DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 8 and 9 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 8, line 1 recites, “the plates” and should likely read “the annular plates” or “the plurality of annular plates” to retain consistency between the claims (see claim 4).
Regarding claim 9, line 2 recites, “two or more of the plates” and should likely read “two or more of the annular plates” or “two or more of the plurality of annular plates” to retain consistency between the claims (see claim 4).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the radii of the axially extending through holes" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The Examiner respectfully notes there is nothing in the claims that require the holes to be circular which renders the claims unclear as a hole can be any shape (rectangular, elliptical, or other varied shapes).
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the radii of the radially extending through holes" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
The Examiner respectfully notes there is nothing in the claims that require the holes to be circular which renders the claims unclear as a hole can be any shape (rectangular, elliptical, or other varied shapes).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11 and 13 (as well as they are understood by the Examiner) are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Dittmar et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0132479 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Dittmar et al. discloses a refrigerant compressor (Fig. 1, 1), comprising:
a discharge portion (“a gas outlet opening (not shown) are provided” and “A first silencer device 7 connects to the gas outlet opening” [0033]); and
a muffler (7) disposed at the discharge portion ([0033]), the muffler including
an outer cylinder (26) having a central axis (31, 32), and
a sleeve (27) concentric with and radially inward of the outer cylinder (Fig. 1, Fig. 4) relative to the center axis and including a plurality of radially extending through holes (25), providing a resonance cavity (28) radially between the sleeve and the outer cylinder.
Regarding claim 2, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the muffler is attached to the discharge portion ([0033]).
Regarding claim 3, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the resonance cavity is sealed at its axial ends (Fig. 1, [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above, further comprising: a plurality of axially spaced annular plates (29) within the resonance cavity (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 5, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 4 as above, wherein each of the plurality of annular plates includes a plurality of axially extending through holes (30).
Regarding claim 6, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 5 as above, wherein the plurality of axially extending through holes are equally circumferentially spaced apart from one another (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 7, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 5 as above, wherein the radially extending through holes form axially spaced circumferential rows of radially extending through holes (Fig. 5, 25).
Regarding claim 8, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 5 as above, wherein the plates are positioned axially between, and radially outward of, immediately adjacent of the circumferential rows (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 9, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 5 as above, wherein the axially extending through holes are circumferentially aligned across two or more of the plates (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 5 as above, wherein the radii of the axially extending through holes (30, Fig. 4) are greater than the radii of the radially extending through holes (Fig. 4; the Examiner notes that Fig. 4 shows the axially extending through holes are larger than the radially extending through holes 25, which are shown as a pattern on the sleeve 27, and the radially extending through holes are not strictly required to be circular, also [0010] discloses the openings as 0.05mm and 1mm).
Regarding claim 11, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the radially extending through holes are circumferentially spaced from one another (Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above, wherein the muffler is configured to receive fluid from the discharge portion into the sleeve ([0033]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-17 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmar et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0132479 A1) in view of Gautam et al. (EP 3361084 A1).
Regarding claim 14, Dittmar et al. discloses a method, comprising:
providing a muffler (7) fluidly between a discharge portion (“a gas outlet opening (not shown) are provided” and “A first silencer device 7 connects to the gas outlet opening” [0033]) of a compressor (1) the muffler including:
a muffler (7) disposed at the discharge portion ([0033]), the muffler including
an outer cylinder (26) having including an inner diameter surface (Fig. 1 “The silencer chambers 28 are delimited externally by the silencer housing 26 and are arranged laterally behind the gas flow channel 27. They are designed to be circular ring-shaped in cross section.” [0042]), a central axis (31, 32), and
a sleeve (27) concentric with and radially inward of the outer cylinder (Fig. 1, Fig. 4) relative to the center axis and including a plurality of radially extending through holes (25), providing a resonance cavity (28) radially between the outer cylinder and the sleeve.
However, Dittmar et al. does not explicitly disclose, “a condenser”
Gautam et al. teaches, in the field of compressors (113) and mufflers (200), that the attenuated air stream (141, the air stream after the muffler) is channeled through an air cooler or intercooler (135) (e.g., a heat exchanger or condenser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to include the compressor and muffler of Dittmar et al. in loop including a heat exchanger or condenser a taught my Gautam et al., as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill would appreciate that, “The attenuated airstream 141 may be channeled through an air cooler 135 (i.e., intercooler), such as a convectively cooled charge air cooler. The air cooler 135 may be configured to dissipate heat from the attenuated air stream 141, increasing its density. The resulting cooled and pressurized output air stream” ([0018]).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. teach all of claim 14 as above, comprising:
providing a plurality of axially spaced annular plates (Dittmar et al., 29) within the resonance cavity (Dittmar et al., Fig. 1), each of the plurality of annular plates including a plurality extending through hole (Dittmar et al., 30).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. teach all of claim 15 as above, wherein the radially extending through holes form axially spaced circumferential rows of radially extending through holes (Dittmar et al., Fig. 5), and the providing the plurality of axially spaced annular plates step includes positioning the plurality of annular plates axially between (Dittmar et al., Fig. 1), and radially outward of, immediately adjacent of the circumferential rows (Dittmar et al., Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. teach all of claim 14 as above, comprising:
sealing the resonance cavity at its axial ends (Dittmar et al.; Fig. 1, [0033]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. teach all of claim 14 as above, comprising:
attaching the muffler to discharge portion (Dittmar et al.; [0033]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. teach all of claim 19 as above, wherein the muffler is configured to receive fluid from the discharge portion into the sleeve (Dittmar et al., [0033]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmar et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0132479 A1) in view of Lucas et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0345497 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Dittmar et al. discloses all of claim 1 as above.
However, Dittmar et al. does not explicitly disclose, “wherein the sleeve is welded to the cylinder.”
Lucas et al. teaches, in the field of resonators or mufflers (Fig. 1), that silencers (18) could be welded or brazed (Lucas et al., [0026]) where compatible with materials (see Dittmar et al., [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the muffler of Dittmar et al. by welding or brazing as taught by Lucas et al., as both references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that, “Alternatively, the silencer 18 could be welded or brazed where compatible with materials being joined. [0026]” and that welding metal parts together is considered an art recognized solution with suitability for an intended purpose (joining metal components together) (see MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dittmar et al. (US PGPUB 2012/0132479 A1) and Gautam et al. (EP 3361084 A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Lucas et al. (US PGPUB 2015/0345497 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. teach all of claim 14 as above.
However, the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. do not teach or suggest, “welding the sleeve to the outer cylinder.
Lucas et al. teaches, in the field of resonators or mufflers (Fig. 1), that silencers (18) could be welded or brazed (Lucas et al., [0026]) where compatible with materials (see Dittmar et al., [0009]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify system created by the combination of Dittmar et al. and Gautam et al. by welding or brazing as taught by Lucas et al., as all references are in the same field of endeavor, and one of ordinary skill in the art would appreciate that, “Alternatively, the silencer 18 could be welded or brazed where compatible with materials being joined. [0026]” and that welding metal parts together is considered an art recognized solution with suitability for an intended purpose (joining metal components together) (see MPEP 2144.07).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US Patent 9,625,077 B2 discloses a fluid line assembly (including a muffler).
US Patent 8,408,357 B2 discloses an air duct attenuator.
US PGPUB 2010/0193282 A1 discloses a broadband noise resonator.
US Patent 6,467,572 B1 discloses a muffler.
/RYAN C CLARK/Examiner, Art Unit 3745