DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 was filed prior to the mailing date of the mailing of this action. The submission complies with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the limitations in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “47” has been used to designate both a seal and an outer part surrounding the valve needle 15, see Fig. 5A.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: the limitations, in claim 8, “the nozzle” should be changed to - -the valve - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 8-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Vincent (US 2391808).
Regarding claim 1, Vincent discloses a fuel valve (see Fig. 1) for metered delivery of fuel (p1. Left col. Line 1) having a housing (10) which can be filled with a fluid fuel and having an outlet opening (17), and a valve needle (19,22,35) disposed in the housing which can be moved in a longitudinal direction and which interacts with a valve seat (18) to open and close the outlet opening, wherein the valve needle is surrounded for a portion of its length by a crimping bellows (21) which seals an interior internal chamber (the chamber/space within 21) wherein the crimping bellows (21) is connected at an end (the end of 21 abutting 28) facing the outlet opening to a connecting ring (28) in a fluid-tight manner, and is tensioned by a tensioning nut (36) surrounding the valve needle against a sealing seat (26, see Fig.4) on the valve needle.
Regarding claim 2, Vincent discloses the tensioning nut (36) engages a thread (as shown clearly in Fig. 1) formed on an outer side of the valve needle (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Vincent discloses a tensioning sleeve (39) surrounding the valve needle (22,35,19) is disposed between the tensioning nut and the connecting ring, wherein the tensioning sleeve transfers a pressing force of the tensioning nut to the connecting ring (the force transferred through the connection of 37).
Regarding claim 4, Vincent discloses the valve needle (19,22,35) forms an outer contour (a round diameter) in an area of the tensioning sleeve (39), and wherein the tensioning sleeve (39) engages in a positive-locking manner so that the tensioning sleeve (39) is secured against rotation about its longitudinal axis (since the sleeve 39 is torqued down in the bore it is installed in and abuts a gasket/seal above it, it is considered as being secured against rotation from the torque).
Regarding claim 5, Vincent discloses the sealing seat (26, see Fig. 4) is conical.
Regarding claim 6, Vincent discloses a conical abutment surface (27) is formed on the connecting ring (28) with which the connecting ring rests on the sealing seat (See Fig. 1,4).
Regarding claim 8, Vincent discloses a sealing ring (the ring, being the reduced part of 19,22 between 26 and 30, in a broadest reasonable interpretation based on the location of the structure) is disposed between the connecting ring and the nozzle needle.
Regarding claim 9, Vincent discloses an end (upper end of 21 abutting the horizontal face of 39) of the crimping bellows facing away from the outlet opening is connected to a second ring (the gasket, being the second ring, between 37 and 39 is connected to the end of the bellows through mating part 39) to form a seal.
Regarding claim 10, Vincent discloses the second connecting ring (the gasket, being the second ring, between 37 and 39 is connected to the end of the bellows through mating part 39) abuts a shoulder (the bottom surface of 37) facing the outlet opening in the housing (10).
Regarding claim 11, Vincent discloses the second connecting ring (the gasket, being the second ring, between 37 and 39 is connected to the end of the bellows through mating part 39) is tensioned against the shoulder (bottom surface of 37) by a tensioning screw (37).
Regarding claim 12, Vincent discloses, the following when considering claims 9-11 in an alternative manner;
where for claim 9, an end (upper end of 21 abutting the horizontal face of 39 at 38) of the crimping bellows facing away from the outlet opening is connected to a second ring (at 38) to form a seal,
where for claim 10, the second connecting ring (39) abuts a shoulder (the bottom surface of 37) facing the outlet opening in the housing (10),
where for claim 11, the second connecting ring (39) is tensioned against the shoulder (bottom surface of seal/gasket abutting top of 39) by a tensioning screw (top most nut),
for claim 12, a first adjustment washer (the uppermost washer between the top most nut and lower nut 37) and a second adjustment washer (the lower washer between 37 and 39) are disposed between the second connecting ring (39) and the tensioning screw (top most nut) and/or between the second connecting ring and the shoulder.
Regarding claim 13, Vincent discloses the internal chamber is filled with a lubricant (p.1,right col. Lns. 25-26, the lubricant being fuel, “fuel pressure to flow into the interior of the bellows”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vincent ‘808 in view of Simpson (US 1996309).
Regarding claim 7, Vincent discloses all of the claimed features of the invention although is silent to having that the sealing seat is configured as a flat annular surface and a flat abutting surface is configured on the connecting ring, which also forms an annular surface and with which the connecting ring rests on the sealing seat.
Simpson discloses a bellows valve that teaches the use of sealing seat is configured as a flat annular surface (8) and a flat abutting surface (the bottom flat surface on 9 that abuts 8) is configured on the connecting ring, which also forms an annular surface and with which the connecting ring rests on the sealing seat.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute a flat sealing surfaces as taught by Simpson for the sealing surfaces in Vincent to have the sealing seat is configured as a flat annular surface and a flat abutting surface is configured on the connecting ring, which also forms an annular surface and with which the connecting ring rests on the sealing seat, since it has been held, that an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component (one valve seat for another) or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. Additionally, the well-known expected outcome of sealing a valve, would result from the combination.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CRAIG J PRICE/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753