DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
Observation: Claims 42, 46, and 51 are method claims introducing contingent limitations with terms “in a case”. Examiner is not required to present evidence of the obviousness because the condition might not be met. Examiner is not required to reject these claims under BRI. See EMPEP 2111.04- II CONTIGENT LIMITATIONs “Therefore "[t]he Examiner did not need to present evidence of the obviousness of the [ ] method steps of claim 1 that are not required to be performed under a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 38-39, 42-43, 51-52 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 38, the instant claim recites “n pieces”. The interpretation in light of specification for this term does not provide any border to the quantity n. It is unclear whether the term” n pieces” is one piece, two pieces or indefinite number of pieces. This will render the claim indefinite. For purposes of examination, examiner interprets this term as 1 piece.
Regarding Claim 39, dependent claim 39 is rejected as they depend on claims 38.
Regarding Claim 42, and 51: the instant claims recite “wherein the second gap indication information is conditionally present” and the term “optionally present”. These terms are relative terms which renders the claim indefinite. These terms are not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear whether the limitations in these claims are implemented. For purpose of examination, examiner interprets these limitations as:
“wherein the second gap indication information is present”
Wherein the second gap indication information is present in response to the first gap indication information is configured and
The second gap indication information is not present in response to the first gap indication is not configured.
Regarding Claim 43, 52, dependent claims 43, 52 are rejected as they depend on claims 42, and 51.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 35-54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Vogedes et al. (“Vogedes”, US 20240063894 A1) hereinafter Vogedes.
Regarding claim 35, Vogedes an indication information configuration method, executed by a network device, comprising:
sending first configuration information to a terminal device ([0234-0260] Fig. 16, Cell A instructs UE to do conduct measurements on neighbor cells, enable SMTC measurement gap configuration for NTN enabled UE),
wherein the first configuration information comprises a configuration of one or more measurement targets ([0080-0090] Fig. 8, measurement Gaps, Measurement Gap Length (mgl) is the length of measurement gap in mS. Measurement gap lengths can 1.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5.5, and 6 mS.),
the first configuration information comprises first gap indication information associated with a first measurement target of the one or more measurement targets and second gap indication information associated with the first measurement target, wherein the first gap indication information is used for a measurement ([0080-0090] Fig. 8, measurement Gaps, Measurement Gap Length (mgl) is the length of measurement gap in mS. Measurement gap lengths can 1.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5.5, and 6 mS.), and
the second gap indication information is used for a measurement of a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) ([0258] measurement gap for NTN cells)([0078-0080] Fig. 8)([0100-0105] SMTC measurement GAPS for NTN).
Regarding claim 36, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35,
Vogedes teaches wherein the one or more measurement targets comprise a measurement object, or a reference signal in a measurement object ([0079] to measure neighboring NTN cell SSBs, the UE must detect these SSB burst sets within various periodicities as shown in FIG. 8 . SSB sets occupy the 1st or 2nd half of each NR (10 ms) frame with the number of SSBs transmitted within a burst set determined by carrier frequency (4, 8, 64 SSBs). SSB Bursts are transmitted in periodicities of {ms5, ms10, ms20, ms40, ms80, ms160})([0098-0100, 0116, 0158])([0165] The UE may be configured for measurements to determine SSB successive RSRP/RSRQ measurements and retain previous measurements to evaluate inbound or outbound SV(s)).
Regarding claim 37, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35,
Vogedes teaches wherein the first gap indication information is used for a measurement of a Terrestrial Network (TN) and the measurement of the NTN ([0236] the UE scans all configured channels and decodes the SSBs of NTN and TN cells (Cell B and Cell C and Cell n).).
Regarding claim 38, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35,
Vogedes teaches wherein the first configuration information is configured with a gap indication list associated with the one or more measurement targets, and the gap indication list comprises n pieces of third gap indication information ([0079] to measure neighboring NTN cell SSBs, the UE must detect these SSB burst sets within various periodicities as shown in FIG. 8 . SSB sets occupy the 1st or 2nd half of each NR (10 ms) frame with the number of SSBs transmitted within a burst set determined by carrier frequency (4, 8, 64 SSBs). SSB Bursts are transmitted in periodicities of {ms5, ms10, ms20, ms40, ms80, ms160})([0098-0100, 0116, 0158])([0165] The UE may be configured for measurements to determine SSB successive RSRP/RSRQ measurements and retain previous measurements to evaluate inbound or outbound SV(s)).
Regarding claim 39, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 38,
Vogedes teaches wherein the n pieces of third gap indication information indicate different measurement gaps applied to the NTN ([0079] to measure neighboring NTN cell SSBs, the UE must detect these SSB burst sets within various periodicities as shown in FIG. 8 . SSB sets occupy the 1st or 2nd half of each NR (10 ms) frame with the number of SSBs transmitted within a burst set determined by carrier frequency (4, 8, 64 SSBs). SSB Bursts are transmitted in periodicities of {ms5, ms10, ms20, ms40, ms80, ms160})([0098-0100, 0116, 0158])([0165] The UE may be configured for measurements to determine SSB successive RSRP/RSRQ measurements and retain previous measurements to evaluate inbound or outbound SV(s)).
Regarding claim 40, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35,
wherein the first configuration information is used to configure one or more of a to-be-measured cell, a to-be-measured cell group, a to-be-measured cell list ([0235-236] Fig. 16 perform measurement on neighbor cells, Cell A, Cell B Cell C cell N), a to-be-measured cell group list, a Synchronization Signal Block Measurement Timing Configuration (SMTC) ([0250-0251] SMTC measurement gap), a SMTC list, a satellite, or a satellite list associated with the one or more measurement gaps.
Regarding claim 41, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 36,
Vogedes teaches wherein the reference signal comprises at least one of: a Synchronization Signal Block (SSB); or a Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) ([0250, 0257-0258] SSB/CSI RS).
Regarding claim 42, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35,
Vogedes teaches wherein the second gap indication information is conditionally present;
wherein the second gap indication information is optionally present in a case that the first gap indication information is configured ([0078-0086] Fig. 8, FIG. 8 also represents the associated parameters for measurement gaps and are also represented in RRC in Software Example 2 of Appendix 1. Measurement gap config may include configurations for gapFR1, gapFR2, or gapUE (FR1 and FR2). Measurement Gap Length (mgl) is the length of measurement gap in mS. Measurement gap lengths can 1.5, 3, 3.5, 4, 5.5, and 6 mS.){gapFR1/FR1, gapFR2/FR2 are first and second indication}; and
the second gap indication information is absent in a case that the first gap indication is not configured.
Regarding claim 43, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 42,
Vogedes teaches wherein the first gap indication information being present indicates at least one of: the network device configuring a NTN-associated configuration for the terminal device ([0079] to measure neighboring NTN cell SSBs, the UE must detect these SSB burst sets within various periodicities as shown in FIG. 8 . SSB sets occupy the 1st or 2nd half of each NR (10 ms) frame with the number of SSBs transmitted within a burst set determined by carrier frequency (4, 8, 64 SSBs). SSB Bursts are transmitted in periodicities of {ms5, ms10, ms20, ms40, ms80, ms160})([0098-0100, 0116, 0158])([0165] The UE may be configured for measurements to determine SSB successive RSRP/RSRQ measurements and retain previous measurements to evaluate inbound or outbound SV(s)); or
the measurement target being used for a measurement of a NTN cell.
Regarding claim 44, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35, further comprising:
Vogedes teaches configuring indication information, wherein the indication information indicates that the one or more measurement gaps are available for a measurement of the NTN ([0079] to measure neighboring NTN cell SSBs, the UE must detect these SSB burst sets within various periodicities as shown in FIG. 8 . SSB sets occupy the 1st or 2nd half of each NR (10 ms) frame with the number of SSBs transmitted within a burst set determined by carrier frequency (4, 8, 64 SSBs). SSB Bursts are transmitted in periodicities of {ms5, ms10, ms20, ms40, ms80, ms160})([0098-0100, 0116, 0158])([0165] The UE may be configured for measurements to determine SSB successive RSRP/RSRQ measurements and retain previous measurements to evaluate inbound or outbound SV(s)).
Regarding claim 45, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35,
Vogedes teaches wherein the first configuration information comprises third gap indication information associated with a second measurement target of the one or more measurement targets, wherein the third gap indication information is used for the measurement of the TN and the measurement of the NTN ([0033-0040] TN and NTN scenarios)([0086-0090] NTN platforms deviating from existing TNs)([0149] cell selection in mixed NTN/TN environments)([0078-0082] measuring neighboring NTN cell SSBs, number of SSBs. SSB bursts are transmitted in periodicities of different milliseconds ) {each SSB is a target}.
Regarding claim 46, Vogedes teaches the method of claim 35,
Vogedes teaches wherein the configuration of the one or more measurement targets comprises a configuration of a third measurement target ([0033-0040] TN and NTN scenarios)([0086-0090] NTN platforms deviating from existing TNs)([0149] cell selection in mixed NTN/TN environments)([0078-0082] measuring neighboring NTN cell SSBs, number of SSBs. SSB bursts are transmitted in periodicities of different milliseconds ) {each SSB is a target}.
in a case that the third measurement target is not associated with third gap indication information, the third measurement target is not associated with fourth gap indication information, wherein the third gap indication information is used for the measurement, and the fourth gap indication information is used for the measurement of the NTN ([0033-0040] TN and NTN scenarios) )([0149] cell selection in mixed NTN/TN environments)([0078-0082] measuring neighboring NTN cell SSBs, number of SSBs. SSB bursts are transmitted in periodicities of different milliseconds)([0085] UEs supporting both TNs and NTNs will be able to select between the two network types and potentially more than one NTN type).
Regarding claim 47, Vogedes teaches an indication information configuration method, executed by a terminal device, comprising:
receiving first configuration information sent by a network device ([0234-0260] Fig. 16, Cell A instructs UE to do conduct measurements on neighbor cells, enable SMTC measurement gap configuration for NTN enabled UE),
the rest of claim 47 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 35.
Regarding claim 48, claim 48 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 36.
Regarding claim 49, claim 49 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 37.
Regarding claim 50, claim 50 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 41.
Regarding claim 51, claim 51 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 42.
Regarding claim 52, claim 52 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 43.
Regarding claim 53, claim 53 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 44.
Regarding claim 54, claim 54 is rejected with the same reasoning as claim 46.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to FADI HAJ SAID whose telephone number is (571)272-2833. The examiner can normally be reached on 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM EST. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, John Follansbee can be reached on 571-272-3964. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/FADI HAJ SAID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2444