DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 28-30, 34-36, 39-45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ji et al. (“Ji”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0249969).
Regarding claim 28, Ji discloses an optical switch comprising: a plurality of reconfigurable add/drop multiplexers (ROADMs) (fig. 3, elements 12, 14, 16 and paragraph 0030), each comprising a plurality of optical line ports (fig. 3 outside lines coupled to 12, 14 and 16) and a plurality of add/drop ports (fig. 3, inside lines coupled to 12, 14 and 16); and a connection apparatus connecting, for each ROADM, each add/drop port of the ROADM to a port of each of a respective one or more other ROADMs (fig. 3 the matrix of interconnecting lines between 12, 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 29, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28, wherein the ROADMs are configurable such that an optical signal provided to an optical line port of a ROADM is provided to one of the optical line ports of a selected one of the respective one or more other ROADMs (fig. 3, line signal provided to, e.g., element 18 is then split and selectably provided to the other ROADMS lines ports via WSS).
Regarding claim 30, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28, wherein the connection apparatus connects, for one or more of the ROADMs, each add/drop port of the ROADM to an add/drop port of each of a plurality of other ROADMs (fig. 3, the matrix of interconnecting lines between 12, 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 34, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28 wherein the connection apparatus connects, for each ROADM, each add/drop port of the ROADM to a port on each other ROADM (fig. 3, the matrix of interconnecting lines between 12, 14 and 16).
Regarding claim 35, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 34, wherein the ROADMs are configurable such that a first signal provided to an optical line port of a ROADM is provided to one of the optical line ports of a selected one of the other ROADMs (fig. 3, line signal provided to, e.g., element 18 is then split and selectably provided to the other ROADMS lines ports via WSS).
Regarding claim 36, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28, wherein the connection apparatus is a passive optical network (fig. 3, the matrix of interconnecting lines between 12, 14 and 16 consists of passive waveguides).
Regarding claim 39, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28, wherein at least one of the add/drop ports of at least one of the ROADMs is connected to a local termination node (figs. 3 and 4 element 100 and paragraphs 0030 and 0035).
Regarding claim 40, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 39, wherein the ROADMs are configurable such that an optical signal provided to an optical line port of a selected one of the ROADMs is provided to the local termination node, and/or an optical signal from the local termination node is provided to an optical line port of a selected one of the ROADMs (figs. 3 and 4 element 100 and paragraphs 0030 and 0035).
Regarding claim 41, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28, wherein each add/drop port of each of the ROADMs is associated with a respective optical wavelength or range of optical wavelengths (fig. 3 and paragraph 0030 in light of paragraphs 0006 and 0019-0021, the WDM signals inherently have a range of wavelengths).
Regarding claim 42, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 41, wherein the ROADMs are configurable to select the respective optical wavelength or range of optical wavelengths associated with at least one add/drop port of at least one of the ROADMs (fig. 3 and paragraph 0030, each WSS performs wavelength selection).
Regarding claim 43, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 41, wherein the ROADMs are configurable such that the add/drop port associated with a first optical wavelength or range of optical wavelengths of at least one of the ROADMs is connected to the add/drop port associated with the first optical wavelength or range of optical wavelengths of at least one other ROADM (fig. 3 and paragraph 0030 in light of paragraphs 0006 and 0019-0021, the matrix of interconnecting lines between 12, 14 and 16 convey the wavelengths and WDM wavelength range of the WDM wavelengths of the system).
Regarding claim 44, Ji discloses a method of configuring an optical switch having a plurality of reconfigurable add/drop multiplexers (ROADMs) (fig. 3, elements 12, 14, 16 and paragraph 0030), each comprising a plurality of optical line ports (fig. 3 outside lines coupled to 12, 14 and 16) and a plurality of add/drop ports (fig. 3, inside lines coupled to 12, 14 and 16), and further having a connection apparatus connecting, for each ROADM, each add/drop port of the ROADM to a port of each of a respective one or more other ROADMs (fig. 3 the matrix of interconnecting lines between 12, 14 and 16), and wherein the method comprises: configuring the ROADMs such that an optical signal provided to an optical line port of a ROADM is provided to one of the optical line ports of a selected one of the respective one or more other ROADMs (fig. 3, line signal provided to, e.g., element 18 is then split and selectably provided to the other ROADMS lines ports via WSS); and/or configuring the ROADMs such that an optical signal provided to an optical line port of a selected one of the ROADMs is provided to a local termination node connected to an add/drop port of one of the ROADMs, and/or an optical signal from the local termination node is provided to an optical line port of a selected one of the ROADMs (figs. 3 and 4 element 100 and paragraphs 0030 and 0035).
Regarding claim 45, Ji discloses the method of claim 44, comprising connecting, using the connection apparatus, for one or more of the ROADMs, each add/drop port of the ROADM to an add/drop port of each of a plurality of other ROADMs (fig. 3, the matrix of interconnecting lines between 12, 14 and 16).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 31-33, 46, 47 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0249969) in view of Wisseman (US Patent Application Publication No. 2013/0108267).
Regarding claim 31, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 30, and discloses the ROADMs with splitters (fig. 3), but does not further disclose the connection apparatus comprising at least one optical splitter connecting, for each of the one or more of the ROADMs, each add/drop port of the ROADM to an add/drop port of each of the plurality of other ROADMs. Wisseman discloses related multi-degree interconnected ROADMs that each have a splitter and WSS, like Ji, and also discloses an intermediary connection apparatus with splitters and WSS (fig. 2 and 214 and paragraphs 0023 and 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an intermediary connection apparatus like that Wisseman, between the ROADMs of Ji, to provide the benefit of increased interconnection configurability that allows flexible growth of the capacity of a ROADM node, as taught by Wisseman.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Ji and Wisseman discloses the optical switch of claim 31, wherein the optical splitters connect together, for each of the one or more of the ROADMs, each add/drop port of the ROADM and the add/drop port of each of the plurality of other ROADMs (Ji: fig. 3 and Wisseman: fig. 2 element 214 and paragraphs 0023 and 0028 as applicable for the combination, accounting for each interconnection of Ji, provided by the reconfigurability of the intermediary apparatus per the modification based on Wisseman).
Regarding claim 33, the combination of Ji and Wisseman discloses the optical switch of claim 31, wherein the optical splitters connect together, for each ROADM, each of one or more add/drop ports of the ROADM and an add/drop port on each other ROADM (Ji: fig. 3 and Wisseman: fig. 2 element 214 and paragraphs 0023 and 0028 as applicable for the combination, accounting for each interconnection of Ji, provided by the reconfigurability of the intermediary apparatus per the modification based on Wisseman).
Regarding claim 46, Ji discloses the method of claim 45, and discloses the ROADMs with splitters (fig. 3), but does not further disclose that the connection apparatus comprises at least one optical splitter connecting, for each of the one or more of the ROADMs, each add/drop port of the ROADM to an add/drop port of each of the plurality of other ROADMs. Wisseman discloses related multi-degree interconnected ROADMs that each have a splitter and WSS, like Ji, and also discloses an intermediary connection apparatus with splitters and WSS (fig. 2 and 214 and paragraphs 0023 and 0028). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an intermediary connection apparatus like that Wisseman, between the ROADMs of Ji, to provide the benefit of increased interconnection configurability that allows flexible growth of the capacity of a ROADM node, as taught by Wisseman.
Regarding claim 47, the combination of Ji and Wisseman discloses the method of claim 46, wherein the optical splitters connect together, for each of the one or more of the ROADMs, each add/drop port of the ROADM and the add/drop port of each of the plurality of other ROADMs (Ji: fig. 3 and Wisseman: fig. 2 element 214 and paragraphs 0023 and 0028 as applicable for the combination, accounting for each interconnection of Ji, provided by the reconfigurability of the intermediary apparatus per the modification based on Wisseman).
Claims 37, 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ji (US Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0249969) in view of Yang et al. (“Yang”) (US Patent Application Publication No. 2012/0237218).
Regarding claim 37, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28, but does not disclose that the optical line ports of at least one of the ROADMs are connected to a ring optical network. However, this is merely putting the ROADM(s) in the context of conventional network topology. Yang discloses using ROADMs for ring networks (paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a ring network topology with the ROADMs of Ji, since ROADM based ring networks address unpredictable internet traffic requirements, as taught by Yang.
Regarding claim 38, Ji discloses the optical switch of claim 28, but does not disclose that at least one of the optical line ports of at least one of the ROADMs is connected to a meshed optical network. However, this is merely putting the ROADM(s) in the context of conventional network topology. Yang discloses using ROADMs for mesh networks (paragraph 0002). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a mesh network topology with the ROADMs of Ji, since ROADM based ring networks address unpredictable internet traffic requirements, as taught by Yang.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Related ROADM systems – US Patent Application Publication Nos. 2018/0139005, 2017/0244510, 2014/0147121, 2013/0045006.
/NATHAN M CORS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2634