DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's amendments to the Claims 1, 2, 3, 7-12, and 14-17 have overcome 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 06/02/2026.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-14, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al. (US Pub 2008/0024778 A1)(hereinafter, “Honda”) in view of Schaepman et al. (WO 2009050177 A1)(hereinafter, “Schaepman”), further in view of Drennen, III et al. (US 2005/0288906 A1)(hereinafter, “Drennen”).
Regarding claim 1, Honda teaches a method for inspecting a pharmaceutical product (PTP sheet) contained in a package, said method comprising the steps of:
advancing the package of said pharmaceutical product along a transport path;
during the advancement of the package along the transport path (discloses conveyer-type conveying device, figure 14, [0046]), subjecting the pharmaceutical product (T) to at least one electromagnetic radiation emitted towards the package (discloses Near-infrared, “the near-infrared ray is irradiated by means of the aforementioned light guide 4”, figure 14, [0047]) and detecting an optical spectrum generated in response to an impact of the electromagnetic radiation on the pharmaceutical product( “plane spectral data obtained by means of the aforementioned plane spectrometer 2”, “a plane spectroscopic spectrum B (refer to FIG. 3) in which a horizontal axis corresponds to a position in the conveying width direction and a vertical axis corresponds to the wavelength is obtained”, [0043]);
performing a spectral analysis of the detected optical spectrum (discloses PCA-based algorithm, “the transmitted spectral data is processed by means of newly developed algorithm, described later, and the object T is discriminated”, [0054-0056]).
Honda fails to disclose providing that the pharmaceutical product is in a form of a solution containing a drug and the package is a bottle; wherein the spectral analysis step comprises a step of comparing the detected optical spectrum with a reference spectrum, said reference spectrum being an optical spectrum generated by a corresponding reference pharmaceutical product considered to be in compliance with desired characteristics.
Schaepman teaches providing that the pharmaceutical product is in a form of a solution containing a drug and the package is a bottle (page 1, lines 24-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the pharmaceutical product is in a form of a solution containing a drug and the package is a bottle of Schaepman to Honda to improve its capability to inspect liquid pharmaceutical products inside moving, closed bottles, and improve measurement accuracy and reliability.
Drennen teaches wherein the spectral analysis step comprises a step of comparing the detected optical spectrum with a reference spectrum (discloses comparing a measured pharmaceutical spectral signature against reference spectral signatures stored in a database, [0023]), said reference spectrum being an optical spectrum generated by a corresponding reference pharmaceutical product ([0030-0031]) considered to be in compliance with desired characteristics ([0031] and [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate the reference spectral signature database and product quality modeling method of Drennen to Honda in view of Schaepman to improve the accuracy and reliability of pharmaceutical identification ([0039]).
Regarding claim 2, Honda teaches wherein the spectral analysis step comprises a step of processing the detected optical spectrum via a Principal Component Analysis technique (discloses PCA-based algorithm, “algorithm is the one using a main component analysis”, [0055]) .
Regarding claim 3, Honda teaches wherein the step of processing the detected optical spectrum comprises the following steps:
obtaining a plurality of principal components, by calculating a covariance matrix of the data of the detected optical spectrum and of eigenvectors and eigenvalues of the covariance matrix (“a main component analysis is previously performed using all samples to be detected and the loading vector data is obtained”, [0078]);
selecting a first subset of the principal components (“S=X La”, [0078]);
reprocessing the data of the detected optical spectrum according to the principal components of the first subset ([0056]).
Regarding claim 4, Honda teaches wherein the spectral analysis step comprises a step of feeding the reprocessed data of the detected optical spectrum to a trained classifier (PCA model, loading vectors and regions, [0080]) to classify said data as compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) or non-compliant (different-kind-of-object, [0080]) with respect to a predefined criterion (computes PCA scores and compares them against decision regions, [0080]).
Regarding claim 6, Honda teaches wherein the spectral analysis step comprises a step of comparing the detected optical spectrum with a reference spectrum(compares measured spectra against trained reference spectra, [0089] and [0102]).
Regarding claim 7, Honda teaches wherein the spectral analysis step employs a classifier, in a form of a neural network, trained to classify the detected data as compliant or non-compliant with respect to a predefined criterion (discloses training datasets, trained PCA regions and learned classification boundaries, [0089]).
Regarding claim 8, Honda teaches wherein the training set ([0106]) is partitioned comprise products that are non-compliant (different-kind-of-object, [0080]) with a predetermined reference standard/guideline, and products that are compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) with the reference standard (uses PCA regions, evaluation charts, acceptable spectral regions, threshold criteria, [0080] and [0087-0089]).
Regarding claim 9, Honda teaches wherein the pharmaceutical product is considered as compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) when the pharmaceutical product responds, in terms of concentration of active ingredient and pollutants, and also of excipients, to maximum and minimum values (discloses maximum and minimum acceptable variations, average value +5σ , -5σ, [0117]) required by predetermined standards (discloses chemometrics inherently analyzes compositions, ingredient variation, spectral chemical signatures, “chemometrics being effective for the spectrum analysis”, “the component monitoring in line for all the articles being conveyed becomes possible”, [0028] and [0055]).
Regarding claim 10, Honda teaches a system for inspecting a pharmaceutical product (PTP sheet) contained in a package, wherein the pharmaceutical product is in a form of a solution containing a drug and the package is a bottle, said inspection system comprising:
a transport system configured for transporting the package with said pharmaceutical product (T) therein along a transport path (discloses conveyer-type conveying device, figure 14, [0046]);
a source of electromagnetic radiations configured to emit at least one electromagnetic radiation towards the pharmaceutical product contained in the package arranged in a control station, said control station being located along the transport path (discloses Near-infrared, “the near-infrared ray is irradiated by means of the aforementioned light guide 4”, figure 14, [0047]);
a detecting system configured for detecting an optical spectrum generated in response to an impact of the electromagnetic radiation on the pharmaceutical product( “plane spectral data obtained by means of the aforementioned plane spectrometer 2”, “a plane spectroscopic spectrum B (refer to FIG. 3) in which a horizontal axis corresponds to a position in the conveying width direction and a vertical axis corresponds to the wavelength is obtained”, [0043]);
a control unit (5) configured to perform a spectral analysis of the detected optical spectrum(discloses PCA-based algorithm, “the transmitted spectral data is processed by means of newly developed algorithm, described later, and the object T is discriminated”, [0054-0056]).
Honda fails to disclose providing that the pharmaceutical product is in a form of a solution containing a drug and the package is a bottle; wherein the spectral analysis step comprises a step of comparing the detected optical spectrum with a reference spectrum, said reference spectrum being an optical spectrum generated by a corresponding reference pharmaceutical product considered to be in compliance with desired characteristics.
Schaepman teaches providing that the pharmaceutical product is in a form of a solution containing a drug and the package is a bottle (page 1, lines 24-26).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to incorporate the pharmaceutical product is in a form of a solution containing a drug and the package is a bottle of Schaepman to Honda to improve its capability to inspect liquid pharmaceutical products inside moving, closed bottles, and improve measurement accuracy and reliability.
Drennen teaches wherein the spectral analysis step comprises a step of comparing the detected optical spectrum with a reference spectrum (discloses comparing a measured pharmaceutical spectral signature against reference spectral signatures stored in a database, [0023]), said reference spectrum being an optical spectrum generated by a corresponding reference pharmaceutical product ([0030-0031]) considered to be in compliance with desired characteristics ([0031] and [0042]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate the reference spectral signature database and product quality modeling method of Drennen to Honda in view of Schaepman to improve the accuracy and reliability of pharmaceutical identification ([0039]).
Regarding claim 11, Honda teaches wherein the control unit (5) is configured to process the detected optical spectrum via a Principal Component Analysis technique (discloses PCA-based algorithm, “algorithm is the one using a main component analysis”, [0055]).
Regarding claim 12, Honda teaches wherein the control unit (5) is configured to:
obtain a plurality of principal components, by calculating a covariance matrix of the data of the detected optical spectrum and of its eigenvectors and eigenvalues of the covariance matrix (“a main component analysis is previously performed using all samples to be detected and the loading vector data is obtained”, [0078]);
select a first subset of the principal components (“S=X La”, [0078]);
reprocess the data of the detected optical spectrum according to the selected first subset of the principal components ([0056]);
feed the reprocessed data of the detected optical spectrum to a trained classifier (PCA model, loading vectors and regions, [0080]) to classify said data as compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) or non-compliant (different-kind-of-object, [0080]) with respect to a predefined criterion(computes PCA scores and compares them against decision regions, [0080]).
Regarding claim 13, Honda teaches wherein said control unit (5) is configured to compare the detected optical spectrum with a reference spectrum (compares measured spectra against trained reference spectra, [0089] and [0102]).
Regarding claim 14, Honda teaches wherein said control unit (5) is configured to perform the spectral analysis to determine whether the pharmaceutical product contained in the package is compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) or non-compliant (different-kind-of-object, [0080]) with respect to a predefined criterion (discloses performs pass/fail classification, [0089]).
Regarding claim 16, Honda teaches wherein the training set ([0106]) is partitioned to comprise products that are non-compliant(different-kind-of-object, [0080]) with a predetermined reference standard/guideline, and products that are compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) with the reference standard(uses PCA regions, evaluation charts, acceptable spectral regions, threshold criteria, [0080] and [0087-0089]).
Regarding claim 17, Honda teaches wherein the pharmaceutical product is considered as compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) when the pharmaceutical product responds, in terms of concentration of active ingredient and pollutants, and also of excipients, to maximum and minimum values (discloses maximum and minimum acceptable variations, average value +5σ , -5σ, [0117]) required by predetermined standards (discloses chemometrics inherently analyzes compositions, ingredient variation, spectral chemical signatures, “chemometrics being effective for the spectrum analysis”, “the component monitoring in line for all the articles being conveyed becomes possible”, [0028] and [0055]).
Claims 5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Honda et al. (US Pub 2008/0024778 A1)(hereinafter, “Honda”) in view of Schaepman et al. (WO 2009050177 A1)(hereinafter, “Schaepman”), in view of Drennen, III et al. (US 2005/0288906 A1)(hereinafter, “Drennen”), further in view of in view of Yee et al. (“Neural Network Classification of Pharmaceutical Active Ingredient from Near Infrared Spectra”, 2015)(hereinafter, “Yee”).
Regarding claim 5, Honda fail to expressly disclose wherein said classifier comprises a neural network.
Yee teaches wherein said classifier comprises a neural network (figure 3, Section C. Neural Network Training, page 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate neural network training approach of Yee to Honda in view of Schaepman in view of Drennen to improve classification accuracy and fast non-destructive pharmaceutical inspection (Section IV future work, page 6).
Regarding claim 15, Honda teaches wherein said control unit (5) employs a classifier, which is trained to classify said data as compliant (non-defective object, [0080]) or non-compliant (different-kind-of-object, [0080]) with respect to a predefined criterion(discloses training datasets, trained PCA regions and learned classification boundaries, [0089]).
Honda fail to expressly disclose wherein said classifier comprises a neural network.
Yee teaches wherein said classifier comprises a neural network (figure 3, Section C. Neural Network Training).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the earliest effective filing date to integrate neural network training approach of Yee to Honda in view of Schaepman in view of Drennen to improve classification accuracy and fast non-destructive pharmaceutical inspection (Section IV future work, page 6).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/C.X./ Examiner, Art Unit 2877
/Kara E. Geisel/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2877