DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-5 and 11 are presented for examination. Claims 6-10 are canceled in the preliminary amendment.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 12/20/2024 and 5/21/2026 are considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yuan et al (Yuan), US 2025/0063632.
As per claim 1, Yuan teaches the invention including a user equipment (pp. 0061), comprising:
A processor (pp. 0061); and
A memory in electronic communication with the processor (pp. 0064), wherein instructions stored in the memory are executable to:
When a first Time Alignment Timer (TA timer) associated with a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) expires (pp. 0050, 0091),
In a case the UE determines a serving cell is configured with the first and a second TAGs, and a second TA timer associated with the second TAG is not running, or
In a case the UE determines the serving cell is configured with only the first TAG, for the serving cell (pp. 0091), a first group of actions including
flushing all Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) buffers (pp. 0091);
notifying Radio Resource Control (RRC) to release configured Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (pp. 0091);
notify RRC to release configured Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (pp. 0091);
In a case the UE determines the serving cell is configured with the first and the second TAG, and the second TA timer associated with the second TAG is running (pp. 0096), for the serving cell, perform a second group of actions including
Clearing configured downlink assignment with the first TAG (pp. 0099-0100);
Clearing configured uplink grant associated with the first TAG (pp. 0099-100).
As per claim 3, Yuan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Yuan further teaches the first group of actions also include clearing any configured downlink assignment and configured uplink grant (pp. 0091); clearing any Physical Uplink Shared Channel (PUSCH) resource for semi-persistent Channel-State Information (CSI) reporting (pp. 0091); maintaining Timing advance between downlink and uplink (NTA) of the first TAG (pp. 0091).
As per claim 4, Yuan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Yuan further teaches the second group of actions also includes clear PUSCH resource for semi-persistent CSI reporting associated with the first TAG (pp. 0099-0100); maintaining Timing advance between downlink and uplink (NTA) of the first TA (pp. 0099-0100).
As per claim 11, Yuan teaches the invention including a method executed by a user equipment comprising the following steps:
When a first Time Alignment Timer (TA timer) associated with a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) expires (pp. 0050, 0091),
In a case the UE determines a serving cell is configured with the first and a second TAGs, and a second TA timer associated with the second TAG is not running, or
In a case the UE determines the serving cell is configured with only the first TAG, for the serving cell (pp. 0091), a first group of actions including
flushing all Hybrid Automatic Repeat Request (HARQ) buffers (pp. 0091);
notifying Radio Resource Control (RRC) to release configured Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) (pp. 0091);
notify RRC to release configured Sounding Reference Signal (SRS) (pp. 0091);
and
In a case the UE determines the serving cell is configured with the first and the second TAG, and the second TA timer associated with the second TAG is running (pp. 0096), for the serving cell, perform a second group of actions including
Clearing configured downlink assignment with the first TAG (pp. 0099-0100);
Clearing configured uplink grant associated with the first TAG (pp. 0099-100).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yuan et al (Yuan), US 2025/0063632, in view of Dinan, US 2017/006640.
As per claim 2, Yuan teaches the invention as claimed in claim 1. Yuan does not further teach wherein
When a first Time Alignment Timer (TA timer) associated with a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) expires,
In a case the UE determines a Special Cell (Spcell) is configured with more than one PTAGs, and a second TA timer associated with the second PTAG is not running, or
In a case the UE determines the Spcell is not configured with more than one PTAGs,
Perform a third group of actions including
Considering all running time Alignment Timers as expired;
Maintaining Timing advance between downlink and uplink (NTA) of all Tags.
Dinan teaches when a first Time Alignment Timer (TA timer) associated with a first Timing Advance Group (TAG) expires (pp. 0107, 0122, 0217),
In a case the UE determines a Special Cell (Spcell) is configured with more than one PTAGs, and a second TA timer associated with the second PTAG is not running, or
In a case the UE determines the Spcell is not configured with more than one PTAGs (pp. 0119-0120, 0202, 0217),
Perform a third group of actions including
Considering all running time Alignment Timers as expired (pp. 0122, 0217);
Maintaining Timing advance between downlink and uplink (NTA) of all Tags (pp. 0218, 0263: A MAC entity stores or maintains NTA upon expiry of associated timeAlignmentTimer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to combine the teaching of Yuan and Dinan and further support various TAG configurations to group the TAGs to include PTAG and STAGs with their associated time Alignment Timers (Dinan, pp. 0120; figure 8).
As per claim 5, Yuan and Dinan teach the invention as claimed in claim 2. Dinan further teaches the third group of actions also includes: Flushing all HARQ buffers for all Serving Cells (pp. 0122, 0217); Notifying RRC to release configured PUCCH for all Serving Cells (pp. 0122, 0217); Notifying RRC to release configured SRS for all Serving Cells (pp. 0122, 0217); Clearing any configured downlink assignments and configured uplink grants (pp. 0122, 0217). Yuan further teaches the action to also include clearing a PUSCH resource for semi-persistent CSI reporting (pp. 0091, 0099-0100).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Yuan et al, US 2025/184927
Da Silva et al, US 2024/0023045
Abedini et al, US 2020/0084819
Park et al, US 2019/0053183
Jeong, US 2018/0332644
Kim et al, US 2015/0078286
KENNY S. LIN
Examiner
Art Unit 2416
/Kenny S Lin/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416
September 29, 2026