DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-10, 14, 16, 19, 21, 24, 26, 28, 30, 33, and 40-43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (KR 20130022616 as provided for by applicant) in view of Youngwood et al. (2017/0129135). Hu teaches a process for producing a compact alumina body ([0001]), comprising forming a mixture consisting of a solvent and micro-sized high-purity alumina ([0020]), molding and compressing the mixture, and baking the compressed body ([0019]). Hu specifies the alumina have a particle size distribution of about 0.1-3 µm ([0030]), which overlaps with the claimed range of 1 µm -5 µm, and the solvent is water ([0037]) and is added in the amount of up to about 15 wt.% ([0033], [0039]), which overlaps with the claimed range of about 5% and about 25% by weight based on the total slurry weight. Hu further teaches the compacted alumina green body can have a bulk density of up to 2.4 g/cm3 (tables 2 and 3). Hu teaches mixing the alumina particles with water, and molding the mixture. Although a slurry is specified, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have interpreted the mixture as a slurry, especially since the mixture is alumina particles suspended in water. Hu teaches baking the compacted mixture ([0019]), but doesn’t specify drying the slurry to obtain a compacted alumina green body. Like Hu, Youngwood also teaches a method for producing a compacted alumina body, comprising mixing alumina particles ([0028]) with water to form a slurry ([0030]), pouring the slurry into a casting mold (“flowing” abstract, [0026], [0031]-[0032]), and drying the slurry to obtain a compacted alumina green body ([0032]-[0033]) having a bulk density of about 2.5 g/cm3 (see table 1, “green density”). Youngwood teaches the addition of dispersant and a polymer to the water and particles to provide for a slurry that can flow into and fill a mold at room temperature without having the need to heat and be force into the mold, like conventional ceramic slurries ([0025]-[0027]). Youngwood teaches the slurries are environmentally friendly and is more inexpensive to prepare ([0026]). Youngwood further teaches the slurry is not only flowable, but also has a high enough yield and viscosity to hold shape after a brief drying period, and provides for a high ceramic content in the alumina body ([0026]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have adapted the process steps of Youngwood, including forming the slurry having a dispersant and polymer, pouring the slurry into a casting mold, and drying the slurry to obtain a compacted alumina green body, in the process of Hu, wherein green bodies with a density of about 2.5 g/cm3 can be expected, as it provides for a flowable slurry with a high enough yield and viscosity to hold shape, and for an alumina body having a high ceramic content.
Regarding claim 2, Hu teaches the high-purity alumina is alpha alumina ([0030]-[0031]).
Regarding claim 3, Hu teaches providing for the alumina particles by dissolving aluminum hydroxide with an acid or caustic soda and precipitating alumina particles from the solution ([0021]-[0022], [0025], [0028]). Hu also the method is not limited to this. Youngwood teaches starting with alumina particle having a particle size of about 0.48mm, and grinding the particles into a powder using a ball mill before adding to the slurry ([0034]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have alternatively utilized already available high-purity alumina particles (i.e. purchased), as suggested by Youngwood, since it is available and saves from the hassle of making the particles. Since Hu teaches particles having a size distribution of about 0.1-3 µm is desirable, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have further adapted the step of grinding of the purchased alumina particles in order to obtain micron-sized particles having the desired size of Hu.
Regarding claim 5, Hu teaches the solvent is in an amount of about 15 wt.% based on the total weight of the slurry ([0042]).
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Hu teaches the solvent is water ([0037]).
Regarding claims 9-10, Youngwood further teaches vibrating the casting mold for a settlement period to allow settlement of the particles before drying the slurry ([0036]). Youngwood teaches this helps remove bubbles in the slurry and prevent forming closed pores in the alumina body ([0031], [0036]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have adapted the step of vibrating the casting mold for a settlement period in the method of Hu so as to prevent forming pores in the alumina body, as taught by Youngwood.
Regarding claim 14, Youngwood further teaches drying is conducted in an oven ([0033]).
Regarding claim 16, since the solvent is water, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have used a drying temperature close to or above the boiling point of water, i.e. about 100°F or 37.8°C, so as to remove the water from the green body.
Regarding claim 19, Youngwood teaches drying at ambient conditions for 1 hour ([0036]).
Regarding claims 21, 24, 26, 28, and 33 Youngwood further teaches removing the compacted alumina green body from the casting mold for sintering ([0032]-[0033]). Hu further teaches thermally treating the green body at a temperature of 1200°C or above, which falls within the claimed range of about 250°C to about 1200°C, for a time period in the range of 2-24 hours, to sinter the green body and provide for a single unitary compacted alumina piece ([0055]).
Regarding claim 30, Hu further teaches the sintering can take place at higher temperatures, such as 1300°C-1900°C, for 2-24 hours ([0055]).
Regarding claims 40 and 41, Hu teaches the single unitary compacted alumina piece has a bulk density of 3.3 g/cm3-3.5 g/cm3 (line 2 in table 1), which overlaps with the claimed range of 3.1 g/cm3-3.6 g/cm3 and the claimed range of 3.2 g/cm3-3.5 g/cm3.
Regarding claim 42, Youngwood teaches a casting method that does not required compaction. Youngwood teaches adding a dispersant and polymer to the slurry to obtain a rheology that allows for the slurry to be flowable ([0026]), such that the slurry is evenly flowed and distributed throughout the mold ([0031]), without the need for compaction, while still achieving the claimed green body densities of about 2.5 g/cm3 (table 1). Hu teaches a method requiring compaction. Hu recognizes concerns with compaction, such as too high of a compaction force results in leakage and potential contamination of the alumina body from the compaction ([0050]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have alternatively provided for slurry that can be cast molded without the need of compaction, such as one taught by Youngwood, so as to prevent leakage and potential contamination of the alumina body.
Regarding claim 43, Hu teaches the slurry is free of binder ([0001]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (KR 20130022616 as provided for by applicant) and Youngwood et al. (2017/0129135) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Creber et al. (5,340,655). Youngwood teaches performing the vibration for the duration of the filling process, but is silent on the duration of the vibration. Creber teaches a method for forming a ceramic body comprising preparing a slurry with ceramic particles and pouring the slurry into a casting mold, such as alumina particles (col. 21 lines 22-30). Creber also teaches in another example of preparing a slurry and filling a casting mold with the slurry, the further step of vibrating the mold and its contents for 2 hours (col. 40 lines 63-67). Accordingly, absent any criticality to the settlement period, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have tried vibrating the casting mold and its content of Hu and Youngwood for a duration of about 2 hours, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 35 and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu (KR 20130022616 as provided for by applicant) and Youngwood et al. (2017/0129135) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cattaneo (2018/0312443). Regarding claim 35, Hu exemplifies a rubber casting mold ([0053]), but is silent on other materials for the mold. Cattaneo also teaches a method for producing a refractory body with alumina, comprising providing a slurry with alumina particles, pouring the slurry into a casting mold, drying the green body, and heat treating to densify the green body ([0009], [0069]). Cattaneo further teaches suitable molds include silicone molds ([0124]), as it provides for easier demolding of the green body, especially when the green body has a complex shape ([0142]). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized a casting mold such as a silicone mold, as Cattaneo teaches it is suitable for casting ceramic slurries and allows for easy demolding of the green body.
Regarding claim 38, Cattaneo further teaches producing refractory bodies having very complex shapes ([0004], [0143]), and exemplifies ones having a dimension of 120mm, which can be considered a thickness ([0161]), that can be utilized in arc-chutes ([0145]). Since the shape and size of refractory bodies are a matter of design choice to fit the use of the refractory body, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to have utilized a casting mold having a thickness of about 120 mm, so as to produce the refractory body having a thickness of about 120mm, as Cattaneo teaches a need for such sized refractory bodies.
Conclusion
/QUEENIE S DEHGHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1741