DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed on NAKAMURA. In view of this communication, claims 1-7 are now pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6-7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 6 recites a "magnetic sensor " comprising an electric power generating element of claim 1, but does not recite any additional limitations of said electric power generating element. Thus, the claim does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 7 recites an "encoder " comprising an electric power generating element of claim 1, but does not recite any additional limitations of said electric power generating element. Thus, the claim does not further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2 and 4-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated NAKAMURA (US 20230068474 A1).
Regarding claim 1, NAKAMURA teaches:
An electric power generating element (Fig 14; 100) comprising:
a magnetic body (Fig 14; 1)that exhibits a large Barkhausen effect[abstract];
a coil (Fig 14; 2)wound around the magnetic body(Fig 14; 1);
a first soft magnetic body (Fig 2/14; 3)positioned outside the coil (Fig 2/14; 2)in a winding axis line direction in which a winding axis line of the coil (Fig 2/14; 2)extends, the first soft magnetic body (Fig 2/14; 3) being positioned outside the magnetic body (Fig 2/14; 1) in a radial direction around the winding axis line; and
a filling member (Fig 2; 16)that includes a second soft magnetic body(Fig 2; 3), the filling member (Fig 2; 16) filling a gap between the magnetic body (Fig 2; 3)and the first soft magnetic body(Fig 2; 3) (the second soft member is broadly defined by the claim language, therefore the first and second soft magnet are taught by element 3, and adhered with filling member 16).
The Applicant should note, that if the second soft magnetic body were more narrowly defined in the claim to be a powdery second soft magnetic body or a powdery ferrite, mixed into the filling member than the amendment would overcome the current grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 2, NAKAMURA teaches the electric power generating element according to Claim 1:
wherein the filling member(Fig 2; 16) is an adhesive[0078-0079], and
the magnetic body (Fig 2; 1)is fixed to the first soft magnetic body(Fig 2; 3) via the filling member(Fig 2; 16).
Regarding claim 4, NAKAMURA teaches the electric power generating element according to Claim 1:
Regarding claim 4, NAKAMURA teaches the electric power generating element according to Claim 1:
wherein the first soft magnetic body (Fig 2; 3) presses the magnetic body (Fig 2; 1)in the radial direction(shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, NAKAMURA teaches the electric power generating element according to Claim 1:
wherein the first soft magnetic body (Fig 2; 3)comes into contact with the magnetic body(Fig 2; 1) (shown in Fig 2).
Regarding claim 6, NAKAMURA teaches:
A magnetic sensor (Fig 15; 50) comprising:
the electric power generating element(Fig 15; 100) according to Claim 1; and
a detection element (Fig 15; 23)that is driven based on an electric power generated (Fig 15; 100)by the electric power generating element and detects magnetism[0091].
Regarding claim 7, NAKAMURA teaches:
An encoder (Fig 16; 200)comprising:
a magnet(Fig 16; 59) that rotates[0094-0098]; and
the electric power generating element (Fig 16; 50) (Fig 15; 100)according to Claim 1 that generates an electric power by a change in a magnetic field due to the magnet that rotates[0098].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NAKAMURA (US 20230068474 A1).
Regarding claim 3, NAKAMURA teaches the electric power generating element according to Claim 1:
wherein a permeability of the second soft magnetic body(Fig 2; 3) is larger than a permeability of the first soft magnetic body(Fig 2; 3)[0052].
NAKAMURA discloses the claimed invention except for the permeability of the second soft magnet being higher than the first soft magnet. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to change the material of the soft magnet so the second soft magnet has a higher permeability than the first soft magnet, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 . Additionally, NAKAMURA already demonstrates an understanding and benefit of permeability in [0052, 0076]; making the modification even more obvious.
Conclusion
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834