DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12/20/2024 was considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55. A certified copy of application FR 2206250 was filed on 12/20/2024.
Claim Interpretation
"straightening means" in claim 4.
“vision means” in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 7 recites “the plurality of gripping devices is arranged in two parallel rows movable relative to each other so that the distance between them can be varied according to the size of the package to be gripped”, however the specification fails to describe the mechanism how the distance between the two parallel rows is made to vary according to the size of the package to be gripped
Claim 8 recites “a row comprises two gripping devices separated by a distance capable of being varied according to the dimensions of the package to be gripped”, however the specification fails to describe the mechanism how the distance between two gripping devices on a row is being varied according to the dimensions of the package to be gripped.
Claims 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “straightening means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is not clear as to what exactly the claimed straightening means relates to. One of ordinary skill in the art is left to guess if it is a deformable structure, a spring, a hydraulic device, or some sort of pneumatic actuator that performs the straightening function. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “vision means” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. It is not clear as to what exactly the claimed vision means is referring to. As vision means encompasses a large field of technology including cameras, Lidar, laser sensors and so on, one cannot accurately determine the scope of the claim limitation with reasonable certainty. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 5, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 20220219317 A1), hereinafter “Lei”, in view of Zheng (CN 112091943 A).
Regarding claim 1, Lei discloses a gripper intended to be mounted on a robot of a loading/unloading system to grip when actuated a package to be moved from or to a container, said gripper comprising a chassis carrying a plurality of gripping devices each having a first end fixed to the chassis and a second end carrying a suction cup, said suction cup being connected to a vacuum device (para. [0054]; Fig. 3-4, robot 300, gripper 320 , chassis made of first and second carrying plates 424, 430), in which:
each suction cup can be individually actuated to grip the package by suction (para. [0070], [0094]); a subset of gripping components are actuated to grip or transport an object), and
a gripping device comprises a linear axis movable relative to the chassis and capable of moving the suction cup of said gripping device between a retracted position and an advanced position (para. [0069], [0082]; Figs. 4A-4B, linear extendable rod 474 moving suction cup 476 between a retracted position and an advanced position).
Lei further discloses the linear axis to carry the suction cup from the retracted position to the advanced position and vice versa that can be actuated by a variety of mechanisms including, hydraulic struts, spring struts, twist-driven expanding components, screw jacks, and/or telescoping elements (para. [0082]). However, Lei does not disclose the gripping device comprising an annular motor through which the linear axis passes, said motor being configured to move said linear axis to carry the suction cup from the retracted position to the advanced position and vice versa.
Zheng discloses a robotic hand wherein the gripping device comprises an annular motor through which the linear axis passes, said motor being configured to move said linear axis to carry the suction cup from the retracted position to the advanced position and vice versa (para. [0044]; Fig. 4, annular motor 7 actuating the leadscrew 8 carrying a suction cup from a retracted position to the advanced position).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the actuator generically disclosed in Lei and incorporate the teachings in Zheng of using an annular motor through which the linear axis passes, said motor being configured to move said linear axis to carry the suction cup from the retracted position to the advanced position and vice versa to permit a more compact coaxial actuator design to reduce the overall size of the gripper. Lei recognizes that different types of actuators may be used to produce the controlled reciprocating advance and retract motion of the suction cup, thus substituting the annular actuator of Zheng merely involves substituting one known actuator for another to obtain a predictable result.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 1. Lei further discloses the gripping component includes a suction element, and a vacuum port (para. [0069]). However, Lei does not explicitly disclose the linear axis is a hollow cylinder having an upper end connected to the vacuum device and a lower end carrying the suction cup.
Zheng discloses the linear axis is a hollow cylinder having an upper end connected to the vacuum device and a lower end carrying the suction cup (para. [0042]; One end of the lead screw 8 is connected to a vacuum suction head 11, and the other end is connected to a vacuum pumping device).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the generically disclosed gripping component in Lei and incorporate the teachings in Zheng of using a hollow cylinder having an upper end connected to the vacuum device and a lower end carrying the suction cup to reduce the number of components required for the gripper by integrating the mechanical extension function and vacuum conduit in to a single component. Incorporating Zheng’s known technique of a hollow cylinder having an upper end connected to the vacuum device and a lower end carrying the suction cup would have predictably achieved the desired extending and retracting motion while simultaneously providing vacuum to the suction cup through the same structural element.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 1. Lei further discloses the gripping device comprises an encoder configured to measure the position of the linear axis and transmit it to a control means external to the gripper (para. [0052], [0082]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 1. Lei further discloses the plurality of gripping devices is arranged in two parallel rows movable relative to each other so that the distance between them can be varied according to the size of the package to be gripped (para. [0057]; Figs. 8A, 8B).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 7. Lei further discloses a row comprises two gripping devices separated by a distance capable of being varied according to the dimensions of the package to be gripped (para. [0057]; Figs. 8A, 8B).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Lei and Zheng, a loading or unloading system comprising a gripper according to claim 1 (para. [0051], [0089]).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 9. Lei further discloses a vision means capable of detecting an inclined package and control means capable of controlling the movement of at least one suction cup according to an inclination of said packet deduced from information transmitted by the vision means (para. [0051], [0089]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 9. Lei further discloses a depalletizing or palletizing method in which packages are unloaded or loaded from a container using an unloading or loading system according to claim 9 (para. [0026], [0079]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 10. Lei further discloses a, depalletizing or palletizing method in which packages are unloaded or loaded from a container using an unloading or loading system according to claim 10 (para. [0026], [0079], [0087]-[0095]).
Claims 3 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 20220219317 A1), hereinafter “Lei”, in view of Zheng (CN 112091943 A), and in further view of IT201800005679 A1.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 2. The combination of Lei and Zheng does not disclose the gripping device comprises a ball joint connecting the suction cup to said cylinder.
IT201800005679 A1 discloses a robotic manipulator where the gripping device comprises a ball joint connecting the suction cup to said cylinder (para. [0106]; Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gripper of Lei in view of Zheng, and incorporate the teachings in IT201800005679 A1 where the gripping device comprises a ball joint connecting the suction cup to said cylinder to allow the gripper to make a better contact with objects that are not perpendicular to the longitudinal axis of the gripper (IT201800005679 A1: paras. [0104], [0105]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lei, Zheng, and IT201800005679 A1, discloses all limitations of claim 3. IT201800005679 A1 further discloses the gripping device comprises a straightening means configured to cooperate with the ball joint to restore the position of the suction cup relative to the linear axis (para. [0120]; Fig. 2, spring 17').
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gripper of Lei, Zheng, and IT201800005679 A1, and further incorporate the teachings in IT201800005679 A1 of a straightening means configured to cooperate with the ball joint to restore the position of the suction cup relative to the linear axis to return the gripper orientation back to its initial position in preparation for the next pickup action (IT201800005679 A1: para. [0120]).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lei et al. (US 20220219317 A1), hereinafter “Lei”, in view of Zheng (CN 112091943 A), and in further view of Ikeya et al. (US 20210094766 A1), hereinafter “Ikeya”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lei and Zheng, discloses all limitations of claim 1. The combination of Lei and Zheng does disclose the gripping device comprises a brake capable of being controlled to block the linear axis according to certain positions of the suction cup.
Ikeya discloses a gripping device comprising a brake capable of being controlled to block the linear axis according to certain positions of the suction cup (para. [0039], [0048]-[0049]; Fig. 6, lock mechanism 23).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gripper of Lei in view of Zheng, and incorporate the teachings in Ikeya of a brake capable of being controlled to block the linear axis according to certain positions of the suction cup to prevent unwanted movement of the linear axis due to gravitational and inertial forces during transporting of an object (Ikeya: para. [0059]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Polido et al. (US 10611037 B1) discloses an end of arm tool for a robot with an array of suction cups where a given set of suction cups are individually controlled. Polido further discloses suction cups mounted on a hollow extendable and retractable tube for providing compliance, and implements a vision system to identify shape of target item (col. 2, lines 37-50, col. 4, lines 9-24, col. 5, lines 39-53; Fig. 11).
EICKHORST (EP 0567803 A1) discloses a suction cup with a spherical mounting structure (Figs. 1, 2).
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655