DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, 7, 10-11, & 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Harada et al (U.S. PGPub # 2016/019998).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Harada teaches:
A position detection system comprising:
a primary encoder (Fig. 2 Element 31. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) for detecting a position of a motor shaft (Fig. 2 Elements 21 & 43. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) of a motor (Fig. 2 Element 14. See paragraphs 0035-0036.), and
a secondary encoder (Fig. 2 Element 32. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) for detecting a position of an output shaft (Fig. 2 Element 44. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) of a speed reducer (Fig. 2 Element 41. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) coupled to the motor (Fig. 2 Element 14. See paragraphs 0035-0036.), and further comprising:
an encoder power source for energizing and operating (Fig. 2 Element 58. See paragraphs 0043-0044.) at least one of the primary encoder (Fig. 2 Element 31. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) and the secondary encoder in a predetermined situation.
Regarding claim 4, Harada teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Harada teaches the predetermined situation is a situation in which the output shaft is moving due to inertia after power supply to the motor is stopped (See paragraphs 0039, 0046, 0051, & 0075 wherein coasting is moving with inertia.).
Regarding claim 5, Harada teaches all elements of claim 4, upon which this claim depends.
Harada teaches the encoder power source is a capacitor or a backup battery (See paragraphs 0074 & 0077 wherein a battery is disclosed.).
Regarding Independent claim 7, Harada teaches:
An actuator, comprising:
a motor (Fig. 2 Element 14. See paragraphs 0035-0036.),
a speed reducer coupled to the motor (Fig. 2 Element 41. See paragraphs 0035-0036.),
a primary encoder for detecting a position (Fig. 2 Element 31. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) of a motor shaft (Fig. 2 Elements 21 & 43. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) of the motor (Fig. 2 Element 14. See paragraphs 0035-0036.), and
a secondary encoder for detecting a position (Fig. 2 Element 32. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) of an output shaft (Fig. 2 Element 44. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) of the speed reducer (Fig. 2 Element 41. See paragraphs 0035-0036.), and further comprising:
an encoder power source (Fig. 2 Element 58. See paragraphs 0043-0044.) for energizing and operating (Fig. 2 Element 58. See paragraphs 0043-0044.) at least one of the primary encoder (Fig. 2 Element 31. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) and the secondary encoder in a predetermined situation.
Regarding claim 10, Harada teaches all elements of claim 7, upon which this claim depends.
Harada teaches the predetermined situation is a situation in which the output shaft is moving due to inertia after power supply to the motor is stopped (See paragraphs 0039, 0046, 0051, & 0075 wherein coasting is moving with inertia.).
Regarding claim 11, Harada teaches all elements of claim 10, upon which this claim depends.
Harada teaches the encoder power source is a capacitor or a backup battery (See paragraphs 0074 & 0077 wherein a battery is disclosed.).
Regarding Independent claim 13, Harada teaches:
A position detection method for a position detection system comprising a primary encoder for detecting a position of a motor shaft of a motor and a secondary encoder for detecting a position of an output shaft of a speed reducer coupled to the motor, the method comprising the steps of:
in response to a stop command for the machine, stopping power supply to the motor, whereby the rotor of the motor moves by inertia (Paragraphs 0009, 0046, 0051, & 0075 wherein coasting is moving with inertia.),
by means of an encoder power source (Fig. 2 Element 58. See paragraphs 0043-0044.), energizing and operating at least one of the primary encoder (Fig. 2 Element 31. See paragraphs 0035-0036.) and the secondary encoder, and
storing the position of at least one of the primary encoder (Fig. 2 Element 51. See paragraphs 0040 & 0043-0044.) and the secondary encoder when the output shaft stops (Fig. 2 Element 52. See paragraphs 0040 & 0043-0044.).
Regarding claim 14, Harada teaches all elements of claim 13, upon which this claim depends.
Harada teaches the encoder power source is a capacitor or a backup battery (See paragraphs 0074 & 0077 wherein a battery is disclosed.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 & 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al (U.S. PGPub # 2016/019998).
Regarding claim 6, Harada teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Harada does not explicitly teach the encoder power source is configured to energize only the secondary encoder.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the encoder power source be configured to energize only the secondary encoder because it would make little to no difference in the actually functioning of the machine and because the labeling of first and second encoder is arbitrary. Having the encoder power source be configured to energize only the secondary encoder could also imply that each encoder has its own power source which would be even be more useful. One could simply choose to connect a battery to element 31 or 32 or both with little to no effort.
Regarding claim 12, Harada teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Harada does not explicitly teach the encoder power source is configured to energize only the secondary encoder.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the encoder power source be configured to energize only the secondary encoder because it would make little to no difference in the actually functioning of the machine and because the labeling of first and second encoder is arbitrary. Having the encoder power source be configured to energize only the secondary encoder could also imply that each encoder has its own power source which would be even be more useful. One could simply choose to connect a battery to element 31 or 32 or both with little to no effort.
Claims 2-3 & 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harada et al (U.S. PGPub # 2016/019998) in view of Schwaiger et al (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0124415).
Regarding claim 2, Harada teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Harada teaches the predetermined situation is a situation in which the machine is stopped (See paragraphs 0039, 0046, 0051, & 0075 wherein coasting after the motion command to stop has been issued.)
Harada does not explicitly teach a situation in which a brake mechanism for stopping at least one of the motor shaft of the motor and the output shaft of the speed reducer is released.
Schwaiger teaches a situation in which a brake mechanism for stopping at least one of the motor shaft of the motor and the output shaft of the speed reducer is released (Paragraphs 0005 & 0053 wherein a rotational system with brakes and a time when the brakes are released is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Schwaiger to the teachings of Harada such that there would exist a situation in which a brake mechanism for stopping at least one of the motor shaft of the motor and the output shaft of the speed reducer is released because brakes are ubiquitously used to stop rotating elements and because they eventually need to be released if motion is to restart.
Regarding claim 3, Harada & Schwaiger teach all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Harada & Schwaiger do not explicitly teach the encoder power source is a controller for controlling the machine.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the encoder power source be a controller for controlling the machine because the source of power to the encoder is not nearly as important as its reliability and ease of manufacture. If the controller can provide reliable power efficiently and easily, then one of ordinary skill in the art would use it. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Regarding claim 8, Harada teaches all elements of claim 7, upon which this claim depends.
Harada teaches the predetermined situation is a situation in which the machine is stopped (See paragraphs 0039, 0046, 0051, & 0075 wherein coasting after the motion command to stop has been issued.)
Harada does not explicitly teach a situation in which a brake mechanism for stopping at least one of the motor shaft of the motor and the output shaft of the speed reducer is released.
Schwaiger teaches a situation in which a brake mechanism for stopping at least one of the motor shaft of the motor and the output shaft of the speed reducer is released (Paragraphs 0005 & 0053 wherein a rotational system with brakes and a time when the brakes are released is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Schwaiger to the teachings of Harada such that there would exist a situation in which a brake mechanism for stopping at least one of the motor shaft of the motor and the output shaft of the speed reducer is released because brakes are ubiquitously used to stop rotating elements and because they eventually need to be released if motion is to restart.
Regarding claim 9, Harada & Schwaiger teach all elements of claim 8, upon which this claim depends.
Harada & Schwaiger do not explicitly teach the encoder power source is a controller for controlling the machine.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have the encoder power source be a controller for controlling the machine because the source of power to the encoder is not nearly as important as its reliability and ease of manufacture. If the controller can provide reliable power efficiently and easily, then one of ordinary skill in the art would use it. See MPEP Section 2144.05 II A.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858