DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,5 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over Guha ( USPUB 20130292472) in view of Haowei Shi et al. (NPL Doc: "Practical Route to Entanglement-Assisted Communication Over Noisy Bosonic Channel," 11th March 2020, American Physical Society 2020, Pages 034029-1-034029-15.) .
As per claim 1, Guha teaches A joint receiver for entanglement assisted communication ( Paragraph [0025]- “…a joint detection receiver constructed using an array of 50-50 beamsplitters and a bank of single photon detectors. As such, in exemplary embodiments, entangled states of light are implemented to obtain higher photon efficiency (i.e., the number of bits of information read per expended photon) in task-specific coded imaging, at lower error rates for a given target complexity, for imaging a target, as compared to conventional optical transmitters (e.g., lasers) and receivers (e.g., homodyne detection, heterodyne detection and direct detection receivers)….”) , comprising: a balanced beam splitter (BBS) ( Paragraph [0023]- “…The system 100 further includes a receiver 130 configured to receive the modulated single photon light signal 125, which is still in a quantum entangled state. By interacting with a similar infrastructure (i.e., 50-50 beamsplitters in an interferometric set up) within the receiver 130, the modulated single photon light signal 125 coalesces into a single photon in a single quantum state. …” AND Paragraph [0045]- “…The receiver 830 includes a similar infrastructure as the transmitter, that is, an array of 50-50 beam splitters 831 and an array of mirrors 832. The wave function of the single photon light signal 825 evolves through the beam splitters 831 of the receiver 830, …”) ; and a balanced detector ( Paragraph [0045]- “…The single photon detector array 835 can be any suitable single photon detector such as but not limited to a high detection detector (i.e., a transition edge sensor (TES) detector), a high speed, lower detection detector (i.e., a superconducting single photon detector (SSPD)), and a low detection efficiency, high speed detector (i.e., a silicon avalanche photo diode (APD))….”) ;
Guha does not explicitly teach wherein the BBS is configured to mix an input signal mode
and an input idler mode
to form a mixed beam and to split the mixed beam into a first beam and a second beam and output the first and second beams to the balanced detector, and the balanced detector is configured to receive the first and second beams to convert the first and second beams to an output electrical signal.
However, within analogous art, Haowei Shi et al. teaches wherein the BBS is configured to mix an input signal mode
and an input idler mode
to form a mixed beam and to split the mixed beam into a first beam and a second beam and output the first and second beams to the balanced detector ( Page 034029-3- Col. 1- FIG. 2 – Entanglement distribution and idler mode AND Col. 1 – “…One starts with entangled signal-idler pairs ˆaS, ˆaI , which are delivered to the sender Bob and the receiver Alice through channels S and I . In this section, both of the channels S and I are assumed lossless and noiseless, i.e., perfect unlimited preshared entanglement can be shared by Alice and Bob. Entanglement preshared through a common lossy channel is considered in Sec. IV B. The encoded signal ˆaS, with mean photon number NS, is sent through the noisy channel. A joint measurement on the received signal-idler pairs ˆaR, ˆaI is performed to decode information.…”) , and the balanced detector is configured to receive the first and second beams to convert the first and second beams to an output electrical signal ( Page 034029-7- FIG. 7- Balance detector – PD – Photocurrent AND Page 034029-16 – “…we can use a balanced beam-splitter array to transform each state(ρˆθ λ,ne )⊗M to ˆ ρθ√ Mλ,ne ⊗ (ρˆ0,ne )⊗M.…”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Haowei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the Boundless reading of information bits with a single photon mentioned by Guha because the Practical Route to Entanglement-Assisted Communication Over Noisy Bosonic Channel mentioned by Haowei Shi et al. provides a method and system for implementation of entanglement-assisted communication for quantum signal processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Practical Route to Entanglement-Assisted Communication Over Noisy Bosonic Channel mentioned by Haowei Shi et al. within the Boundless reading of information bits with a single photon mentioned by Guha for implementation of entanglement-assisted communication for quantum signal processing.
As per claim 5, Guha teaches A joint receiver for entanglement assisted communication ( Paragraph [0025]- “…a joint detection receiver constructed using an array of 50-50 beamsplitters and a bank of single photon detectors. As such, in exemplary embodiments, entangled states of light are implemented to obtain higher photon efficiency (i.e., the number of bits of information read per expended photon) in task-specific coded imaging, at lower error rates for a given target complexity, for imaging a target, as compared to conventional optical transmitters (e.g., lasers) and receivers (e.g., homodyne detection, heterodyne detection and direct detection receivers)….”) , comprising: a 2x2 optical hybrid ( Paragraph [0023]- “…The system 100 further includes a receiver 130 configured to receive the modulated single photon light signal 125, which is still in a quantum entangled state. By interacting with a similar infrastructure (i.e., 50-50 beamsplitters in an interferometric set up) within the receiver 130, the modulated single photon light signal 125 coalesces into a single photon in a single quantum state. …” AND Paragraph [0045]- “…The receiver 830 includes a similar infrastructure as the transmitter, that is, an array of 50-50 beam splitters 831 and an array of mirrors 832. The wave function of the single photon light signal 825 evolves through the beam splitters 831 of the receiver 830, …”) ; and a balanced detector ( Paragraph [0045]- “…The single photon detector array 835 can be any suitable single photon detector such as but not limited to a high detection detector (i.e., a transition edge sensor (TES) detector), a high speed, lower detection detector (i.e., a superconducting single photon detector (SSPD)), and a low detection efficiency, high speed detector (i.e., a silicon avalanche photo diode (APD))….”) ;
Guha does not explicitly teach wherein the 2x2 optical hybrid is configured to mix an input signal mode
and an input idler mode
directly to form a mixed beam and to split the mixed beam into a first beam and a second beam, and output the first and second beams to the balanced detector, and balanced detector is configured to detect the first beam and the second beam, convert the first beam into a first photocurrent electrical signal and convert the second beam into a second photocurrent electrical signal, and to output an electrical signal corresponding to a difference between first photocurrent electrical signal and the second photocurrent electrical signal.
However, within analogous art, Haowei Shi et al. teaches wherein the 2x2 optical hybrid is configured to mix an input signal mode
and an input idler mode
directly to form a mixed beam and to split the mixed beam into a first beam and a second beam ( Page 034029-3- Col. 1- FIG. 2 – Entanglement distribution and idler mode AND Col. 1 – “…One starts with entangled signal-idler pairs ˆaS, ˆaI , which are delivered to the sender Bob and the receiver Alice through channels S and I . In this section, both of the channels S and I are assumed lossless and noiseless, i.e., perfect unlimited preshared entanglement can be shared by Alice and Bob. Entanglement preshared through a common lossy channel is considered in Sec. IV B. The encoded signal ˆaS, with mean photon number NS, is sent through the noisy channel. A joint measurement on the received signal-idler pairs ˆaR, ˆaI is performed to decode information.…”) , and output the first and second beams to the balanced detector( Page 034029-7- FIG. 7- Balance detector – PD ),and balanced detector is configured to detect the first beam and the second beam, convert the first beam into a first photocurrent electrical signal and convert the second beam into a second photocurrent electrical signal ( Page 034029-7- FIG. 7- Balance detector – PD – Photocurrent AND Page 034029-16 – “…we can use a balanced beam-splitter array to transform each state(ρˆθ λ,ne )⊗M to ˆ ρθ√ Mλ,ne ⊗ (ρˆ0,ne )⊗M.…”) , and to output an electrical signal corresponding to a difference between first photocurrent electrical signal and the second photocurrent electrical signal ( Page 034029-7- Col. 2- “…Then, the conjugated signal along with the idler is detected by a balanced difference detector from the… two outputs of the 50:50 beam splitter: ˆc(m)X=(ˆa(m)C+ ˆa(m)I )/√2, ˆc(m)Y= (ˆa(m)C− ˆa(m)I )/√2. In analogy to the OPA receiver, the decision is made according to the total photon count across the M modes….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Haowei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the Boundless reading of information bits with a single photon mentioned by Guha because the Practical Route to Entanglement-Assisted Communication Over Noisy Bosonic Channel mentioned by Haowei Shi et al. provides a method and system for implementation of entanglement-assisted communication for quantum signal processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Practical Route to Entanglement-Assisted Communication Over Noisy Bosonic Channel mentioned by Haowei Shi et al. within the Boundless reading of information bits with a single photon mentioned by Guha for implementation of entanglement-assisted communication for quantum signal processing.
As per claim 9, Guha teaches A joint receiver for entanglement assisted communication( Paragraph [0025]- “…a joint detection receiver constructed using an array of 50-50 beamsplitters and a bank of single photon detectors. As such, in exemplary embodiments, entangled states of light are implemented to obtain higher photon efficiency (i.e., the number of bits of information read per expended photon) in task-specific coded imaging, at lower error rates for a given target complexity, for imaging a target, as compared to conventional optical transmitters (e.g., lasers) and receivers (e.g., homodyne detection, heterodyne detection and direct detection receivers)….”), comprising: a 2x4 optical hybrid( Paragraph [0023]- “…The system 100 further includes a receiver 130 configured to receive the modulated single photon light signal 125, which is still in a quantum entangled state. By interacting with a similar infrastructure (i.e., 50-50 beamsplitters in an interferometric set up) within the receiver 130, the modulated single photon light signal 125 coalesces into a single photon in a single quantum state. …” AND Paragraph [0045]- “…The receiver 830 includes a similar infrastructure as the transmitter, that is, an array of 50-50 beam splitters 831 and an array of mirrors 832. The wave function of the single photon light signal 825 evolves through the beam splitters 831 of the receiver 830, …”), including a first and second inputs, and first, second, third and fourth outputs; a first and second balanced detectors( Paragraph [0045]- “…The single photon detector array 835 can be any suitable single photon detector such as but not limited to a high detection detector (i.e., a transition edge sensor (TES) detector), a high speed, lower detection detector (i.e., a superconducting single photon detector (SSPD)), and a low detection efficiency, high speed detector (i.e., a silicon avalanche photo diode (APD))….”);
Guha does not explicitly teach wherein the 2x4 optical hybrid is configured to receive and to mix an input signal mode
and an input idler mode
to form a mixed beam, to split the mixed beam into first, second, third, and fourth output beams, and to output the first, second, third, and fourth output beam through the first, second, third and fourth outputs respectively; the first balanced detector is configured to receive the first and second output beams, and the second balanced detector is configured to receive the third and fourth output beams.
However, within analogous art, Haowei Shi et al. teaches wherein the 2x4 optical hybrid is configured to receive and to mix an input signal mode
and an input idler mode
to form a mixed beam, to split the mixed beam into first, second, third, and fourth output beams ( Page 034029-3- Col. 1- FIG. 2 – Entanglement distribution and idler mode AND Col. 1 – “…One starts with entangled signal-idler pairs ˆaS, ˆaI , which are delivered to the sender Bob and the receiver Alice through channels S and I . In this section, both of the channels S and I are assumed lossless and noiseless, i.e., perfect unlimited preshared entanglement can be shared by Alice and Bob. Entanglement preshared through a common lossy channel is considered in Sec. IV B. The encoded signal ˆaS, with mean photon number NS, is sent through the noisy channel. A joint measurement on the received signal-idler pairs ˆaR, ˆaI is performed to decode information.…”) , and to output the first, second, third, and fourth output beam through the first, second, third and fourth outputs respectively ( Page 034029-7- FIG. 7- Balance detector – PD ), ; the first balanced detector is configured to receive the first and second output beams ( Page 034029-7- FIG. 7- Balance detector – PD – Photocurrent AND Page 034029-16 – “…we can use a balanced beam-splitter array to transform each state(ρˆθ λ,ne )⊗M to ˆ ρθ√ Mλ,ne ⊗ (ρˆ0,ne )⊗M.…”) , and the second balanced detector is configured to receive the third and fourth output beams ( Page 034029-7- Col. 2- “…Then, the conjugated signal along with the idler is detected by a balanced difference detector from the photon …the two outputs of the 50:50 beam splitter: ˆc(m)X=(ˆa(m)C+ ˆa(m)I )/√2, ˆc(m)Y= (ˆa(m)C− ˆa(m)I )/√2. In analogy to the OPA receiver, the decision is made according to the total photon count across the M modes….”) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Haowei Shi et al. within the modified teaching of the Boundless reading of information bits with a single photon mentioned by Guha because the Practical Route to Entanglement-Assisted Communication Over Noisy Bosonic Channel mentioned by Haowei Shi et al. provides a method and system for implementation of entanglement-assisted communication for quantum signal processing.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Practical Route to Entanglement-Assisted Communication Over Noisy Bosonic Channel mentioned by Haowei Shi et al. within the Boundless reading of information bits with a single photon mentioned by Guha for implementation of entanglement-assisted communication for quantum signal processing.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 2,6,10,11,12,13,14,15 and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
3. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2: “wherein the balanced detector includes at least a first and second photodetectors, and an operational amplifier; and the first photodetector is configured to receive the first beam, converts it to electrical domain, and passes the electrical output to the first input of the operational amplifier, and the second photodetector is configured to receive the second beam, converts it to electrical domain, and passes the electrical output to the second input of the operational amplifier.”
As to claim 6, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 6: “wherein the 2x2 optical hybrid includes a first and second input Y-junctions and first and second output Y- junctions; and the balanced detector includes a first photodetector and a second photodetector; and the first photodetector is configured to receive the first beam and the second photodetector is configured to receive the second beam, and the balanced detector outputs the difference between first photocurrent electrical signal and the second photocurrent electrical signal.”
As to claim 10, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 10: “wherein the 2x4 optical hybrid includes a first and second 2x2 optical hybrids, and a first and second Y-junctions.”
As to claim 11, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 11: “wherein the first Y-junction is configured to receive the input signal mode as and to split the input signal mode as into a first signal beam and a second signal beam and outputs the first and second signal beams to the first and second 2x2 optical hybrids respectively; and the second Y-junction is configured to receive the input idler mode di and to split the input idler mode di into a first idler beam and a second idler beam and outputs the first and second idler to the first and second 2x2 optical hybrids respectively.”
As to claim 13, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 13: “wherein the 2x4 optical hybrid comprises a first, second, third and fourth 3 dB directional couplers and a π /2 phase shift.”
As to claim 12, claim 12 depends on objected allowable claim 11, therefore the following claim is not taught by the prior art of record.
As to claims 14,15 and 16 , claims 14,15 and 16 depends on objected allowable claim 13, therefore the following claims are not taught by the prior art of record.
Examiner’s Notes
4. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on ( Quantum receivers, balance splitter, balanced detector and mixing of beam etc.).
1) Meiru Huo et al.," Deterministic quantum teleportation through fiber channels," 19th October 2018, SCIENCE ADVANCES 2018,4, Pages 1-6.
2) Xueshi Guo et al.,"Distributed quantum sensing in a continuous variable entangled network," 23th May 2019,arXiv:1905.09408v1, Pages 1-4.
3) Sara Mouradian et al.,"Improved Target-Detection Signal-to-Noise Ratio via Quantum Illumination," Optical Society of America,2013,Pages 1-2.
4) Fabian Laudenbach et al.,"Pilot-assisted intradyne reception for high-speed continuous variable quantum key distribution with true local oscillator," 3rd Oct 2019,arXiv:1712.10242v4,Pages 1-9.
5) Saikat Guha,"Receiver design to harness quantum illumination advantage,"30th Apr 2009,arXiv:0902.2932v3,PAges 1-4.
6) Lu-Ming Duan et al.,"Inseparability Criterion for Continuous Variable Systems,"The American Physical Society,Volume 84, Number 12, 2000,Pages 2722-2724.
7) CHEN L et al. (CN 118943878)
8) ZHAO et al. (CN 115208478)
9) Ma et al. (USPUB 20220263582)
10) Griffin (USPUB 20180366098)
11) Griffin (USPUB 20170309268)
12) Kikuchi (USPUB 20130108276 )
13) MCKinstrie (USPUB 20130071113 )
14) McKinney (USPUB 20090263144 )
15 ) Tomaru (USPUB 20090052905)
16) Tomaru ( USPUB 20050281561)
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635