DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group 1 in the reply filed on 8/28/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-3, and 10-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/28/2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8: The claim recites in part “…a respective connecting element…” However, antecedence for a “connecting element” has been established. For examining purposes, the claim is understood as reciting “the respective connecting element.
Claim 18: The claim recites in part “A system a press ring according to claim 1…” However, antecedence for a “press ring” has been established. For examining purposes, the claim is understood as reciting “the press ring according to claim 1…”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4-8 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bernstorf (US PG Pub No. 20070283741).
In regards to claim 1, Bernstorf discloses
a press ring (crimp press tool 10, fig. 1-4) for pressing a press fitting comprising:
at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4), wherein the at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4) are movably interconnected by
at least one connecting element (transverse pin 40, fig. 1-4; [0018]: pivotal connection), the at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4) being movable from an open position into a closed position; and
at least one adjustment element (biasing element 120; fig. 1-4; [0033]: coiled springs exert axial and torsional forces), wherein the at least one adjustment element (biasing element 120; fig. 1-4; [0033]: coiled springs exert axial and torsional forces) is designed to adjust the at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4) into any position between the open position and the closed position.
In regards to claim 4, Bernstorf discloses
the press ring according to claim 1, wherein the at least one adjustment element (biasing element 120; fig. 1-4; [0033]: coiled springs exert axial and torsional forces) is designed to generate an axial force along the at least one connecting element (transverse pin 40, fig. 1-4; [0018]: pivotal connection), and
wherein the axial force presses an axial surface of a first segment (upper jaw member 12, fig. 1-4) of the at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4) onto an axial surface of
a second segment (lower jaw member 14, fig. 1-4) of the at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4) in order to hold the two segments in the desired position by the friction of the first axial surface with the second axial surface (see fig. 2/4 – ann. 1).
In regards to claim 5, Bernstorf discloses
the press ring according to claim 1, wherein the at least one adjustment element is arranged between (see fig. 2/4 – ann. 1; as the spring surrounds the transverse pin, and the jaws circumscribe the spring, the spring is between both) one of the at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4) and one end of the at least one connecting element (transverse pin 40, fig. 1-4; [0018]: pivotal connection).
In regards to claim 6, Bernstorf discloses
the press ring according to claim 1, wherein the at least one adjustment element (biasing element 120; fig. 1-4; [0033]) is arranged between (see fig. 2/4 – ann. 1) the at least two segments (upper jaw member 12, lower jaw member 14; fig. 1-4).
In regards to claim 7, Bernstorf discloses
the press ring according to claim 1, wherein the at least one adjustment element (biasing element 120; fig. 1-4; [0033]) is a spring element.
In regards to claim 8, Bernstorf discloses
the press ring according to claim 1, wherein the at least one adjustment element (biasing element 120; fig. 1-4; [0033]) at least partially surrounds [[a]]the respective connecting element (transverse pin 40, fig. 1-4; [0018]: pivotal connection).
In regards to claim 18, Bernstorf discloses
a system comprising [[a]]the press ring (crimp press tool 10, fig. 1-4) according to claim 1 and a pressing device having a drive.
In regards to claim 19, Bernstorf discloses
the press ring according to claim 7, wherein the at least one spring adjustment element (biasing element 120; fig. 1-4; [0033]) is selected from a plate spring, a compression spring ([0033]: being coiled places the spring in compression), a wave spring, a flat spring, an O-ring, or an elastomer.
Claim(s) 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bowles (US PG Pub No. 20030230131).
In regards to claim 1, Bowles discloses
a press ring (crimp ring 10, fig. 3A-3C) for pressing a press fitting comprising:
at least two segments (first and second segments 11a and 11b), wherein the at least two segments are movably interconnected by
at least one connecting element (pivot pin 86, fig. 3A-3C; [0050-0051], [0054-0055]), the at least two segments being movable from an open position into a closed position; and
at least one adjustment element (tightening nut 87a; fig. 3A, 3C; [0055]), wherein the at least one adjustment element is designed to adjust the at least two segments ([0055]: By loosening the nut, an operator can adjust the location of pivot pin 86 in elongated apertures 82 and the position of serrated spacers 85 on serrated areas 83. By then tightening nut 87a, the operator can lock serrated spaces 85 against serrated areas 83 to couple pivot pin 86 to end 13a at the adjusted position in elongated apertures 82) into any position between the open position and the closed position.
In regards to claim 9, Bowles discloses
the press ring according to claim 1, wherein the at least one adjustment element is a screw element (tightening nut 87a, fig. 3A), and
wherein the screw element is detachably connected (threaded on, therefore removable; [0054]) to the at least one connecting element (transverse pin 40, fig. 1-4; [0018]: pivotal connection).
Conclusion
/JASON KHALIL HAWKINS/Examiner, Art Unit 3723