DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 12/20/2024 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(3)(i) because it does not include a concise explanation of the relevance, as it is presently understood by the individual designated in 37 CFR 1.56(c) most knowledgeable about the content of the information, of each reference listed that is not in the English language. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because there is a second claim 40. The misnumbered second claim 40 has been renumbered claim 42. Appropriate correction is required.
Applicant is advised that should claim 19 be found allowable, claim 30 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. The features of the combination found in claim 30 are required by the subcombination in claim 19 to such an extent that the combination claim is a substantial duplicate of the subcombination claim. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation (BRI) using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. Accordingly, claim limitations of "a straight line extending forward from between a pair of guide plates is defined as a reference line," are broadly interpreted to only require such a line be within (i.e., between) outer bounds of the pair of guide plates and can intersect or pass through the guide plates in doing so. Otherwise, there appears to be no basis for claims 22, 26, 28, 34, 38, and 40, which contain limitations of such a line and of a guiding plate or a portion thereof being arranged on the reference line.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The claims appear to be a literal translation into English from a foreign document and are replete with indefinite language. The structure which goes to make up the device must be clearly and positively specified. The structure must be organized and correlated in such a manner as to present a complete operative device.
Claim 19 appears to be directed toward the subcombination of "an attachment" but sets forth extensive limitations of "a continuous pot seedling transplanter" with which the attachment is used by being attached. Claim 19 and claims 21-28 (which depend from claim 19) also intertwine limitations of the attachment with structure of the continuous pot seedling transplanter. As such, it is unclear if, how, and to what extent limitations of the continuous pot seedling transplanter are required. Thus, the metes and bounds of the device required by claims 19 and 21-28 cannot be determined. Therefore, claims 19 and 21-28 are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b). Additionally, claims 20-30 are rejected because of their dependency on claim 19. In order to give weight to limitations with structure of the continuous pot seedling transplanter, claims 19-29 are being further examined as though they require the continuous pot seedling transplanter.
Claim 19 recites "an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings" in line 8. However, claim 19 previously introduces "an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings" in line 6. It is unclear if these are the same assemblage or if a different assemblage is being introduced. Thus, the metes and bounds of the assemblage in claim 19 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 19 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 20 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 3 and line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 20 and 32 each recite "the resistance imparting portion is disposed at a position farthest from an upstream end of the guiding plate in a left-right direction." First, it is unclear what "farthest" is relative to (i.e., farther than what?). Second, the relative orientation of "a left-right direction" is unclear and essentially meaningless as written since a device can be oriented in any manner to have "a left-right direction." As such, the metes and bounds of claims 20 and 32 cannot be determined. Therefore, claims 20 and 32 are indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 22 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 19 (from which claim 22 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 14. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 22 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 19. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 22 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 22 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 23 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 24 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 19 (from which claim 24 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 14. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 24 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 19. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 24 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 24 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 24 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 25 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 26 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 19 (from which claim 26 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 14. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 26 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 19. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 26 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 26 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 26 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 27 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5 and line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 28 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 19 (from which claim 28 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 14. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 28 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 19. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 28 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 28 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 28 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5 and line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 29 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 30 recites:
"A continuous pot seedling transplanter comprising:
a pot seedling placing portion disposed at a front portion of a transplanter body, on which an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings is placed;
a pot seedling guide portion that aligns a row of continuous pot seedlings pulled out from an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings as the transplanter body moves; and
a pot seedling delivery portion that is disposed at a rear portion of the transplanter body and delivers continuous pot seedlings aligned by the pot seedling guide portion to a planting furrow," in lines 2-9.
However, claim 19 (from which claim 30 depends) previously sets forth the following elements: "a continuous pot seedling transplanter," "a pot seedling placing portion," "a front portion," "a transplanter body," "an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings," "a pot seedling guide portion," "a row of continuous pot seedlings," "a pot seedling delivery portion," "a rear portion," and "a planting furrow." It is unclear if these elements in claim 19 are the same as those in claim 30 or if additional elements are being introduced. Thus, the metes and bounds of the transplanter elements in claim 30 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 30 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Further, claim 30 recites "wherein the attachment according to claim 19 is disposed on the pot seedling guide portion." It is unclear if "the attachment according to claim 19" is an element of (i.e., part of) the claimed device or if "the attachment according to claim 19" is merely to be used therewith (by being "disposed on"). Thus, the metes and bounds of the device required by claim 30 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 30 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 30 recites "an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings" in line 6. However, claim 30 previously introduces "an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings" in line 4. It is unclear if these are the same assemblage or if a different assemblage is being introduced. Thus, the metes and bounds of the assemblage in claim 30 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 30 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 31 recites "an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings" in line 6. However, claim 31 previously introduces "an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings" in line 4. It is unclear if these are the same assemblage or if a different assemblage is being introduced. Thus, the metes and bounds of the assemblage in claim 31 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 31 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required. Additionally, claims 32-42 are rejected because of their dependency on claim 31.
Claim 32 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 3 and line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 34 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 31 (from which claim 34 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 10. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 34 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 31. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 34 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 34 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 35 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 36 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 31 (from which claim 36 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 10. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 36 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 31. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 36 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 36 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 36 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 37 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 38 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 31 (from which claim 38 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 10. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 38 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 31. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 38 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 38 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 38 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 39 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5 and line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 40 recites "a pair of guide plates" in lines 3-4. However, claim 31 (from which claim 40 depends) previously sets forth "two or more guiding plates" in line 10. It is unclear if these are the same plates or if claim 40 is introducing additional plates that are separate and distinct from those in claim 31. Thus, the metes and bounds of the plates in claim 40 cannot be determined. Therefore, claim 40 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required.
Claim 40 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 5 and line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 42 recites the limitation "the guiding plate" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 41 attempts to claim a process without any active, positive steps delimiting how the use of the transplanter is actually practiced. Accordingly, claim 41 is indefinite and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) such that clarification and correction are required. See MPEP § 2173.05(q).
The claims are being further examined with respect to the prior art as best understood. Applicant’s cooperation is respectfully requested in carefully reviewing the claim language and correcting any errors of which Applicant may become aware.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 19-28 and 30-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Masuda et al. (US 5,415,115)
Regarding claims 19, 30, and 31, Masuda discloses a continuous pot seedling transplanter comprising:
a pot seedling placing portion (including 2) disposed at a front portion of a transplanter body on which an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings is placed (see Fig. 7);
a pot seedling guide portion (including 6a and 6b) that aligns a row of continuous pot seedlings pulled out from the assemblage of continuous pot seedlings as the transplanter body moves (see Fig. 7);
a pot seedling delivery portion (including 8a and 8b) that is disposed at a rear portion of the transplanter body and delivers continuous pot seedlings aligned by the pot seedling guide portion to a planting furrow (see col. 5, lines 60-66);
a bottom plate (including rear portion of 1) disposed on the pot seedling guide portion (or the bottom plate being of the pot seedling guide portion in the case of claim 31); and
two or more guiding plates (including 4a and 10a, and including 4b and 10b) that are disposed on the bottom plate and cause continuous pot seedlings pulled out from an assemblage of continuous pot seedlings to stand upright (see col. 5, lines 16-28),
wherein the two or more guiding plates are arranged alternately on left and right sides along a movement path of continuous pot seedlings (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 20 and 32, Masuda discloses the transplanter,
wherein a guiding plate of the two or more guiding plates includes a resistance imparting portion (including 4a or including 4b) that comes in contact with continuous pot seedlings to impart a resistance against a moving direction, and
wherein the resistance imparting portion is disposed at a position farthest from an upstream end (see Fig. 7).
Regarding claims 21-28 and 33-40, Masuda discloses the transplanter,
wherein, in the pot seedling guide portion, a straight line (through 6a or 6b) extending parallel to a same direction as a traveling direction (F) is defined as a reference line,
wherein the straight line extends forward from between a pair of the two or more guiding plates (when interpreted as set forth above), and
wherein the resistance imparting portion (including 4a or including 4b) is arranged on the reference line (at 5a or at 5b, respectively).
Regarding claim 41, Masuda discloses a method for producing a crop comprising transplanting continuous pot seedlings into a field using the continuous pot seedling transplanter with respect to claim 31, as set forth above (see col. 5, line 29 - col. 6, line 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 29 and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masuda in view of Kawamoto et al. (JP 2019071827 A)
Regarding claims 29 and 42, Masuda discloses the transplanter (and/or attachment) with respect to claims 20 and 31 as set forth above. Masuda does not explicitly disclose a guiding plate of the two or more guiding plates including a curved guiding surface that is convex toward a movement path side of continuous pot seedlings. However, Kawamoto teaches a continuous pot seedling transplanter comprising two or more guiding plates (including or of 7), wherein a guiding plate of the two or more guiding plates includes a curved guiding surface that is convex toward a movement path side of continuous pot seedlings (see Fig. 1).
Kawamoto is analogous because Kawamoto discloses a continuous pot seedling transplanter. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the transplanter of Masuda with curved guiding means as taught by Kawamoto in order to reduce damage and/or wear (of or that produced by corners). Additionally, providing Masuda with the curved guiding means of Kawamoto is a combination of prior art elements (i.e., the device of Masuda with curved guiding means as taught by Kawamoto) according to known methods to yield predictable results (as taught by Kawamoto). See MPEP § 2143(I)(A).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure. Updike (US 474,425) discloses a transplanter that meets the broad limitations of the independent claims.
/JFM/10/17/26
/CHRISTOPHER J SEBESTA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3671