DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
The reply and amendments made to the claims in response to the election requirement dated 2 August 2026 featured a mistake that has since been clarified. Examiner spoke with attorney James Sheridan on 17 August 2026 to clarify the election of Species I, claims 2-5 and 9, despite what the response filed 2 August 2026 states.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, claims 2-5 and 9 via the telephonic discussion on 17 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12, 10, and 20-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2 August 2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “top surface”, “bottom surface”, “thickness”, of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2015/0057751 A1), “Kim”.
Regarding claim 9, Kim teaches
A packaged allograft implant configured for implantation in a human recipient (acellular dermal graft used for skin tissues on the human body (abstract, [0005])), the packaged allograft implant comprising:
an acellular dermal matrix sheet Fig. 1, multi-slit-treated graft [0057]) having a top surface (upper surface of graft [0124]) and
a bottom surface in opposition to one another (bottom surface of graft [0124]),
a perimeter surrounding the top surface and the bottom surface (edges of the graft [0058] implies a perimeter), and
a thickness extending between the top surface and the bottom surface (lateral side of graft [0127] implies a thickness to the graft); and
a mesh pattern extending across at least a portion of the top surface and the bottom surface of the acellular dermal matrix sheet (Fig. 8, graft comprises a multi-slit pattern across entire graft),
the mesh pattern providing through-holes extending between the top surface and the bottom surface of the acellular dermal matrix sheet (Fig. 8, graft comprises slits formed therethrough (i.e., through upper and lower surfaces)), and
the mesh pattern having a plurality of mesh lines extending in a first direction and a second direction (Fig. 4, multi-slit pattern includes slits in various directions [0058]),
wherein the first direction and the second direction are orthogonal to one another so as to allow a given amount of stretch in each of the first direction and the second direction (Fig. 4, multi-slit pattern includes slits in a transverse direction to each other [0058]),
wherein the mesh pattern is a multiple quadrant pattern (Modified Fig. 4, graft comprises four quadrants cut similar to the fourth panel of Fig. 9) with parallel mesh lines in opposing quadrants (Modified Fig. 4, quadrants pointing toward each other comprise parallel slit patterns) and
perpendicular mesh lines in neighboring quadrants (Modified Fig. 4, quadrants sharing sides comprise perpendicular slit patterns), and
the multiple quadrant pattern contained in a circular shaped perimeter with the mesh lines (multi-puncture patterns may be formed in a circular shape [0061]).
Modified Figure 4
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches
wherein the mesh lines have a length of 1.0mm to 3.48mm (Fig. 5, multi-slit pattern comprises slits having a 3-5mm longitudinal direction [0058]).
Regarding claim 3, Kim teaches
wherein the mesh lines have a length of 3.48mm (Fig. 5, multi-slit pattern comprises slits having a 3-5mm longitudinal direction [0058]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2015/0057751 A1), “Kim”.
Regrading claim 4, Kim teaches wherein the mesh lines have a spacing apart from one another of 1.0mm to 1.5mm (Fig. 5, multi-slit pattern comprises slits having gaps between that range from 2-5mm [0058]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spacing apart from one another between 1-1.5mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05-II-A.
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches wherein the mesh lines have a spacing apart from one another of 1.5mm (Fig. 5, multi-slit pattern comprises slits having gaps between that range from 2-5mm [0058]). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include spacing apart from one another of 1.5mm, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable value involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05-II-A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2011/0251602 A1.
/G.G.R./Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/JERRAH EDWARDS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3774