DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1–7, 10–11, 18–21, 25–30 and 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is indefinite because of the limitation of “wherein the filter body and the sensor are configured and arranged with respect to one another in such a way that, in the case of an air flow through the filter module, the value of the analysis parameter which is measured with the sensor corresponds to more than 90% to the value of the analysis parameter which is averaged over the entire air flow, wherein the filter body is configured in such a way that a pressure drop over the filter body is less than 2500 Pascal in the case of an air volume per square meter of filter area and hour of less than 600 m31(m2xh) and a velocity of the volume flow is in the range of 0.1 m/s to 5 m/s”. It is unclear what is the corresponding structure responsible for this claimed limitation. The limitation of “the sensor” lacks antecedent basis, because it is introduced as at least one sensor. The term “the sensor” is used in multiple dependent claims, please make sure to fix the issue through out the entire claim set.
Claims 2–7, 10–11, 18–21, 25–30 and 33 are indefinite because they depend on claim 1.
Claim 2 is indefinite because the term “the analysis parameters” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 10 is indefinite because the term “the analysis parameters” in claim 10 lacks antecedent basis.
Claim 11 is indefinite because the term “fine dust” is not defined in the instant Spec. And it is unclear what is the standard used to define fine dust. The limitation of “the outer air flow boundary” lacks antecedent basis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claims are rejected as follows:
Claims 1–3, 5–7, 10–11, 25, 30, 33 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann et al., US 2014/0283682 A1 (“Hamann”).
Regarding claim 1:
Hamann discloses a filter module (Hamann’s filter 302, Fig. 4, [0028]) for filtering air of at least a part of a building or of air of an exhaust air purification unit of a production process (Hamann [0003]), wherein the filter module comprises:
a filter body (Hamann’s filtering material 404, Hamann Fig. 4, [0031]) which filters the air which is flowing through from air accompanying substances (Hamann discloses as air with contaminants, Hamann Fig. 4, [0034]), and
at least one sensor with sensor electronics (Hamann’s sensor 304/306, Hamann Fig. 4, [0034]), which is configured for measuring a value of an analysis parameter for the analysis of at least one of the air accompanying substances and of the air quality of the air (Hamann discloses as corrosion sensors, differential pressure sensor, Hamann Fig. 4, [0029]),
wherein the filter body and the sensor are configured and arranged with respect to one another in such a way that, in the case of an air flow through the filter module, the value of the analysis parameter which is measured with the sensor corresponds to more than 90% to the value of the analysis parameter which is averaged over the entire air flow, wherein the filter body is configured in such a way that a pressure drop over the filter body is less than 2500 Pascal in the case of an air volume per square meter of filter area and hour of less than 600 m31(m2xh) and a velocity of the volume flow is in the range of 0.1 m/s to 5 m/s (describes a property rather than an actual structure of the claimed invention, and it is unclear what is the physical structure responsible for such property, since Hamann discloses all the structural limitation of claim 1, Hamann would necessarily meet such limitation; Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to have a sensor that could accurately sense an analysis parameter for an accurate understanding of the status of the filter).
Regarding claim 2:
Hamann discloses the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the sensor (304 of Hamann) is configured to measure an analysis parameter of at least one of a gas, a liquid and a solid as an air accompanying substance and an air constituent (Hamann discloses its sensor is for corrosion sensors for gaseous contamination monitoring and dust/particle sensors for particulate contamination, Hamann Fig. 4, [0029]), wherein the analysis parameter defines at least one of the chemical and physical properties of the air accompanying substance (corrosion or particulate contamination, Id.), with the result that at least one of an energy consumption, a savings potential, an air load and a C02 footprint can be determined taking into account the analysis parameters (Hamann discloses expected lifetime of the filter can be determined, Id.).
Regarding claim 3:
Hamann discloses the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is adapted to measure at least one analysis parameter relating to the temperature of the air, the humidity of the air, the flow rate of the air, the air quantity of the air through which air can flow, the dew point of the air, a proportion of an air accompanying substance in the air and an analysis parameter of the air accompanying substance (Hamann discloses its sensor is for corrosion sensors for gaseous contamination monitoring and dust/particle sensors for particulate contamination, Hamann Fig. 4, [0029]).
Regarding claim 5:
Hamann discloses the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the filter module is exchangeably arrangeable in a filter system, wherein the filter module comprises an information element which emits a signal regarding the due time of an exchange of the filter module (Hamann disclose its filter is replaceable and its sensor could provide current status and lifetime of its filter, Hamann [0028] and [0030]).
Regarding claim 6:
Hamann discloses the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the sensor is arranged on an exhaust air side of the filter body (Hamann’s sensor 306 is on the exhaust air side, Hamann Fig. 3, [0028]).
Regarding claim 7:
Hamann discloses the filter module according to claim 1, comprising at least one of the following features: i) wherein the sensor can be operated discontinuously; ii) further comprising at least one further sensor with sensor electronics, which is configured for measuring a value of an analysis parameter for the analysis of at least one of the air accompanying substances and the air quality of the air (Hamann discloses at least two sensors, 304 and 306, Hamann Fig. 3, [0028]); iii) wherein the sensor comprises a movable component.
Regarding claim 10:
Hamann discloses the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the sensor electronics are adapted to store the measured analysis parameters (Hamann’s sensor is connected to filter monitor 308 to store data, filter monitor is part of Hamann’s sensor electronics, Hamann Fig. 3, [0030]).
Regarding claim 11:
Hamann discloses the filter module according to claim 1, comprising at least one of the following features:
i) wherein the sensor is placed more than 0.5 cm from the outer air flow boundary of the filter body;
ii) wherein the sensor is configured to measure analysis parameters which determine at least one of an energy consumption and a C02 footprint of at least one of the filter module and the filter system;
iii) wherein the sensor is configured to measure analysis parameters for the analysis of fine dust (Hamann discloses dust/particle sensors, Hamann [0029]);
iv) at least one of wherein the sensor is a dynamic pressure gauge, and
wherein the sensor comprises a microphone which is configured to detect the noise level in a room such that the number and intensity of speech-active persons in the room can be determined by means of measurement and evaluation of the noise level in the room;
v) further comprising a signal transmission unit which is configured for wireless or wired transmission of signals, wherein at least one of a warning signal can be generated on the basis of these data by means of a control unit and a measure can be taken;
vi) further comprising a receiving device which is configured for receiving a unique ID, wherein the unique ID comprises information regarding the location of use of the filter module, at least one of wherein the receiving device is configured for reading the unique ID from a QR code, a barcode, an OCR font or an RFID tag, and wherein the receiving device is configured for receiving the unique ID via NFC, Bluetooth, WLAN, proprietary protocols or protocols of building control systems, wherein at least one of the operation and the configuration of the filter module is adjustable based on the unique ID;
vii) wherein the filter body comprises a pocket filter or a hose filter.
Regarding claim 25:
Modified Hamann discloses a filter system (as shown in Hamann Fig. 3), comprising:
a control unit (Hamann discloses as control module 402, Hamann Fig. 4, [0031]), and
at least one filter module according to claim 1 (302 of Hamann as mapped in claim 1),
wherein the at least one filter module is coupled to the control unit for the exchange of analysis data relating to the analysis of at least one of the air accompanying substances and of the air quality of the air (Hamann [0031]).
Regarding claim 30:
Modified Hamann discloses the filter system according to claim 25, comprising at least one of the following features:
i) further comprising a receiving device which comprises receiving regions (region pointed by label 302 on Hamann’s duct 310, Hamann Fig. 3, [0030]) for receiving the filter module;
wherein at least one of the receiving regions is configured to receive a filter module or a functional unit;
ii) further comprising a storage module for storing data,
wherein the data are indicative of the values of the analysis parameters, wherein the storage module is configured such that the storage module is couplable to a reading device outside the filter system for reading the data;
iii) further comprising a covering device which is configured to selectively cover an air inlet on a supply air side of the filter system.
Regarding claim 33:
Hamann discloses a method for filtering air of at least a part of a building or of air of an exhaust air purification unit of a production process with a replaceable filter module according to claim 1 (Hamann’s method of using its filter in data centers, Hamann [0003]).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann in view of Meis et al., US 2020/0256578 A1 (“Meis”).
Regarding claim 4:
Hamann does not disclose the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the filter material of the filter body comprises a fleece, wherein the fleece is configured with one layer or with multiple layers.
In the analogous art of air filters with sensors, Meis discloses the filter media may be a multilayer media that comprises at least one layer that includes an electret material, and at least one layer that includes a sorbent material. In some embodiments filter media 107 may comprise at least one layer capable of HEPA filtration. Electrostatically charged media may enhance particulate capture, Meis Fig. 1, [0057]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for Hamann’s filter material to be the same as disclosed by Meis because such filtration material are known in the art to be suitable for air filtration. Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to use multiple layer filtration media as disclosed by Meis for the benefits of a diversity of filtration functions and enhanced filtration area and capacity.
Claims 18–21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann in view of Hossain et al., US 2018/0237967 A1 (“Hossain”).
Regarding claim 18:
Hamann does not disclose the filter module according to claim 1, wherein the filter body comprises at least two fleece layers and a filter membrane arranged between the fleece layers, which are arranged in a layered manner one above the other in a layer composite.
In the analogous art of air filters, Hossain discloses an air filter (Hossain’s protective vent 10, Hossain Fig. 2, [0090]) comprises at least two fleece layers (Hossain’s carrier layer 11, Hossain Fig. 2, [0090], the carrier layer 11 is a nonwoven fabric, which read on the claimed “fleece layer”, Hossain [0020]) and a filter membrane (Hossain’s membrane 12, Hossain Fig. 2, [0090]) arranged between the fleece layers (11 of Hossain), which are arranged in a layered manner one above the other in a layer composite (Hossain’s protective vent 10 is shown as a layer composite). Hossain discloses its invention provides a high degree of protection against water, perspiration, grease, pathogens, allergens, oils, dust and dirt individually or in combination with low air resistance, Hossain [0017]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use Hossain’s protective vent 10 in Hamann for the benefits disclosed.
Regarding claim 19:
Modified Hamann does not explicitly disclose the filter module according to claim 18, wherein a first direction and a second direction span a plane, wherein the middle filter membrane is corrugated with corrugation portions such that the corrugation portions are arranged one behind the other along a first direction, wherein the corrugation portions run irregularly and asymmetrically with respect to one another, and
wherein the filter body is arranged such that air can flow over the filter body along the first direction or along the second direction.
However, Hossain discloses its membrane layer is produced by electrospinning methods, which includes network-linked, three dimensionally cross-linked nest-like or grid like structure with high specific surface area, Hossain [0020]. It would therefore have bene obvious that Hossain’s membrane has corrugation portions (since is has a three dimensionally cross-linked nest-like or grid like structures), where the corrugations are not regular (similar to a nest). And air is capable to flow over the filter body along the first direction or second direction via the gaps of Hossain’s membrane.
Regarding claim 20:
Modified Hamann does not disclose the filter module according to claim 19, at least one of wherein the filter body has a thickness of 2 mm to 10 mm, and wherein the number of corrugation portions is between 0.5 and 3 corrugations per cm.
However, Hossain discloses its physical properties thickness of its membrane could be adjusted further by a calendaring of the final product, Hossain [0108]. It would therefore have been a routine engineering choice to decide a filter thickness based on a specific application.
Additionally, the instant disclosure does not teach the claimed number of corrugation portions is between 0.5 and 3 corrugations per cm is critical to the operation of the current invention, absent evidence of criticality, this difference fails to patentably distinguish over prior art because it produces a difference in degree rather than in kind. MPEP 2044.05 (III)(A).
Regarding claim 21:
Modified Hamann discloses the filter module according claim 1, comprising at least one of the following features:
i) at least one of wherein the filter body is formed from a hydrophobic filter material (as modified in claim 18, modified Hamann could be modified with Hossain’s filter, where Hossain discloses its filter could be hydrophobic, Hossain [0037]) and wherein the filter body is formed from natural fibers (Hossain discloses cellulose, Hossain [0045], cellulose is a natural fiber), and wherein the filter body contains a polyolefin (Hossain [0076]), and wherein the filter body contains at least one of cellulose, cotton and hemp (Hossain discloses cellulose, Hossain [0045]);
ii) further comprising
a support frame, which can be fastened to a filter system,
a filter frame, to which the filter body can be fastened,
at least one of wherein the filter frame is arranged on the support frame, and
a sensor frame, to which at least the sensor can be fastened,
wherein the sensor frame is arranged on the support frame;
iii) further comprising a weighing device, which is configured to weigh the filter occupancy;
iv) wherein the filter body comprises a pocket filter, a cartridge filter, a hose filter, a candle filter, a compact filter or a HEPA filter.
Claim 26 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann in view of Zhang et al., US 2021/0128769 A1 (“Zhang”).
Regarding claim 26:
Hamann does not disclose the filter system according to claim 25, wherein the control unit has a visualization unit, which is configured to visualize the air quality and the analysis of the air accompanying substances.
In the analogous art of air filter with sensors, Zhang discloses a controller 8 and a pollution source information display 3, Zhang [0034]. Zhang discloses the control unit continues to dynamically update the pollution source information according to the concentraton date monitored by the pollutant concentration sensor in the process of pollutant removal when the pollution source changes, Zhang [0050]. Zhang discloses its system can accurately identify and removes pollution sources, and has strong predictability, Zhang [0008]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing for Hamann’s control system to have a visualization unit configured to visualize the air quality and the analysis of the air accompanying substances (pollution information) for the benefits disclosed here.
Claims 27–29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hamann in view of Takano et al., US 2009/0324895 A1 (“Takano”).
Regarding claim 27:
Hamann does not disclose the filter system according to claim 25, further comprising:
a flow controller, wherein a flow velocity of the air through the filter body and an air pressure of the air at the supply air side of the filter body are adjustable by means of the flow controller, wherein the flow controller is configured to adjust a pressure drop difference from a pressure drop between the supply air side and the exhaust air side of the filter body.
In the analogous art of air filter with sensors, Takano discloses an air filter comprising a flow controller (Takano’s flow control valve 4), wherein a flow velocity of the air through the filter body (Takano discloses its flow control valve 4 changes air velocity, Takano [0048]) and an air pressure of the air at the supply air side of the filter body are adjustable by means of the flow controller (air velocity change would affect air pressure at the supply air side of the filter body), wherein the flow controller is configured to adjust a pressure drop difference from a pressure drop between the supply air side and the exhaust air side of the filter body (air velocity change would affect air pressure at the supply air side of the filter body and thereby change pressure drop). Takano discloses its invention provide a nonwoven fabric for filters having an excellent balance between dust collection efficiency and a pressure drop and having excellent mechanical strength and rigidity, Takano [0008]. It would therefore have been obvious for one ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include Takano’s flow controller for an optimized flow velocity based on air filter condition to ensure mechanical strength and rigidity.
Regarding claim 28:
Modified Hamann does not explicitly disclose the filter system according to claim 27, wherein the flow controller is configured in such a way that a volume flow per square meter of filter area of the filter module is adjustable below 140 m3/h.
However, Takano’s flow control valve is capable of adjusting flow rate, Takano [0048]. The claimed volume flow per square meter does not get patentable weight because it describes how the flow controller works without specifying a structure responsible for such limitation.
Additionally, the instant disclosure does not teach the claimed volume flow per square meter is critical to the operation of the claimed invention. Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, this difference fails to patentably distinguish over prior art because it produces a difference in degree rather than in kind. MPEP 2044.05 (III)(A).
Regarding claim 29:
Modified Hamann does not disclose the filter system according to claim 28, wherein the flow controller is configured in such a way that at least one of the velocity of the volume flow is adjustable in the range of 0.2 m/s to 3.4 m/s, and the pressure drop over the filter module is adjustable in at least one operating mode below 450 Pa.
However, this limitation is directed to how the flow controller works rather than claiming the structure of the flow controllers.
Additionally, the instant disclosure does not teach the claimed flow velocity and pressure drop is critical to the operation of the claimed invention. Therefore, absent evidence of criticality, this difference fails to patentably distinguish over prior art because it produces a difference in degree rather than in kind. MPEP 2044.05 (III)(A).
Conclusion
/Qianping He/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1776