DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The claims 1-11 are currently pending and have been examined. Applicant amended claims 1, 5, 11.
Response to Arguments/Amendments
The amendment filed June 21, 2026 has been entered. Claims 1-11 are currently pending in the Application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the claim objections previously set forth in the Non-Final Rejection.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-11 under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Schieffelin does not disclose or fairly suggest a configuration to terminate the gear-shifting process when a termination criterion indicating the transmitting state of the freewheel is present and that the invention does not simply recite obtaining or detecting a suitable condition for a gear-shifting process, but explicitly recites terminating such a gear-shifting process when detecting the presence of the termination criterion (See Applicant’s Remarks, pages 8-9). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. As set forth in the rejection, Schieffelin teaches the use of a one-way freewheel clutch which automatically decouples the motor from the driven components when the drive wheel is rotating faster than would be generated by the current motor speed and gear ratio (See paragraph [0074].), and further teaches the use of the one-way freewheel clutch in connection with automatic gear shifting (See paragraph [0083].). Schieffelin additionally teaches that the controller detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary and, in response, operates the motor at an optimal time and optimal speed to effect gear change (See paragraph [0186].). Thus, Schieffelin’s teachings regarding the automatic coupling and decoupling of the one-way freewheel based on relative operating speeds of the drivetrain and wheel, together with controlling the motor during the gear-shifting process, correspond to the claimed electronic control unit being configured to terminate gear-shifting process when a termination criterion indicating the transmitting state of the freewheel is present and for detecting the presence of the termination criterion. Applicant further argues that Antrag fails to provide the specific feature related to a control unit configured to terminate a gear shifting process when detecting the presence of a termination criterion to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and curve of the motor current of the drive motor as recited in claim 1 (See Applicant’s Remarks, page 9). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. The rejection does not rely upon Antrag to teach a control unit configured to terminate a gear shifting process when detecting the presence of a termination criterion. Rather, as set forth in the rejection, Schieffelin is relied upon for the gear-shifting and freewheel control features, while Antrag is relied upon for evaluating at least one of a curve of the speed and curve of the motor current of the drive motor (See paragraph [0023].). Applicant’s argument therefore addresses the references individually rather than the teachings relied upon in combination in the rejection. The motivation to combine the cited references has been expressly set forth in the rejection and has not been substantively addressed by the Applicant. Accordingly, the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schieffelin (US 20170282919 A1) in view of ANTRAG (DE 102010018138 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Schieffelin teaches A drive system for an electric bicycle, comprising a drive train having at least one electric drive motor for applying a drive force for driving a wheel of the electric bicycle (See at least paragraph [0002], “In certain embodiments, when the electric bicycle is powered by the motor 212, the motor 212 moves a first belt drive 210, which further turns a jackshaft 204. As the jackshaft 204 is turned, a second belt drive 214 is moved thereby turning the real wheel 208” and paragraph [0074], “In some embodiments, the independence of the pedals 108 and motor 212 is created at least in part by one or more clutches. For example, an embodiment of an electric bicycle may comprise a clutch that selectively disengages the pedals or pedal crank 108 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set, and/or a clutch that selectively disengages the motor 212 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set.”), a gear-shifting device for changing a transmission ratio between the drive train and the wheel to be driven (See at least paragraph [0054], “A drive chain connects the drive sprockets to the driven sprockets, and a derailleur for each set of sprocket sets is configured to move the chain among the various sprockets to enable a change in gear ratio.”), and an electronic control unit for controlling the at least one drive motor and the gear-shifting device (See at least paragraph [0134], “In some embodiments, the electric bicycle controller 670 and/or control module 638 may further control one or more other output devices, such as a motor 692, one or more derailleurs 694, dashboard 696, brakes 698, one or more clutches 699 and/or the like.”), wherein a freewheel is provided on the wheel to be driven, which freewheel, in a transmitting state, transmits a drive force generated by the at least one drive motor to the wheel, while in an uncoupling state of the freewheel the drive train is uncoupled from the wheel (See at least paragraph [0074], “In some embodiments, the independence of the pedals 108 and motor 212 is created at least in part by one or more clutches. For example, an embodiment of an electric bicycle may comprise a clutch that selectively disengages the pedals or pedal crank 108 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set, and/or a clutch that selectively disengages the motor 212 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set” and paragraph [0162], “In some embodiments, a one-way freewheel clutch is used.”), wherein the electronic control unit is configured for changing the transmission ratio to perform a gear-shifting process, in which a speed of the at least one drive motor is specified by the electronic control unit and the at least one drive motor is operable via the electronic control unit with a variable motor current (See at least paragraph [0134], “In some embodiments, the electric bicycle controller 670 and/or control module 638 may further control one or more other output devices, such as a motor 692, one or more derailleurs 694, dashboard 696, brakes 698, one or more clutches 699 and/or the like” and paragraph [0167], “the system can be configured to determine whether the pedals and/or motor are currently applying a torque or force to the driven sprocket and/or drive wheel… In some embodiments, this is detected indirectly by comparing a present rotational velocity of the pedal crank and/or motor output shaft with a present velocity of the driven sprocket, drive wheel, drive chain, and/or the like, while taking into account any present gear ratios or mechanical advantages between these components and/or the status of any clutches functionally disposed between these components.” The system includes controller 670 which controls operation of the motor 692. In electric motor control systems, regulating the current supplied to the motor determines the motor speed and torque. Accordingly, the system operates the motor with a variable motor current while specifying the motor speed via the controller.), and wherein the electronic control unit is configured to terminate a gear-shifting process when a termination criterion indicating the transmitting state of the freewheel is present and for detecting the presence of the termination criterion (See at least paragraph [0074], “For example, one-way freewheel clutches may be used that enable the pedal crank 108 and/or motor 212 to automatically be decoupled from the jack shaft 204 and/or driven sprocket set when the drive wheel is rotating at a faster rate than would be generated by the current speed of the pedal crank 108 and/or motor 212 in view of the current gear ratio”, paragraph [0083], “Further, a pedal system in some embodiments is engaged via the one-way freewheel (clutch) either at the jackshaft input or at pedal hub. The one-way clutch allows the motor to drive the chain without creating movement at the pedals, so the control system can decouple the shifting action from the pedals. The one-way clutch allows the automatic transmission to smoothly change gears, even under load”, and paragraph [0186], “Once a computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary while no torque is being applied, the computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module operates the motor 212 at an optimal time and optimal speed for shifting gears to effect a gear change. In an arrangement, the electrically controlled mechanical clutch 910 is used to disconnect the pedals from the front sprocket 420 when a user stops pedaling. In some arrangements, a one-way freewheel clutch could be used.” The detected condition that “no torque is being applied” corresponds to the transmitting state of the freewheel, as a freewheel transmits torque only when torque is applied through the drivetrain.).
Schieffelin does not explicitly disclose, however, ANTRAG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor (See at least paragraph [0023], “To ensure optimal distribution of the torque to the wheels, the parameters of the drive motors are stored in the electronic control unit. The key data can include the delivered motor torque or the efficiency of the drive motor as a function of speed at a specific voltage and current flow.” The control unit stores motor operating parameters that depend on motor speed and current. For example, the delivered motor torque or efficiency may be determined as a function of speed and current. Thus, the control unit evaluates motor characteristics that vary with speed and motor current during operation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Schieffelin with the teachings of ANTRAG such that the electronic transmission system of Schieffelin is further configured to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0023].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the consumption of electrical energy, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0005].).
With respect to claim 11, please see the rejection above with respect to claim 1, which is commensurate in scope to claim 11, with claim 1 being drawn to a drive system and claim 11 being drawn to a corresponding method.
Regarding Claim 2, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin teaches wherein the electronic control unit is configured to detect the presence of the termination criterion (See at least paragraph [0186], “Once a computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary while no torque is being applied, the computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module operates the motor 212 at an optimal time and optimal speed for shifting gears to effect a gear change. In an arrangement, the electrically controlled mechanical clutch 910 is used to disconnect the pedals from the front sprocket 420 when a user stops pedaling. In some arrangements, a one-way freewheel clutch could be used.” The electronic controller detects operating conditions of the drivetrain to determine when a gear shifting operation should occur.).
Schieffelin does not explicitly disclose, however, ANTRAG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches on the basis of at least one of the curve of the speed and the curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor (See at least paragraph [0023], “To ensure optimal distribution of the torque to the wheels, the parameters of the drive motors are stored in the electronic control unit. The key data can include the delivered motor torque or the efficiency of the drive motor as a function of speed at a specific voltage and current flow.” The control unit stores motor operating parameters that depend on motor speed and current. For example, the delivered motor torque or efficiency may be determined as a function of speed and current. Thus, the control unit determines operating conditions of the drive motor based on motor speed and motor current characteristics.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Schieffelin with the teachings of ANTRAG such that the electronic transmission system of Schieffelin is further configured to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor; on the basis of at least one of the curve of the speed and the curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0023].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the consumption of electrical energy, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 3, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 2, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin teaches wherein the electronic control unit is configured to detect the presence of the termination criterion (See at least paragraph [0186], “Once a computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary while no torque is being applied, the computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module operates the motor 212 at an optimal time and optimal speed for shifting gears to effect a gear change. In an arrangement, the electrically controlled mechanical clutch 910 is used to disconnect the pedals from the front sprocket 420 when a user stops pedaling. In some arrangements, a one-way freewheel clutch could be used.” The electronic controller detects operating conditions of the drivetrain to determine when a gear shifting operation should occur.).
Schieffelin does not explicitly disclose, however, ANTRAG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches solely on the basis of the curve of the motor current or in combination with the curve of the speed of the at least one drive motor (See at least paragraph [0023], “To ensure optimal distribution of the torque to the wheels, the parameters of the drive motors are stored in the electronic control unit. The key data can include the delivered motor torque or the efficiency of the drive motor as a function of speed at a specific voltage and current flow.” The control unit stores motor operating parameters that depend on motor speed and current. For example, the delivered motor torque or efficiency may be determined as a function of speed and current. Thus, the control unit determines operating conditions of the drive motor based on motor current characteristics, either alone or together with motor speed characteristics.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Schieffelin with the teachings of ANTRAG such that the electronic transmission system of Schieffelin is further configured to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor; on the basis of at least one of the curve of the speed and the curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor; solely on the basis of the curve of the motor current or in combination with the curve of the speed of the at least one drive motor, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0023].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the consumption of electrical energy, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 4, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin teaches wherein for the uncoupling state of the freewheel during the gear-shifting process (See at least paragraph [0074], “In some embodiments, the independence of the pedals 108 and motor 212 is created at least in part by one or more clutches. For example, an embodiment of an electric bicycle may comprise a clutch that selectively disengages the pedals or pedal crank 108 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set, and/or a clutch that selectively disengages the motor 212 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set” and paragraph [0162], “In some embodiments, a one-way freewheel clutch is used.”).
Schieffelin does not explicitly disclose, however, ANTRAG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches at least one reference speed curve for a temporal development of at least one of the speed and at least one reference current value curve for a temporal development of the motor current of the at least one drive motor are stored in a memory of the electronic control unit (See at least paragraph [0023], “To ensure optimal distribution of the torque to the wheels, the parameters of the drive motors are stored in the electronic control unit. The key data can include the delivered motor torque or the efficiency of the drive motor as a function of speed at a specific voltage and current flow.” The control unit stores motor operating parameters that depend on motor speed and current. Thus, the controller stores motor operating characteristics that serve as reference values for evaluating measured motor speed and current during operation.), and the electronic control unit is configured, in the case of a deviation, that exceeds a tolerance threshold, of one or more detected measured values relative to at least one of the reference speed curve and the reference current value curve, to detect the presence of the termination criterion (See at least paragraph [0037], “For this purpose, the wheel speeds of the wheels are individually recorded and compared during the journey. If the difference in wheel speeds exceeds a predetermined threshold, the wheel speed of one or both speed signals is modified.” Thus, the controller detects when a deviation between measured values exceeds a threshold.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Schieffelin with the teachings of ANTRAG such that the electronic transmission system of Schieffelin is further configured to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor; at least one reference speed curve for a temporal development of at least one of the speed and at least one reference current value curve for a temporal development of the motor current of the at least one drive motor are stored in a memory of the electronic control unit, and the electronic control unit is configured, in the case of a deviation, that exceeds a tolerance threshold, of one or more detected measured values relative to at least one of the reference speed curve and the reference current value curve, to detect the presence of the termination criterion, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0023], [0037].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the consumption of electrical energy, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 5, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 4, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin teaches wherein for detecting whether the termination criterion is present the electronic control unit is configured for checking, during the gear-shifting process (See at least paragraph [0186], “Once a computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary while no torque is being applied, the computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module operates the motor 212 at an optimal time and optimal speed for shifting gears to effect a gear change. In an arrangement, the electrically controlled mechanical clutch 910 is used to disconnect the pedals from the front sprocket 420 when a user stops pedaling. In some arrangements, a one-way freewheel clutch could be used.” The electronic controller detects operating conditions of the drivetrain to determine when a gear shifting operation should occur.).
Schieffelin does not explicitly disclose, however, ANTRAG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches whether the speed increases with specification of a motor current increasing up to a maximum current value until a specified target speed is reached, and the motor current falls when the target speed is reached and maintained (See at least paragraph [0023], “To ensure optimal distribution of the torque to the wheels, the parameters of the drive motors are stored in the electronic control unit. The key data can include the delivered motor torque or the efficiency of the drive motor as a function of speed at a specific voltage and current flow”, paragraph [0033], “To ensure that the cyclist receives noticeable acceleration information in response to their acceleration request even with a slower implementation of a torque request, a higher torque can also be generated briefly at the beginning of the torque request. The drive torque is then reduced again and then slowly increased again according to the torque requirement”, and paragraph [0037], “For this purpose, the wheel speeds of the wheels are individually recorded and compared during the journey. If the difference in wheel speeds exceeds a predetermined threshold, the wheel speed of one or both speed signals is modified.” The control unit stores motor operating parameters that depend on motor speed and current. During operation, the controller adjusts the motor torque in response to a torque request, including increasing and subsequently reducing the drive torque according to the operating condition. The system further records drivetrain speed values and compares measured values to detect when a deviation exceeds a predetermined threshold. Thus, the controller evaluates motor operating behavior based on the relationship between motor speed and motor current.), or the speed increases with specification of a motor current increasing up to a current target value, up to the target speed, and the target speed is maintained, retaining the current target value that is below the maximum current value.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Schieffelin with the teachings of ANTRAG such that the electronic transmission system of Schieffelin is further configured to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor; at least one reference speed curve for a temporal development of at least one of the speed and at least one reference current value curve for a temporal development of the motor current of the at least one drive motor are stored in a memory of the electronic control unit, and the electronic control unit is configured, in the case of a deviation, that exceeds a tolerance threshold, of one or more detected measured values relative to at least one of the reference speed curve and the reference current value curve, to detect the presence of the termination criterion; whether the speed increases with specification of a motor current increasing up to a maximum current value until a specified target speed is reached, and the motor current falls when the target speed is reached and maintained, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0023], [0033], [0037].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the consumption of electrical energy, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 6, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 5, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin does not explicitly disclose, however, ANTRAG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches wherein the maximum current value is a limit value, which is stored in the electronic control unit, for the motor current, which limit value can be specified, by a regulation implemented using the control unit, as maximum value for the motor current for accelerating the at least one drive motor to the target speed (See at least paragraph [0023], “To ensure optimal distribution of the torque to the wheels, the parameters of the drive motors are stored in the electronic control unit. The key data can include the delivered motor torque or the efficiency of the drive motor as a function of speed at a specific voltage and current flow” and paragraph [0033], “To ensure that the cyclist receives noticeable acceleration information in response to their acceleration request even with a slower implementation of a torque request, a higher torque can also be generated briefly at the beginning of the torque request. The drive torque is then reduced again and then slowly increased again according to the torque requirement.” The control unit stores motor operating parameters that depend on motor speed and current. During operation, the controller adjusts the motor torque in response to a torque request, including increasing and subsequently reducing the drive torque according to the torque requirement. Thus, the controller regulates motor operation based on stored motor parameters, including limiting the motor current during acceleration of the drive motor.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Schieffelin with the teachings of ANTRAG such that the electronic transmission system of Schieffelin is further configured to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor; at least one reference speed curve for a temporal development of at least one of the speed and at least one reference current value curve for a temporal development of the motor current of the at least one drive motor are stored in a memory of the electronic control unit, and the electronic control unit is configured, in the case of a deviation, that exceeds a tolerance threshold, of one or more detected measured values relative to at least one of the reference speed curve and the reference current value curve, to detect the presence of the termination criterion; whether the speed increases with specification of a motor current increasing up to a maximum current value until a specified target speed is reached, and the motor current falls when the target speed is reached and maintained; wherein the maximum current value is a limit value, which is stored in the electronic control unit, for the motor current, which limit value can be specified, by a regulation implemented using the control unit, as maximum value for the motor current for accelerating the at least one drive motor to the target speed, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0023], [0033], [0037].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the consumption of electrical energy, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0005].).
Regarding Claim 7, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin teaches wherein for detecting whether the termination criterion is present the electronic control unit is configured for checking, during the gear-shifting process, whether the speed of the at least one drive motor reaches a specified target speed within a predefined test period (See at least paragraph [0162], “the electric bicycle controller 670 and/or motor module 638 and/or other computing systems may automatically determine an optimal or available time period to effect a gear change and enable an electronically operatable derailleur to shift gears automatically during the optimal time period and at an optimal speed...Accordingly, it can be desirable for the system to be configured to calculate or estimate this available window of time, and operate the motor and transmission in a manner that effects the shift within this available window of time.” The electronic controller determines an available window of time in which a gear change should occur and operates the motor to perform the shift at an optimal speed during this time period. Thus, the controller evaluates motor speed behavior during the shifting operation within a defined time window to ensure the shift occurs within the available time period.).
Regarding Claim 8, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin teaches wherein the electronic control unit is configured, in the case of a termination of the gear-shifting process, to reduce the speed of the at least one drive motor to a termination value (See at least paragraph [0162], “the electric bicycle controller 670 and/or motor module 638 and/or other computing systems may automatically determine an optimal or available time period to effect a gear change and enable an electronically operatable derailleur to shift gears automatically during the optimal time period and at an optimal speed...Accordingly, it can be desirable for the system to be configured to calculate or estimate this available window of time, and operate the motor and transmission in a manner that effects the shift within this available window of time” and paragraph [0186], “Once a computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary while no torque is being applied, the computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module operates the motor 212 at an optimal time and optimal speed for shifting gears to effect a gear change. In an arrangement, the electrically controlled mechanical clutch 910 is used to disconnect the pedals from the front sprocket 420 when a user stops pedaling. In some arrangements, a one-way freewheel clutch could be used.” The electronic controller operates the drive motor at a specified speed during the gear-shifting operation. Accordingly, the controller controls and adjusts the motor speed associated with the shifting process, including reducing the motor speed when the shifting operation terminates.). or to deactivate or actuate the at least one drive motor for changing to an error state.
Regarding Claim 9, Schieffelin and ANTRAG teach The drive system according to claim 1, as set forth in the obviousness rejection above. Schieffelin teaches wherein the electronic control unit is configured to determine a target speed, to which the at least one drive motor is to be accelerated for the gear-shifting process, on the basis of a sensor signal representative for a current travel speed of the electric bicycle and a currently set transmission ratio (See at least paragraph [0127], “In some embodiments, the one or more sensors may comprise a wheel speed sensor 654 configured to measure the speed of the front and/or rear wheels. A gear ratio sensor 656 may be configured to measure the gear ratio at any time” and paragraph [0186], “Once a computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary while no torque is being applied, the computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module operates the motor 212 at an optimal time and optimal speed for shifting gears to effect a gear change. In an arrangement, the electrically controlled mechanical clutch 910 is used to disconnect the pedals from the front sprocket 420 when a user stops pedaling. In some arrangements, a one-way freewheel clutch could be used.” The electronic controller operates the drive motor at an optimal speed for performing a gear-shifting process. The controller receives sensor signals representing the current travel speed of the bicycle from a wheel speed sensor and determines the currently set transmission ratio using a gear ration sensor. Accordingly, the electronic controller determines the motor speed used for the shifting process based on the sensed travel speed of the bicycle and the current transmission ratio.).
Regarding Claim 10, Schieffelin teaches An electric bicycle comprising a drive system (See at least paragraph [0002], “In certain embodiments, when the electric bicycle is powered by the motor 212, the motor 212 moves a first belt drive 210, which further turns a jackshaft 204. As the jackshaft 204 is turned, a second belt drive 214 is moved thereby turning the real wheel 208.”) according to claim 1: Regarding Claim 1, Schieffelin teaches A drive system for an electric bicycle, comprising a drive train having at least one electric drive motor for applying a drive force for driving a wheel of the electric bicycle (See at least paragraph [0002], “In certain embodiments, when the electric bicycle is powered by the motor 212, the motor 212 moves a first belt drive 210, which further turns a jackshaft 204. As the jackshaft 204 is turned, a second belt drive 214 is moved thereby turning the real wheel 208” and paragraph [0074], “In some embodiments, the independence of the pedals 108 and motor 212 is created at least in part by one or more clutches. For example, an embodiment of an electric bicycle may comprise a clutch that selectively disengages the pedals or pedal crank 108 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set, and/or a clutch that selectively disengages the motor 212 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set.”), a gear-shifting device for changing a transmission ratio between the drive train and the wheel to be driven (See at least paragraph [0054], “A drive chain connects the drive sprockets to the driven sprockets, and a derailleur for each set of sprocket sets is configured to move the chain among the various sprockets to enable a change in gear ratio.”), and an electronic control unit for controlling the at least one drive motor and the gear-shifting device (See at least paragraph [0134], “In some embodiments, the electric bicycle controller 670 and/or control module 638 may further control one or more other output devices, such as a motor 692, one or more derailleurs 694, dashboard 696, brakes 698, one or more clutches 699 and/or the like.”), wherein a freewheel is provided on the wheel to be driven, which freewheel, in a transmitting state, transmits a drive force generated by the at least one drive motor to the wheel, while in an uncoupling state of the freewheel the drive train is uncoupled from the wheel (See at least paragraph [0074], “In some embodiments, the independence of the pedals 108 and motor 212 is created at least in part by one or more clutches. For example, an embodiment of an electric bicycle may comprise a clutch that selectively disengages the pedals or pedal crank 108 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set, and/or a clutch that selectively disengages the motor 212 from the jack shaft 204 and/or a driven sprocket set” and paragraph [0162], “In some embodiments, a one-way freewheel clutch is used.”), wherein the electronic control unit is configured for changing the transmission ratio to perform a gear-shifting process, in which a speed of the at least one drive motor is specified by the electronic control unit and the at least one drive motor is operable via the electronic control unit with a variable motor current (See at least paragraph [0134], “In some embodiments, the electric bicycle controller 670 and/or control module 638 may further control one or more other output devices, such as a motor 692, one or more derailleurs 694, dashboard 696, brakes 698, one or more clutches 699 and/or the like” and paragraph [0167], “the system can be configured to determine whether the pedals and/or motor are currently applying a torque or force to the driven sprocket and/or drive wheel… In some embodiments, this is detected indirectly by comparing a present rotational velocity of the pedal crank and/or motor output shaft with a present velocity of the driven sprocket, drive wheel, drive chain, and/or the like, while taking into account any present gear ratios or mechanical advantages between these components and/or the status of any clutches functionally disposed between these components.” The system includes controller 670 which controls operation of the motor 692. In electric motor control systems, regulating the current supplied to the motor determines the motor speed and torque. Accordingly, the system operates the motor with a variable motor current while specifying the motor speed via the controller.), and wherein the electronic control unit is configured to terminate a gear-shifting process when a termination criterion indicating the transmitting state of the freewheel is present and for detecting the presence of the termination criterion (See at least paragraph [0074], “For example, one-way freewheel clutches may be used that enable the pedal crank 108 and/or motor 212 to automatically be decoupled from the jack shaft 204 and/or driven sprocket set when the drive wheel is rotating at a faster rate than would be generated by the current speed of the pedal crank 108 and/or motor 212 in view of the current gear ratio”, paragraph [0083], “Further, a pedal system in some embodiments is engaged via the one-way freewheel (clutch) either at the jackshaft input or at pedal hub. The one-way clutch allows the motor to drive the chain without creating movement at the pedals, so the control system can decouple the shifting action from the pedals. The one-way clutch allows the automatic transmission to smoothly change gears, even under load”, and paragraph [0186], “Once a computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module detects a stop event or determines that a downshift is necessary while no torque is being applied, the computing system, electric bicycle controller, and/or motor control module operates the motor 212 at an optimal time and optimal speed for shifting gears to effect a gear change. In an arrangement, the electrically controlled mechanical clutch 910 is used to disconnect the pedals from the front sprocket 420 when a user stops pedaling. In some arrangements, a one-way freewheel clutch could be used.” The detected condition that “no torque is being applied” corresponds to the transmitting state of the freewheel, as a freewheel transmits torque only when torque is applied through the drivetrain.).
Schieffelin does not explicitly disclose, however, ANTRAG, in the same field of endeavor, teaches to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor (See at least paragraph [0023], “To ensure optimal distribution of the torque to the wheels, the parameters of the drive motors are stored in the electronic control unit. The key data can include the delivered motor torque or the efficiency of the drive motor as a function of speed at a specific voltage and current flow.” The control unit stores motor operating parameters that depend on motor speed and current. For example, the delivered motor torque or efficiency may be determined as a function of speed and current. Thus, the control unit evaluates motor characteristics that vary with speed and motor current during operation.).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the invention of Schieffelin with the teachings of ANTRAG such that the electronic transmission system of Schieffelin is further configured to evaluate at least one of a curve of the speed and a curve of the motor current of the at least one drive motor, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0023].), with a reasonable expectation of success. The motivation for doing so would be reducing the consumption of electrical energy, as taught by ANTRAG (See paragraph [0005].).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEWEL A KUNTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/ANNE MARIE ANTONUCCI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666