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the protective coating, as taught by Cai in view of Yun, on both the interior and exterior surfaces, such as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the protective coating on all surfaces for protecting all surfaces from moisture (Lee, ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 2, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements defines an indentation at the interior surface (Cai, seen in Fig. 5, col. 2, ln. 56).”
Regarding claim 3, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the parylene coating entirely encapsulates the main body (seen in Lee, Fig. 3).”
Regarding claim 4, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the main body is formed entirely of polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate (Cai, col. 3, ln. 1-2).”
Regarding claim 5, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the parylene coating has a thickness of between about 0.5 micrometers and about 10 micrometers (Yun, ¶ [0062] “the coating may have any of various thicknesses, including, for example, between about 0.5 microns and 25 microns”).”
Regarding claim 6, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the parylene coating comprises parylene N, parylene C, parylene D, parylene F, or copolymers thereof (Yun, ¶ [0062]).”
Regarding claim 7, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 6, as cited above, and further discloses “the parylene coating comprises a copolymer of parylene N and parylene C (Yun, ¶ [0062]).”
Regarding claim 9, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, and further discloses “the parylene coating is a conformal coating (seen in Cai, Fig. 5, the coating 76 matches the surface of the lenses”).
Regarding claim 10, Cai discloses “A light fixture for an indoor growing facility, the light fixture comprising: a housing defining a first portion (32, Fig. 2) and a second portion (30, Fig. 2), the second portion defining a window (36, Fig. 2); a controller (82, Fig. 3) at least partially disposed within the first portion (seen in Fig. 3); a first lighting module (24, Fig. 2 and 4) at least partially disposed in the second portion; a second lighting module (26, Fig. 2 and 4) at least partially disposed in the second portion adjacent to the first lighting module (seen in Fig. 2), each of the first lighting module and the second lighting module comprising: a submount (56 and 58, Fig. 3); and a plurality of light emitting diodes (60, Fig. 5; col. 2, ln. 26-28) coupled with the submount and configured to project light through the window; and a lens cover (64, 66, Fig. 4) overlying the plurality of light emitting diodes and comprising:
a main body comprising: a base substrate (68, Fig. 5) that is substantially planar (col. 2, ln. 48) and defines an outer perimeter; and a plurality of optical lens elements (70, Fig. 5) extending from the base substrate and cooperating with the base substrate to define an exterior surface and an interior surface (seen in Fig. 5), each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements are aligned with respective light emitting diodes of the plurality of light emitting diodes (col. 2, ln. 50-51; seen in Fig. 5 over LEDs 60); and …
wherein: the first lighting module and the second lighting module are physically independent from each other (seen in Fig. 2 and 4; col. 6, ln. 7-9); the plurality of optical lens elements protrudes from the base substrate at the exterior surface (seen in Fig. 5, col. 2, ln. 48-49); and the main body is formed as a unitary one-piece construction (col. 3, ln. 1) such that the exterior surface extends continuously between the base substrate and each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements to form a fluid impervious barrier therebetween (seen in Fig. 5; col. 3, ln. 9-30, interior 72 filled with fluid 74).
However, Cai does not explicitly disclose “a parylene coating provided over at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface of the main body”.
Cai does disclose a protective coating (76, Fig. 5) on the exterior surface of the lens cover. However, Cai does not disclose that the coating is parylene and also on the interior surface of the main body.
Yun discloses a protective coating that is moisture-resistant that include parylene (¶ [0046]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use parylene, such as taught by Yun, as the protective coating, as taught by Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use parylene for protecting the lens from moisture (Yun, ¶ [0046]).
Lee discloses a light emitting device with a light transmissive layer that is coated by parylene on both inside and outside surfaces completely (parylene layer 560 on 501, Fig. 3; ¶ [0119]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the protective coating, as taught by Cai in view of Yun, on both the interior and exterior surfaces, such as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the protective coating on all surfaces for protecting all surfaces from moisture (Lee, ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 11, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 10, as cited above, and further discloses “ the lens cover and the submount cooperate to define an interior therebetween (72, Fig. 5); the light fixture further comprises an encapsulating material (74, Fig. 5) that substantially fills the interior and encapsulates the plurality of light emitting diodes (seen in Fig. 5); and the lens cover has a first hardness and the encapsulating material has a second hardness that is less than the first hardness (Cai, col. 3, ln. 34-37).”
Regarding claim 12, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 11, as cited above, and further discloses “the second hardness is a Shore A of less than 70 (Cai, claim 5).”
Regarding claim 13, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 11, as cited above, and further discloses “the encapsulating material comprises a silicone gel (Cai, col. 3, ln. 27-30).”
Regarding claim 14, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 10, as cited above, and further discloses “the main body is formed entirely of polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate (Cai, col. 3, ln. 1-2).”
Regarding claim 15, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 10, as cited above, and further discloses “each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements defines an indentation at the interior surface (Cai, seen in Fig. 5, col. 2, ln. 56).”
Regarding claim 16, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 10, as cited above, and further discloses “the housing defines a passageway between the first portion and the second portion (Cai, passageway 85, Fig. 1-2).”
Regarding claim 17, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 16, as cited above, and further discloses “a plurality of rib members (Cai, 86, Fig. 3) that extend between the first portion and the second portion and are at least partially disposed in the passageway.”
Regarding claim 23, Cai discloses “A method for manufacturing a lens cover for a horticultural light fixture, the method comprising:
forming a main body, the main body comprising a base substrate (68, Fig. 5) and a plurality of optical lens elements (70, Fig. 5), the base substrate being substantially planar (col. 2, ln. 48) and defining an outer perimeter, and the plurality of optical lens elements extending from the base substrate and cooperating with the base substrate to define an exterior surface and an interior surface (seen in Fig. 5); and
coating at least a portion of each of the exterior surface … main body (coating 76, Fig. 5; col. 3, ln. 45-46) , wherein: each optical lens element of the plurality of optical lens elements is configured for alignment with a light emitting diode (col. 2, ln. 50-51; seen in Fig. 5 over LEDs 60); the plurality of optical lens elements protrude from the base substrate at the exterior surface (seen in Fig. 5) ; and the main body is formed as a unitary one-piece construction (col. 3, ln. 1) such that the exterior surface extends continuously between the base substrate and each optical lens element to form a fluid impervious barrier therebetween (seen in Fig. 5; col. 3, ln. 9-30, interior 72 filled with fluid 74)..
However, Cai does not explicitly disclose “coating at least a portion of each of the exterior surface and the interior surface of the main body with a parylene coating”.
Cai does disclose a protective coating (76, Fig. 5) on the exterior surface of the lens cover. However, Cai does not disclose that the coating is parylene and also on the interior surface of the main body.
Yun discloses a protective coating that is moisture-resistant that include parylene (¶ [0046]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to use parylene, such as taught by Yun, as the protective coating, as taught by Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use parylene for protecting the lens from moisture (Yun, ¶ [0046]).
Lee discloses a light emitting device with a light transmissive layer that is coated by parylene on both inside and outside surfaces completely (parylene layer 560 on 501, Fig. 3; ¶ [0119]).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to have the protective coating, as taught by Cai in view of Yun, on both the interior and exterior surfaces, such as taught by Lee. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have the protective coating on all surfaces for protecting all surfaces from moisture (Lee, ¶ [0016]).
Regarding claim 24, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 23, as cited above, and further discloses “coating of the exterior surface and the interior surface of the main body comprises entirely encapsulating the main body with the parylene coating (Lee, seen in Fig. 3).”
Regarding claim 25, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 23, as cited above, and further discloses “forming the main body comprises forming the main body entirely of polycarbonate or polymethyl methacrylate (Cai, col. 3, ln. 1-2).”
Regarding claim 26, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 23, as cited above, and further discloses “coating the exterior surface and the interior surface of the main body is achieved by one or more of vacuum deposition, dip coating, spin coating, or spray coating (Yun, ¶ [0056]) .”
Regarding claim 27, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 26, as cited above, and further discloses “coating the exterior surface and the interior surface of the main body is achieved entirely within a deposition chamber (Yun, ¶ [0056] “deposition chamber”; Lee, ¶ [0113, 0114]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cai in view of Yun and Lee, and further in view of Acampora et al., US 8142047 B2.
Regarding claim 8, Cai in view of Yun and Lee discloses the invention of claim 1, as cited above, except “the main body comprises a gasket channel that is routed along the outer perimeter.”
Acampora discloses a lighting device with an outer shell with a gasket channel that is routed along the outer perimeter (36, 38, 58, Fig. 3-4).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, to include a gasket and gasket channel, such as taught by Acampora, to the main body, as taught by Cai. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to include a gasket with gasket channel for sealing the device, preventing water from getting inside (Acampora, col. 3, ln. 45-56).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lin, US 2014/0191648 A1 discloses a light device with an outer shell and a protective coating on both inner and outer surfaces (¶ [0084]).
/MICHAEL CHIANG/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/TRACIE Y GREEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875